Black Cat Blades Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heat Treat
LEAD HAND HEAT TREATING (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 31, 2016
Metallurgy and Particle inspection were an addition to my daily tasks of heat treating, tempering and straightening steel used on heavy equipment machinery. Spent 4 years learning all stages in the heat treat department, then transferred to shipping and receiving where loading and unloading of trucks via forklift. Handled all paperwork and reported to logistics. Finally returned to heat treat as a lead hand until I had decided to work for Stirling Hydraulics(who serviced at Black Cat) and had hoped to get a millwright apprenticeship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial environment, fast paced
lead hand, welder, heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Selkirk MBMarch 24, 2013
Union based environment, making employee management relations slightly school yard, and uniform.
Morale a tad low, and vision not one I could wholeheartedly support.
I learned a lot in this position, knowledge in machining, programing, operating.
Shift work was involved which was hard, but showed me I am capable of adapting.
I enjoyed getting my hands dirty and proving to myself that I can tackle and excel, in an industrial environment.
Pros
constant learning, great relations with co workers, wage and benefits
Cons
shift work, transportation, long hours, hard labor
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work very Demanding
CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBFebruary 29, 2016
Fast paced very demanding .this job was different every day . was never the same .working there only brought my level of the industry to another level .Always learned something new ...
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interresting fun and also a great environement
Mitch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 23, 2015
Real good environement fun and aslron a good opportunity given hours and a good stretch as to say it really look foward into going to work every day
Pros
Paid Breaks
Cons
Real good people and hours given
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoffs
CNC Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 8, 2015
Alright place to work.
Nothing special but money is money.
HR lies to people about layoffs.
Cnc milling machines and bandsaws.
Alot of stoners work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative place to work
Maufacturing Foreman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 29, 2013
Managing our Heat Treatment department which included all aspects including safety, quality and production. I am responsible for driving all areas of the manufacturing within the department as well as the whole plant in the absence of the Manufacturing Manager.
In any typical day I would monitor production, equipment maintenance, hours of employees, quality of parts produced and health and safety of employees.
Best part of any day is being successful as a team to achieve goals
Pros
being able to be innovative and try new ideas and embracing failure as a learning experience
Cons
the days when we don't work as a team
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Labourer and Safety Captain (Former Employee) –  Edmonton AlbertaMay 28, 2013
• Operated overhead crane, forklift and ovens for purpose of heat treat
• Ensured project met timelines
• Performed Supervisory duties as required (Designate)
• Coordinated the packing and shipping of blades

My supervisor was an excellent mentor. Co-workers were easy to get along with.
Pros
great schedule and fair pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, even better people
Pricing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 27, 2014
I deeply enjoyed my time with Black Cat Blades, but after just over 2 years of employment, I was accepted into the Queen's MBA program and chose to once again pursue academics.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and decent benefits
Charge hand (Current Employee) –  Selkirk, MBMay 17, 2013
the job is manufacturing and i have learned a lot about health and safety and supervisor training, it is a union shop with a lot of good co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work very staff oriented
Manufacture and heat treat grader blades (Former Employee) –  Selkirk, MBFebruary 28, 2013
Nothing but a positive experience working there they are excellent to there staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report

See more Black Cat Blades Ltd reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.2
Culture
4.0

Black Cat Blades Ltd Reviews by Location