Find companies:
BHP Billiton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
101 reviews

BHP Billiton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Security Officer
Mine Safety, Security & Emergency Response Officer (Former Employee), Moranbah QueenslandApril 13, 2014
Pros: i worked a great roster and lived within a short distance.
Cons: there were often conflicting priorities amongst coworkers, i preferred a more collaborative workplace.
Mine access / egress control at Goonyella/Riverside Coal Mine.

Oversight of safety compliance on the minesite.

I learnt about mine safety compliance systems and procedures. I was involved in the Emergency Response team on the mine with enable me to participate and learn about Mine Rescue and Emergency response.

Management and I worked collaboratively – more... to implement changes when the Security role was changed to incorporate Security and Emergency Response. I often provided support and advise to the Safety Superintendent whom often referred to my vast experiences and this assisted him to achieve his goals.

Coworkers often complained of the environment and conditions but I continued to maintain a positive ethos in order to achieve both personal and corporate goals.

The hardest part of the job at some times was the requirement to continually update and maintain skills, however I was able to achieve all required.

The most enjoyable part of the work I was working in a dynamic and challenging environment where I was able to continually learn new skills and contribute to corporate goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accountable and managing individual who is self driven
Cash and Payroll Accountant (Current Employee), ZNApril 13, 2014
Pros: doing my work to level best
Cons: family person
I work under pressure up to 10hrs a day
I learn processes fast
I can mange people proficiency
My co workers are enjoying my company
Dealing with complex client to give them satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun place to work with covered parking
Accounts Payable Administrator (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 7, 2014
Pros: variety of food, etc.
Cons: n/a
Great atmosphere! Managers are easy to work with. The company has a diverse group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place to enhance ones skill
Developer Programmer (Current Employee), City Square PERTH AustraliaMarch 31, 2014
Productive work place
Gained Business knowledge
Improved my communication with stake holders
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BHP Billiton very professional and would enjoy working there again
Project management (Former Employee), MaputoMarch 18, 2014
Pros: absolute fantastic experience.well trained staff.
Cons: living away from family, sports facilities, etc
Fantastic place to work as I was one of 95 expats brought to Mozambique to "take over" the factory from the constructors.
Responsibilities were checking completeness of works, operational ,documentation, training, spares info etc.
Mozambican people are super and without aggression so training was simple.
Management were also expats (initially),and when – more... Mozambicans took over (as was the plan) it was a smooth process.
Sometimes difficulty experienced when trying to get a point across as cultures were new and locating suitable suppliers was problematic.
This situation got easier as time moved on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
world record on schedule and extremely high safety standard
Senior Construction Manager (Former Employee), South AfricaMarch 17, 2014
An Aluminium Smelter greenfield project using indigenous labor which we trained from scratch,innovative safety processes bringing in an LTFR OF 0.76 OVER 1O Million man-hours,fully supported by Executive Management of BHPB
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional organisation
PROJECT MANAGER - Technology Infrastructure (Former Employee), SingaporeFebruary 26, 2014
Fast moving, progressive, dynamic organisation. Strong focus on safety of it's people and the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy challenges
Production Operator (Current Employee), Newman, WAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: working with various people & enjoying friendships
Cons: long roster with short break
Enjoy the challenge where I am working now with wide and varied tasks on various machines from road and pit floor maintenance to installing drop cuts and ramps.Having pride in my work and seeing finished product
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frac consultant
Independent Consultant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TexasFebruary 26, 2014
Work a rotating shift, 14 on 7 off change from days to nights every time. Frac & wire line each day. superintendents were good to work for. Like anywhere some coworkers were good to work with & some were not. There was no hard part to my job, I have been doing this for so many years. I enjoy working in the oilfield so everyday was a joy to get up and – more... go to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
HRD PRACTITIONER (Current Employee), Witbank, MPFebruary 25, 2014
Cons: long hours due to short of staff
Admin,facilitation,assessment and moderation

After being given a project of putting together the accreditation together for Khutala Colliery,I suddenly realise that i can self manage myself.
working with people who had little interaction with what i was doing on a daily basis.
Seeing my learners qualifying and being appointed in different posts and – more... getting thier careers take off – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Return to BHP
Supervisor/All Round Operator (Former Employee), YandiFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: working
Cons: i hate being parked up with a passion
A typical day is to finish the task you are given in the best time with the safest results. over the years I've learnt to operate machines in a productive and safe way, causing the least damage in the human, financial and environmental text. I understand management have a high stress level for production and I believe the vast majority still do there – more... best to maintain a safe workplace. in all work places there will be people of different opinions and I recognise that, but, no matter what I will do what I can to help us all go home. For me the hardest part is not finishing my task even if its out of my control and the best bit is getting it done with no damage to anyone or anything – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Master Data Cataloguer (Former Employee), Perth, WAFebruary 18, 2014
It was a great place to work. Learning from experienced management, earning amazing money, and getting to know really interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very somber and "thick" work environment
Category Specialist (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free gym.
Cons: negative work environment
The work environment does not stimulate individual creativity. Very strict with little room for personal or human touch - everything left to computerized systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, result oriented workplac that is seeking for the best
IM Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 16, 2014
In my job I oversee global operations for the Petroleum business. A typical day at work is one with about 6 hours of meetings, which could be with my own staff, service providers, stakeholders or other people in the Information Management (IM) organization.
The great this about working at BHP Billiton Petroleum is that you work with well educated and – more... experienced people. This enables us in a fast growing industry and with many changes to be effective in challenging times due to work load, the global nature or other complexities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like the Galleria Location or new combined company
Subsurface Engineering Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2014
By narrowing down job responsibilities, I felt like I was losing my core skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
humor productive person
mr (Current Employee), MIFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: lunch time
Cons: long hours
lears to work smater and not harder,because there is ways to work bete and smater,to make job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex rapidly changing work place.
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee), Farmington, NMFebruary 5, 2014
BHP Billiton is a “Big 5” Corporation with current Mining interests in Northern New Mexico. Unfortunately, due largely to environmental concerns arising from aging area Power Plants and the exorbitant cost associated with Plant refurbishment required to meet EPA standards, both of BHP Billiton’s current Utility Customers have been forced to acknowledge – more... the necessity of reducing overall energy production by more than half over the next two years. BHP Billiton has responded with their intent to sell both area Mines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate enviroment
Intercompany Accountant (Current Employee), London, ENGFebruary 4, 2014
A typical day at work is busy, specially over month end period with analysis and solution of mismatches. Dealing with trading partners is the most difficult part of the job due a timing issues or different ways of working, also tight deadlines for a huge number of reconciliations and analysis of receivables/payables of all transactions in my entities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production is a must but great working atmosphere
Production Technician (Former Employee), Newman, WAJanuary 21, 2014
great company to work for,good roster and good team enviroment which makes the day more pleasant as you are working long hours.The tonnes we aim to achive on a shift can be done without taking short cuts in a safe manner which gives you good job satisfaction.When you have management that is prepared work with and listen to experienced workers some ideas – more... is always a win win and by far makes it a more enjoyable place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work. They are very safety oriented.
Field Operations Technician (Current Employee), Nordhiem, TexasJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: the benefits are awesome.
Cons: too much time away from home.
I have enjoyed my time with BHP Billiton but I am away from my family too much and that is important to me. I have no issues with the company. They are a great company to work for.

About BHP Billiton

BHP Billiton Limited is a diversified natural resources company. The Company has businesses producing alumina and aluminum, copper, – Read more