Find companies:
Blue Buffalo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Blue Buffalo Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun sales position
Sales Representative/ Product Demonstrator (Current Employee), On site pet storesNovember 12, 2013
Pros: making your own schedule
Cons: part-time hours
Working for Blue Buffalo allows you the freedom to work for yourself. You get to determine your work schedule, and you given the responsibility self-manage without a direct manager on site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Employer. Poor Management and intimidation tactics
Account Manager-Outside Sales (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: none!!
Cons: unappreciative management, lousy pay, threat tactics, poor training, long distance management from the united states, high turnover, poor morale, no perks, no discounts on product
Blue Buffalo is one of the worst condescending organizations. The job was the lowest paying compared to what competitors offered. Although I learned a lot about pet nutrition on my own accord, it was not appreciated. The hours were minimal consisting of 4-8 hours a week if I was lucky. It was an overall boring job standing around. Yet it was very competitive – more... selling against other brand manufacturers when business picked up. No bonuses were ever given for performance. I never met any of the staff except for my manager who I saw twice in two years. They never appreciated the extra hours I did when I had to assist a customer after my shift was completed. They had a very poor reporting system of faxing in time sheets causing miscommunication. This resulted in the manager threatening to fire people who could not get their reports in time because the fax was busy. Although the product is good the marketing and sales infrastructure is the worst I've EVER seen!
The only thing I enjoyed was working with the customers and helping make their pets healthy. Even that was overlooked my management. – less

March 20, 2013

I think because of us Pet Detectives is the absolute reason why BB is ranked #1 and not because of the commercials or that its the best quality food. There are so many other natural pet foods that are good and affordable such as Simply Nourish to name a few. Not to mention, I am in agreement with you that we should get a discount on the food. How can we afford that on our salaries right? The reporting software or GPL is a joke. I hate the fact that I have to email my manager everytime I put a store a date wrong when creating my schedule.

