Find companies:
BMO Harris Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

BMO Harris Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company that values its employees and work environment.
Jr. Risk Analyst (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2013
Pros: free banking, paid holidays and vacation, 401-k
Cons: high healthcare premium
Pleasant work surroundings with a constant steady work load and pace. The opportunity of learning something new is encouraged and rewarded. When challenges present themselves; resources are made available to remedy the situation. Being able to add value was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto claims specialists
Auto Insurance Claims Specialists (Former Employee), Rolling Meadows, ILOctober 23, 2013
Pros: insurance benefits, co-workers
Cons: lack of communication, change of the department
I have worked for BMO Harris Bank for the last 11 1/2 years. for Collections, Risk Management and Insurance claims departments.
I am dedicated to providing excellent customer service to my customers internal and external. I multitask effectively and handle a high volume workload. I have to prioritize work with minimal supervision.
Managing the Total – more... loss process to include the handling and processing of the insurance claims for the total losses and vehicle repairs. Following up and tracking the insurance companies to ensure the proper documentation was received before checks were endorsed and vehicle title were sent on specific accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work virtual
Senior Relationship Manager (Current Employee), Scottsdale,AZOctober 20, 2013
Pros: great relationship with my clients
Cons: extra long hours
Work a lot on the computer. Work on PowerPoint reviews for the clients, help the client problem solve and run reports. I learn something new everyday on how to help my clients build on the benefits of using our Corporate card program. Some of my co-workers are very helpful and great to work with. We all work virtual so we don't interact much. I enjoy – more... working with my clients and helping them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Great Benefits
Bank Officer & Commercial Portfolio Manager II (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2013
Pros: great management and co-workers, benefits and work/life balance
Cons: sometimes had to work overtime which was not often or a big deal.
I worked at BMO Harris Bank for 6 years. Where I ended up was the best group I had worked with during my years there. After reading the reveiws other's wrote it all depends on the business unit you are working for. I enjoyed the great management I had, the friendly co-workers and the work/life balance my division sought. While we worked hard, we played – more... hard too. I would recommend BMO to anyone who was looking for work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Service Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisOctober 16, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, growing company
Cons: scheduling, work life balance
I worked for BMO Harris for over 5 years. Its a great company when it comes to benefits. Health insurance is offered to part times in addition to full timers. Health and dental are great. They match you up to 5% on your 401K and once you're vested you will earn a pension. Your personal expierence will depend on your management. I have had great managers – more... that I would follow to other companies if I could have. And I have had awful managers that made me want to quit everyday. Sometimes the schedule was hard as you HAD to work what you were scheduled and if you called in sick it was a hassle. Again, that all depends on what kind of manager you have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paces Work Environment with Opportunity for Advancement.
Universal Banker (Current Employee), Noblesville, INOctober 13, 2013
I Develop, maintain and support the sale of banking products and services. I enjoy working with prospective and existing customers to assess potential overall banking needs. Uncovering my clients financial needs, I am able to meet and or exceed current sales revenue goals by selling and cross-selling bank products and services to retail, mortgage and – more... small business customers. I also provide transactional support to the Service Area (Tellers) as well as dual control functionality as applicable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work until the company was bought out.
Service Representative II (Former Employee), Milwaukee WIOctober 8, 2013
Pros: good health insurnace benefits
I enjoyed working for this bank. Unfortunately with all the changes it is not the same. Worked for M&I for 28 years which is now BMO. I like working with the public and working with cash handling duties. The newest and hardest part of being a customer service rep. was meeting the monthly referrals goals they have set for us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm customers and staff
Vault Teller (Current Employee), Elm Grove, WIOctober 7, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, customer appreciation days, cookies on fri, friendly customers, vacation increases a year
Cons: scheduling, non friendly management, referral goals increasing but products decreasing
Majority of the staff and even the customers are friendly and make the place feel more welcoming. However the new management has changed the look to something that has displeased customers due to lack of welcome warm feeling. We are usually short staffed and thankfully customers are understanding, we all try to work with each other and make sure someone – more... else isn't overly worked or having problems. There has been a lot of turn over with the change from M&I to BMO. The longer you are there the more vacation time you accumlate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contact Center Personal Banker (Current Employee), wisconsinSeptember 28, 2013
N/A
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Various Positions (Former Employee), Lombard / NapervilleSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: used to have a lot of company parties and get togethers
Cons: moved from lombard to naperville, that is why i left.
Various duties at BMO from admin to clerical. I learned a lot about the Banking industry. Great managers to work for, the co-workers were the best, made a lot of friends there. Some of the hardest things was not having to proper tools for the job, loved the people and loved the work I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
QA Lead (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisSeptember 27, 2013
It was good working with BMO. Well organized and well structured.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BMO Harris Diners Club CCPMU
Portfolio Support Credit Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: meeting underwriting goals.
Cons: small desk space for files
Working with the newly acquired Diner's Club Corporate Portfolio Management Unit was learning experience in credit underwriting. I spread financials from publicly held and private companies for annual reviews and newly acquired business. I learned how to read financials and look for signs of credit risks. My co workers where a great team to work with. – more... The hardest part of the job was to collect financials on a timely basis to meet credit review deadlines.I enjoyed the ability to implement ideas for processes and procedures as this was a launch project. I enjoyed the development and application of my credit skill set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible wok place
level 1 help desk online banking (Former Employee), brookfield wisconsinSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: specific work time, goes to work on time and off from work on time
Cons: hourly job
learned how manage and satisfy customers with positive attitude
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers
Customer Service repetitive (Former Employee), Belleville, ILSeptember 19, 2013
Was fun, lots of changes. teller job is good job not a thouh job just sell there stuff,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible management but limited advancement opportunities.
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Crown Point, INAugust 28, 2013
Pros: management, great customers.
Cons: no advancement opportunities.
-Slow bank branch with minimal customer traffic

