Find companies:
BMO Harris Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
103 reviews

BMO Harris Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take the good with the bad.
Service Representative (Former Employee), .July 29, 2013
Pros: good insurance, opportunity to develop sales skills, easy job
Cons: low wages, lots of downtime, poor management, little opportunity for professional advancement despite insistence on promotion from within
There are good and bad things about working for BMO Harris. Unfortunately for me, the bad outweighed the good by leaps and bounds. Much of the day was spent doing things unrelated to my actual job. When we did have work to do it was a competition to see who could scatter the fastest. "Lazy" is probably the best adjective to describe the work environment.

If – more... you don't take the initiative you won't learn much, as is true for most jobs. This was especially true for me because my Service Manager was not interested in training or helping employees be their best. My Service Manager was more interested in surfing the internet and completing personal tasks on work time. My Branch Manger(s) were essentially non-existent and unavailable 95% of the time. Training is done entirely online with ineffective Power Point presentations and quizzes you can take a re-take until you pass.

My job title included the word "service" but service is a truly minimal part of this position. Make no mistake about it; this is a SALES JOB. Your worth is determined by how many customers you can convince to open new accounts, credit cards, loans and meet with the Financial Advisor. Cold-calling, disciplinary action and threats of call nights are punishment for not meeting sales goals. If you're a Service Rep you MUST have a stellar referral/hit record to even be considered for what they see as a promotion. Years of service are irrelevant. Education is irrelevant. Sales is the golden ticket.

What I enjoyed about this job were the health benefits and the opportunity to meet new faces and interact with customers unless the customers were coming in to complain about the ridiculous policies and fees the bank charges. Should you choose to work for BMO Harris, prepare yourself to have to adjust to new policies and products frequently. Prepare yourself to have to explain and defend these changes to customers. Prepare for upset customers on a regular basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to Leave
Financial Analyst & Accountant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 17, 2013
Great place to work. Employee Orientated. Very friendly co-workers. Supportive Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 16, 2013
Love helping and Assiting Customers. A very Enjoyable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Teller I (Former Employee), Richfield, MNJuly 11, 2013
Very understanding about family, in the middle of an acquisition with M&I so lot's of unknown answers to quetions which can be upsetting if not aware ahead of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Network Deploy Engineer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2013
Nice people to work with! Always new technology and nice place to learn. I would certainly go back again if opportunity allows. Thanks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
ex service manager (Former Employee), ILJune 25, 2013
Pros: coworkers
Cons: management
I started working for Harris Bank back in 2006 as a teller. Within a year I was promoted. After 2 years promoted again and so forth. When I decided to move up again and take the Service Manager position, I had no direction or support from my management team. My Branch Manager never got me going on any type of training even when I asked when could I – more... take classes. Then all of a sudden my herniated disc started to finally bother me, had to get an operation and decided to get it done it Aug 2011. Came back after a month lay off and we hired a new teller that had a learning disability. Because I didn't have him sign the 90 day trial form, they fired me. I was not aware from my Branch manager that I had to do all the paperwork for new hires because normally HR does that. It had slept my mind and they let me go. Then I heard they fired the poor kid not long after that. I have an autistic son that needs therapy and the Insurance I had with the bank helped a lot, but now I have state insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recently laid off
Foreclosure Specialist (Former Employee), Brookfield, WIJune 19, 2013
negative opinion at this time.
my manager/supervisor was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Service Rep (Former Employee), FLMay 21, 2013
Cons: poorly trained management, no breaks
Took a small town feel bank and turned it into a Big Bank monster.
Management not trained properly or not at all.
Understaffed, lots of shifts worked with no lunch, no breaks.
Benefits were extremely expensive and didn't cover much.
Promotions were not obtainable unless you knew someone important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people improperly managed
Senior Service Representative (Former Employee), Grafton WI>May 18, 2013
Pros: great customers, friendly helpful employees
Cons: location, management, hours
Harris Bank was a nice place to work, until they brought in a service manager however incentive goals are extremely high for this location. The manager was easily misguided, the service manager was extremely rude, unprofessional and harassing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff to work with
Compliance Temp (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 17, 2013
I enjoyed my time at BMO Harris and enjoyed the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, unrealistic goals
Service Representative (Former Employee), Brandon, FLMay 3, 2013
Pros: good benefits and hours
Cons: management, unrealistic sales goals
This is a great company to work for but after the merger, they had unrealistic sales goals. They didn't provide the tools we needed to meet the goals that were expected. The benefits and pay were decent. Some managers didn't fulfill their duties making the lower level employees pick up the slack.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 1, 2013
My profession career started with this company and I couldn't be happier with the experience and knowledge I gained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Vice President, Senior Equity Trader (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 29, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: banking industry experiencing downsizing
Fast paced environment where independent thinking is encouraged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, depends on your business unit
Finance Manager / Regional Controller (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNApril 16, 2013
Pros: competitive benefits, work/life balance, stable
Cons: segmented, u.s. entity in transition
Large international company, but leaves little autonomy to the U.S. entity. Nice work/life balance. Employee moral and job enjoyment completely dependent on department or business line. Non revenue producing units like finance, product, marketing, etc are only located in Chicago (and in some cases Milwaukee), so there is little room for advancement – more... in these areas outside of Chicago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feel, progressive company
Vice President / Premier Banker (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 10, 2013
Typical work day consists of meetings with high net worth clients and reporting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to Work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Munster, INMarch 5, 2013
The typical day starts with counting cash drawer for accurate amounts and handling customer transaction. I learned to work up pressure and deal with irate customers. The co-workers were like a family and willing to help out in difficult situations. The hardest part of the job was to count large amounts of money in a short time period, but something – more... I learn to do well. The most enjoyable part of the job were the customers who spoiled us with treats. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual atmosphere - at this location
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 3, 2013
Pros: casual atmosphere, casual attire
Cons: job expectations that are not realistic for an employee to meet, without working 60 hours a week for months at a time, w/out any incentive or reward
BMO Harris itself is a strong company. But they have made the wrong choice when converting M&I and Harris into one entity. Three huge step backwards by not keeping any of M&I's advanced technology or procedures.
I have learned new things in this current position, but because everything is a mess with the Harris systems & files, it is impossible to meet – more... the unrealistic expectations upper management has placed on our department.
I do enjoy working for my immediate supervisor, the casual atmosphere, including casual attire. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 24, 2013
Great company to work for, benefits offered to part-timers right away. Tuition reimbursement encourages employees to pursue further education. Many different positions in the financial sector to pursue
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging place to work
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Bensenville, ILFebruary 15, 2013
The company is great and encourages their employees to learn a lot and advance when they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at BMO
Loan Service Specialist (Current Employee), Madison, WIFebruary 12, 2013
I file liens on vehicle titles with state DMV's. Its kind of boring, very much repeating the same work over and over.

About BMO Harris Bank

BMO Bankcorp (formerly Harris Bankcorp) represents the US retail banking operations of Canada's Bank of Montreal. It is the holding – Read more