Blackmon Mooring

Blackmon Mooring Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Reputation
Crew Lead (Current Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 29, 2016
Unfortunately, Blackmon Mooring has an apparent negative reputation among past customers, creating a negative effect on future ones. Not enough work, and single kids get better jobs than men with families. When the work is there its good pay, but when its not, its impossible to make bills. Very unstable.
Pros
Good commision when theres work.
Cons
Poor management, favoritism, unstable, not enough work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Comment – September 21, 2016

Thank you for posting this review and for bringing these issues to my attention. You are correct that a poor reputation in a small town like Amarillo, TX can be detrimental to a business, but we are working daily to improve communication, efficiency, and build a team of positive and dedicated employees. In fact, we now have a 5 star rating on Google+! Along with this new online face, we are also implementing other marketing techniques and putting a new focus on commercial work. Thank you again for your feedback, and if you would like to speak with me in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Family friendly place to work.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 10, 2016
My typical work day was consisted of meeting with home owners, sub contractors, bank representatives, insurance adjusters, and building inspectors. These meetings were necessary for the rebuild process of both commercial and residential insurance based construction projects.
Pros
Worked alone most of the time
Cons
not much time to myself after work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report

Comment – February 29, 2016

Thank you for posting the above review of Blackmon Mooring! As a project manager, your role is essential to ensuring our customers have the best experience possible – so we appreciate your dedication, long hours and hard work. The hours definitely can be long, which is why this role might not be ideal for some people, but very rewarding at the same time. Seeing the smile on our customers face, regardless if we helped to get their business back up and running or a homeowner’s house turned back into a home after a disaster, is truly priceless. If you would like to speak with me in further detail, please don’t hesitate to call me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too much drama for my taste
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Haltom City, TXJanuary 5, 2016
Overall I enjoyed working here but there was way too much drama, no opportunity for advancement, and home life was very limited while working here. I enjoyed helping customers, meeting new people and getting paid weekly.
Pros
Medical was paid for by the company
Cons
Favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Comment – January 15, 2016

Thank you so much for this review! I’m glad you enjoyed your time with us. Our call center representatives are usually the first and last contact our customers have with our business and we appreciate this essential division of our company. It is a fast paced environment and demands a lot of team work. In regards to advancement, we have countless employees that have been with us, and will stay with us, for years to come. As with any large business with 70 years under its belt, this is a marathon with a good strong team, rather than a solo sprint to the top. I’m glad you enjoyed helping customers! “Helping others in times of need” has been one of our mottos since we first began offering restoration services, and we were privileged to have a caring person such as yourself as a part of our team. If you would like to speak with me in further detail, please don’t hesitate to call me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 19, 2015
I was always busy. Made good money during the winter season for water damages that always seem to occur when pipes would freeze and flood homes.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Comment – January 4, 2016

Thank you for the positive review of our company! I agree that this is a great industry to be in, especially for people like you with great work ethic. This dedication is what sets us apart from our competitors and will keep Blackmon Mooring thriving for many years to come. We were fortunate to have you as a member of our team! Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Job Environment
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 14, 2015
Aside from a good couple of people the management at this place is horrible. You don't get paid enough for the work that you do and the company tries to stretch its dollar as much as it can so that the higher ups can get a bigger bonus at the end of the year. Most of the workers that this company hire have some kind of criminal background history or are uneducated/unprofessional.
Pros
You get paid every week
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport

Comment – January 4, 2016

Thank you for this review. I’m sorry that you feel that you were not paid enough during your time with us. We consider our pay to be more competitive than other companies in our industry, and proudly pay 100% of our employee’s insurance premium. I can assure you, we run criminal background checks on all of our employees and perform random drug screenings throughout all of our locations. Before an employee steps in front of a customer he or she will be trained in customer service and professionalism. We hear great feedback from our customers every month about how courteous and efficient our teams are. Thank you again for this review, and if you would like to speak with me in further detail, please don’t hesitate to call me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very great.
Assistant Carpet Cleaner (Former Employee) –  HoustonMay 22, 2015
I did not find this job to be a place of advancement. I did not like anything possible about the job. I did not like the managers nor the employees, The managers were not clear on their expectations.
Pros
pay every week
Cons
everything is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report

