BIRD CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a Jungle
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 November 2016
No work life balance - Don't make you loyal at all - paying as any other company.
Management don't listen to you ... just hurry and running with no room for any improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C0-workers were great to work with, some management issues but nothing that couldnt be handled.
Labour Foreman (Former Employee) –  Alberta10 January 2017
Fast paced hard working atmosphere. Learned about civil work. Management for the most part was accommodating and easy to work with. Safety was promoted extensively and followed through. Had many great experiences with peers. Job was very labour intensive and best methods not always employed. Great place to learn.
Pros
Learning curve.
Cons
Extensive transfers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Culture
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2016
company that grew to fast and management where not clear in objectives. Reporting to people that had no idea what I did, and lots of red tape to get the job done
Pros
Workshops
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive people orientated company
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 March 2016
A typical day consisted of reviewing supplier and subcontractor invoices, applying appropriate codes, and entering them into Viewpoint software. I would also submit invoices to clients, and track their status via phone or email.

I learned basic accounts payable and receivable duties, creating subcontracts, and organizational skills.

Upper management was always very friendly and supporting. Direct management was helpful and accommodating.

The co-workers were very friendly and always willing to help if needed.

The hardest part of the job was balancing multiple Project Managers and construction projects.

The most enjoyable part was my co-workers. They were very friendly and were always organizing lunch activities such as baseball or BBQ lunches.
Pros
Very employee orientated company. Appropriate wages and benefits.
Cons
Success based on oil prices
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bird construction
Senior skilled labourer (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC7 October 2016
I found bird construction was good employment there was room to stay on and people were friendly and workers were a unit. I felt some assets were not used to full potential and management was at times short sighted. but consistently one of the managing parties would listen.
Pros
staff was treated after hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, lots of highly experienced management to learn from.
HSE Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Alberta8 March 2016
Bird Construction was my favorite company to work for, they practice what they preach, no "BS".
Pay was on the high side with a raise in the first few months and a bonus before I worked there a full year.
Really good safety program, a lot of time and effort went into that program.

All in all a very fair respectable company to work for....no complaints here.
Pros
Full time, always had some overtime, 10 on 4 off rotation was nice.
Cons
majority of the work is out of town
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is very loyal to employees and family culture
Apprentice Carpenter/Carpenter/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 February 2016
Great company to work for.
The management is very involved in finding the right people for the right roll.
Family/life balance is very important to the company and is part of there core values.
Large diversity of jobs some mainly in the oil related fields so work can be up and down.
Unionized workers creates a competitive free work environment.
Pros
great employee recognition program
Cons
lots of out of town work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pase great work enviroment
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 January 2017
start off with toolbox meeting then lead with stretches, go over safety requirements for the day very good leadership progams. great place to work for learning new skills
Pros
moving utradesp in
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 January 2017
Very clean and respectable environment. Was able to learn a lot and training was always available on request. Co - workers are very unique.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a good company
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 January 2017
I learned a lot with Bird. They really have there projects set up with the things you need to do your job. I really had a great time working with the Bird team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 December 2016
Cool place, they have free lunch on Saturdays. Ring that bell! Sometimes people bring dogs to work day. I like Dogs a lot. CLAM CHOWDER
Pros
Free popcorn
Cons
Butter costs extra (ask DMC)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience, friendly foremen
Cementing and rebar, labourer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 October 2016
Easy to understand the job at hand.
All safety measures taken seriously.
Team work.
Heavy rewarding work.
Willing to work for again.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Flight/Camp Coordinator and Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 October 2013
The Company itself is great with a vast amount of oppurtunies
Pros
Great Benifits, will pay to upgrade school for your feild
Cons
Working on site, away from home, site management skills vary.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different tasks daily and not treated well.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 March 2015
There was always a different task to do and it was all very labor intensive. I learned how big construction projects (Wal-Mart Superstore) are done. My co-workers were very helpful when needed and I was always available to aide them when needed. Management really did not care about their employees, as far as they were concerned we were expendable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for .
Cement Mason (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 August 2013
I enjoyed working in town for this job at the water treatment plant, they are a good company to work for ,management were great easy to get along with as my co-workers were. We would start the day with a safety meeting then were assigned our tasks for the day which mine were pouring and finishing of concrete structures and packing , .Being able to get home not to late.
Pros
in town
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable working there - lots of good people - lots of variety
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC5 November 2015
I enjoyed working at Bird very much. I enjoyed the people working there. I had a lot of variety in my job and they were flexible with my hours. If I needed a day off I could get it.
Pros
Free lunches and Xmas parties
Cons
Manager was confusing sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Mackay, AB20 July 2012
Bird Construction Company is one of Canada’s leading General Contractors and is recognized for its strong commitment to the growth and prosperity of both our clients and our people. Bird Construction Company was founded as a small partnership in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan in 1920. Today, we are a highly respected company, operating across Canada.

Primary responsibilities for this role include monitoring compliance with the Bird HSE Program with employees and subcontractors. You will be required to conduct investigations as appropriate and complete related documentation

great place to work! if you love to travel outside the city this companies will give you the opportunity to move around from one project to another
Pros
travel expense paid for flight, taxi included
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Coordinator
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 September 2015
Implemented Health & Safety Policies & Procedures.
Executed root cause analysis for accident & Incident Investigations.
Applied OH&S principles and safe work practices.
Implemented modified work programs and worked with WCB.
Conducted safety audits, risk analysis and provided recommendations.
Conducted site & employee orientation and safety training seminars.
Pros
New Mine Site
Cons
None to report
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting job as a coordinator for Bird Construction.
Project / Quality Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2015
A typical day at work would include coordination meetings, construction and commissioning review, quality control and assurance duties and integrated problem-solving for construction issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC8 January 2013
they are all about the words that come out of there mmouth they only provide short term work and will only keep around the low paid workers
Pros
lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7