Find companies:
BMO Harris Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

BMO Harris Bank Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recently laid off
Foreclosure Specialist (Former Employee), Brookfield, WIJune 19, 2013
negative opinion at this time.
my manager/supervisor was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Service Rep (Former Employee), FLMay 21, 2013
Cons: poorly trained management, no breaks
Took a small town feel bank and turned it into a Big Bank monster.
Management not trained properly or not at all.
Understaffed, lots of shifts worked with no lunch, no breaks.
Benefits were extremely expensive and didn't cover much.
Promotions were not obtainable unless you knew someone important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people improperly managed
Senior Service Representative (Former Employee), Grafton WI>May 18, 2013
Pros: great customers, friendly helpful employees
Cons: location, management, hours
Harris Bank was a nice place to work, until they brought in a service manager however incentive goals are extremely high for this location. The manager was easily misguided, the service manager was extremely rude, unprofessional and harassing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff to work with
Compliance Temp (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 17, 2013
I enjoyed my time at BMO Harris and enjoyed the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, unrealistic goals
Service Representative (Former Employee), Brandon, FLMay 3, 2013
Pros: good benefits and hours
Cons: management, unrealistic sales goals
This is a great company to work for but after the merger, they had unrealistic sales goals. They didn't provide the tools we needed to meet the goals that were expected. The benefits and pay were decent. Some managers didn't fulfill their duties making the lower level employees pick up the slack.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 1, 2013
My profession career started with this company and I couldn't be happier with the experience and knowledge I gained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Vice President, Senior Equity Trader (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 29, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: banking industry experiencing downsizing
Fast paced environment where independent thinking is encouraged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, depends on your business unit
Finance Manager / Regional Controller (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNApril 16, 2013
Pros: competitive benefits, work/life balance, stable
Cons: segmented, u.s. entity in transition
Large international company, but leaves little autonomy to the U.S. entity. Nice work/life balance. Employee moral and job enjoyment completely dependent on department or business line. Non revenue producing units like finance, product, marketing, etc are only located in Chicago (and in some cases Milwaukee), so there is little room for advancement – more... in these areas outside of Chicago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feel, progressive company
Vice President / Premier Banker (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 10, 2013
Typical work day consists of meetings with high net worth clients and reporting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to Work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Munster, INMarch 5, 2013
The typical day starts with counting cash drawer for accurate amounts and handling customer transaction. I learned to work up pressure and deal with irate customers. The co-workers were like a family and willing to help out in difficult situations. The hardest part of the job was to count large amounts of money in a short time period, but something – more... I learn to do well. The most enjoyable part of the job were the customers who spoiled us with treats. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual atmosphere - at this location
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 3, 2013
Pros: casual atmosphere, casual attire
Cons: job expectations that are not realistic for an employee to meet, without working 60 hours a week for months at a time, w/out any incentive or reward
BMO Harris itself is a strong company. But they have made the wrong choice when converting M&I and Harris into one entity. Three huge step backwards by not keeping any of M&I's advanced technology or procedures.
I have learned new things in this current position, but because everything is a mess with the Harris systems & files, it is impossible to meet – more... the unrealistic expectations upper management has placed on our department.
I do enjoy working for my immediate supervisor, the casual atmosphere, including casual attire. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 24, 2013
Great company to work for, benefits offered to part-timers right away. Tuition reimbursement encourages employees to pursue further education. Many different positions in the financial sector to pursue
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging place to work
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Bensenville, ILFebruary 15, 2013
The company is great and encourages their employees to learn a lot and advance when they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at BMO
Loan Service Specialist (Current Employee), Madison, WIFebruary 12, 2013
I file liens on vehicle titles with state DMV's. Its kind of boring, very much repeating the same work over and over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
CSR (Former Employee), ILFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: the pension
Cons: no lunch because not enough coverage, no breaks, not even to go to the bathroom
Co workers as every where some good some bad, the experienced I gain was really good for the job I have now. Management not train well they were given the position because they where down graded from the purchase of Another bank. The manager didn't have a clue of what to do to help the customers and she wouldn't take care of them even If you asked her. – more... They only care about numbers and sales, even if is not good for the customer. They say that they invented the customer experience but that's not truth. The people from the other banks that Harris bought have like an inside culture that they only care about the ones who used to work for that other bank. I don't advice anybody to take a job there. Specially as CSR they will leave you alone taking care of everything, because according to the managers is not their job to take transactions or to help customers they are only there to make sure you do your sales. I had no lunches some times because they where no coverage, and on top of that 10 to 11 hour shifts. If you want to have the worst job experience go to work for BMO Harris. – less

February 10, 2013

I agree with you totally. Terrible place to work

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking Employee support
Senior Service Representative (Current Employee), Milwaukee,WIJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: my co workers
Cons: everythimg else
Before I thought that M&I was a bad place to work, but I can see BMO Harris is worst. They expect all these things of employees with no formal training. Employees are not given needed increases or development for promotions. And if you do take extra training you are never promoted. This is why I have to seek employment outside BMO Harris.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company outlook and a diversified place to work.
Senior Service Representative (Former Employee), Orland Park, ILDecember 30, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits
One of the best career decisions I made to join the Harris Bank team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did you like Chase or Bank of America?? If not you wont like it here either!!
loan processor (Former Employee), rolling meadows illinoisDecember 18, 2012
was great the first 3 months until new mgmt came in and turned the place into BOA/CHASE environment
took away bonus basically. have to close a certain number of loans now to make it which is impossible
oh and the fact they hired a bunch of people and didn't even let them know the company was moving....nice...
not about the customer experience here anymore, – more... all about a number you can close monthly – less

January 18, 2013

Interview tomorrow for this position...you definitely have me 2nd guessing my decision.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well-rounded position
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Brookfield, WIDecember 7, 2012
The banker position in the BMO Harris contact center is a very well-rounded position. This position requires more skill and knowledge than a banker in the branch as there are more duties and accesses. This is, to me, the most enjoyable part of the job as it allows for a variety of activities throughout the day. A typical day may include troubleshooting – more... online banking, providing balances and assisting customers in finding the product that best suits their needs, helping customers understand their credit card statements, locating a branch for a customer, and assisting other co-workers in providing customer assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Grafton, WINovember 23, 2012
Was not flexible and the management was horrible. Was never appreciated for my work.

About BMO Harris Bank

BMO Bankcorp (formerly Harris Bankcorp) represents the US retail banking operations of Canada's Bank of Montreal. It is the holding – Read more