Bodycote Thermal Processing Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Canton, MIJanuary 27, 2016
i really liked most of the people in this plant but i had one manager that use to say rude things all the time and his boss would never say anything about it even when he said profanity to workers. and called them out there name and you should have to work with anyone like that,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 22, 2015
A typical day at work for me would be to arrive before 8 a.m. and check my email. I would gather data for spreadsheets/reports and have them out by the daily/weekly/monthly deadline. Then I would typically sort invoices, scan those that are emailed to customers and send them out, and fold the rest, stuff envelopes, and have them ready before the mail carrier picks them up. The rest of the day is spent sorting AP documents, matching, answering phones, doing collections, filing, and handling any issues that may arise. I learned a lot about accounts payable in this job. The management is great, my co-workers are great. It's a relaxed environment most of the time, and I don't have a real schedule, which is the most enjoyable part of the job in which I am able to make my own hours. The hardest part of the job is the pressure at the end of the month when reports are due.
Pros
No schedule, wear jeans, lots of learning opportunities.
Cons
No opportunity for advancement, no benefits in my current situation, hours have been cut due to dependence on oil & gas.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive training in the aerospace industry.
Shipping/Receiving Lead (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 19, 2015
Great place, but opportunity for advancement was minimal. The knowledge I was left with was immense and I now will carry that with me for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work responsibilities
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Illinois Y& WisconsinJune 11, 2015
Cold Calling on potential customers. Tracking down credit issues and pricing. presenting quotes and working as project manager for new start up programs
Pros
work out of my house
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Quality Manager (Current Employee) –  Ipswich, MAMarch 15, 2015
Great management, very nice structure and core systems. The facility I work at has a small head count, but runs efficiently
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone ...
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 9, 2015
Dont expect much in the way of promotions, bonus, or hiring of qualified people to fill much needed craft positions. More concerned with bottom line than improving the safety and reliability of the equipment.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
long hours, unclear and difficult processing of capital money.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Welder/Fabrication (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAFebruary 5, 2015
Responsible for welding work, general maintenance, forklift operation, ensuring worksite safety, quality assurance, andhandling a wide variety of special projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work!
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 28, 2014
Nice people, but the plant needs a lot of work to be where it needs to be in providing the proper levels of quality and service the customers need
Pros
people were friendly, open and honest
Cons
plant lacked focus / did not provide direction
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heat treat shop with large furnaces
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 7, 2014
Typical day:
shipping and receiving
make paperwork
make loads
qualtiy inspection
load and unload furnaces
create certifications and shipping docs

Learned:
how to read a spec accurately
create shop orders
schedule loads
how to calculate temper temperatures

Management:
needs to work on keeping personnel motivated and happy

Hardest part of the job:
trying to to the job with out the proper equipment and with poor equipment

Most enjoyable part of the job:
heat treating and the science of it
Pros
tardy leniency, uniforms, not a lot of hard labor
Cons
poor equipment, morale, schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management environment
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 30, 2014
During daily meetings personal and non buisness related banter plagued the meetings, that were daily,long and laborious. Management frequently broke company rules such as hiring friends and family. Lack of compensation for knowledge and experience is another complaint.
Pros
small crew
Cons
outdated equipment, poor management, lack of proper compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want NO Advancement And NO wage Increases this is the job for you
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Laconia, NHMay 20, 2014
Being a former employee if you want to work for a reincarnation of Adolf Hitler and work in extreme conditions and not get noticed for your work output or recieve NO wage increases and be lied to about a job promotion then this is the place to work for The new General Manager is such a dictator you swear you were working in a concentration camp and if you are a temp working for Bodycote EMPLOYEE BEWARE AND YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And the best part about working at Bodycote is if the company calls for a lay off they wait until the Thanksgiving and Christmas season to do lay offs
Pros
what pros there aren't any pros
Cons
underpaid and overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Furnace Brazing and Heat Treating
Heat Treating Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMay 8, 2014
As a member of the swing shift crew we worked closely together to process customer supplied parts in various brazing and heat treating operations. These operations were performed in various atmospheres per customer requirements. I would load, attach thermocouples, seal the chamber, program the furnace and proceed to run the furnace operation. At the conclusion of the operation I would unload the furnace and move the parts to their next operation. I also kept the furnace logs and thermocouple logs updated.
Pros
great location and great hours.
Cons
i was scheduled to move to day shift prior to my leaving the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Melrose Park, ILJanuary 26, 2014
Many people challenges. Very old facility that encounters it's share of equipment issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A World Wide Heat Treat Company - Ipswich branch does heat treating and Brazing
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Ipswich, Ma.March 4, 2013
I work in the quality department so i do hardness and braze inspections, certifications, deal with customer issues, etc. Part of my job for awhile involved working in other sister plants. I work with a wonderful group of employees, and what i love about my job the most is the diversification of it. It is not a job where i do the same thing over and over again.
Pros
versitile hours, easy going environment
Cons
pay and pay increases
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there
OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  South Windsor, CTAugust 29, 2012
On a typical day I would handle any employee issues or concerns. I would process reports from time clock to create payroll file to send to corporate. I would place ads for job openings. I would handle all new hire and benefit paperwork. Schedule drug testings
Pros
loved what i did and the people
Cons
could not make ends meet on the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Regional Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJune 28, 2012
i liked the freedom i had to do my job and to go to other locations. i hated they downsized and had to lay me off. best job i ever had,
Pros
good working conditions, overtime
Cons
downsized
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Heat Treater / QC Technician (Former Employee) –  Laconia, NHMay 10, 2012
VERY HARD PLACE TO GET USE TO WORK, VERY HOT ,DIRTY ,DUSTY, AND HUMID CONDITIONS, IF YOU CAN HANDLE ALL THAT THEN THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK. IVE WORKED HERE OFF AND ON FOR 13 YEARS....
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hot place to work
production (Former Employee) –  santa fe springs,caFebruary 7, 2012
very friendly place to work u work very hard ur in the heat most of the day
Pros
nice gm
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture