Boart Longyear Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome group always positive
Long Hole Driller (Former Employee) –  Red Lake, ON4 March 2016
Company working safe as a TEAM, always ensuring you understood all plans and company standart.
Great group of front line supervisor looking out for each of the drillers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract company lifestyle
Long hole driller (Former Employee) –  Red Lake, ON17 February 2016
Good company to work for, just no work.
Like any job, you get what you put into it. I worked and enjoyed it.
Worked in Sudbury and up in Red Lake.
2 weeks on and 2 weeks off.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Local Management
Driller (Former Employee) –  Red Lake, ON8 December 2015
The local management is great but the fat-cats in the offices down south bleed the company dry. It takes a contract to just pay half the wages for the Hailbury office bad business.

they treat the employees like poorly to cutting wages and bonus whenever they get the chance

BoartLongyear Motto: "If you don't like it, there's the door!"
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where i got started
Driller Helper/Diamond and air driller (Former Employee) –  thompson mb14 September 2015
I got too learn all about the drills how to maintain them ,drill and a very good workout everyday, by pulling the rods up and putting them down. good management for the most part, the co workers I had were a great bunch off guys. The hardest part of the job was moving the drill. The most enjoyable part off the job for me was the travel, and meeting new people that I come across time and time again.
Pros
travel
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive fun work place
Driller (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 May 2015
I have gather great knowledge working around the country for different companies and lots of different machinery
which make s me an excellent candidate for future employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fair
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Oakville8 March 2015
Enjoyable and fair rotating shift days and afternoons.
I was layed off in 2010.

Great company to work for, but am looking for a more challenging roll.
Pros
Enjoyable and fair
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
longyear saskatchewan camp jobs
diamond surface driller (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 November 2014
were ok to work for pay and bonus were not as good as others couldn't keep me on a steady rotation
Pros
lots of heli work
Cons
i was just a # in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to short a season, coring
drilling rig manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 November 2014
to short of a season coring in fort mcmurry, the job only started at dec, and was over by march 01, i did not mind the 24-7 supervising crews, as it comes easy as you train them,
Pros
allowed me to farm in summers
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and got to travel
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC3 October 2014
A typical work day was dealing with individual company needs and making sure stock was in to keep customers working.
phones calls to old and new customers to ensure we were serving there needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 September 2014
I have gained valuable experience in Boart Longyear Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production is first....
Diamond Driller Helper (Former Employee) –  cigar lake mine site23 July 2014
boart longyear is a good company to work ...great wages an great people to work with..
Pros
good food, great people to with
Cons
long shifts an short days off
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was all good until the last contract
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 March 2014
A large managment shuffle in Saskatoon made me decide to stay home.Otherwise it was a great
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longhole driller
Longhole driller (Former Employee) –  Balmertown, ON19 February 2014
Drill longholes for production, work with loading crew, moving powder, extending services
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine shop
MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON4 February 2014
was a good job while it lasted as production jobs are dwindling
Pros
good salary
Cons
union and management butt heads often
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boart was a good company to work for
Underground Diamond Driller Helper (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON23 January 2014
typical day would be do the safety huddle say what we did for safety the day before and what we would do for safety that day. go underground work return to surface. I learned a lot about safety and how accidents can happen in an instant co workers were awesome the hardest part of the job was moves when you have to move your drill if everything was not ready it would be frustrating. the most enjoyable part of the job was the people we worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to wok
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON14 October 2013
Really good place to work. Would still be there if not for being laid off. Got along with all my co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing
Accounts Payable/Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario22 September 2013
My job was a little of everything, so it was never boring.
Monday I did the weekly payroll.
Tuesday & Wednesday I did accounts payable & purchasing.
Thursday & Friday were pretty much shipping containers,
so I did the shipping paperwork and ordered containers.
I liked the variety, but sometimes found it hard to just take a break.
Most of our management worked out of the head office in Salt Lake City, so you didn't see them regularly.
l learned many different jobs and am a quick learner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company
Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON12 August 2013
1. Analysis and investigate claims from our customers, compose internal reports for our engineering/manufacturing department; compose formal reports for our sales department and customers. Provide technical support and problem solving for Manufacturing Department.
2. I learned quality assurance, 5S, lean manufacturing, 8D, 5 Why, Mining drill operation, Mining products.
3. Very good management system
4. My colleagues are very friendly, we supot each other at work, we go fishing, hunting or skiing after work.
5. We don't have much information from customer about how they used our products and what happened while the product failed. So that make our difficult to investigate the Root Cause of the Failure.
6. Our customer is satisfied with our Root Cause Report.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Drill Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON14 June 2013
Long hours and hard work but a great job. Great people to work for and very safety oriented.
Cons
Away from home for long periodes of time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although the accommodations are very nice the amount of days you have to put in is rough.
Diamond Driller (Current Employee) –  Red Lake Ontario7 June 2013
We go down on a cage in a Gold mine,To 6400ft I am incharge of transporting men to thier drills.And we start drilling for core samples which hopefully contain gold.During the drilling process you learn alot about Ground conditions and have to know whats going on in your drill hole as your rods turn.Management or shift bosses are most likely ex drillers to which you can call apon for certain tasks or situations that they can help you with.You have a partner to which you are to over see he is your helper on the drill,The hardest part of the job would be,heat stress as it is very hot at 6400 ft.The most enjoyable part of the job is that you and your partner come up to surface every day safe and alive.
Pros
The job is challenging
Cons
28 days in a row of work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 217 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7