BFI CANADA Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun to work ing
swamper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 7, 2015
start early in the morning get on the back of the truck collect garbage in different areas in the city for about 12 hours every day
Pros
good working environ ment
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing
OPERATOR/SORTER (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCSeptember 3, 2014
Sorted recycling off of a conveyor belt, little movement, easy hours.
Good, easygoing co-workers and supervisors
Pros
good crew
Cons
dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED THE JOB
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONAugust 12, 2014
REMEMBER THESE GARBAGE AND WASTE REFUGE TRUCKS ARE VERY DIRTY, GROSS STUFF , , LONG HOURS , AND MANY BREAK DOWNS WITH THE FLEET ALL OLD -
UP SIDE GOOD PAY , CLOSE TO HOME , DECANT BENEFITS

POUR MANAGEMENT/ SHOP CLOSED PERMANENTLY, JOINED AT A BAD TIME THINGS OUT OF CONTROL
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Recycling Front end driver (Current Employee) –  BCFebruary 17, 2014
The company make sure employers are happy,make sure employers have all the tools needed for a job well done
Pros
free gift card
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Front End Loader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AbSeptember 12, 2013
I spent my work days in the truck picking up recycling for our clients. Attended safety courses, did inspections on my truck
Pros
early ends to the day
Cons
work all stat holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managed all accounts for Belleville/Napanee, Kingston and Brockville districts
Accounts Receivable Manager (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ONJuly 30, 2013
Do up the bank deposits for Kingston and Belleville/Napanee districts. address customer concerns about their accounts, call and address delinquent customers. Post all adjustments to the accounts, answer phones, make sure all month end receivables are in. Invoicing all three districts. Processing all authorized payments, intercompany payments from other divisions, eft and on line banking payments. Enjoy my coworkers and management.
Pros
self supervised and company kick backs
Cons
long distance to drive
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't recomend it
Driver (Former Employee) –  coquitlamJuly 29, 2013
Great ppl to work with but management is the worst I've ever worked for...no appreciation, make u wrk like dogs....
Pros
team
Cons
management and union sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much Management not enough empathy
Front End Driver (Former Employee) –  Concord, ONMarch 13, 2013
3am start, 12hr day. thanks for nothing. unionized but union doesn't care about employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful atmosphere
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  EdmontonFebruary 6, 2013
Training was terrible. Management new very little of what was actually happening around them. Constant staff turnover. Office staff has no patience for someone new. People were forced to leave due to office politics. Drivers were always miserable and constantly complaining. Customers were treated with little respect. Money was poor considering the amount of hours you had to work. People were hired for positions they had no business in. Over all, Do yourself a huge favour and stay away.
Pros
a free lunch once in a while
Cons
huge staff turnover. management control.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJanuary 18, 2013
job consisted of Accounting.

Training was not given in full due to the fact that the controller was to busy.

Typical day was waiting for training
Learning was minimal
Management very nice but to busy
A lot of anger between employees
Pros
paycheck
Cons
to many politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, bad management
ROUTE DRIVER (Former Employee) –  winnipeg,mbNovember 7, 2012
Good money, bad management.
Trucks not kept up, company doesnt care about it's drivers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the company. I feel my good nature was taken advatage of
Push Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 29, 2012
My job consisted of Driving a push truck, and a picker truck. I left BFI Canada becuse of the lenght of my work days. My last pay cheque had my regular 80 hours, toped withv 96 hours over time

It became a stuggle to have any after work hours for my family
On the average I would leave at 10 pm and arrive home the following day at 6-7 pm At that time I had 2 hours or less to sleep and see my family It became far to maney hours
Pros
team members
Cons
crazy overtime no family life, no time foe wife or grandchildren
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dusty workplace
Wash Bay Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBAugust 16, 2012
A typical day involved washing trucks,garbage bins.I learned how to drive airbrake vehicles,and front -end loader.Management was well organized.All the drivers were easy to please,and got along well with the mechanics.The hardest part was cleaning sewer trap of all the sand that builds from washing vehicles,shoveled out by hand.The most enjoyable part was driveing the trucks.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
dirty, strong odors
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physical tasks with whole day standing
CO-OP INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJuly 29, 2012
site attendant , always on the field helping and guiding customers and watching for hazardous materials
learned about hazardous materials, WHMIS training
co-workers were helpful and funny
BFI Canada's dundas site is well managed
hardest part of the job was all day standing and running back and forth !
most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with different people everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job. Terrible management.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BCJuly 19, 2012
I worked for this company for over a year. The wages were decent, but thin compared to other outfits, and according to working conditions. The company is not managed well, which leads to poor spending of company finances, long working days (which depending if you are a overtime keener or not is a good or a bad thing), sub-par safety policies, and often very tense working environments. Many of the workers are good people, as well as customers are for the most part grateful of the work done.
Pros
wages are reasonable with plenty of available overtime.
Cons
"garbage" management team. poor working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the group of guys i worked with.
Operator 1 (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BCFebruary 28, 2012
In my years working with a company so large I found that all the employee's are just a number. If things are not going well they do what ever it takes to make things better. In my case it was they come into our yard one day and told us that this division was being closed and that we were to pack our stuff and leave. This was effective ASAP. The two bosses that came and told my co-worker and I stayed there and waited for us to pack our things and leave. What a good feeling it was, I have put 5 yrs into this company to basically get slapped in the face. I would like to thank BFI for this though because I have become a better person over this and now that I am worth something.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
lack of loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro management
Directeur de productivité et opérations (Former Employee) –  boisbriandJune 9, 2014
après un changement de la haute direction l'atmosphère est devenus très lourde, la nouvelle direction voulait tout contrôler sans faire confiance a son personnel , beaucoup de micro management et il fallait être un yes men pour satisfaire le parton
Pros
tres genereux su rles comptes de depenses
Cons
beaucoup de micro management et style paranoiaque
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

See more BFI CANADA reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture