Boathouse Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly work place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC29 November 2017
From what I remember Boathouse was a lot of Folding, Till, and Late night inventory with awesome co workers. Boathouse helped me build a lot of customer service skills and taught me not all customers are happy to be in the store.
Pros
fun, great hours
Cons
holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Kitsilano Beach, BC21 November 2017
Overall great place to work and learn. Good learning environment. Very supportive and helpful management team. Focus on guest satisfaction. Lots of opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 November 2017
They need better mannagment skills and really need to focused more on the customers rather then there cellphones.
All the employees are super nice and a great work additude
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama filled toxic environment
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON17 November 2017
At Boathouse I would greet and serve customers as well as take care of transactions. I learned how to be more comfortable with customers and how to interact with them in a strategic way. The management at Boathouse was very controversial, in my tenure of under a year I went through three different managers. The two first managers were both very immature and were clearly not responsible enough to manage a store. Things they would do include not showing up to work, talking about other employees behind their backs and accuse employees for things supervisors had done. I liked the job itself it was very fun, but the atmosphere was filled with drama.
Pros
very calm slow paced job
Cons
work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB15 November 2017
easy work, not very busy, lots of flexibility with hours. management could be more professional. quite successful compared to other boathouse stores!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work, Owner is a sexist moron
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON5 November 2017
Owner has no idea what he's doing or what he wants
Horrible work environment
Small inadequate kitchen
Head chef doesn't even work in the kitchen
Owner has expressed his hatred of his OWN customers even saying he wishes he had a restaurant that didn't allow women! In front of his female employees! Don't waste your time
Better jobs out there
Pros
Discount on drinks
Cons
Lack of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company needs major work.
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 September 2017
Company needs work with efficiency and the way it handles it's employees. Terrible regional management. Spending money on clothing we were over stocked on as well. Regional will not accept your direction on a certain project regardless if it is more efficient and suited for your store. Closing tills takes years as there are tasks that are unnecessary. Salaries for roles above sales associate are extremely underpaid for the amount of responsibility and work that they must do. Major changes to both attitude and protocol must occur with this company as a whole.
Pros
Nice coworkers, discount isn't bad
Cons
Salary, Higher management, and lack of efficiency
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyed working with Boathouse
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 September 2017
Enjoyed working at Boathouse I got to use my skills as a manager at a different level. Really use teamwork and organization. Being able to meet deadlines and monthly paperwork. I loved working with the staff and got along with all of them. Teaching the staff new selling techniques to help build up sales when our budget was low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Part-Time, Not for Full
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 September 2017
Boathouse has a great training program for teaching beginners the ins and outs of retail. The staff of the store are all friendly and wonderful to be around. It's a great place for high-school or college students to work.

If you're looking to work here as your main job, I would not advise it however. There is no option for advancement and there has been a few incidents of people being trained for higher positions without getting the pay to compensate. Even if you work full-time hours, you will not be considered for full-time benefits. Due to this, you do not have sick days and it is near impossible to schedule a life around work because the hours are very sporadic.

Outside of that, management is wonderful and easy to work with. It has a very laid-back feel to it and you are well-trained to play your part.
Pros
Wonderful training program
Cons
Sporadic and few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON15 September 2017
A normal clothing retail store, similar to many others. Job always depends on the manager for each specific store, sometimes a manager will use personal bias while hiring which isnt the best though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Seasonal Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 September 2017
Fantastic people that make up the team at boathouse. It is a super awesome environment to work in as they are very supportive of everyone and their unique creativeness. The managers are great, very supportive and caring about how their employees feel at and outside of work.
Pros
awesome people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The money is good, but the managers aren't
Server (Former Employee) –  Port Rowan, ON21 August 2017
Being a server my first time was great to be at the Boathouse because I learned a lot and very quickly as sometimes it was under staffed and you had to work quickly and efficiently. Some of the staff are quite caddy and the manager is rude and unprofessional.
Pros
Great tips, friendly customers, snacks when you want
Cons
No breaks, immature boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here has been amazing, the locals are so nice and i'ts right on lake erie.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Port Rowan, ON20 August 2017
The owners are so nice and forgiving. All the employees are respectful and most are willing to switch shifts if needed. The food there is amazing. There isn't a dull moment at the Boathouse restaurant. I'd work there forever if I could.
Pros
Discounts on food. Free beverages.
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Respecting visual merchandising standards (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON2 August 2017
A very friendly workplace, and always productive and eager to reach goals. Most enjoyable parts of the job consists of talking to customers and helping out customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really open fun environment
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 June 2017
Boathouse is a really kind environment that allows you to be and express yourself openly. Everyone's main focus is towards the store and making sure it does well, so they prefer you ask questions to get tasks done faster rather than you struggle on your own and take extra time.
Pros
Really understanding, caring environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, with an amazing view
Hostess (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC11 June 2017
A positive place to work for the most part, although the management was a little sloppy. It gave you an opportunity to have a diverse work field by offering three different floors each offering a different tone of work/ pace
Pros
half off for you and four other people you dine with
Cons
unpredictable hours; "on-call"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another kitchen job
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 May 2017
What is there to really say about working in a high volume kitchen? The work was stressful, the hours were inconsistent, and the pay was low. There are probably worse kitchens out there, but this sort of labour isn't my cup of tea.
Pros
Discounted food is nice
Cons
Kitchen work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 May 2017
I spent about a year and a half working here, and for the most part it's been an amazing time. The hours are flexible and the people make you feel like you belong there. Management has been a downside regarding drama towards employees and such, but other than that I've really enjoyed working there!
Pros
Flexible time, Great People, Discounts
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 April 2017
Lots of interactions with customers. You learn how to talk and help customers in a rightful manner. I've learned that its easier to get along with coworkers and if you give them the treatment that you want back.
Pros
A healthy work environment
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place. What a joke
Cook (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC17 April 2017
Menu is terrible. Sous chefs and chefs walk around thinking they can cook but have no talent. Should not be considered "Chefs". If you wanna cook generic garbage this is the place for you.
Pros
None
Cons
Staff program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boathouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 193 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4