Comment – January 7, 2016

Thank you for your review and feedback! I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your time working here, but appreciate your candid comments. One of my top goals for 2016 is employee engagement, which includes taking a pulse on where our organization currently stands regarding workplace satisfaction, feeling valued and appreciated and much more. In fact, I recently hired a third-party vendor to execute an employee survey, and created an internal task force to help review and develop action plans from the survey results to address opportunities for improvement and to continue the best practices we have developed over the years. If you would like to speak with me further, please don’t hesitate to call me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dynamic workplace with highly trained technicans.
Procurement Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 12, 2015
A diverse company that takes a lot of pride in customer satisfaction. They deliver repair and install services that includes but not limited to Plumbing, Air Conditioning, Electrical and Appliances.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report

Comment – February 29, 2016

Thank you for your shining review! The earliest founders of Blackmon Mooring built their business on reliability, quality and superior customer service. Today, we follow the same principles that we were founded upon. In addition to the services you listed, we proudly perform carpet and air duct cleaning; water, fire and storm restoration; mold remediation, and document cleaning and restoration. Thank you again for this review, and if you would like to speak with me in further detail, please don’t hesitate to call me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A cool place to work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 21, 2014
its a cool job I just don't like being on call. the work is easy i have no problem wit the work. Co workers are cool. The hardest part of the job is being on call when u with your family you have to drop everything and leave.
Pros
you can be off at any time
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report

Comment – January 4, 2016

Thank you for this review! Being on call is difficult and we truly appreciate your dedication and commitment to our emergency team. We are so grateful to our team members for leaving your families in the night and on weekends to help others in need. I see that you listed healthcare as a con. This is puzzling because we proudly pay 100% of our employee’s health insurance premium. Again, we understand that being on-call comes at a sacrifice with your loved ones. However, the nature of our business requires all of us to assist our clients when they need us most. If you would like to speak with me in further detail, please don’t hesitate to call me directly. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Assistant Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, New YorkJuly 15, 2014
A lot of fun creating original patterns and constructing garments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report

Comment – January 4, 2016

Thank you for this five star review! However, I think it is on the wrong page. We clean garments and upholstery after fire and water damage, but we do not create or construct them. I believe you are looking for BMS Fashion, and I’m sure they would be proud to see your comments. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 1, 2014
Meet new and different people everyday. Very upbeat place to work and time always went by really fast. Family environment and it felt like a second home.
Pros
Lunch Breaks were great
Cons
No Health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Comment – January 4, 2016

Thank you for this review! I am thrilled that you felt at home with our company. I noticed you listed health benefits as a con. We have included our CAT team in our insurance program and now proudly pay 100% of our employees’ health insurance premium. It’s one of the many amenities that sets us apart from our competitors. Sincerely, Tom Head President Blackmon Mooring/BMS CAT 817-810-5601 THead@bmsmanagement.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job had promise but inconsistent
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 6, 2014
Very good job but limited in advancement and pay increases. Many times work was slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it
Crew Lead/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 11, 2013
the job kept me busy which i love there was never a dull moment unless we were on our way to the next site
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy once you know the market.
Commercial Acct. Mgr (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 30, 2013
At some point this position was so easy it became unsatisfying as it was no longer challenging.
This although is my own opinion and could be a great place for others.
Pros
worked with great people!
Cons
not challenging enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing but lies!
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 5, 2013
Blackmon Mooring came to me with an offer for the Operations Manager position. I was told up front I would work 40-50 hours per week. On-call 1 week per month. This quickly turned to 90-100 hours per week and on-call every other week. They ask way to much out of a single employee. I had about 7 different titles and was required to perform each position flawlessly. My typical started at 7am, home around 11 or 12 pm. No family time at all. They will lie to your face to get what they want!
Cons
nothing but lies!
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Corporate Call Center Rep (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, txApril 23, 2013
I have learned a lot with this company.
I have learned about Texas
Co workers are friendly
Life Balance
Pros
good enviroment
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Beneficial
D20 Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 5, 2013
I enjoyed working for this company because there was room for advancement to a certain level; however, there were too many drawbacks in respect to the management and the way that confidentiality was handled.
Pros
the benefit that advancement was there.
Cons
some levels of management did not adhere to the confidentiality policy; were not always professional
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  houston texasDecember 6, 2012
worked cleanup,carpet cleaning,natural disaster cleanup,anything that had to do with moving from point a to point b,for house hold moves,
there wasnt much to be learned, just follow orders and work hard at getting the job done as fast as possible, my co workers were great fun to be around, hardest part of job was traveling all over never knew where you were going from day to day.long hours.part i liked the most was meeting new people everyday.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Fire/Water Damage Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 24, 2012
Had a blast with fellow co-workers. Every day I was motivated to get to work. Customers never gave us technicians problems. Not really to many complaints for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No13Report

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9