Find companies:
BMO Financial Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

BMO Financial Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place of employment
Marketing Coordinator (Contract) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 16, 2014
A typical day at work was mainly computer data and database information. Learned a lot about people and their great giving spirits. This was a contract temporary position to help with the united way campaign and I got to meet a lot of great people and shared quite a bit of their lives and ambitions. Love the management team of open door policies and – more... team work. Can't really say there was anything hard about this position and enjoyed it very much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BMO
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 16, 2014
Great company to start your career with.
Started as a Customer service representative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and efficient working environment
Office Connect\Nesbitt Burns Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJune 10, 2014
BMO first point of contact Support Service Desk day to day, managers and Executives technical issue from Desktop\Blackberry to network connectivity. In-house developers CRM application support, Lotus Notes 8.5 Database Radian6 Salesforce application, SharePoint and Active Directory Support.

Finding system root cause assisting peers and reporting feedback – more... issue through Knowledge base peers and team managers. Multiple achievements awards for outstanding job performance form clients, managers and peers.

Great Team Spirit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Great.
Customer Service/Sales (Current Employee), MississaugaJune 3, 2014
My position at BMO financial group is to provide service and information along with sales for BMO's Mastercard department.

It is a high paced contact centre environment, which i would take inbound calls from BMO MC clients.

The most difficult part of my job was to hit the sales targets, but overall it was not that difficult to do.

Management and – more... my co-workers are great. no complaints there.
Most enjoyable of my job was to talk to customers and the feeling of educating them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Business Objects Consultant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 25, 2014
Pro: good company, good pay and advancement opportunities

Con: bad culture, poor managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Law Clerk Internship (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 10, 2014
BMO Financial provided me with very proffesional and ample experience in my field of study. They were able to lead me in the right direction in terms of what i wanted to do in the future in the Law Clerk field
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Grande Prairie AbMarch 5, 2014
Loved the people I worked with, as for branch manager she is a terrible person I was going threw a very hard time at one point and they do not care at all.. The targets you have to reach are absolutely ridiculous and if you don't meet them your treated like your not good enough.. as for time off you can kiss that goodbye without them looking down on – more... you.. all in all loved my job hated who I worked for!! they break you down emotionally and you will end up leaving... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible employment experience
CSR (Former Employee), Southern ontarioFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: decent salary
Cons: terrible management
I worked there for 9 months and it nearly broke me. The expectations are ridiculous. You will never be good enough. And you get publicly shamed when you aren't reaching your targets. I am a single mom of 3 and I needed this job to support my family - but id much rather take a pay cut than put up with this abuse for another second.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Direct Banking Manager (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great colleagues and team environment.
Cons: high stress level, not enough employees to handle volume of customers.
A typical day consists of answering 11-12 phone calls per hour from customers who are either seeking information, making financial/non-financial transaction, adhering to new services/products, and any other inquiries. The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the interaction with teammates and other colleagues. Co-workers were always very helpful – more... and social. The most difficult part is the high stress level caused by ever climbing sales objectives, as well as the lack of freedom regarding one's login time on the telephone. Being monitored at all times can lend a higher level of stress that necessary to accomplish one's goals. This position allowed me to learn how to work under pressure, but also how to work as a team. Sharing information and helping each other out became a daily routine with strengthened us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Commercial account manager (Current Employee), AlbertaFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: poor management; technology; and customer service
Terrible place to work, all upper management cares about is bottom line. Put profit before customer service at all levels. Definitely behind competitors in technology and processes. Employees leaving on a regular basis, moral very low, and has poor reputation in local area. Company is a follower and not a leader in the banking industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough money for me to even invest....hahahaha
CSR (Current Employee), Windsor OntarioJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: share matching
Cons: hourly wage just above minimum wage, part time but have to be available 5 days, hard to advance into full time
terrible place to work, looking for another job as i type,
all they care about is sales, even want you to suggest mastercards to 80 year old clients
everyday talks about phone calls, mastercards, booking referrals
managers are so miserable because of stress, they just put it on to employees
hate this job, co workers feel the same way
everyone upset – more... all the time, complaining about stress of sales
they pretend customer service is important but sales override everything,
was told by manager not to spend time on customers who have no money, only have personal conversations with people with big money to get their trust to invest with us
best part of job - leaving at the end of everyday
worst part of job - waking up only to realize its starting all over again
so much expected for 20000 a year, cant even afford to pay my bills nevermind invest ..... which is kind of funny when you think about what i do for a living – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, Sales, Sales
Customer Service Rep.(former) (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 31, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: low pay and sales targets are micromanaged
The only thing management cares about are your sales scores.If you dont meet your sales targets,you dont get any raises and you will not be considered for any other positions. Customer Service is a very distant second. Management are constantly harrassing staff to sale and if your sales are not up to par, you are ridiculed in front of other staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really low salaries, incentives very poor (less then 1%yrly)
collections (Current Employee), Mississauga, mccDecember 5, 2013
Pros: great benefits, company shares for those who get paid well
Cons: low salaries, hard to advance, lack of good management
long hours
repetitive
unrealistic metric targets
Poor incentives
non commission
less then 1% yearly increases
sick days but not allowed to use them (yes they call you to come in after you call in sick)
pay docked for not clocking in on time but hey take your time leaving
"btw your review is due in 5 days but use up your lunch to complete it."
"Surprise, – more... we are changing your job description and youll have a heck of a time advancing now"
"Sorry guys i know we promised but; Pay freezes"
"im sorry we filled the position but your welcome to find it posted externally under contract thru an agency" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work
Call Centre Agent/ Collection Officer (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 21, 2013
Headaches...call centre is tough...

but everyone was respectful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, stressful not recommended, pay salary low
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), OntarioOctober 4, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours with no pay for overtime, very stressful enviroment at all levels of bmo
Bmo has proven to be a company which only cares about their bottom line in revenue.
Do not care for about how their decisions will affect their staff of many loyal years and their livlihoods.
Would not recommend anyone to work for Bmo as the company expect lots of overtime for no pay, very stressful enviroment. Bank deserve a union to step in to protect – more... the rights of the staff of Bmo.
As far as customer service their business decisions will definitely affect the clients as they pay more service charges,have less staff to serve the clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro management is the word!
FSM (Former Employee), Edmonton ABSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: extended hours, micro-management, horrible morale as everyone is fearful of keeping their jobs
revenue, revenue, revenue! that is all that matters to the management (senior level and at branch level).
I used to pride myself on my customer service skills, however you have to report everyday (sometimes 3x/day) how many outbound calls made, how many appts booked, how many sales booked/appt. etc........
Great place to work if you are a shark or an – more... aspiring "used car salesman" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Benefits are attractive
Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 10, 2013
It's challenging to get a promotion as they prefer to hire external candidates unless you are able to network your way up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Derivatives Trader / Options Market Maker (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 15, 2013
Excellent work environment,

Lots of opportunity for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Investment Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 23, 2013
Great company that tries to develop it's people and foster their personal growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. Employees are Kind and understanding and helpful
INTERNSHIP-Service delivery (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 17, 2013
I am working on updating the Configuration Management Database, ensuring configuration items are accurate and updated. These records are used as input for Service Level Agreement Documents that contribute to defining a great customer service.
My conworkers are fun to work with and very helpful. The hardest part of the Job is the repetitive aspect, which – more... is also quite fun because with repetition comes expertise. – less

1 2 3

About BMO Financial Group

The Bank of Montreal or BMO Financial Group, is the fourth largest bank in Canada by deposits. The Bank of Montreal was founded – Read more

BMO Financial Group Photos