BlackBerry Employee Reviews

Found 481 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company
Systems Analyst II (B2B Integration) (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON16 August 2017
I loved working at BlackBerry, they have a fantastic culture and respect for employees, also the workplace is the most dynamic I have ever worked in. I enjoyed my work there and I felt the results I got were greatly appreciated. Constant feedback was also a great motivator.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Sometimes "too" dynamic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment
Data Network Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 August 2017
I was a part of the Network Design Team. Work was all project based so we had well defined timelines. Everyone was very helpful and always eager to offer their suggestions. Immense respect among team members and managers knew their roles well.
Pros
Vendor Lunches, flexible work hours, great pay
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great
Team Lead - Software Development Support (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 August 2017
I was not hired for the skills that I possessed at the time and therefore was not able to properly assess the company from where I fit. I think we all know the BB story by now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work - wish i was still there
Manufacturing Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 July 2017
always changing & variety in work environment. real people with good working relationships. versatile and flexible with great leadership. huge accomplishments in a short time frame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing opportunities as a coop student
Recruitment Coordinator Student (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 July 2017
I wasn't full time, i was a coop student but the role allowed me to meet a lot of people and be exposed to a lot of different things. Defiently a place I would recommend for a coop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SOX Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 July 2017
Every position is different but the typical day is 9-5 with 30 minute lunches. To be successful in any position, you need to like the tasks for that job and the people you come in contact with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for BlackBerry
Technical Facilitation Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 July 2017
Lots of room to grow, great people and generally a very 'work-hard/play-hard' style of work. Some days were incredibly long hours to complete a project, while other days was fun in the sun.

The only issue I ever had was the uncertainty of knowing if the position I was in would be there the following day, due to the fluctuations in the market and how the company was doing.
Pros
Various events, team building
Cons
Long hours, job instability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Head of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 July 2017
Inspired and motivated staff who like to work hard and play hard. I worked at BlackBErry from 2008-2015. A lot of changes through that time and much more since I left. The compnay is now software only with no devices or BBM.
Pros
great environment - motivating with good leadership
Cons
business contraction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture
Product Demand Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 June 2017
Great Work Culture; focused on employee advancement; customer satisfaction, innovation; great work/life balance; investing in employee's education, etc...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review...
Production Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 June 2017
Hard to say how I feel about this company... Everyone knows that a lot of people were laid off due to poor management of the company.

I likely would have stayed here for a very long time if things went differently. I'm not sure I can say that anyone should work here as no one really knows what their long term is at this point.
Pros
Was a good company
Cons
No idea where the company is going
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great local high tech company
Senior IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 June 2017
great place to learn new technologies
friendly and nice coworkers
good benefit and salary
culture has changed over the years
overall great company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Beta Software Tester (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON8 June 2017
Work culture is great but it is difficult to find a job for full time as there is no vacancy. Overall, it is a great place to work as a co-op. The co-workers are so great and willing to help anytime you need them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for juniors want to start their career
Cyber Security (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 June 2017
Not recommended for experts that do the job professionally.
Lack of the knowledge and learning.
Lack of the promotions.
Lack of the leadership and good decision making.
Lack of team work and knowledge share.
Pros
opportunity for juniors to learn basics.
Cons
poor management, poor salary and benefits, poor knowledge share and no team work at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Global Security Student (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 June 2017
this is a great place to work forever and ever. everyone is so nice, they are willing to help you learn and go at your own pace. its terrific. ya aman
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Database Architect
Database & Application Architect (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, CA1 June 2017
A great company to work with. Processes are in place and implemented efficiently. Got lots of grooming in terms of IT work I was able to perform. Thanks to the great colleagues
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
less job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, but lots has changed
PROGRAM MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 May 2017
Worked for BlackBerry in the good old days before all the lay offs. Was a great place to work with lots of freedom and potential. Too bad it had a turn for the worse.
Pros
travel perks
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Staff (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 May 2017
At the height of the BlackBerry craze, everyone at BlackBerry was excited about the future of the company. It was a great place to work with lots of opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Blackberry(RIM) was a great experience
System Relationship Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  RIM B24 May 2017
A typical day would consist of providing 2nd level technical support for internal users with errors pertaining to the supplier relationship management system (SRM - SAP system)
Pros
Quick resolution
Cons
First level support was slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good in some aspects
Quality Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 May 2017
Leadership in the hay days was very poor as a result there was no strategic innovation and the company underwent spiral fall. However, there were attempts to recover but in vain. The middle management and senior VPs were working in extreme silos and no engagement with staff. The HR was never for employees so work culture really was in a bad shape.
Pros
Perks
Cons
Work culture, leadership disengagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cabling Services (Former Employee) –  Waterloo20 May 2017
At its prime Blackberry was an amazing organization to work for. Through the hard times it become difficult to deal with the negative situations happening around you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BlackBerry. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 753 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9