Find companies:
Boardwalk Rental Communities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Boardwalk Rental Communities Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and very rewarding job
Residential Leasing Agent (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: loved the free lunches when the boss came to visit
Loved going to work everyday. Met a lot of interesting people. Day consisted of rent collecting, showing suites for rent, checking vacant units on a daily basis, following up with emails and tenant concerns. Making sure maintenance and cleaners had there list of suites to fix and clean for the day. Inventory counts, landscapers outside doing their job. – more... Entering hours for staff, and making sure the contractors finished their jobs on time and accurately. Walked the site to make sure all garbage was picked up on site. Did move ins and move outs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
maintenance associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: on-call schedules
Daily routine includes all job request organization, meeting tenants and talks about services needed/provided, conducting repairs and troubleshooting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 8, 2014
Pros: grace days. extra days throughout the year for the unexpected things in life.
Cons: can't say there are any!
I absoloutely love working for Boardwalk. The staff are friendly and professional. The hours are great. The benefits are great. You get to meet different people everyday. No 2 work days are the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer/Employee trust environment
Maintenance Associate (Current Employee), London, ONAugust 7, 2014
Pros: personal department managing is excellent (freedom to move)
Cons: oncall responsibilities can be taxing
Many opportunities to challenge mechanical aptitude under minimal supervision
Customer base is also a key development area for self advancement
Management promoted from within is encouraged
Found TEAM communication/support exists well across the city
Deadline control can be difficult when turnover is heavy
Company social program as well as benefit package – more... is admirable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced work
Residential Property Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 15, 2014
Pros: live and work on site
Cons: long hours
A typical day consists of showing apartments to new tentants, resolving issues with current tenants, making sure contractors are there when needed, collecting rental payments and answering calls on out of office hours. I learned a lot about reconciliations and business banking. Management was great and my co workers were awesome to work with. The hardest – more... part was answering the phones at 2 am and the most enjoyable were building connections with the tenants and becoming part of the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
maintenance associate (Former Employee), London ontarioJune 17, 2014
Staff was great to work with. Lots of charity work. Great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management with bad attitudes
Agent (Former Employee), WindsorApril 11, 2014
Cons: lots
Boardwalk is the most pathetic place to work/live ever. Management are liars and the people who live there are horrible to deal with.
Not worth the stress for the little pay!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun atmosphere.
RESIDENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 25, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
A typical day in the office consist of our daily meeting with staff, this is where we review what we have ahead of us for the day and what needs to be done. There are many new learning curbs from this position, time management, coaching, mentoring, customer service are just a few,overall It has made me understand and manage a section of the company – more... on a higher level. Days are quite long due to the business but when working with great staff members you tend to forget what time it really is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEWARE...DO NOT WORK THERE!!
Resident Customer Services Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 2, 2013
Pros: sometimes free lunch, lots of charitable work
Cons: very long working hours especially on month ends and no extra pay because of working on salary
This company has very poor management. The training is not enough to prepare someone to feel fully comfortable in a management or Customer service role to deal with various situations. Very short training. Little support from mentors and trainers. They basically set you up for failure hence the reason they are always looking for new workers. Very stressful – more... environment and some of the workers are not helpful and have very bad attitude.Typical day would include answering calls regarding rental vacancies, showing of suites, following up on maintenance requests from tenants, collecting rent and following up on defaults just to name a few. The most hardest part of the job was no work life balance as you are always on call for at least three to four sites most of the time. Most enjoyable was interacting with the tenants. Overall, not a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaner of Boardwalk- it was an extremely physically stressful job but with group benefit insurance plan which I appreciated very much.
