Best Western Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment but very poor management!
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 July 2017
During my time working there all co-workers where always close, but management was VERY BAD! As they always had tried messing with people's hours and pay checks.
Pros
great customers
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like working with a family
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Fox Creek, AB27 July 2017
I always have felt at home there. Everyone is like family and we work hard as a team. The guests can be difficult but that comes with every job in the retail industry. But it is a good job
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Do so much but don't get paid what you deserve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Learned A lot
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON26 July 2017
Working in the restaurant here has been extremely beneficial to me, I have learned a lot. I started bussing and from this, I eventually learned how to serve. A typical day at work is pretty straightforward and basically the same every day other than a small problem here and there that you have to just get around and solve. The management is really great because there is always someone you can go to if you have a problem. The hardest part of the job is probably the hours, you either have a very heavy work load or a very light work load, it is very hard to find a way to just have a healthy medium. The most enjoyable part of the job is probably the people that work there. You become like a little family and you challenge each other to do better and improve.
Pros
50% food discount
Cons
Long hours or Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place.
Housekeeper/Assisant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK24 July 2017
Disliked working here very much. Not enough hours, there is little to none flexible schedule and it just wasn't for me anymore. The people are very nice though.
Pros
Nice friendly co workers.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 July 2017
Then Best Western Village Park Inn is restrictive, they use the camera's in the building not for guest safety, but to spy on employees and give warning letters which they use to fire you when convenient for them
Pros
Co workers are the best
Cons
Advancement doesn't exist
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but rewarding job
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON11 July 2017
A typical day of work as a cleaner was spent cleaning rooms after guests checked out and preparing for incoming customers, or just freshening up rooms for guests who planned longer stays. It was hard work but rewarding knowing it was important work in helping Best Westerns clients enjoyed their stay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel, Great Staff
Room Attendant/Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON10 July 2017
I loved working at Best Western. The supervisor was amazing. The staff was great. The work was sometimes grueling, but not overly so. The hours were good.
Pros
Daytime hours
Cons
Aching knees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Fox Creek, AB10 July 2017
I enjoyed my time here. The supervisors were wonderful and the co-workers were great. The wage was good and the work environment was very positive. There is a lot of room for advancement and I would recommend this business to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Western
Housekeeping Staff (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 July 2017
The job is physically challenging, no doubt there. Stayed for many years; staff felt like family. Always room for improvement. Little to no room for advancement, which is unfortunate.
Pros
day shifts
Cons
wages did not meet job expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night desk in Hotel
Night Desk Clerk - Night Audit (Former Employee) –  Nelson, BC6 July 2017
I did graveyard shift from 11 pm to 7 am Wednesday through Sunday. Usual hotel night desk duties with limited amount of cleaning. Lobby only. Night security.
Pros
It was work
Cons
Graveyard shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best years of my life working for this company.
Room Attendant Ability (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 July 2017
An enjoyable working atmosphere,A structured day working as a room attendant in a very positive environment,with the best housekeeping supervisor anyone could hope for.i thoroughly enjoyed this position at the hotel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad no recognition of good work
Assistante gouvernante (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC1 July 2017
need to be friend with the boss otherwise you will not last- a few people control all regardless the quality of your work. bad work environment. I would not recommend it to my worst enemy.
Pros
nice place
Cons
a few people control all regardless the quality of your work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the people
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Orangeville, ON1 July 2017
I enjoy working for best western. We are understaffed badly so the work is very demanding at times. Housekeepers should definitely be paid more, but overall I enjoy the hotel business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Room Attendant/Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON28 June 2017
No complaints really. It's a minimum wage job, there are no benefits BUT if you like working independently then this is an awesome job for you. Just know it's hard physical work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low morale, management not supportive
Custodian / Caterer (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB23 June 2017
Very little support from management; they would say one thing and do another. Even if you provided a doctor's note stating you needed time off they would not approve it
Pros
co-workers were nice
Cons
bullying from management, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great team with a family sense
banquet attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 June 2017
It was a fast pace workplace and alot of just-in-time deliveries were making things hard but it always worked out. The management team was really good at making the employees feel at ease and appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON14 June 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was everyone worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was dealing with management. Most of the management excluding one person treated staff poorly and were unprofessional.
Pros
staff morale
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
souvenirs
Housekeeper / Custodian (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB6 June 2017
fun to work in a team or independently
allowed to keep cool stuff found if not claimed
diverse friendly coworkers and management
just filling up the 150 character minimum
Pros
free food
Cons
everyone stays until everything's done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress and Bartender
BARTENDER AND WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Renfrew, ON4 June 2017
Very friendly atmosphere. Tasks ranged from serving customers drinks to designing new marketing strategies. Worked in the presence of many families which made for very pleasant interactions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON30 May 2017
Always found it fun to work at the best western was a little to overwhelming for me but I think it's a great decision for others who can handle a few tasks at once.
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
Drags sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Western. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,761 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5