Bison Transport Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The future of the trucking industry is bleak.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 October 2016
Expect 700$/week net, no benefits. You work 6 days on, 1.5days off. Or 14 on, 1.5 off.
The company is garbage. No care or pride is taken at any level. The office staff are more valuable than the drivers. The office staff are paid 33$+/hr Ave. Where drives are paid 17$/Ave.
They can only retain people with no experience and immigrants.
They expect you to lick the truck clean for 10ยข and be proud of the lick job.
Only benefit is there is no boss directly yelling at you and you don't have to put up with idiots directly all the time.
Perfect job if your homeless and have a class 1.
I feel bad for owner/operators and lease/operators thinking they are benefiting.
Pros
Seclusion, a place to call home
Cons
Too many to list (bison=walmart of truck driving)
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Parts Person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 August 2016
Having worked primarily in the maintenance department, I have to say that this is one of the most dynamic workplaces I have ever had the privilege to be a part of. Opportunity abounds! With the right attitude you can move up the ladder as quickly as you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bison has great moral
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 September 2016
Days 8-4:30
Busy environment, stressful days. Many things to do not everything accomplishable

Co-workers very friendly always willing to assist if need be.
Pros
sumertime bbq's where you could interact with everyone
Cons
Performance Reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place
Parts Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 December 2015
good job but no advancement, parts were not taken seriously by ma nagement.They are stuck in the old boys club mentallity
Pros
clean enviroment to work in
Cons
un appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience for new mechanics.
Student Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 December 2015
Academically, I have been devoted my attention to work, which result an excellent performance review in every job i have ever had.
good to develop my own skills, and technicians are very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate culture, horrid dispatchers
Truck driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 October 2014
The three day orientation they gave me when I was first hired was great. everyone at corporate was very easy to talk to and was very pleasant and welcoming. once I hit the road full time I began to realize that the dispatchers out of the mississauga office were somewhat less than honest with the drivers. you know you are having a problem when you begin to use con artist style phrases like "bait and switch" to describe your conversations with them.
Pros
good Corporate culture, Decent quality equipment
Cons
Horrid Dispatchers, poor equipment maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes63No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Highway Operations Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC25 May 2015
- In charge of confirming and updating driver routes between Alberta and British Columbia.

- Compare and contrast trailer locations between the company system records and the physical location.

- Learned a significant amount about the transport and logistics industry and that it is a rather dynamic and systematic process that only tolerates a small margin of error in regards to delivery time frames and other events (road closures, accidents, etc)

- The most challenging task for myself was having to adjust to the specific language used within the industry.

- My coworkers were quite knowledgeable about the industry and were always happy to help assist me if I happened to have any difficulties of misunderstandings.
Pros
Great learning environment
Cons
No opportunity for overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes20No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary13 June 2015
Careful. These guys will promise almost anything to get you in the drivers seat. It's an old boys club. I hope Walmart starts their trucking company out West and teach these entitled asshats a lesson. Some guys in there I have a lot of respect for, but management can go fly a kite.
Was this review helpful?Yes66No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace
employee (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg,MB15 April 2015
It was okay, nice facilities, but pay isn't great. They take advantage of people looking for experience and then allow them to move on. Boys club type of mentality to advancement.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes33No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with the ability to love your job and have fun
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 November 2013
A typical day at work would be coming into the office, grabbing a cup of hot chocolate/coffee, sitting down and working on company projects, auditing logbooks, working with applicant tracking systems (ATS) and partnering with the human resources specialists to assist in the range of HR duties, Screening new hires, maintaining records maintenance, performed statistical research to maintain company's edge, help prepare for weekend shenanigans

Hardest part of the job would have to be the screening new hires on interview sit ins and when you have completed what you were supposed to do waiting for something new to come up.

