Birks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Birks Store
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 September 2017
I have worked at a few other jewelry stores and of all the companies I have worked for I have enjoyed working at Birks the most. The people are friendly and there is room to advance if you want to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Management (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 August 2017
Great retail company to work for. They provide good training to the retail employees. They also offer really good benefits and employee purchase programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like any other retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
Regular sales regular team regular management like everywhere else nothing existing happens unless you sell 50000 ring that same day, like any other retail store
Pros
Benifits
Cons
No team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will always make money if trying
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ontario21 July 2017
I liked working there made nice pay due great commission, Unfortunately I did not had good communication with managment I got kidney stones and was not alowed to use washroom because it was a busy day , had to quit so I could have some sick time at home still ended up spending New Year eve in ER.
Pros
If you try you can make good money
Cons
Unreasonble demands ( like dont use washroom for 8 hours)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ancian
Vente et service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  .....23 May 2016
Salaire trop bas et chiffre daffaire pour employer pour la vente trop haut si fait pas les chifrre attention... Et pousse pour faire des vente.
Pros
rien
Cons
tous
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Director Financial Controller (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 May 2016
Great People, proactive and nice to work with. The company has a great corporate strategy and a lot of ambition. Wishing them the best of success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible atmosphere, the environment lacks any form of motivation. Overworked and grossly underpaid consultants.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2016
Management and Corporate office undermines your success. Work environment lacks energy and is terribly negative. No reward for a job well done!!!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
When you have found another job!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another sales job
Sales (Former Employee) –  Any location1 March 2015
This is probably one of the worst companies to work for in Canada.
Not only do they schedule you from night shift to day shift inconsistently but they don't offer breaks and give you 30 mins to eat for a 9 hour shift. Also the pay is horrible and I had zero training. Like not even a handbook on what to say about Birks to the customers. Also I our store had no communication from the head office. It was like we where supposed to figure out our shifts, displays and training on our own.
If you want a job then Birks is fine but it is defiantly not a career.
Pros
.... Small discount on over priced jewelry
Cons
Bad communication from head office, general lack of communication overall from all parts of Birks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 60No 9Report

See more Birks reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Birks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9