Find companies:
Bison Transport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Bison Transport Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym exercise at everyterminal
driver LCV (long combination vehical) (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 22, 2014
Pros: safety bonus
Cons: good miles, never wait
I would like to say about the staff members,they are very respectful.
Their right to decide policy
Four Season Safety classes
Good Management
No need to wait
Good time for family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not For Me
Bison Transport (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 23, 2014
Supervisor meant well but did not understand his role, departments operate in silos, "boys club" culture, but free parking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Professional Driver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 15, 2014
Great place to work if you are wanting to be a long haul truck driver
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND ORGANIZED WORK
DIESEL MECHANIC (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: was able to aply computer electronic diagnosing
Cons: fast pace
FUN GROUP OF MECHANICS WORKING THERE
LEARN A LOT FROM MANY OF THEM EVEN JOUNGER GENERATION
MANAGEMENT WAS VERY ORGANIZED
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with the ability to love your job and have fun
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 21, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: not much work for an intern
A typical day at work would be coming into the office, grabbing a cup of hot chocolate/coffee, sitting down and working on company projects, auditing logbooks, working with applicant tracking systems (ATS) and partnering with the human resources specialists to assist in the range of HR duties, Screening new hires, maintaining records maintenance, performed – more... statistical research to maintain company's edge, help prepare for weekend shenanigans

Hardest part of the job would have to be the screening new hires on interview sit ins and when you have completed what you were supposed to do waiting for something new to come up.

the most enjoyable part of the job was the work you get to do, and weekend shenanigans – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Turnpike Dispatcher (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: gym access.
Cons: lower pay.
Great place to work. Learned a lot about the truck load industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad to work for
shunt driver/supervisor (Former Employee), winnipeg mbJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: 4 on 4 off
Cons: bad pay
I was a shunt driver then a yard supervisor and I can tell you this at $20 hrs shunt is hard work up & down on the shunt truck moving about 100 trailer in a shift the only thing that was good was the 4 on 4 off shift that i work.As for as a supervisor gos lots of back stabbers that try and under mine your work.I also work as a PT driver for city/short – more... haul i was there for 5 yrs and once you quite they don't rehire you I got a safety award for driving and that means 0 to them.just watch your back if you work there.and you will see what i mean.good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to work for
AZ Driver (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: new truck
Cons: home time not good
i liked working there but didn't think you got payed very well you had to run your butt off to make a good paycheck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PLEASANT OPEN -DOOR OPERATIONS POLICY
Member of Bison Transport Driver Advisory Board (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 12, 2012
Pros: barbeques, gifts
Cons: very long stretches without getting home.
- VERY GOOD COMPANY TO WORK FOR,HOWEVER, ECONOMIC CRISIS IS CREATING UNCERTAINTY FOR DRIVERS.
-PRETRIP ALL EQUIPMENT BEFORE DEPARTURE,STAGE/SET-UP TRAILERS AND TRACTOR,ENSURE SECURITY OF LOADS,EQUIPMENT AND LEGAL PAPERWORK. ARRIVE AT DESTINATION,DISSEMBLE SETS,POST TRIP INSPECTIONS,REBUILD NEW SETS...NEW PRETRIP AND REPEAT THE PROCESSES.
-LONG-HAUL – more... DRIVING,IMPORTANCE IN SAFETY PROTCOL AND PROCEDURES.
-WE ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL EQUIPMENT AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC. MUST ENSURE SAFETY,COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCE STRONG WORK ETHICS.
-GENERALLY PROFESSIOAL ATTITUDE ON BEHALF OF MY FELLOW WORKERS.
-BEING AWAY FROM FAMILY FOR VERY EXTENDED PERIODS(IE; 6-8 WEEKS AT A TIME)...FAR TOO LONG.
-MOST ENJOYABLE ASPECT OF JOB IS THE FACT THAT I AM GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO PERFORM MY DUTIES WITHOUT CONSTANT SUPERVISION.....VERY CAPABLE OF PERFORMING DUTIES WHEN DIRECTED. – less

Bison Transport Photos