Black & McDonald Limited

Black & McDonald Limited Employee Reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible. Absolutely terrible.
Employee (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS5 November 2016
Unless you are best buds with upper management you are completely expendable. Over worked, under payed, not appreciated and watch out if someone "important" screws up because they will throw you under the bus without blinking an eye. If you are a heartless creep who likes riping off customers and suppliers and follows the "screw anyone over to advance" approach to success, than this is the place for you!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours working at a mill shutdown
Electrical Supervisor & Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 November 2016
Black and McDonald have a preset management crew (good bunch), but this means that opportunities to advance are very limited. There were lots of paid overtime hours and if you worked hard you could work as many as you liked. Overall a good work experience and I would work for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable company to work for
3RD YEAR APPRENTICE PLUMBER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 November 2016
A typical day consisted of running cast iron and copper pipe
Learned to layout pipe
Co-workers were fun to work with
The hardest part of the job was being laid off
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a good team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Plumber (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL20 October 2016
safety oriented
care for the employees
look for your input
friendly you can approach anyone in management
wages are union latest contracts
team atmosphere trades are in couraged to work together
room to advance.
Pros
good wages
Cons
work is spotty
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I've worked for
Labourer/Driver (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON26 May 2016
Each morning I would be instructed on the days plan. I would then load material that would be needed. Once on site, a safety meeting would take place regarding the hazards we may face. My co-workers were respectful hard working. Black and MacDonald had the most respectful management teams I have ever worked for. The site had many different contractors that sometimes made it difficult for us to accomplish ours days work. I very much enjoyed working closely with my co-workers.
Pros
Heated outhouses in the winter
Cons
Only 45 hour work weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Manager of Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 November 2016
They have a Brilliant Management Group creating a strong business culture from the ground up. Safety, Health and Environmental factors were always priority number 1; Make SURE your workers come home at night.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of guys in the field
CWB STRUCTURAL WELDER (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK14 November 2016
Great learning experience. Field crews are awesome to work with. The office staff not so much, hard to get answers and information from. should have less channels to go through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work Schedule
SENIOR BUILDING OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  14 Carlton Street12 April 2016
I am pro-active person that strongly believes in good planning will always result in good results. I enjoy making a positive difference in both my daily work and also the people and customers that I associate with.

Every day is learning experience and should be shared with other to continue the enhancement of the team.

The hardest part of a job is to maintain a good customer focus level even when faced with a difficult customer. Patience is the key to implementing this positive attitude and the reward of solving the problem and meeting your customers need often proves your worth and skill levels.
Pros
Fast paced environment
Cons
Lots of travelling involvd that takes away from actual work time.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health and Safety is Key!
Landscaper (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON21 June 2016
Great company with great people in all aspects of the company.
Health and Safety and good work ethics are most important for this company. Would recomand to everyone!
Pros
Uniform, Use of top quality equipment!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
3rd class Power Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON25 July 2016
it is been pleasure to work with black and mac. The engineer and maintenance are very helpful and give good knowledge of thing in which you will do work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support from management and co-workers
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 April 2016
I have learned how to do payroll and payroll transfers. Nafta and PST self assess. The hardest part of the job is to ensure that there are no errors in the payroll. Working with the technicians and dispatching them to customer sites.
Pros
Great support
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Lepreau, NB3 May 2016
Good work atmosphere
clean
well supervisied and managed
On a typical day we installed electrical equipment on PA system
hardest part of job was heat in building
Most enjoyable was great work atmosphere with co-workers.... Fun days.
Pros
Lunch room
Cons
High heat
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take my review with a grain of salt
FIELD SERVICES ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2016
Well I've only been with this company for 1 1/2 years. But my time with them has been very good. I'm a reccent graduate so my current position is somewhat more like an internship. However the people I work with are very helpful and focus on getting the job done. My boss provides good mentoring and I even learn from the technicians I work with as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, full days, and team players
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 December 2015
A typical day at work includes many different things, a lot of physical labour which I enjoyed. My co-workers were very supportive and made it easy to learn the day-by-day routines. I enjoyed going into work every day not only because of the people I worked with but because I enjoyed learning new things. The hardest part of the job would have been how at first, it was extremely fast paced and very complex. Luckily I got use to this pattern and I am very eager to get started on some new or similar work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues horrible management
Project Supervisor (Current Employee) –  1150 finch ave west13 April 2016
Not a good place to work very poor management structure. I learned and gained a lot of valuable experience. Poor pay structure and no bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Commissioning Electrician
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Anzac, AB26 November 2015
Started the project with the HVAC Commissioning crew, then after 10 months joined the Electrical Commissioning crew as they were new to site.
Furthered my knowledge of controls/functions and wiring
Day to Day operations with resolving punch lists and deficiencies that were presented to our department.
Great exposure to commissioning and start-up procedures.
Overall Fantastic working experience
Pros
Great Camp and Mentoring Management
Cons
Schedule being 14/7.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business Development (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 March 2016
Mostly worked from home and on the road. Great team work, weekly meetings and in office about twice a week. Always someone there for guidance if needed.
Pros
great mentors
Cons
40 hrs a week sometimes more
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
HVAC Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2016
The guys and office people are good and fun to be around, the equipment is fairly new. work environment is a safe, family driven
Pros
freedom
Cons
shortage of work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Oriented and great foremen
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON3 January 2016
a very relaxed environment, with slow pace and strong focus on minimizing mistakes, and making sure all plans are in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Team Terrible Management
Electrician (Current Employee) –  London, ON7 November 2015
Common Practice for Management to push for skipping breaks and working in Harsh condititions. Safety often ignored by management. Great set of employees working there.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Terrible management Enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Black & McDonald Limited Reviews by Location