Find companies:
BFI
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

BFI Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Driver Front End Loader (Former Employee), Concord ONMay 13, 2014
Pros: going to different places
Cons: dusty at times
Picking up and dumping industrial garbage bins with a front end loader, various clients and routes, co-workers were a lot of fun , enjoyed being my own boss on the road. I knew what I had to do and I did my job to the letter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Line Sorter (Former Employee), bracebridgeApril 28, 2014
Pros: was a good dity job
Cons: 3 shifts coniuous
it was a job where one had to be on thier toes all the time.
Was a hot job in warm weather and a very cold enviroment in the cold season..not a nice place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with and get along as a team
haul truck driver (Current Employee), fort mcmurray,albertaDecember 19, 2012
Cons: long hours
you get the hours u need and the rotation shifts are good as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lots to learn
scaffolder (Former Employee), Belle Plaine, SKAugust 19, 2012
Pros: good pay, hard work
Cons: long hours, hazardous environment
start at 7am end at 5:30pm
gathering materials for the job, sometimes erecting/modifying/dismantling scaffold.
I learned about scaffolds and some stuff about other jobs.
co-workers were awesome
hardest part of the job would be the long hours
the most enjoyable part of the job would be the physically demanding part and building scaffolds
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a great cast of characters and many opportunities to serve!
Commercial Account Executive - Outside Sales (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 14, 2014
I learned a lot about the waste business and for some reason it gets in your blood and before you know it years have passed by and you're still enjoying the ride. I learned the value of service contracts and how to enforce them, business to business selling and negotiating skills, how to be more environmentally conscious and aware and to enjoy being – more... a part of either building something or tearing it down. I learned time management and how to be successful in a very competitive environment. The hardest part of the job was the capital restraints and the service challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job was winning, the earning potential and the opportunities afforded to grow professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviorment work place easy to learn job quick
Residential/Commercial Driver (Former Employee), Fresno, CAMay 12, 2014
Great company has hard workers and friendly people they are. Learned alot but wouldn't go back to work for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Sulphur, LANovember 20, 2013
inside sales customer service processed orders
resolved account issues
worked week on call rotation with coworkers after hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good paying job
Trash Collector Truck Driver (Former Employee), Mount Laurel, NJOctober 17, 2013
Pros: great pay, good benefits, sick days, personal days.
Cons: the ops manager.
this is a good paying job but, the operations manager is not a good boss at all. treats drivers like dirt and if you get hurt on the job and have to be out for any length of time you will not have a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
allied and bfi same company
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAJuly 25, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: breaks
a work day was was ok at the time you learn a lost if you wanted the knowledge back then management wasnt so bad co-workers were good and easy to get along with hardest part then was late nights but it was close to home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
Route Driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 13, 2013
cool company if you like your weekend s off family work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trash truck driver
Trash Truck Driver (Former Employee), Gallipolis OHJuly 8, 2013
Drove trash truck
Decent bosses
Good team to work with
Good pay
Good hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BFI was one of the best places to work
Operations, Sales & Mgmt Trainee (Former Employee), San Jose, CAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: co-workers, drivers, management
I learned all my work lessons from BFI. My mentor was excellent and the work environment was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job.
Customer Service and Dispatch (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHDecember 19, 2012
I enjoyed my job with BFI. Learned a lot about trash disposal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 Star Company
Division Sales Mgr / Division Operations Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 1, 2012
Pros: industry leader
Cons: sold co to allied waste - they were cashstrapped
Best Waste Co in USA before selling to Allied Waste...... they were the trend setter and set the standards high for years to come.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning adventure
Swing Driver (Former Employee), Portsmouth, NHSeptember 15, 2012
Pros: good pay
learned alot about people--worked 60-70 hrs a week---was promoted several times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Sanitation Engineer (Former Employee), Chattanooga,TNAugust 22, 2012
Hard but loved the job. I learned a structure of engineering and hard work. Enjoyed mangement team and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Accounts Payable/Receptionist (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJAugust 8, 2012
decent job. not great pay or bonuses. great co workers. understanding managemt small company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK company.
Customer Service/Office Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 28, 2012
Worked for them when they operated in Arizona.
But that division was bought out by Waste Management and I left just before that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being an employee for this company, wasnt able to have too much of a personal life. There wasn't much room for advancement within the company.
Scale Operator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 10, 2012
Pros: good salary
Cons: very poor management
Worked 6 days a week, 8-16hrs days. Every work day was stressful some more than others. I loved the business for the first few years but between management an some of my co-workers it was very hard to have a good day. This was a private garbage company with locations in 46 states in the USA, but they still could not keep things together. This is why – more... as of OCT 15,2010 i lost my job a so did others, because the company started to sell each location they owned within the last 6-7 years of my employment. Also the company named changed from being purchased twice while i was employed there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from home
Telemarketer (Former Employee), Jackson, MichFebruary 22, 2012
Pros: worked from home
I really liked this job because I could work from home and the pay was good. However they eliminated the job