Cleaner . (Former Employee), Edmonton, South side area-MillwoodsJune 6, 2013
Pros: on meetings we had free lunches- boardwalk
Cons: we worked overtime if needed, especially on peak season and was compensated to the allowable overtime rate: boardwalk
Cleaner at Boardwalk, it was an extremely hard physical job and the rate of compensation was a bit less worth of the job. Before we immigrants arrived at that time, in that company, the vacant suites were cleaned by 5 people/suite and to be done by three days. Every site they assigned 5 cleaners comprising of 3 big building apartments. After we arrived, – more... the policy changed. We were required to clean the vacant evicted suites for 8 hours with one or two people to work on it. And that's together with our maintenance to clean the hallways and stairwells at the same time in a day for two people assigned in a site with three big building apartments to cope up. The only thing that made me happy was my good review every 6 months and the increase that goes with it after. During meetings with free lunches, I managed well to socialized with co-workers which created moments of fun time or sometimes mobile activities with other co-workers which lightened the burden of our duties. And my supervisor too was a very nice gentle lady. That's why, during my employment with the company, I rated it at 3.9 star on one of the annual survey at a Boardwalk meeting. Because of the group benefit insurance plan they gave to us. I appreciated it very much. I thought I could stay in that company until retirement.

But later on I realized, I made a mistake, I should have rated it to 2.5 star. Because of the intensity of the stress related work I had in that company; it leaded me to several illnesses such as stomach troubles, blood pressure always on the rise in spite of multiple medications and caused me diabetic type 2. Thus prompted me to quit. It took me a year to recover and I thanked God for that struggling journey of my life. My blood pressure slowed down, my sugar regulated normally and from doctor's advice I was required to take low degree of medication. Then I upgrade myself. I went back to school to study Office Assistant-legal major program just to know about the basic law specially on legal rights, labor laws here in Canada and office procedural duties at the same time. And now I feel great and back on my real self again. My brain is still working good just as the old times when I was at a young age. Though I admit there is only a slight or slim difference. Lesson learned is when you are not happy with the job, quit before it destroys yourself either physically or emotionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co-workers baaaaaaaad management
Landscaper (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 27, 2013
my co-workers were good my supervisor was awesome, i got a pretty good wage but the management above that was awful. They fire people they don't get along with, they don't inform supervisors when they fire people on their crews and to top it off they hire people to be in charge of areas they know nothing about. I was on landscaping and my supervisor – more... was great but his boss had absolutely no clue about landscaping and they were the one we all had to report to. terrible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Team Work
Resident Manager/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 3, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: way to many demands on hours. on call etching
I had a great experience until one of my coworkers started to get jealous of me and wanted to get me fired. After a long process of us butting heads all the time. She succeeded. They fired me for being late fifteen minutes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management position/
Resident Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), windsor, OntarioMarch 18, 2013
Very reliable company. Hardest part was the schedulles. (on call all the time)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
PROPERTY MANAGER (Current Employee), Edmonton albertaFebruary 24, 2013
Boardwalk is a good place to work if yo dont have kids. They do not accomadate family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cleaner (Former Employee), Heritage Square, London OnFebruary 5, 2013
Boardwalk does a great job representing themselves as a great place to work, however in my personal experience my supervisor allowed personal politics to ruin my success with the company.
I had great co-workers and they were the most enjoyable part of the time I spent employed with Boardwalk. Just be careful around upper management!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative job at Boardwalk
Residential property manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: medical, good compensation package, bonus and involvement in charitable work.
No 2 days are the same. Acting as a property manager, I have to rent out available suites, look after the building's needs and the needs of the members. Collect rent, oversea the work of Maintenance and Cleaners. Provide financial reports, answer calls, resolve issues. Provide solutions in difficult times and do all this through leadership and customer – more... service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Landscaping Associate (Current Employee), edmontonNovember 13, 2012
Pros: great benifits
Great Team
Lots of locations.
Great benifits
great enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging position in the challenging company
Building Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMarch 4, 2012
Everyday is new with new people, new tips to smooth tasks, new skills to take care of issues, new knowledge to better work performance, and new fresh of look. It offers all kinds of opportunities to inspire our potentials, which lays the solid pavement to develop customer service skills, communication skills, time management skills, organizational skills – more... and so much more. – less