BlackBerry Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 400 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with no opportunities for growth
Sr. Manager, Global Systems Test Engineering (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJune 2, 2015
- Really satisfied with the accomplishments
- Set up new test teams, processes
- Responsible for delivering many successful handheld devices
- Responsible for managing large time on site and off shore
- Been part of BlackBerry's long turn around process
Pros
Recognition
Cons
Uncertainity
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Software Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ONSeptember 15, 2015
productive and fun workplace; good people, good products, good team work; good culture; perhaps, slow to react to competitions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Software Testing Specialist - Test Prime (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONSeptember 7, 2015
The High tech company with fast-pace environment. Lots of new technology. People work in high efficient manner, supportive, collaborate well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Hardware Design Technician (Former Employee) –  waterlooJune 18, 2015
-bad management team. going trough lay off process every end of quarter
-nobody takes responsibility for mistakes
-not able in 10 years to design their processor. relying on Qualcom solution so the designers were actually doing only design verification job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and fun work place with Pool table
Software Test Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONAugust 10, 2015
Best place to work in canada. They have cutting edge technology and awesome work environment. Regular team lunch, social events for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fun place to work at with terrific co-workers
Logistics Analyst - Freight Cost and Audit (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJuly 2, 2015
A fantastic company with an abundance of talented professional co-workers. BlackBerry has a fast-paced work environment but is flexible and fair towards their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Environment
Process & Functional Analyst - Sales & Finance (Current Employee) –  Waterloo,ONJune 22, 2015
Working in a large company definitely has its usual perks, but easy to grow within the company. Working at BlackBerry i was able to grow within and expand on my professional skill and experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Work
Software Build and Release Developer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONAugust 7, 2015
Awesome place to work. Lots of challenging work and talented people! Excellent benefits and pay. However, you constantly need to learn and grow!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, fun place for people to be with 2 table tennis and a cefeteroa
Software Test Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kanata, onratioAugust 11, 2015
Overall I would say that working at BlackBerry was very educational for me. I've learned a lot about Social Media applications, and usage of it in the market when it comes to Mobile devices. I also learned to set different user expectations for Mobile user, compare to Desktop one.
Learned lots of cool technologies, such as NLP, ASR and others
Direct management is usually fine. Never had a problem with a manager. Management usually listen and accepts, as well as direct and dictate when needed.
My team was awesome ! sorry - all my teams where such! the collaboration between Dev and Test is working very well.
There's much work to do at Blackberry, and if you don't mind putting some extra hours at times, you'll do just fine.
Many of the people at Blackberry enjoy either PIng Pong, Foosbal, or board games. You will find lots of people bringing their lunch or bringing their own to the cafeteria, and play a game, or just talk.
Pros
Great people, and lots of 'free time' as mentioned above.
Cons
Right now - the obvious. the big 'unknown' is lurking about everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME Canadian company
Manager, Customs & Traffic (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 7, 2015
Fast paced
Much respect for Corp Leaders
Great commradery
Work came home with you to cover logistics flow of product nationally
Our work days were made to be enjoyable by the company, much was provided for us and we had fun along with the hard work
Pros
Corporate Challenge(games) Days
Cons
24 x 7 operation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent manager and motivated to work for the team
Java Developer -Full Time (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 27, 2015
- Participate in scrum meeting to update status
- Continue to work toward the sprint deliverable
- Collaborate on design issues to deliver high quality solution
- Help the team to reach the mile stone
Pros
Expose to new and enterprise level quality products
Cons
One in a ocean of engineers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for learning/improving skills
Hardware Designer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJune 30, 2015
Great people to work with.
I miss so much working at BlackBerry.
Not sure if I will ever find the same level of fun and enjoyment from any job in the future.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Manager Software Development (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2015
Used to be a solid company to work for but has lost a lot of key people. BlackBerry is looking for a new identity as a company but they are running out of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn, and experience, cutting edge technologies
ECBAM, Technical Lead (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMarch 5, 2015
Working at BlackBerry was one of the highlights of my career thus far. Everyone there was an expert in the areas that they were in, and were also all open to share their knowledge with one another. The C Level Management, especially of late, were diligent in every decision and moved forward as one cohesive unit. Any emerging technology that others were just learning of, were most likely already been used for many months prior from other departments within the company. I loved my tenure there, and would highly recommend others to apply.
Pros
great learning experiences, renumeration above others in the industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
DSP Test Developer (Audio), internship (Former Employee) –  Waterloo,ONJune 23, 2015
I used to work as a coop at Blackberry. I love the relatively free business culture and people there. I learned lots of skills, like programming, testing, communication and etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Software Tester Associate, Co-op (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJune 8, 2015
As an intern, they paid really well and taught me a lot.
The people there are great and the work environment is very collaborative.
Pros
solid teams, good pay
Cons
company is not stable and might do layovers any time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work as a co-op
Hardware Engineering Assistant, Intern (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 15, 2015
Learned a lot about electronic design, and manufacturing. Enjoyed working in a wide variety of areas. Manual testing of devices was the hardest part, very repetitive. Co-workers were fantastic.
Pros
flexible hours, lots to learn
Cons
section shutdown after co-op ended
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despite what you hear on the news, this is still a cool place to work
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  WaterlooFebruary 14, 2015
The company has been completely overhauled over the last few years, not only in terms of management and headcount, but in terms of tools, processes, methodologies. There is also more emphasis on accountability, something that was lacking previously.
You'll have a chance to work on some very interesting, industry leading projects.
Pros
free blackberry and plan, get to work on high profile projects
Cons
not much upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Configuration Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 30, 2015
I learned so much in 12 years at BlackBerry.I enjoyed working with every one there. Lots of great people in the company. I worked with many teams and released so many BlackBerry products.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reception, data entry, filing, copying, faxing, invoice allocation
Logistics Analyst, (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 24, 2015
reception, filing, copying, mail distribution, invoice allocation. Management in my department was excellent. Co-workers were helpful. The overall atmosphere was very enjoyable as everybody was considerate and helpful.
Pros
grreat benefits
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 611 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture