Black & McDonald Limited Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Junior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 September 2017
My time working at Black & McDonald has been nothing but positive. I would definitely recommend this work environment too anyone interesting in a professional career opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Management team was excellent and they were great to their craft workers.
HSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  Muskrat Falls, NL14 September 2017
I enjoyed my 4 months of work with Black & McDonald and if I had the chance to work there again I would. Great management and very safety oriented. By far they live up to their expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical electrical job
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 August 2017
If you are a union electrician it's that. I didn't work for them long and from what I gathered it wasn't there typical job. It showed as the job was not very well organized from the onset. I don't know what they are like with their normal electrical work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Environment
Project Coordinator/Estimator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 July 2017
fun working environment. Lots to learn. high pressure. High expectation, Long hours, salary does not match with expectations. Good company to learn from
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are not even a second to money
Construction Manager/General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Masset, BC23 July 2017
work is away from home, while working for B&M my wife had a very bad stroke, I was replaced with in days, never was offered a job with the company again. had to fight to get my expense cheques was ^ months after my last day work to get my last expense cheque.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabrication Shop
Sheet Metal Journey Person (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 July 2017
Typical day includes completing job orders from off site employees, reviewing job order specifications, fabrication of required pieces, clean up of shop.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only concerned with the bottom line
Estimates & Proposals Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON20 June 2017
Black and McDonald is a horrible place to work; in 2015 they laid off many people in the pickering location without actually finding alternate jobs which were available at other locations. They created the problem with their clients and took it out on employees.
Would never recommend them to anyone to work or to use
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador23 May 2017
good work place good people to work with and work around good pay get more experience at camp set up and trim work camp was a good place to stay good managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Finance (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON23 May 2017
good salary
good benefits
toxic environment
departments lack communication skils( accounting, purchasing.etc

Supervisors should work on communication skill and supervisory skills.
Upper management(accounting) should work on communication.
Lack of quality training.
Quick to point fingers and not help with work
Unexpected surprises.NOT a good thing
Pros
Benefits and Salary
Cons
Training, Communication, Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 May 2017
Gained valuable experience. Extremely well organized. Health and safety was their priority. Very concerned about their employees. Learned skills that are extremely helpful for my future.
Pros
Excellent safety
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Supervisor and Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC15 May 2017
Management was great. you could go to them with any issues. They are very up to date and pro active on safety.
The days can be very long and get in the way of home life.
Overall a fantastic place to work.
Pros
excellent pay, co-workers are great.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and management made long hours bearable.
Sheet Metal Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 March 2017
I worked for B&M on a potash mine expansion in Saskatoon SK, it was a rewarding and overall enjoyable work experience, overtime during project crunch time was paid for without complaint.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Je retournera sans visitation
Chargé des projets / Acquisitions service bâtiment (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2017
Trop de changements dans un année, ils achète plusieurs petites entreprises et les intégré.
Pros
Salaire avantages
Cons
Aucune garantie d'émplios, change toujours roulement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisors are very helpful
Building operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2017
I've learned so much about building operations especially in the nursing home. The supervisor is very understanding and helpful.
Pros
Family outing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Term position
EVRAZ Revamp Planner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2017
It was only a 3 month job with a 30 day shut down at the end so not a fair situation to do a company review beyond what happened at site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Construction Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON9 January 2017
Very organised and well structured, top to bottom, B&M puts an emphasis on safety and efficiency simultaneously. Those two ends are achievable through smart practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work for also they pay for everything
labouer (Former Employee) –  Fort Frances, ON4 January 2017
Awesome plave to work for yoy learn alut on the job mostly hand tools but those are always good to know and you also get free food on the job and free transpo
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Project Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON17 December 2016
-It is a very friendly workplace
-I learned so many technical and professional issues
-My Co-worker are really nice
-Project Manager cooperate as much as they can
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Black and Mcdonald
Refrigeration and Air Condition Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 November 2016
Workday was from 8-4. I worked in the projects department installing Furnaces and Air Conditioners. Is a Monday to Friday work week with overtime only a couple times a year. Unionized company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Manager of Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 November 2016
They have a Brilliant Management Group creating a strong business culture from the ground up. Safety, Health and Environmental factors were always priority number 1; Make SURE your workers come home at night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Black & McDonald Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7