Find companies:
BHP Billiton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
111 reviews

BHP Billiton Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finding a place in a company where I can assist in making an executives life better.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 8, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good salary
Cons: do not want you to think outside the box.
My company was purchased by BHP, so I was able to get in under different circumstances than most. The culture there was completely different than what I was used to. I did enjoy the department I was in and the people that I worked for. I was the only admin for the entire department so I was very busy all of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Environmental Superintendent (Current Employee), Witbank, MPJuly 3, 2013
Working conditions are conducieve. Company provides adequate resources to enable one to execute their tasks. There is room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
HR Superintendent (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPJune 27, 2013
Pros: listed company
Cons: daily travel between pretoria and ogies 240km return trip
Normal HR recruitment processes, disciplinary hearings, EE comittee meetings(monthly), Labour-Management meeting (monthly), organisation structure and manpower planning maintenance, medical incapacitation consultation meeting (weekly)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i did my time there and lived there
Maintenance Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee), port hedland w,aJune 6, 2013
Pros: i got my trade there
Cons: good hours not enough overtime
it was a good place to live in those days the company was good and the people where excellent to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Constantly growing and expanding
RIM Specialist (Current Employee), HoustonMay 23, 2013
Third largest company in the world. You will learn a lot while working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety values friendly people
Material Controler Shutdown Yard (Former Employee), Olympic Dam / Roxby DownsMay 20, 2013
Pros: good pay family friendly rosters
Cons: job security at the moment
pre start meeting (safety meeting ) first thing . Check Emails then off to yard to check In coming gear / deliveries . Meet up with other work mates to go through dally work orders. Update paper work on computer on system GSAP. Working with work mates was very enjoyable. Most enjoyable part of the day is going home to see my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxing place to work
Human Resources Generalist Intern (Current Employee), Farmington, NMMay 20, 2013
A typical day, is very independent. Typically have some meetings with management and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance production supervisor (Current Employee), MeyertonApril 15, 2013
Cons: no bonus
Daily meetings
Too much paperwork
Great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
operator/ safety rep (Current Employee), mpumalangaApril 10, 2013
Pros: fatigue time secure you
Cons: working long hours shift
to work well with people of different races
the management team is friendly and very respective
we work well together (team work)
the hardest part of the job is operating big machines
the productivity and safety (zero tolerant)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect company
Health, Safety, Environment and Community Officer (Former Employee), UlaanbaatarApril 2, 2013
The perfect company with strong safety culture and management leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production inbye
fitter artisan (Former Employee), witbank mpumalangaMarch 28, 2013
Pros: i
I service and maintain underground machineries.I do fault finding of hydraulic systems,rectify the problem or dignouse the machine for normal opperation.Organise spares for planed job and most importantly work as safe as possible and not take short carts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BHP Billiton
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), BrisbaneMarch 6, 2013
Pros: free iphone and ipad, car space
Cons: job securty
I worked with a dynamic team that got the job done.
Got see and play with some minestar sims really cool!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, goal oriented, good leadership, shy company
Operations Analyst (Current Employee), HoustonFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: $2 lunch, free coffee, free soda, bonus, 9/80 schedule, medical benefits
Cons: computer equipment outdated, still use blackberry, uncomfortable breakroom
BHPB is a fast growing company and is going through a few growing pains right now. HR department is lagging behind a little due to the growing population. Departments are moving floors every month with all the growth and there are a lot of project improvements in the works.
Hardest part of the job is following direction from multiple supervisors. Supervisors are great, but sometimes the chain of command isn't followed.
Communicating with different people from all walks of life is the best part of my day. My job allows me to walk the building and not sit behind a desk for hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
Condion Monitoring Analyst (Current Employee), Northern Cape , HotazelFebruary 14, 2013
Our management always leads by example.Respect among co-workers is our highest value.A typical day would be like ,safety talk first with the team,get job cards and priotise duties for the day.Report after the day's work back to the supervisor.Hardest part is that you must be able to work under pressure and still deliver.It is always good to look back and see that your hard work had pay off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
boilermaker (Former Employee), roxby downs SAFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: accomadation and meals
there was no typical day every day I was doing something different
I enjoyed working for bhp
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull work
Quality Specialist (Current Employee), KhutalaFebruary 7, 2013
Morning Safety meetings.
Quality Inspections done on items received
Run and sent out a daily report on repairable items outstanding.
Check stock levels and correct stock onto SAP

Learned a lot on Working onto G-SAP system
Management not always fair and expect more than we normaly can give

Work as a team with the co-workers and share ideas with each other

To work on SOP's(implementing Standard operating procedures)

When you actualy done something wright and you are acknowleged and thanked for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Consultant, I was not privy to general employment culture
CONSULTANT - Monthly Management Reports (Former Employee), Atacama Desert, North of ChileFebruary 3, 2013
Pros: lived on site.
Cons: lived on site.
Working in the Mine in the Atacama Desert was an amazing experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Service Management Supervisor, Petroleum (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: subsidized $2 lunch with in-house cafeteria
Good benefits and retirement program. Intense fast paced environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
area c is a good place to work with lots of potential
SUPERVISOR MINING PRODUCTION (Current Employee), Area CJanuary 12, 2013
Being a supervisor is a challenging task, supervising up to 60 people and delivering the daily plan and meeting targets. i get a real kick from having a productive day with no incidents and meeting all targets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Team work environment
Administrator (Current Employee), Richards BayJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: team build events
Cons: fast paced moments for days in a row
If I run out of rooms to host either interviews or meetings. I have learnt that working as a team helps not only yourself but the entire organisation. Each and every task an individual has performed well they get an appraisal which boost the self esteem. Acknowledging each employee as your own sister or brother keeps the atmosphere within the department or organisation healthy and always eager to go to work. It is always good to ask questions when you are not clear about something rather than acting as if you know it all. You may never tell what is gonna happen the next day. You might be alone in the office and no one to ask from. It feels great to see the day goes by very smoothly with no hiccups and that smile is written all over your face by the end of the day. In the next meeting you have positive things to tell the team and your manager about that miraculous day! I like it.

About BHP Billiton

BHP Billiton Limited is a diversified natural resources company. The Company has businesses producing alumina and aluminum, copper, – Read more