Find companies:
BMO Financial Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

BMO Financial Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and fun place to work
Online Planning and Strategy Manager, eChannel (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 17, 2015
Great company, great benefits and people. Great work-life balance. Ideal place to start or grow your career. I have always been encouraged to learn and advance my personal growth. Great support system if you ask for it. Strong Canadian institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Associate, Collateral Management Group (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 14, 2015
Good working environment with cooperative and talented colleagues and supporting management. Rewards match to the results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Service Manager
FSM (Former Employee), St.CatharinesJuly 13, 2015
No training, systems and procedures are out of date.
Management forces you to break policies and procedures because they simply 'do not have the time' to help you. there is no communication though the – more... company, the branches fight with telebanking, and the call centres set up to assist the branch refuse to take your call.

I worked at a different bank for 5 years, was offered a position with BMO and have regret it ever since. I did not stay very long...

Awful, Awful, Awful!

No one that works there is happy... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviroment
Syndication Administrator & Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2015
Pros: Flexible work time if need to leave early
Cons: when short staff is very difficult to get time off
It has been a great experience working here for the past 23 years. The job is fun, fast-paced and never a dull moment. I really enjoy working with the group of people that I work with. They really teach you a lot about the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor training structure
financial service manager. (Former Employee), calgary,abJune 18, 2015
Pros: 9-5 job.
Cons: training is not sufficient.
Be prepared to be thrown with the sharks. High expectations in your first 6 months and fsm training at BMO is dry material with expectation to know 80% of your role. NOT enough coaching or training from – more... management. Shorter term employment for those who are not sales oriented or banking experienced. Some management does not follow policies or procedures and when being discriminated, human resources do not help at all. Felt very alienated as a fsm in training and 7 people will be off to other jobs from the last 2 groups of training by july 2015. A lot of negativity from employees about bmo structure of business.
Its all about BMO shareholders and income they must generate from us employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting work politics, horrible management, low pay
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 18, 2015
Pros: Medical & dental benefits, discounts at a variety of other organizations

Cons: Worst. Management. Ever. Manager talks about each employee behind their backs. Promotions given to those he 'really – more... likes' if you know what I mean. Manager is rarely in branch, asks employees to do his work without giving a pay raise or promotion. Was told about how much 'advancement' there is when in reality unless you wear a short dress to work every day, don't expect anything. Overall just a horrible experience in pretty much every way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Senior Application Developer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 15, 2015
BMO is a good employer and most of time one can get all software as needed for development. The workplace is nice. One has the opportunity to work with team members in a co-operative way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Manager, New Branch Business Development (Current Employee), montreal, quebecMay 28, 2015
Pros: great recognition
Cons: not many
management is great
great culture
comp is ok
lots of hours and travel
job culture and colleagues are great
performance of bank greatly impacts end of year bonus
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and dynamic workplace with excellent teamwork
Senior Analyst, Merchant Banking (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 27, 2015
typical duties include Cash flow reporting, management reporting, financial statement analysis. I work in a cross-functional role, primarily as a Senior Analyst in the line of business but I also perform support duties for capital markets finance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad a culture, but pay is lacking
edd analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 22, 2015
Pros: Okay culture, good location
Cons: poor pay, lack of processes and procedures
An extremely unorganized AML department with a lack of sound direction and leadership, but the work environment was okay and the location was prime. The pay is very low compared to other banks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent Financial Firm
Administrative Assistant & CSR (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 19, 2015
I have an excellent experience working at BMO
I enjoyed working with my team members
There are some challenges at the job which I have to manage professionally at the work.
Most part enjoyed at hydro one was that I interact with the managers of different departments. They are very approachable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processing Clerk
Processing Clerk (Former Employee), Vancouver, BC, CanadaMay 17, 2015
Pros: RRSP benefits with health and dental, working with a team; work part-time
Cons: Job position no longer exists and has been transferred elsewhere
Typical day was processing mail from various banks. Learned how to type faster, to build team skills, to build efficiency skills, and to reconcile inconsistent data. Management was wonderful and supportive. – more... Co-workers were friendly, approachable and fun to work with. Hardest part of the job was the dust and developing an allergy to dust and continually paper-cuts. Most enjoyable part of the job was sorting, data entry and helping the team to finish on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
CSR (Former Employee), OntarioMay 14, 2015
To wrap it all up in just a few words...think twice before taking up employment with this company.....pay is terrible and the pressure to sell sell sell is the main focus.
Management treat's employee's with little or no respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee
financial service manager (Former Employee), montrealApril 30, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: the branch manager
Working at this branch specifically is the poorest choice I made. Not only is the pay low, but the management is aweful. When asked how I was performing, the branch manager replied with 'I don't know' – more... to me. I had received a total of 3 coachings in 5 months, and the team effort is not on par at all. I had reached all my sales targets regardless and there was not one ounce of appreciation or gratitude from anyone at this branch (not the branch manager nor the assistant branch manager). This branch is being managed by incompetant, emotionally driven, irrational women that give women a bad reputation in the business world. Its because of women like these that no one wants to vote for women presidency. Don't work here, you wont gain nor learn anything from it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork working environment
Systems Support Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 24, 2015
A typical day of work at BMO Financial Group would be to log-on to the telephone queue and Remedy to see if there are client trouble-tickets that need immediate attention, ask my team members if there – more... are any issue such as system outages and general 'what is going on" question on the help-desk

The hardest part of my work would be when customers/client have issue that we are still investigation without any resolutions yet or when a client is complaining of poor support experience at the Command Centre (Help-desk) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and respectable workplace
Sr. Support Analyst (Infrastructure) (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONApril 22, 2015
The managers are respectful and caring. The work environment is stress free and the hours manageable.

The supervisors are not hounding the employees. The goals are realistic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Senior Manager, Corporate Treasury (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 15, 2015
Pros: Grat learning environment
Cons: N/A
With continuing regulatory changes impacting the financial industry, BMO Financial Group has taken on a leadership role with respect to its overall strategy and development. There are strong leaders at BMO who are great mentors to their subordinates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Senior Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 21, 2015
Pros: good team
Cons: less growth
+Pull daily team report and assigned work to team members; ensure per-defined Service Level Standards (SLA) is met in all queues

+Reviewing e-mails of Department Inbox. Take ownership of escalated issues – more... and ensure issue seen to completion by communicating with branches and contributing information; discussing regarding missing requirement; ensure all responses are professional, appropriate and accurate.

+Update different account type as per provided documents in different application (RIS, ADP, FILENET, ...)

+Resolving escalated issue that my manager ask me to review. Provide feedback

+Identifying potential risk situations and communicating them to internal regulatory bodies such as Compliance, Risk or legal Dept. Ensure

+Playing a lead role in maintaining communication with the branches regarding the Re-Documentation project and working with work flow coordinators to address and resolve complex inquiries – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Officer (Former Employee), Toronto, onMarch 18, 2015
I enjoyed working here, the employees were friendly, helpful and professional. I would definately recommond my friends. I learned lots of application and got my hands on. I enjoyed my time working at BMO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn
Analyst, Governance & Oversight (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2015
First job out of school so involved a lot of learning.

Extra support for education

Fun team to work in

Hardest and most enjoyable part was dealing with other teams

1 2 3 4 5

About BMO Financial Group

The Bank of Montreal or BMO Financial Group, is the fourth largest bank in Canada by deposits. The Bank of Montreal was founded – Read more

BMO Financial Group Photos

BMO banners front and center.
BMO Harris Bank believes in meaningful organizations including Casa Central.
Team collaboration is key to our success.  As they say, there is no i in team.