-Learned the importance of being a self-starter to produce sales.

-Amazing management that trains and equips for sucess.

-Generating sales with low traffic has been the greatest challenge.

-Interacting with customers, and helping them make sense of their finances in a changing world has been the rewarding – more... part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy BMO Harris and all of my employees.
Service Representative (Current Employee), Surprise, AZAugust 20, 2013
My whole day consists of running transactions,check mail and night drop for deposits. Count our drawers and give customers the best experience and relationship with BMO Harris. The hardest part of the job is un happy customers but I enjoy our sweet customers who I have built great relationships with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Friendly Environment
Unit Manager/AVP (Former Employee), NapervilleAugust 14, 2013
BMO Harris Bank is a very fast pace customer driven bank. They take their clients need to heart and exceed at providing a great customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take the good with the bad.
Service Representative (Former Employee), .July 29, 2013
Pros: good insurance, opportunity to develop sales skills, easy job
Cons: low wages, lots of downtime, poor management, little opportunity for professional advancement despite insistence on promotion from within
There are good and bad things about working for BMO Harris. Unfortunately for me, the bad outweighed the good by leaps and bounds. Much of the day was spent doing things unrelated to my actual job. When we did have work to do it was a competition to see who could scatter the fastest. "Lazy" is probably the best adjective to describe the work environment.

If – more... you don't take the initiative you won't learn much, as is true for most jobs. This was especially true for me because my Service Manager was not interested in training or helping employees be their best. My Service Manager was more interested in surfing the internet and completing personal tasks on work time. My Branch Manger(s) were essentially non-existent and unavailable 95% of the time. Training is done entirely online with ineffective Power Point presentations and quizzes you can take a re-take until you pass.

My job title included the word "service" but service is a truly minimal part of this position. Make no mistake about it; this is a SALES JOB. Your worth is determined by how many customers you can convince to open new accounts, credit cards, loans and meet with the Financial Advisor. Cold-calling, disciplinary action and threats of call nights are punishment for not meeting sales goals. If you're a Service Rep you MUST have a stellar referral/hit record to even be considered for what they see as a promotion. Years of service are irrelevant. Education is irrelevant. Sales is the golden ticket.

What I enjoyed about this job were the health benefits and the opportunity to meet new faces and interact with customers unless the customers were coming in to complain about the ridiculous policies and fees the bank charges. Should you choose to work for BMO Harris, prepare yourself to have to adjust to new policies and products frequently. Prepare yourself to have to explain and defend these changes to customers. Prepare for upset customers on a regular basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to Leave
Financial Analyst & Accountant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 17, 2013
Great place to work. Employee Orientated. Very friendly co-workers. Supportive Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 16, 2013
Love helping and Assiting Customers. A very Enjoyable job.

About BMO Harris Bank

BMO Bankcorp (formerly Harris Bankcorp) represents the US retail banking operations of Canada's Bank of Montreal. It is the holding – Read more