the most enjoyable part of the job was the work you get to do, and weekend shenanigans
Pros
Good People
Cons
Not much work for an intern
Was this review helpful?Yes19No30Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym exercise at everyterminal
driver LCV (long combination vehical) (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 April 2014
I would like to say about the staff members,they are very respectful.
Their right to decide policy
Four Season Safety classes
Good Management
No need to wait
Good time for family
Pros
safety Bonus
Cons
Good miles, never wait
Was this review helpful?Yes32No45Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PLEASANT OPEN -DOOR OPERATIONS POLICY
Member of Bison Transport Driver Advisory Board (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 June 2012
- VERY GOOD COMPANY TO WORK FOR,HOWEVER, ECONOMIC CRISIS IS CREATING UNCERTAINTY FOR DRIVERS.
-PRETRIP ALL EQUIPMENT BEFORE DEPARTURE,STAGE/SET-UP TRAILERS AND TRACTOR,ENSURE SECURITY OF LOADS,EQUIPMENT AND LEGAL PAPERWORK. ARRIVE AT DESTINATION,DISSEMBLE SETS,POST TRIP INSPECTIONS,REBUILD NEW SETS...NEW PRETRIP AND REPEAT THE PROCESSES.
-LONG-HAUL DRIVING,IMPORTANCE IN SAFETY PROTCOL AND PROCEDURES.
-WE ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL EQUIPMENT AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC. MUST ENSURE SAFETY,COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCE STRONG WORK ETHICS.
-GENERALLY PROFESSIOAL ATTITUDE ON BEHALF OF MY FELLOW WORKERS.
-BEING AWAY FROM FAMILY FOR VERY EXTENDED PERIODS(IE; 6-8 WEEKS AT A TIME)...FAR TOO LONG.
-MOST ENJOYABLE ASPECT OF JOB IS THE FACT THAT I AM GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO PERFORM MY DUTIES WITHOUT CONSTANT SUPERVISION.....VERY CAPABLE OF PERFORMING DUTIES WHEN DIRECTED.
Pros
barbeques, gifts
Cons
very long stretches without getting home.
Was this review helpful?Yes59No35Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND ORGANIZED WORK
DIESEL MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 March 2014
FUN GROUP OF MECHANICS WORKING THERE
LEARN A LOT FROM MANY OF THEM EVEN JOUNGER GENERATION
MANAGEMENT WAS VERY ORGANIZED
Pros
WAS ABLE TO APLY COMPUTER ELECTRONIC DIAGNOSING
Cons
FAST PACE
Was this review helpful?Yes14No27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad to work for
shunt driver/supervisor (Former Employee) –  winnipeg mb26 January 2013
I was a shunt driver then a yard supervisor and I can tell you this at $20 hrs shunt is hard work up & down on the shunt truck moving about 100 trailer in a shift the only thing that was good was the 4 on 4 off shift that i work.As for as a supervisor gos lots of back stabbers that try and under mine your work.I also work as a PT driver for city/short haul i was there for 5 yrs and once you quite they don't rehire you I got a safety award for driving and that means 0 to them.just watch your back if you work there.and you will see what i mean.good luck.
Pros
4 on 4 off
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes65No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not For Me
Bison Transport (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 March 2014
Supervisor meant well but did not understand his role, departments operate in silos, "boys club" culture, but free parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes44No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big company with many brunches across Canada
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 August 2015
Very fun to work there. They provide many hours of work. Very safe and big company with many awards. New trucks and trailers.
Was this review helpful?Yes35No25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good name
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 May 2015
Simple people but onesided, no experience to handle people, they dont care the wellfare of their employee, all white people club
Pros
Free summer food, free parking
Cons
Evaluation not good
Was this review helpful?Yes45No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Friendly
Hi-way and local P & D driver (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC13 March 2015
Over micro managed;Is a great company to work for as long as you don't look out side the box and never question policy and procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes26No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to work for
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 January 2013
i liked working there but didn't think you got payed very well you had to run your butt off to make a good paycheck
Pros
new truck
Cons
home time not good
Was this review helpful?Yes39No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Turnpike Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 February 2013
Great place to work. Learned a lot about the truck load industry.
Pros
gym access.
Cons
lower pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No36Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5

Bison Transport Reviews by Location