BlackBerry Employee Reviews

Found 451 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 February 2016
Overall it's a good company to work for. BlackBerry has attracted talented employees who are extremely dedicated to their work and strive for excellence in what they do.
Pros
Very professional technical staff.
Cons
Work life balance is inconsistent across departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BlackBerry is a great place to work in, especially the culture and people.
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 June 2015
The experience and knowledge gained at Blackberry is invaluable. The culture and people make you feel at home and makes you want to work hard for the excess of the company.
Pros
lots of room for self development and training
Cons
unstable industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very clean and organized enviroment.
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 July 2015
Working there was really fun as we got to learn many new things on different products such as phones. The management there was really good as they took care of their epmloyees very well. My co workers were very friendly as i am also a very helpful and friendly person myself.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work, grow and contribute to success
TL - R&D (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 May 2014
Super friendly people and place ever.
If you bring your best to your work, you can get whatever you want, everything can be approved for you.
Very friendly management team, but sometime it can be slow in making decision, which is no longer the case now.
Co-workers are very friendly and laugh with you at all the time.
The company treat its employees very very nice.
Pros
career enhancement
Cons
Sometime good technical folks promotted to management and they start performing bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BlackBerry is a great place for Co-op opportunities.
Software Tool Developer (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 March 2016
BlackBerry gave me a very good opportunity to learn, work and improve my technical skills. It is a great place to start your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great lunch room and working in group environment
Mobile QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 July 2013
Running test cases, reviewing test cases, participating in multiple projects.

I gained the knowledge of testing mobile application on different mobile os system. I developed regression and functional testing skills in mobile devices

I was under very minimum supervision, It is mostly self management,

Co-worker are very supportive to each other.

working long hours and lunch room is very big.

I enjoy working with the newest blackberry phone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough time in company to write review
Process Quality Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON3 June 2016
Not enough time in company to write review. But RIM at the time had great reputation. wanted to a part of cool technology.
Pros
Good name brand
Cons
Too many people
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronic Assembler
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON24 December 2015
Blackberry is professional company to work with. I really enjoyed everyday working in Blackberry. Work culture is really good and employees feel pleasure working in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Senior Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  waterloo/cambridge21 June 2013
blackberry do care about their staff
lots of benefits
management is tough to handle
friendly work place
Pros
happy work place
Cons
had to work hard to meet the demands of the customers order
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great internship
Software Validation and Verification (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 February 2015
I did my internship at RIM midway through my third year of university. It was my first career-related job, and a great one at that. I was lucky to work with a team of dedicated individuals. I learnt a lot regarding how the "IT World" functioned in large companies, as well as how large tasks were divided between teams.
Pros
Great Management, Dedicated Coworkers
Cons
Micro-tasks become boring after a while
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced team environment
Research and Development - Software Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON18 February 2014
Good company to work for. Corporate smartphone and service provided. Good benefits package. RRSP contribution matching. Many health incentives. Flex hours available, but not globally enforced [can cause confusion]. Management is approachable, open dialogue encouraged. Typical work is M-F; however, being a smartphone manufacturer it can be difficult to actually "disconnect" from the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Server Specialist, BlackBerry Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 April 2014
great place some one wants to work. I have learned a great deal regarding BlackBerry technology, BES, BB devices and iOS, Android devices as well.
Management is excellent. Co-workers are very helpful mostly. Work environment is incredible.
I enjoyed learning new things, assisting customers ...
I do still miss BlackBerry.
Pros
great environment, lot of benefits, bonus and overtime opportunities.
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON8 June 2014
Really enjoyed working at BlackBerry. I was given a lot of opportunities and the pay and benefits were fantastic.
Pros
salary, benefits, bonus pay, culture
Cons
work life balance, stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Technical Lead Analyst (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS16 March 2014
I loved my job with BlackBerry. It was challenging and very rewarding.
Pros
RRSP matching, competitive salary, challenging work
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Reliability Lab Operator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 February 2013
Working in a healthy environment with a group of coworkers. Every day was a new challenge for me, working on a different project. Always demanding, and i enjoined fast past and demanding schedule. The hardest part was, many times was required to work overtimes on weekend. Management was reasonable and open minded. I have learned, if you work hard it will always be opportunity to grow.
Pros
free smartphones
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Productive and well thought products, Flexible hours of work
Touch Panel/Display Intern (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 July 2015
The company is happy with you as long as you do your job and give your best. It is very flexible when it comes to the working hours. BlackBerry has a lot of intelligent engineers who are very good mentors, they will help you out with anything and everything. Working there I got so much in return because I learnt a huge deal and understand the work life better. The teammates are always helping and are always ready to explain you things when you don't understand something. At times it would get stressful, however I believe that it is the stress level and the difficulty of the job that keeps us going and striving for excellence, by making it an adventure to work for the company. All the teams always help each other out, inter-teams and intra-teams, when in confusion and there is always discussions going on within the team which is makes it a better place to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Embedded software designer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 August 2012
RIM is a very good company , in terms of its salary , culture and management ,the only things not good is its marketing strategy ,which is nothing about us developer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential, Poor VP's
Senior Manager, App Store & Content Marketing (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2014
Great new executives
Great products and services
Poor VP level personnel
Pros
Great benefits and pay is good
Cons
Long hours, Poor VP leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a fun place to work
LAB OPERATIONS TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 January 2016
Drive for innovation has been lost, hopefully it can return to what it used to be. The culture also needs to change. The hardest part of the job is not knowing if you will have a job tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , Innovative and Cooperative and colloborative place to work.
Director NPI Quality (Current Employee) –  Waterloo Ontario22 May 2012
Problems are adressed by experts and there is a very colloborative atmosphere at work, with the will to excel .Some of the problems faced are technically challenging but overcome with team involvement and dedicated work.
Pros
encouraging management
Cons
work life and family life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 705 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9
80%

CEO Approval

Based on 76 ratings
Add your rating