Find companies:
Boart Longyear
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

Boart Longyear Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boart was a good company to work for
Underground Diamond Driller Helper (Former Employee), Timmins, ONJanuary 23, 2014
typical day would be do the safety huddle say what we did for safety the day before and what we would do for safety that day. go underground work return to surface. I learned a lot about safety and how accidents can happen in an instant co workers were awesome the hardest part of the job was moves when you have to move your drill if everything was not – more... ready it would be frustrating. the most enjoyable part of the job was the people we worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to wok
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), North Bay, ONOctober 14, 2013
Really good place to work. Would still be there if not for being laid off. Got along with all my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Drill Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Timmins, ONJune 14, 2013
Cons: away from home for long periodes of time
Long hours and hard work but a great job. Great people to work for and very safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although the accommodations are very nice the amount of days you have to put in is rough.
Diamond Driller (Current Employee), Red Lake OntarioJune 7, 2013
Pros: the job is challenging
Cons: 28 days in a row of work
We go down on a cage in a Gold mine,To 6400ft I am incharge of transporting men to thier drills.And we start drilling for core samples which hopefully contain gold.During the drilling process you learn alot about Ground conditions and have to know whats going on in your drill hole as your rods turn.Management or shift bosses are most likely ex drillers – more... to which you can call apon for certain tasks or situations that they can help you with.You have a partner to which you are to over see he is your helper on the drill,The hardest part of the job would be,heat stress as it is very hot at 6400 ft.The most enjoyable part of the job is that you and your partner come up to surface every day safe and alive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised place to work at.
Diamond Driller/foreman/trainer (Former Employee), Hailbury OntarioJune 7, 2013
Pros: good money and benefits
Cons: long hours
I pre op the drill. Then get instructions from my foreman or give the instructions. I take tests at appropriate depth and then i start drilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drill and blast
Long hole driller (Former Employee), Timmins, ONMay 24, 2013
Drill production/Cable bolt holes. install and grout cables. Load production and raise. work alone when drilling. paid by the meter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Fast Paced Environment
Regional Administrator / Executive Assistant (Former Employee), North Bay, ONApril 25, 2013
Enjoyed my time at BL; due to restructuring my job was eliminated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life, terrible management
Driller (Current Employee), ManitobaMarch 4, 2013
Pros: excellent money
Cons: treated like dirt
Current driller at boart Longyear, 14 on 7 off. Not much of a life and the upper management is nothing but a joke, was promised increase in wages and never got em!! Was never appreciated by shifters or big boss, if u wanna work for these guys u better be prepared to work like a slave and still get no recognition cause in the end yer just another number – more... in their eyes!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it
Diamond Driller (Current Employee), Red Lake, ONFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: try to keep you working if your good.
Cons: do not provide ppe
Working for boart longyear is something else. There is no conformity throughout the company. Every contract is different. That is the worst part. Boart doesn't protect it workers either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
diamond drill helper/ diamond driller (Current Employee), Timmins, ONFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: good money
Cons: long hours
The job itself is pretty simple, you pretty much know what your walking into usually, if you have a good cross shift and he sets you up good the shift will fly, if your cross shift hates his job and doesnt care, well your in for a good night! sometime it gets long doing the same thing everday but when the day over your happy you had a good productive – more... day, no one got hurt and you get to go home to you family, thats a good day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away - Only good if you are a driller or helper
not entry level - dont want to say (Former Employee), Haileybury/North BayJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: nice building
Good company ONLY if you are a driller or a helper. Otherwise you should pass. No job security at all. Laid off 2500 people in the last year and kept some that made no sense at all. Do a web search and see for yourself.

co-workers are nice people but zone and SLC senior and regional management has no respect for employees or department managers or – more... supervisors. dont bother tring to take a day off because they will call you on weekend and vacation and expect you to answer

Other zones may be better but eastern canada is not well run or a good place to work. clearly the reason i left – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Inventory/Cost Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: productive and fun workplace
Cons: very low job security
Responding to the emails, requests for cost updates, and other issues, running different reports for the inventory and cost variance accounts,analysing and communicating with the persons in charge to fix the problems.

I learned the Oracle software, the Answer reporting system and first of all the company's culture.

The management team was very close – more... and continuesly in contact with us for every issue to find the right way or solution.

With co- workers it was a good working and social relationship.

The hardest part of the job it was the physical inventory in the warehouses.

The most enjoyable part of the job was inventing new ways to capture the cost for non standard jobs or repars in the field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Driller Helper (Current Employee), Calgary ABOctober 1, 2012
Pros: free travel and expenses paid
Cons: away all the time
Good employer. Good pay, good benefits.

Enjoyed working here, away from family too long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company , nice drills.
Driller (Former Employee), Thompson, MBSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: good pay.
good company , nice drills , no complaints.good job
good pay,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diamond Drill
Driller Helper (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: great money
Cons: no life. 14 on 4 off
Got up at 5 am, left for work at 6, started at 7am. Worked till7pm. Took core samples ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy place but also fun
shipping and recieving (Former Employee), Haileybury, ONApril 26, 2012
Cons: 8h shift plus overtime
it was a very fun place to work because the atmostfear was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work ethic
Driller Surface/ (Former Employee), All over canadaMarch 26, 2012
Pros: paid travel, always frre food
Cons: long houres
Always had work for me. Gave me alot of work experience. Brought me up the ladder pretty fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND GREAT WORK ENVIRONMENT
Staff Accountant (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 25, 2014
STAFF MANAGERS AND PEER EMPLOYEES PROVIDE A GREAT WORK ENVIRONMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boart Longyear
AP Processor (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 30, 2014
Pros: some very talented co-workers
Cons: lack of support from management
Data cleansing for the integration of a new operating system, Oracle
High entry volume (1500-2000, normal entry 800-1200) in preparation for the go live of Oracle 1/3/2011 US and Canada
PO reconciliations in MXP and Puridiom
Maintenance of Issue log for problems unable to be entered for payment
Detailed record keeping for the appropriate documentation – more... for all payments which are scanned and viewable in Accorde for audit purposes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
driller heler (Former Employee), elko nvJuly 15, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: gone all the time
I worked 16 hrs a day no brakes 10 day on 4 day off I tosted 200 lbs pipe 100 time a day cot 200 or more samples my co-workers were awesome thing I liked most was I got payed realy well

1 2 3 4 5

About Boart Longyear

Boart Longyear is the company to call if you need to dig yourself out of a big hole -- literally. The company manufactures drilling – Read more