Find companies:
BlackBerry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
515 reviews

BlackBerry Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BlackBerry is a great place to work in, especially the culture and people.
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 26, 2015
Pros: lots of room for self development and training
Cons: unstable industry
The experience and knowledge gained at Blackberry is invaluable. The culture and people make you feel at home and makes you want to work hard for the excess of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for RIM was probably the greatest factory job a person could ask for. I LOVED working there
Quality Control Tester (Former Employee), Waterloo. ONJune 24, 2015
I worked at RIM for several years and quickly moved my way up the latter. I started as a line worker and ended up moving into quality control. I worked there to save for school and that's exactly what I did. Hardest part of my job was the switching 2 weeks days 2 weeks nights, but we were treated great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
DSP Test Developer (Audio), internship (Former Employee), Waterloo,ONJune 23, 2015
I used to work as a coop at Blackberry. I love the relatively free business culture and people there. I learned lots of skills, like programming, testing, communication and etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Environment
Process & Functional Analyst - Sales & Finance (Current Employee), Waterloo,ONJune 22, 2015
Working in a large company definitely has its usual perks, but easy to grow within the company. Working at BlackBerry i was able to grow within and expand on my professional skill and experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Hardware Design Technician (Former Employee), waterlooJune 18, 2015
-bad management team. going trough lay off process every end of quarter
-nobody takes responsibility for mistakes
-not able in 10 years to design their processor. relying on Qualcom solution so the designers were actually doing only design verification job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in early years, not a secure place now
Manager, Supply Chain Excellence (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 17, 2015
Pros: Compensation and benefits were very good
Cons: Insecurity of the job due to massive lay offs, long hours
Very challenging, with very long hours and heavy workload during the expansion years.

Improved a lot on processes and procedures during the years, learned something new every day

Management changed often that affected company performance, sometimes I felt they were looking more for personal interests rather than company interests, which reflected on company perfomance on the last years

Co-workers very profesional and good work conduct, not a friendly place though

Most enjoyable part was the travelling to different manufacturing locations, working closely with colleagues from other departments, knowing them better, learning about different sides of the business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place but needs to improve more.
Commodity Manager (Current Employee), WATERloo, onJune 15, 2015
Pros: Decent place but needs to improve more.
Cons: Decent place but needs to improve more.
Decent place but needs to improve more.
Middle management should improve more.
Decent place but needs to improve more.
Middle management should improve more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Software Tester Associate, Co-op (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 8, 2015
Pros: solid teams, good pay
Cons: company is not stable and might do layovers any time
As an intern, they paid really well and taught me a lot.
The people there are great and the work environment is very collaborative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Senior Buyer, Commodities, Senior Tooling Buyer (Current Employee), Waterloo, OntarioJune 8, 2015
Blackberry is an excellent place to work. Unfortunately sales have declined and in turn, the workforce has as well.

I learned a lot while working here. i am fluent in many areas of supply chain and manufacturing.

The hardest part about leaving Blackberry is my coworkers... but, i look forward to a change and new opportunities!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with no opportunities for growth
Sr. Manager, Global Systems Test Engineering (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 2, 2015
Pros: Recognition
Cons: Uncertainity
- Really satisfied with the accomplishments
- Set up new test teams, processes
- Responsible for delivering many successful handheld devices
- Responsible for managing large time on site and off shore
- Been part of BlackBerry's long turn around process
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Configuration Management Specialist (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 30, 2015
I learned so much in 12 years at BlackBerry.I enjoyed working with every one there. Lots of great people in the company. I worked with many teams and released so many BlackBerry products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Software Test Specialist (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 26, 2015
Too many re-organization happened in the company...Comparing with lots of testers, I always got either exceed or solid meet in my annul performance review, but still got laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as blackberry
Internship (Former Employee), waterloo,onMay 23, 2015
Pros: work culture
Cons: unstable
pays good, benefit good, vacation is easily granted, RIM days are good. just not stable... john in the bad days... learned my first profession
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive pay and benefits. Not much job security
RF Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 22, 2015
Ok job, interesting, pays well, good benefits. Job security is questionable in the last couple years. too many layoffs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members to work with
Master Scheduler (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 21, 2015
It's great to work with hard working, dedicated people! The people are what makes the company so great to work for. Go team!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and enjoyable place
Software Test Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 12, 2015
Management is supportive, Leads are smart. Comes up with innovative ideas. Motivates interns. I learned Agile skiils along with Technical Skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME Canadian company
Manager, Customs & Traffic (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 7, 2015
Pros: Corporate Challenge(games) Days
Cons: 24 x 7 operation
Fast paced
Much respect for Corp Leaders
Great commradery
Work came home with you to cover logistics flow of product nationally
Our work days were made to be enjoyable by the company, much was provided for us and we had fun along with the hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 4, 2015
Pros: Benefits, Gym membership, Good cafeteria and good paying.
Cons: none
Great managers, good co workers. Fast paced, challenging and I learned a lot of things. Lots of room for advancement, loved my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace depending on the team
Product Operation Specialist (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 29, 2015
Pros: You get a blackberry!
Cons: Some negative attitudes during restructuring
It was a great company to work at with a competitive salary and lots of perks. Getting a company phone was really nice, especially since I was an intern. Typical day as an Operations specialist involved a lot of analysis in excel on product configurations and packaging. I also used a proprietary ERP system to maintain parts catalogues and create instructional sets for use by warehouse staff all around the world. There was a lot of independent work involving excel and somewhat boring analysis but that was nicely balanced by a management team which was very active and always looking to enhance my development.

I will say that some cross functional work with other teams was sometimes unpleasant due to the fact that there were many lay-offs occurring at the time. Individuals and groups with less job security are of course going to lack the motivation and positive attitude they once had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent manager and motivated to work for the team
Java Developer -Full Time (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 27, 2015
Pros: Expose to new and enterprise level quality products
Cons: One in a ocean of engineers
- Participate in scrum meeting to update status
- Continue to work toward the sprint deliverable
- Collaborate on design issues to deliver high quality solution
- Help the team to reach the mile stone

1 2 3 4 5

About BlackBerry

At BlackBerry, you can change the face of technology. A career with us means you can truly reach your full potential.

BlackBerry Photos

BlackBerry office in Halifax