BFI Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good company to work for
electrician (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKNovember 10, 2015
I enjoyed my time working for BFI it was well organized and problems you had were dealt with as soon as reasonably possible. Supervision was easy to work with as well as the managers. But it was short term construction work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked outside
Sanitation Labourer (Former Employee) –  WinnipegOctober 19, 2015
This was about the most physically demanding job i have had
It was a good working experience This job was a good way to
stay in good physical conditoin
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
Lots of running
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was messy and stinky, but the people I worked with were all down to earth and nice to work with.
Line Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ONJune 9, 2015
I found the duties very repetitious and the environment was hot and stinky (working with garbage all day). The rotating shifts were a little difficult to get used to and adjust life to.
I learned a lot about the recycling business.
My co-workers were all very good to work with -- it seemed like everyone was there to work. The young and old all got along the same way.
The hardest part of the job being bent over a conveyor belt all day. The smell, too, could sometimes be overwhelming.
The most enjoyable part of the day was the people I worked with -- they made the time pass quickly.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Smell
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cat haul truck operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McmurrayDecember 21, 2014
BFI has always been good to work for. Newer Equipment. Usually a 5/5/5 Schedule or 14 and 7. Not bad for work and life balance. Paid weekly and usually busy during winter months for reclaimation. They sometimes give the option of taking a layoff after march for those that want the summer off. Nothing bad to say about these guys.
Pros
work life balance.
Cons
i cant think of any.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lots to learn
scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Belle Plaine, SKAugust 19, 2012
start at 7am end at 5:30pm
gathering materials for the job, sometimes erecting/modifying/dismantling scaffold.
I learned about scaffolds and some stuff about other jobs.
co-workers were awesome
hardest part of the job would be the long hours
the most enjoyable part of the job would be the physically demanding part and building scaffolds
Pros
good pay, hard work
Cons
long hours, hazardous environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really nice camp lot to do
heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 13, 2015
12 hour days,safety is a big part of working there,manaement is good,nice people to work with,working in tight areas,every one gets along
Pros
camp, free food nice camp
Cons
12 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Driver Front End Loader (Former Employee) –  Concord ONMay 13, 2014
Picking up and dumping industrial garbage bins with a front end loader, various clients and routes, co-workers were a lot of fun , enjoyed being my own boss on the road. I knew what I had to do and I did my job to the letter.
Pros
going to different places
Cons
dusty at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABJanuary 23, 2015
good company to work for, great people management, good camp accomidations
Pros
greatcamp
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Line Sorter (Former Employee) –  bracebridgeApril 28, 2014
it was a job where one had to be on thier toes all the time.
Was a hot job in warm weather and a very cold enviroment in the cold season..not a nice place.
Pros
was a good dity job
Cons
3 shifts coniuous
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with and get along as a team
haul truck driver (Current Employee) –  fort mcmurray,albertaDecember 19, 2012
you get the hours u need and the rotation shifts are good as well
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garbage pick up
Progressive waste management (Former Employee) –  Red DeerJune 8, 2014
10 hr shifts 5 days a week
Week ends off not including holidays
Pros
!0 hrs day
Was this review helpful?YesNo

See more BFI reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0