BIRD CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, lots of highly experienced management to learn from.
HSE Coordinator (Former Employee) –  AlbertaMarch 8, 2016
Bird Construction was my favorite company to work for, they practice what they preach, no "BS".
Pay was on the high side with a raise in the first few months and a bonus before I worked there a full year.
Really good safety program, a lot of time and effort went into that program.

All in all a very fair respectable company to work for....no complaints here.
Pros
Full time, always had some overtime, 10 on 4 off rotation was nice.
Cons
majority of the work is out of town
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is very loyal to employees and family culture
Apprentice Carpenter/Carpenter/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 11, 2016
Great company to work for.
The management is very involved in finding the right people for the right roll.
Family/life balance is very important to the company and is part of there core values.
Large diversity of jobs some mainly in the oil related fields so work can be up and down.
Unionized workers creates a competitive free work environment.
Pros
great employee recognition program
Cons
lots of out of town work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting job as a coordinator for Bird Construction.
Project / Quality Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 8, 2015
A typical day at work would include coordination meetings, construction and commissioning review, quality control and assurance duties and integrated problem-solving for construction issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable working there - lots of good people - lots of variety
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCNovember 5, 2015
I enjoyed working at Bird very much. I enjoyed the people working there. I had a lot of variety in my job and they were flexible with my hours. If I needed a day off I could get it.
Pros
Free lunches and Xmas parties
Cons
Manager was confusing sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crew get along well
SKILLED LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BCSeptember 29, 2015
Busy steady work, learnt new things helping other trades in the company, bosses kept the crew going, always have something to do, when they have nothing for he right job, pizza day was a treat at the end of the week
Pros
Water, and the pizza every week
Cons
short work pierods, and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Coordinator
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 5, 2015
Implemented Health & Safety Policies & Procedures.
Executed root cause analysis for accident & Incident Investigations.
Applied OH&S principles and safe work practices.
Implemented modified work programs and worked with WCB.
Conducted safety audits, risk analysis and provided recommendations.
Conducted site & employee orientation and safety training seminars.
Pros
New Mine Site
Cons
None to report
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very nice job
Construction Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 31, 2015
it was Avery nice work and I like to work with them again I I het another opportunity I use to work a so many deferent employees and it was fun to work with them but the project finish after 8 months that I work with them
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Harsh Environment
Union Job Steward and General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 6, 2015
This was a difficult labour intensive job in the Oil Sands. We worked 11 hour days each day, sometimes in -30 conditions. The money was good, but this is definitely not a job for everyone.
Pros
good pay
Cons
2 weeks away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different tasks daily and not treated well.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 16, 2015
There was always a different task to do and it was all very labor intensive. I learned how big construction projects (Wal-Mart Superstore) are done. My co-workers were very helpful when needed and I was always available to aide them when needed. Management really did not care about their employees, as far as they were concerned we were expendable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Red EarthMarch 15, 2015
Too bad they hired too many men for the project I was working on , that's why I was cut short as well as many other men were .Although I was cut short , I still had a good experience working for them .
Pros
the camp was really nice
Cons
they cut the wrong guys - the real workers should have stayed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great people to work with
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMarch 10, 2015
I had a great experience working with Bird Construction, it gave me an opportunity to work with well experienced men. Hardest part of the job was jack hammering but I enjoyed it despite the physical labor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
UBC student union building (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, B.C. UBCFebruary 28, 2015
I enjoyed the experience i got from Bird Construction. It prepared me for the trades and gave me valuable experience that will better me in the future as i work on job sites.

A typical day at work was maintaining a clean work site, helping carpenters carrying material that they needed.

Nothing was really too hard, or something that stood out as the hardest part of the job. I just do what needs to be done and keep a positive outlook.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cement Finisher/Mason (Former Employee) –  Fort Hills, AlbertaFebruary 16, 2015
Liked working at this company. It was out of province for me but it was a great experience. The job was good and I learned some new techniques in safety.
Pros
nice working environment
Cons
away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, but watch out what you do and what you say
Safety Lead/Advisor (Former Employee) –  Imperial Oil Kearl lake siteDecember 16, 2014
Always busy days of work
Do the job correctly do not relay on co-worker
Some how good
Coworker were OK in general
Communication
dealing with workers on field, and incidents investigation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Site Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONOctober 31, 2014
Contract assignment providing support for the Project Team on the Maple Leaf Processing plant in Hannon.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Lots of work.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 13, 2013
great company to work for. management actually care about their workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead HSE Coordinator (Current Employee) –  CalgaryNovember 4, 2013
I have learned a lot through this organization and wouldn't trade any of it. Great bunch of people and room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Flight/Camp Coordinator and Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 21, 2013
The Company itself is great with a vast amount of oppurtunies
Pros
great benifits, will pay to upgrade school for your feild
Cons
working on site, away from home, site management skills vary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working, long hours, high expectations
Lead Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 16, 2013
Good experience and excellent company to learn about industy
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for .
Cement Mason (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 10, 2013
I enjoyed working in town for this job at the water treatment plant, they are a good company to work for ,management were great easy to get along with as my co-workers were. We would start the day with a safety meeting then were assigned our tasks for the day which mine were pouring and finishing of concrete structures and packing , .Being able to get home not to late.
Pros
in town
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture