BFI CANADA Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enoyable to work with
Waste Management (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON6 August 2016
This was threw a temp agency

typical day would be waste would come in and we'd have to sort them to proper categories and the weight and ad the results to a audit sheet.

Got along with both co workers and management

The hardest part of the job was the smell of the waste but you get use to it
Cons
Temporary and sometime only 2hr shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company ran by selfish liars.
Front End Driver (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB2 June 2016
This company is very poorly managed by the upper managment of Red Deer branch, they show no backbone in order to improve the lives of there workers and give no care to how late you have to work unless it becomes a legal issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful atmosphere
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton6 February 2013
Training was terrible. Management new very little of what was actually happening around them. Constant staff turnover. Office staff has no patience for someone new. People were forced to leave due to office politics. Drivers were always miserable and constantly complaining. Customers were treated with little respect. Money was poor considering the amount of hours you had to work. People were hired for positions they had no business in. Over all, Do yourself a huge favour and stay away.
Pros
a free lunch once in a while
Cons
huge staff turnover. management control.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED THE JOB
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON12 August 2014
REMEMBER THESE GARBAGE AND WASTE REFUGE TRUCKS ARE VERY DIRTY, GROSS STUFF , , LONG HOURS , AND MANY BREAK DOWNS WITH THE FLEET ALL OLD -
UP SIDE GOOD PAY , CLOSE TO HOME , DECANT BENEFITS


POUR MANAGEMENT/ SHOP CLOSED PERMANENTLY, JOINED AT A BAD TIME THINGS OUT OF CONTROL
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dusty workplace
Wash Bay Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 August 2012
A typical day involved washing trucks,garbage bins.I learned how to drive airbrake vehicles,and front -end loader.Management was well organized.All the drivers were easy to please,and got along well with the mechanics.The hardest part was cleaning sewer trap of all the sand that builds from washing vehicles,shoveled out by hand.The most enjoyable part was driveing the trucks.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
dirty, strong odors
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the group of guys i worked with.
Operator 1 (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC28 February 2012
In my years working with a company so large I found that all the employee's are just a number. If things are not going well they do what ever it takes to make things better. In my case it was they come into our yard one day and told us that this division was being closed and that we were to pack our stuff and leave. This was effective ASAP. The two bosses that came and told my co-worker and I stayed there and waited for us to pack our things and leave. What a good feeling it was, I have put 5 yrs into this company to basically get slapped in the face. I would like to thank BFI for this though because I have become a better person over this and now that I am worth something.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
lack of loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job. Terrible management.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC19 July 2012
I worked for this company for over a year. The wages were decent, but thin compared to other outfits, and according to working conditions. The company is not managed well, which leads to poor spending of company finances, long working days (which depending if you are a overtime keener or not is a good or a bad thing), sub-par safety policies, and often very tense working environments. Many of the workers are good people, as well as customers are for the most part grateful of the work done.
Pros
wages are reasonable with plenty of available overtime.
Cons
"garbage" management team. poor working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 January 2013
job consisted of Accounting.

Training was not given in full due to the fact that the controller was to busy.

Typical day was waiting for training
Learning was minimal
Management very nice but to busy
A lot of anger between employees
Pros
paycheck
Cons
to many politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense fun workplace
Sales Representative Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 April 2015
Working at BFI was a great challenge dealing with customers and small business on a daily basis doing what you can to make sure pickups are all completed on time and the customers are happy.. it was not always the easiest job but at times i came into contact with such great individual that made doing my job easy..
our team manager was great he always put little incentives in place to keep us motivated and the job fun and interesting
Pros
free coffee and tea
Cons
alot of gossip within the workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the company. I feel my good nature was taken advatage of
Push Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 October 2012
My job consisted of Driving a push truck, and a picker truck. I left BFI Canada becuse of the lenght of my work days. My last pay cheque had my regular 80 hours, toped withv 96 hours over time

It became a stuggle to have any after work hours for my family
On the average I would leave at 10 pm and arrive home the following day at 6-7 pm At that time I had 2 hours or less to sleep and see my family It became far to maney hours
Pros
team members
Cons
crazy overtime no family life, no time foe wife or grandchildren
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun to work ing
swamper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 July 2015
start early in the morning get on the back of the truck collect garbage in different areas in the city for about 12 hours every day
Pros
good working environ ment
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't recomend it
Driver (Former Employee) –  coquitlam29 July 2013
Great ppl to work with but management is the worst I've ever worked for...no appreciation, make u wrk like dogs....
Pros
team
Cons
management and union sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, bad management
ROUTE DRIVER (Former Employee) –  winnipeg,mb7 November 2012
Good money, bad management.
Trucks not kept up, company doesnt care about it's drivers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physical tasks with whole day standing
CO-OP INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 July 2012
site attendant , always on the field helping and guiding customers and watching for hazardous materials
learned about hazardous materials, WHMIS training
co-workers were helpful and funny
BFI Canada's dundas site is well managed
hardest part of the job was all day standing and running back and forth !
most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with different people everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Front End Loader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Ab12 September 2013
I spent my work days in the truck picking up recycling for our clients. Attended safety courses, did inspections on my truck
Pros
Early ends to the day
Cons
Work all stat holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Recycling Front end driver (Current Employee) –  BC17 February 2014
The company make sure employers are happy,make sure employers have all the tools needed for a job well done
Pros
free gift card
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing
OPERATOR/SORTER (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC3 September 2014
Sorted recycling off of a conveyor belt, little movement, easy hours.
Good, easygoing co-workers and supervisors
Pros
good crew
Cons
dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much Management not enough empathy
Front End Driver (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON13 March 2013
3am start, 12hr day. thanks for nothing. unionized but union doesn't care about employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro management
Directeur de productivité et opérations (Former Employee) –  boisbriand9 June 2014
après un changement de la haute direction l'atmosphère est devenus très lourde, la nouvelle direction voulait tout contrôler sans faire confiance a son personnel , beaucoup de micro management et il fallait être un yes men pour satisfaire le parton
Pros
tres genereux su rles comptes de depenses
Cons
beaucoup de micro management et style paranoiaque
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

See more BFI CANADA reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.4
Culture
2.8