Find companies:
BHP Billiton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

BHP Billiton Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large site environment
Finishing Dozer Operator D6T (Former Employee), Jansen, SKMarch 4, 2014
Pros: site management are there to help assist workers
Cons: personal parking was limited at the camp
Very large site, new potash mine build. Safety rules are 10 years in the future to most construction in the prairies but can easily be part of workers every day activities if aware of surroundings and accept responsibility for his/her own life safety and others around them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting working environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), Richards Bay, ZNApril 15, 2013
good working career. Safety was the no 1 priority and people was well taken care off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with strong values
Recruitment Administrator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 18, 2012
Pros: free frest fruit, variety of pop everyday.
Overall, working for BHP has been a very positive experience, I learned many new skills. The management style is transparent and honest. My co-workers were great as well. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety my role provided and liaising with different cities for recruitment related activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are great so you put up with HR and the management.
Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: $2 lunches, benefits
Cons: hr
The hardest part is dealing with a disorganized HR.
Perhaps management would be easier to deal with if HR gave any kind of guidance or clear direction.
The people outside of HR are great to work with and equally frustrated.
The benefits are great so you just endure and try to deal with HR as little as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical and routine role processing invoices
SES Analysts (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: great diversitiy and career opportunity locations
Cons: sap not supported and aligned within structural hierachy
Processed daily invoices for payments
I learned about various Wells, Pads, and service maintenance in fields
Management participated on processes
Coworkers shared systems, field and internal information and strategies.
The hardest part of the job was 1-SAP downtime (system crashed daily)
I enjoyed looking up the coding and defining the general ledger, – more... WBS, and Oracle Tool coding translations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One company I miss so much
Miner,HRD practitioner (Former Employee), Witbank, MPOctober 2, 2014
Pros: family culture
Cons: no development
from day one you are employed they instill the culture of safety and we had a zero tolerance on any substandard acts.We were more like a family we looked after each other and there are so many good things i can mention about BHP and they were the best in class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
senior operator (Current Employee), Pallarenda, QLDSeptember 29, 2014
. Always completed all tasks expected of myself safely. Nothing was hard it is mainly common sense and years of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Closed
Field Landman (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 5, 2014
Company went out of business after I left and i am not sure as to what happened to the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Process Technician (Former Employee), Newman, WAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: good work mates
Cons: long hours
Processing Iron Ore product
A lot of on job training everyday
Good Management
Excellent Co workers
A lot of walking up/down stairs at Screen house
Handing over to next shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful compensation
Financial Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 5, 2014
Pros: 9/80 work schedule
Cons: lack of job security
Team work with a great group of people and an option working the 9/80 work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Communications Engineer (Former Employee), Houston TX.June 25, 2014
Pros: opportunity to work internationally. great culture!
Cons: position was outsourced.
While I was based in Houston, I did a fair amount of travel. UK, Australia, Chile and Peru. Every office I visited was professional and staffed with great people. I worked in the mining and petroleum groups. Both had talented and professional employees at all levels.
My only complaint was that they outsourced my position after I was there 3 years. I – more... miss working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
electrician (Current Employee), Witbank, MPJune 24, 2014
Pros: production bonuses
Cons: failling to meet targets
Productive and fun workplace.
It taught me how to respect and embrace each others culture.
The management is awesome.
My coworkers are amazing.
Carrying the blame of an unsafe work situation for my co-workers.
Being recognised on achievements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facilities
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee), Driver, NTJune 9, 2014
Pros: salary supplement for early flyin.
Cons: very long days
Very long days with little time to relax.
Catering is quite good.
Good support from management.
Excellent pool and gym facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as intern
Environmental Intern (Former Employee), Farmington, NMMay 29, 2014
Great pay and good people to work with. Getting the assigned job done is secondary to learning the process for which to complete the job and to do it correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging culture
Technical Role (Current Employee), Houston, TexasMay 21, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits, vacation and $2 lunches
Cons: hours, management, lack of standardization
BHP Billiton is a large company without structure and in constant state of flux, therefore creating an unecessary environment of disorder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have acquired a lot of experience from working here
Supply Specialist (Current Employee), San Juan Underground MineMay 20, 2014
I deal with a lot of fire calls through out the day, spend my day looking for part, negotiating pricing and resolving system issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Senior Shotfirer/Acting Drill and Blast Supervisor (Current Employee), -May 19, 2014
Pros: -
Cons: -
As- per the first review. I currently work 7 days a fortnight 12 hour shifts. Employed as Senior Shotfirer/ Acting Drill and Blast Supervisor. I have a strong understanding of all Blasting activities at my current site. I have been focusing on Mining regs and acts, dangerous goods explosive regs and AS 2187 to further enhance my knowledge for compliance – more... in the explosive industry. I have worked with many different co-workers and always work with integrity and respect with fellow workers. The most challenging part of my job is developing areas for drilling and blasting. This is also the most rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
trainee (Former Employee), Middelburg, MPMay 10, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
this is a world class company that anyone will die working for it
professinalism galore
systemetic
good polices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew to work with
Developement/Dayworks (Former Employee), Area C PilbaraMay 6, 2014
A typical day at work involved getting out and about in the dirt making sure all the roads, dig areas and drill patterns were set up with traffic management and maintained to BHP standards.
I was given any training that was required to fore fill my position and learned a great deal about mining.
My co-workers were great to work with and we could always – more... have a laugh while working as a team.
The hardest part of my job was during the summer working in 50 degree heat, the flies and dust.
I thoroughly enjoyed my job and was sad to leave the friends I had made and a job I was passionate about. It was time to find employment at home so I could be with my family a bit more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so-so
Lease Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
Decent company, no growth. $2 lunches, and ok work/life balance.

Onshore and Offshore are very different experiences.

1 2 3 4 5

About BHP Billiton

BHP Billiton Limited is a diversified natural resources company. The Company has businesses producing alumina and aluminum, copper, – Read more