April 28, 2013

They want you to run around like a chicken with your head cut off to approach everyone. If you spend too much time bonding & educating a pet parent on nutrition they criticize you because there were one or two people you could have approached. The goals are impossible. NO POSITIVE REINFORCEMENT just constant brow beating. I have been with them a few years & have not gotten a raise even though I received a bonus for high sales. Now I see on their job site that they want people to agree to drive 25 mi. That's 50 mi round trip for a 4 hr shift on your dime. So if fuel is $3.50 a gal that's $7 fuel cost not counting oil, tires, insurance, your time etc. They don't pay for 3 hrs a month sending reports & reading & responding to e-mails either. The turn-over rate is phenomenal for a reason ! I am still there because I am hoping to move & it would be helpful to have a job at my new location & possibly a better manager. But from what others have said I doubt that will happen. There are other companies that are good & pay much better.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management out of touch with the employees
Pet Detective (Former Employee), AtlantaNovember 19, 2014
I worked for Blue for and I truly enjoyed interacting with pet parents. However, my regional manager was horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity's
Pet Detective (Current Employee), Glen Cove, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: the pay, presentations, the pets!, great staff meetings
Cons: standing, no real contact, everything's online
learn different things about animals, get to meet very nice people who care a value pets just as much as me. and this company treats their employees very above average
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Great Product
Product Sales Specialist (Pet Detective) (Current Employee), Battle Creek MINovember 5, 2014
Pros: set your own schedule
Cons: unclear about advancement opportunities
You are provided with a great amount of training resources both in person and online. The management has a friendly and communicative approach. The ability to set your own schedule is absolutely amazing. A great opportunity for pet lovers to share a great product with consumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting chance to interact with people
Pet Detective (Current Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 29, 2014
Its a great job! I only wish I could get paid more and get more hours!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoting dog and cat food while answering questions
Service Representative (Current Employee), variedOctober 6, 2014
The involves standing in different stores and trying to promote Blue Buffalo food, litter, and treats. I talk to the pet parents and recommend a product that I think will work best for them. I also answer questions about different merchandise in the store. I've learned different techniques for approaching different people and I've learned when to back – more... away. The hardest part job is when the store is slow and there's no one to talk you. But the most enjoyable is when I'm able to help a pet parent find the perfect food to help their pet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Detective
Manufacturer's Representative (Current Employee), Wantagh, NYSeptember 15, 2014
excellent part-time job for pet lovers. Flexible scheduling. Great products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inpirational
PRODUCT SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Carrollton, GaSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: very flexable
Cons: no breaks
Very fun job. I get to talk to people about their pets, and offer products to help their pets. The hardest part of the job is remembering all the products. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to talk with people about their pets, and getting to hear their stories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 18, 2014
Very fast paced and alot to leatrn but very fun to work with the variety of peopl and the skills i got to deal with people was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deceptive smoke and mirrors
Analyst (Former Employee), Glendale, AZAugust 18, 2014
Pros: bring your dog to work when management is gone.
Cons: no management
Working for the corporate office was like military boot camp. I was constantly harassed, and screamed at in this position by a senior level analyst. When brought up the issue to HR I was let go. They expect you to sit in your cube all day and not talk or contribute ideas. Because I was a younger girl I was constantly looked down upon and put in uncomfortable – more... situations, management is never around to prevent things from happening. I would not recommend this company for anyone young who is trying to grow their career – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family company.
"Pet detective" Product representative (Current Employee), Whittier, CAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: meeting other pet parents
Cons: only a part time job
Not only am I passionate about their pet food, the company is awesome as well. Great pet parent perks, and nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great perks
Pet Nutrition Specialist (Current Employee), Los Angeles CountyJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free pet food and other perks
Cons: only part time
The job is great. Get to go to pet stores and interact with pets and pet parents. The hours are flexible as well. The only down fall is it is only part time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNPROFESSIONAL FROM THE FIRST PHONE INTERVIEW
pet detective (Former Employee), ashland kyJuly 9, 2014
Cons: all
This company workers are pathetic and unprofessional, i submitted a resume for a job open in my area on a SUNDAY, that SAME day received a call (THEY SEEM PRETTY DESPERATE) a lady tells me she is sending out and email that I must respond to to confirm a phone interview the following day, and if i did not respond and confirm the email she told me i would – more... not receive a call. When i asked her what email address it was sent to she could not even tell me. SO after seeing how they call me back within 20 minutes of submitting a resume online on a sunday and how the lady could not even inform me of what email it was sent to, I decided not to confirm the phone interview for the next day. WELL when the next day comes, sure enough i received AN UNWANTED UN-COnfirmed call which i was told i would only receive once i responded to the conformation email. SO i decided not to answer the call hoping that this would be the end of the story, WRONG, the following day, DAY 3, i received yet ANOTHER CALL although i did not confirm ANYTHING. SO i decided to PRESS THE IGNORE BUTTON on this one, LITERALLY 3 mins later i received and email from the same person claim that and i quote

"Dear JON,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to consider you for employment. We have reviewed your background and qualifications and find that we do not have an appropriate position for you at this time. We appreciate your interest in Blue Buffalo Co. Sales & Demo and wish you success in your job search.

Sincerely,

The Blue Buffalo Recruiting Team"

I received it due to ignoring ones call in which i never confirmed.

THIS COMPANY AND ITS EMPLOYEES ARE PATHETIC AND UNPROFESSIONAL – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FABULOUS place to work/GREAT people
Senior Regulatory/Compliance Paralegal (Former Employee), Wilton, CTJuly 8, 2014
Best place to work and you can bring your dog to work!!!
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loud with lots of things going on
ANIMAL NUTRITION SPECALIST (Current Employee), Olathe, KSJune 5, 2014
worked 10 hour shifts of constant lifting pulling and pushing. learned about shipping and receiving, managers were awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Dectective
Product Specialist/Pet Detective (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 22, 2014
Pros: pay for your dog/cat food each month
Cons: the hours are undependable. they can add or take away hours on a moments notice.
The Job is an OK job if you have nothing to do, however DO NOT look into advancing with this position. They have strict guidelines on how they want you to sell the food by calling it, "Honor the Bond". I only do this when the Manager comes around to give you an evaluation, as it JUST does not work... I made the Blue Elite Award without the Honor the – more... Bond technique. That is, talking to your customers like a NORMAL person and not like some Robot.

