Boart Longyear Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if your a teenager
Machinist (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON25 April 2017
Terribly disorganized employees leaving plant at their leisure actually leaving property on company time. Male and female employees disappearing into woman's change rooms and other discreet locations to do what ??? Smokers taking breaks at anytime and all the time. More like a high school than a professional mining company.
Pros
Do what you want attitude. Cellphone useage no problem during work.
Cons
No future with these attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Priorities
BUYER/ PLANNER SMALL CELL ASSEMBLY (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON17 March 2017
a very American company with little respect for Canadian work ethic or values. work life balance is doesn't exist. but the money is alright - much better if you are union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and safe environment
Export Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 January 2017
Busy work schedule. Has to be multitasking and problem solving oriented. Colleges are friendly and supportive. Sometimes too much time spent on reports.
Pros
Good benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work when there is work
Exploration Diamond Driller (Former Employee) –  Bissett, MB20 January 2017
great pay when there is a contract when things get tuff boart use you as they please not a good career job they will demote you from driller to helper when there is shortage of work
Pros
great pay and
Cons
unstable work poor managemant
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience
Equipment Operator / Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2017
I found Boart longyear an enjoyable place to work. It was a great learning experience for me.The employees and management i found to be helpful and enjoyable to work with. the company is large with a personel feel. I would like to work for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exiting
Diamond Driller (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 January 2017
This WA my first real job. Right out of high school. I started at 18 and continued until I was 44. The work was not conducive to my health anymore. They were good to work for.
Pros
the bush
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work
Driller (Former Employee) –  Snap lake N.W.T15 June 2016
Boartlongyear provided me and my family with a great way to move up in the world.
They gave me the training to work safe and return home after every shift, they also had a really good benefits, witch come in handy .
The economy has crashed and as forced boartlongyear to lay me and other co-workers off causing my to venture in a new carrier.
Pros
paid travel
Cons
long time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome group always positive
Long Hole Driller (Former Employee) –  Red Lake, ON4 March 2016
Company working safe as a TEAM, always ensuring you understood all plans and company standart.
Great group of front line supervisor looking out for each of the drillers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract company lifestyle
Long hole driller (Former Employee) –  Red Lake, ON17 February 2016
Good company to work for, just no work.
Like any job, you get what you put into it. I worked and enjoyed it.
Worked in Sudbury and up in Red Lake.
2 weeks on and 2 weeks off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Local Management
Driller (Former Employee) –  Red Lake, ON8 December 2015
The local management is great but the fat-cats in the offices down south bleed the company dry. It takes a contract to just pay half the wages for the Hailbury office bad business.

they treat the employees like poorly to cutting wages and bonus whenever they get the chance

BoartLongyear Motto: "If you don't like it, there's the door!"
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where i got started
Driller Helper/Diamond and air driller (Former Employee) –  thompson mb14 September 2015
I got too learn all about the drills how to maintain them ,drill and a very good workout everyday, by pulling the rods up and putting them down. good management for the most part, the co workers I had were a great bunch off guys. The hardest part of the job was moving the drill. The most enjoyable part off the job for me was the travel, and meeting new people that I come across time and time again.
Pros
travel
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive fun work place
Driller (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 May 2015
I have gather great knowledge working around the country for different companies and lots of different machinery
which make s me an excellent candidate for future employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fair
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Oakville8 March 2015
Enjoyable and fair rotating shift days and afternoons.
I was layed off in 2010.

Great company to work for, but am looking for a more challenging roll.
Pros
Enjoyable and fair
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
longyear saskatchewan camp jobs
diamond surface driller (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 November 2014
were ok to work for pay and bonus were not as good as others couldn't keep me on a steady rotation
Pros
lots of heli work
Cons
i was just a # in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to short a season, coring
drilling rig manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 November 2014
to short of a season coring in fort mcmurry, the job only started at dec, and was over by march 01, i did not mind the 24-7 supervising crews, as it comes easy as you train them,
Pros
allowed me to farm in summers
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and got to travel
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC3 October 2014
A typical work day was dealing with individual company needs and making sure stock was in to keep customers working.
phones calls to old and new customers to ensure we were serving there needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 September 2014
I have gained valuable experience in Boart Longyear Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production is first....
Diamond Driller Helper (Former Employee) –  cigar lake mine site23 July 2014
boart longyear is a good company to work ...great wages an great people to work with..
Pros
good food, great people to with
Cons
long shifts an short days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was all good until the last contract
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 March 2014
A large managment shuffle in Saskatoon made me decide to stay home.Otherwise it was a great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longhole driller
Longhole driller (Former Employee) –  Balmertown, ON19 February 2014
Drill longholes for production, work with loading crew, moving powder, extending services
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boart Longyear. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 241 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7