Find companies:
BHP Billiton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
96 reviews

BHP Billiton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to learn and contribute
Internship Student (Former Employee), Antofagasta, ANSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: great enviroment of people, good place to learn, nice instalations and good food.
Cons: distances to go to work every day
Many tasks were accomplished, involving advance reports and statistical stud
I learned:
The experience of how to live in a mine.
How to solve problems with different approaches.
To get along with all the project co workers.

I got to learn a lot about the job and my co workers experience, they told me about their stories and adviced me in many ways – more... regarding to the job procedures and decisions to be made.

The hardest part of the job was to get used to the rythm of life at the beggining.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to learn a lot and see how the real work is performed in the field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning project
Associate Programmer/Senior Programmer (Former Employee), APSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: celebrations and rewards
Cons: weekend stretch
Have learnt to coordinate with team,learn with challenges,time management and support from team members are plus points for my happy times at job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with different faces in the working sites
Fork Lifting & store keeping (Current Employee), WASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
The most enjoyable part of the job
Long hours services
Learning Experience.
Good Management.
The co-workers relations.
The hardest part of the job is wild environment&the dust for the site
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shutdowwn
Permit Issuer (Current Employee), Meyerton, GPAugust 13, 2013
Cons: long hours
The most enjoyable part was attending Self Awareness Training. It made me aware of my Personality Type and areas were I still need to improve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy workload
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 6, 2013
Pros: cafe within building
Cons: cubicle environment
Limited advancement opportunities.
Excellent benefits.
Application upgrades tested and confirmed before rolled out.
Excellent IT support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good place to work
Computer/Network Technician (Former Employee), Searcy, ARAugust 5, 2013
On a work day I would check and upkeep on all network syestems and also work with Drill site workers to keep up all on site syestems running
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is one of the world's best company to work for is my personal comment.
Very Appropiate (Former Employee), ExcellentJuly 20, 2013
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
At BHP you look forward to do a honest day's work with pleasure.The atmosphere welcoming,frendly and professional.You want to work.
You learn how to "learn", and there is no limit to learning. You are personally assisted by the HR on a personal or pvt. level.
The management structure is second to none.
Co-workers are a pleasure to work with,irrespect – more... of Depts.
To maintain Etical and Professionalism daily is a great demand.
Most enjoyable part is the Global Chairman's Lunch for all at Hollard Street. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finding a place in a company where I can assist in making an executives life better.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 8, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good salary
Cons: do not want you to think outside the box.
My company was purchased by BHP, so I was able to get in under different circumstances than most. The culture there was completely different than what I was used to. I did enjoy the department I was in and the people that I worked for. I was the only admin for the entire department so I was very busy all of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Environmental Superintendent (Current Employee), Witbank, MPJuly 3, 2013
Working conditions are conducieve. Company provides adequate resources to enable one to execute their tasks. There is room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
HR Superintendent (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPJune 27, 2013
Pros: listed company
Cons: daily travel between pretoria and ogies 240km return trip
Normal HR recruitment processes, disciplinary hearings, EE comittee meetings(monthly), Labour-Management meeting (monthly), organisation structure and manpower planning maintenance, medical incapacitation consultation meeting (weekly)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i did my time there and lived there
Maintenance Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee), port hedland w,aJune 6, 2013
Pros: i got my trade there
Cons: good hours not enough overtime
it was a good place to live in those days the company was good and the people where excellent to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Constantly growing and expanding
RIM Specialist (Current Employee), HoustonMay 23, 2013
Third largest company in the world. You will learn a lot while working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety values friendly people
Material Controler Shutdown Yard (Former Employee), Olympic Dam / Roxby DownsMay 20, 2013
Pros: good pay family friendly rosters
Cons: job security at the moment
pre start meeting (safety meeting ) first thing . Check Emails then off to yard to check In coming gear / deliveries . Meet up with other work mates to go through dally work orders. Update paper work on computer on system GSAP. Working with work mates was very enjoyable. Most enjoyable part of the day is going home to see my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxing place to work
Human Resources Generalist Intern (Current Employee), Farmington, NMMay 20, 2013
A typical day, is very independent. Typically have some meetings with management and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance production supervisor (Current Employee), MeyertonApril 15, 2013
Cons: no bonus
Daily meetings
Too much paperwork
Great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
operator/ safety rep (Current Employee), mpumalangaApril 10, 2013
Pros: fatigue time secure you
Cons: working long hours shift
to work well with people of different races
the management team is friendly and very respective
we work well together (team work)
the hardest part of the job is operating big machines
the productivity and safety (zero tolerant)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect company
Health, Safety, Environment and Community Officer (Former Employee), UlaanbaatarApril 2, 2013
The perfect company with strong safety culture and management leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production inbye
fitter artisan (Former Employee), witbank mpumalangaMarch 28, 2013
Pros: i
I service and maintain underground machineries.I do fault finding of hydraulic systems,rectify the problem or dignouse the machine for normal opperation.Organise spares for planed job and most importantly work as safe as possible and not take short carts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BHP Billiton
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), BrisbaneMarch 6, 2013
Pros: free iphone and ipad, car space
Cons: job securty
I worked with a dynamic team that got the job done.
Got see and play with some minestar sims really cool!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, goal oriented, good leadership, shy company
Operations Analyst (Current Employee), HoustonFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: $2 lunch, free coffee, free soda, bonus, 9/80 schedule, medical benefits
Cons: computer equipment outdated, still use blackberry, uncomfortable breakroom
BHPB is a fast growing company and is going through a few growing pains right now. HR department is lagging behind a little due to the growing population. Departments are moving floors every month with all the growth and there are a lot of project improvements in the works.
Hardest part of the job is following direction from multiple supervisors. Supervisors – more... are great, but sometimes the chain of command isn't followed.
Communicating with different people from all walks of life is the best part of my day. My job allows me to walk the building and not sit behind a desk for hours. – less

About BHP Billiton

BHP Billiton Limited is a diversified natural resources company. The Company has businesses producing alumina and aluminum, copper, – Read more