This position with Blue is a "Dead End" job. It will not go anywhere. How do I know this... Last year, they had a Territorial Demo Managers' position open, and I applied. ONLY to find out from my NEW Demo Manager telling me how he was hired without applying. Of course, he didn't know I had applied for the position... The position was listed on Monster.

The hours are undependable, and DO NOT get use to the same amount of hours each week. They will take them away from you without notice. The Max hours you can achieve with this Company is 20 hours.

The Positive side of Blue is, they do give you $40 each month towards any of their products. They now have a 401K and they help pay for Pet Insurance. I stay with them, even as I write this ONLY for the benefits, as I do not see any Future with this Company, and the turnover is high. It is great for those who wants some extra funds. Also, you must work at least one shift on a weekend.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Pet detective
Pet detective (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 15, 2014
Pros: money incentives
Cons: working every weekend
The job was ok. Management was down right awful. I started with the company in 2007. My issue was with my lying manager. Here is the deal. I started out with Blue when Blue was the new kid on the block in dog and cat food. I had a number of ideas on how to improve blues website to be user friendly. I gave my suggestion and ideas to my manger. She in – more... turned took my ideas for her own. The website layout was my idea and the training videos was my idea also. So when I saw the website and training Video I blew a gasket. I asked the manager did she receive credit for my ideas. That fool told me yes she did receive recognition for my ideas. Then this fool asked me did I have any more ideas and for sure I would receive credit for anything I submitted from this point onward. She told me this during one of those boring training session when I saw make ideas in full bloom. After the training session I walked out and never looked back. I mailed my blue stuff to my manger's house and wrote on the Box I quite. Contacting Blue to voice my concern was pointless there was no number to call and I guess this is the reason so many people come to this site to voice their concerns about working for Blue.

Anyhoo the food is not that great and Purina is suing Blue and Blue Buffalo filed a countersuit against Purina today 5/2014. Purina claims Blue is a lying dog about the ingredients in the cat and dog food, particular the life source bits. Purina's claim is that Blue life source bits has awful by-products.

As for being a Pet detective the job is a dead end job. So if you have nothing better to do on the weekends as if you didn't have a life then you should work for Blue until the job gets old and the management at Blue Buffalo gets on your last bloody nerve and you end up quitting your job. So, if you decide to work for Blue you will be back posting on this website how much you loath working for Blue Buffalo. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job interacting with pet parents and store personnel
Pet Detective (Current Employee), Tucson, AZMay 13, 2014
Lots of fun and positive interaction. Lots of independence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME Part time job
Pet Detective (Sales Representative) (Current Employee), INApril 15, 2014
Pros: pets - management - fun - rebates
Cons: only part-time hrs + limited advancdemnt
Really great company. The products are top of the line and easy to talk about. You make your schedule in advance for the whole month. Its so easy. The report the hours online and get paid every week. The clients are the best part of the job, getting to pet and love on dogs and cats at work. You get the chance to make them healthier and live better which – more... feels great at the end of the day. My manager is really great too; its nice cause she really loves her job too. She is quick to respond and always happy to help coach me along and give me ideas. I work by myself but the smart sessions are great... you get to work with teammates and share ideas. The other PDs are really fun and wish I could see them more often. The company does a great job putting things together. I only wish I could do it full-time! AND now there are benefits like 401K and pet adoption reimbursment. – less

1 2 3

About Blue Buffalo

Just like you, we’re dog and cat lovers, pure and simple. We don't "own" our dogs and cats; they are family – Read more