Best Western Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 276 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, frendly, productive
House Keeping (Former Employee) –  Fernie, BCMay 23, 2016
great place to work, if you like hard word. great management , awesome benefits, and discounts. staff was great to customer's and we had great reviews
Pros
great pay, benifits
Cons
sometimes only two three hours for the day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Valemount, BCMay 20, 2016
I worked here under contract for a couple months and really enjoyed my time . Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMay 13, 2016
A typical day at wings up was cleaning fryers, preparing food and taking orders and payment. The co-workers were decent. The most enjoyable part of the job was cooking.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere
Front desk attendant (Former Employee) –  Edson, ABMay 7, 2016
I really enjoyed working there the people were very friendly and my boss was really nice. everyone was very welcoming and it was overall a really nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work
Co-Op placement (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ONApril 4, 2016
Looking for marketing objectives to bring new customers into Best Western and make sure that they enjoy their stay at our hotel.
Pros
Working independently
Cons
The sallary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past
HOUSEKEEPING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONApril 4, 2016
Each day we had a set amount of responsibilities to be done, it was up to each of us as individuals and as a team to complete everything effectively and efficiently.

I was able to approve on my multitasking skills with the support of all of my co workers including management.

I was able to thrive working independently and as a team member.
Pros
discounts on rooms
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great experience
Supervisor/ Room Attendant/ Laundry (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONApril 2, 2016
Best Western was a great place to work. Positive experience with staff members and management. There is always room for career advancement within all areas of the establishment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The truth
Front Desk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMarch 24, 2016
Management team is fun to work with. However because of a skeleton staff and lack of business, staff breaks are non existent. Work is fun but it is not equal to pay.
Pros
Fun work place
Cons
not being paid equal to skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promising and fun learning experience
Kitchen helper (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMarch 23, 2016
Best western Plus is a great place to work at because there is so much opportunity for advancement in this place as they have amazing skills from years of experience that they pass on down to you/me. The management and staff are all wonderful people and have been great to me! The most enjoyable part of the job is the pride in putting out the best food in Fort Mcmurray and learning so much about cooking!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treated badly
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 21, 2016
got treated badly,
supervisor always starting at me
over worked with not enough pay
never told us our days off until the night before
got dish soap put in my water bottle, told manager and she laughed
Pros
it was downtown
Cons
being talked down to, being accused with out proof
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great starter job
HOUSEKEEPER (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONMarch 16, 2016
the girls were great to work with. my s supervisor sheryl gamble is one of the best supervisors i ever worked with. it was great but due to physical demand i wanted to change careers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive , Excellent work atmosphere.
Room attendant (Former Employee) –  AlbertaMarch 11, 2016
Had a nice work experience in housekeeping. helpful management. mixed cultured work location. supportive supervisors and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and good managment fun customers
house keeper (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABMarch 3, 2016
good team work free breakfast every morning always had goals everyday nice customers good work tools
good opportunities
Pros
free swiming pool and gym
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ONMarch 2, 2016
I like working at Best Western a typical day is long hours lots of heavy lifting. I leaned that time is key when busy and everything has to be set right.
Pros
free food and get to dance
Cons
not full time and no real schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working here but I wanted to replocate from that city
Server (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKMarch 1, 2016
It was a slow restaurant to work at. But when it was some what busy, time went by fast. All my co workers were easy to work with with no problems at all. When we weren't busy we would have to do cleaning.
Pros
Leaving with tips at the end of the day.
Cons
When someone called in and would have to work alone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy
Banquet Server (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ONFebruary 24, 2016
It's busy for the most part which makes my day go fast I enjoy what I do I like to keep moving and sometimes it's a lot of fun. When we have weddings or other types of parties I enjoy music and dancing while I work. I learned that presentation is key. Some management could be better, I like my co-workers I get a long with most, the hardest part of the job is not having the right supplies when needed.
Pros
free food and extra hours
Cons
long hours when not schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fabulous
House keeping - General housekeeping duties (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ONFebruary 22, 2016
Best Western is a great place to work . I did the housekeeping and they made sure we had all supplies needed to keep the establishment clean and looking nice
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Housekeeping/Laundry/Housman (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABFebruary 14, 2016
Always looked forward to going to work. Learned better time management skills. Management was awesome there.The hard part was when a co-worker was absent work load became heavier.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Locally Owned
Guest Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCFebruary 8, 2016
Unlike many hotels, this one is locally owned and not run by huge corporations, which means it is a much nicer, friendly family work environment.
Pros
Free Breakfast
Cons
Very busy during peak season
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really miss the Best Western Plus.
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBFebruary 2, 2016
It was awesome job for me over there.Co-worker were good and friendly.I learn lots of thing from there .Hard part of job is overtime,because we had to complete the room which they give us.We had a lots of fun with all our team and we use to share everything we had with us.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,614 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture