BlackBerry Employee Reviews in Canada

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 8, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits, bonus pay, culture
Cons: work life balance, stress
Really enjoyed working at BlackBerry. I was given a lot of opportunities and the pay and benefits were fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly collaborative and innovative culture
Human Resources (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 18, 2015
Pros: Flexible Work hours
Cons: Too much organizational change
Expect the unexpected. Business was very open to HR support and consultations at all levels in the organization. Lots of ongoing organizational change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Software Testing Specialist - Test Prime (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 7, 2015
The High tech company with fast-pace environment. Lots of new technology. People work in high efficient manner, supportive, collaborate well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Hardware Design Technician (Former Employee), waterlooJune 18, 2015
-bad management team. going trough lay off process every end of quarter
-nobody takes responsibility for mistakes
-not able in 10 years to design their processor. relying on Qualcom solution so the designers were actually doing only design verification job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and talented people but not a mature company
Manager, SV&V (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 14, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: unstable
BB is a company full of talented individuals but with a level of maturity of that of a start-up as far as processes and best practices go. Management is by and large technically capable but lacks in knowledge of process and business savvy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and fun work place with Pool table
Software Test Associate (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 10, 2015
Best place to work in canada. They have cutting edge technology and awesome work environment. Regular team lunch, social events for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with productive people
Project Manager (Current Employee), OttawaAugust 14, 2015
Work alongside world class people in research and development who are interested in innovation and getting the job done. Very interesting work to bring product from concept to launch and market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obviously Not a Viable option for Long
Cosmetic Quality Inspection (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, free gifts
Cons: long hours, company is dying, everyone laid off
Long hours, continental shift. Good benefits and perks though. Laid off while on Maternity Leave, thanks RIM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BlackBerry (formerly Research In Motion)
SMT Process Operator (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: great benefits
BlackBerry is a very good employer. Very clean work environment and it has a great and modern manufacturing facility. It also has a good personal development program for employees' advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for RIM was probably the greatest factory job a person could ask for. I LOVED working there
Quality Control Tester (Former Employee), Waterloo. ONJune 24, 2015
I worked at RIM for several years and quickly moved my way up the latter. I started as a line worker and ended up moving into quality control. I worked there to save for school and that's exactly what I did. Hardest part of my job was the switching 2 weeks days 2 weeks nights, but we were treated great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Senior Quality Inspector (Former Employee), waterloo/cambridgeJune 21, 2013
Pros: happy work place
Cons: had to work hard to meet the demands of the customers order
blackberry do care about their staff
lots of benefits
management is tough to handle
friendly work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, progressive place
Customer Quality Manager (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 12, 2012
Pros: advancement, great milieu, excellent salary and benefits, telecommute option
I spent over 5 years at RIM and they were the best 5 years of my working life. The milieu is great, work is plentiful and the people are the best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Manager Software Development (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2015
Used to be a solid company to work for but has lost a lot of key people. BlackBerry is looking for a new identity as a company but they are running out of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace always striving for improvement
RF Engineering Technician (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: not a stable industry
Report on quality issues and follow up on improvements
Personal relationships are key to getting work done correctly
Hardest part of job was the lingering job cuts
Seeing improvements based on data you researched or issues you found handling devices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of if not the best job I ever had
Test Engineer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great place to work.
Cons: typical r&d with long hours and no set time schedule.
Excellent place to work.
Peers were great to work with and everyone tried to help each other.
Management was there for direction but not overbearing.

It was a job and no place is perfect, but I will miss them.
It really is a shame they are in the trouble they are in.

Wishing them the best.

PS: For some reason I can only check one star for "overall rating" and I had to check two stars for "Job security/advancement".
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Technical Lead Analyst (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 16, 2014
Pros: rrsp matching, competitive salary, challenging work
Cons: job security
I loved my job with BlackBerry. It was challenging and very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Environment
Process & Functional Analyst - Sales & Finance (Current Employee), Waterloo,ONJune 22, 2015
Working in a large company definitely has its usual perks, but easy to grow within the company. Working at BlackBerry i was able to grow within and expand on my professional skill and experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great internship
Software Validation and Verification (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: great management, dedicated coworkers
Cons: micro-tasks become boring after a while
I did my internship at RIM midway through my third year of university. It was my first career-related job, and a great one at that. I was lucky to work with a team of dedicated individuals. I learnt a lot regarding how the "IT World" functioned in large companies, as well as how large tasks were divided between teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challanging environment
Electronics Test Technician (Former Employee), WaterlooNovember 19, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: job security
BlackBerry is a great place to work. Met new people and developed my experience in electronics engineering. At start there was great opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Core App Java Developer, Co-op (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBMay 25, 2014
Pros: salary is very attractive
Cons: poor corporate management
The project was challenging, and the job is rewarding which is great.
Claimed Profile