Best Buy Employee Reviews

Found 925 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Mobile Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2017
it is always fun to work at bestbuy, you will constantly play games and have parties. there is always cake as well. great benefits and discounts.the management is fun to work with and very helpful
Pros
discount
Cons
high turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnent agréable et stimulant
Conseiller les clients à propos de la technologie (Current Employee) –  Mascouche, QC2 May 2017
mes gérants sont très compressives par rapport a l’école,
l'esprit d’équipe et très présent et il y a beaucoup de nouveaux défis a relever, beaucoup de nouvelles connaissances. Chaque jour il faut travailler fort pour atteindre nos objectives et avoir ces objectives nous motive énormément.
Pros
comprehensives
Cons
bas salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail
Vendeur (Current Employee) –  Lachenaie, QC1 May 2017
très bon environnement de travail. Best buy est une compagnie qui permet de développer plusieurs compétences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first full time job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 April 2017
Good place to learn the methods and standards for retail sales, great environment and a good corporate community. I had a lot of fun working with best buy, but the pay was low in comparison to commissioned retail sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC30 April 2017
Coworkers were always great, but the company is quickly becoming obsessed with micromanaging employees. If you're not a direct sales associate, the company does little to encourage enthusiasm in the work place. Benefits were decent, but pay was not competitive. No room for growth in store, unless someone quit or transfered stores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON28 April 2017
Best Buy played a fundamental role in developing my essential job market skills. It provided an environment focused on success with the help and engagement of friendly, knowledgeable, and caring management team. I learned to become more assertive and explain the key benefits of products to fit the consumers lifestyle.
Pros
Great Team to work with
Cons
Overly structured/bureaucratic environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Welcoming work place.
Product Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 April 2017
Job was fairly straight forward.
Tasks were as is
- Weekly update of upcoming sales
- Processing daily arriving and leaving the store
- Assisted in loss prevention through greeting customers at store entrance and watching security cameras of any suspicious activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at BestBuy was a blast
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  East Gwillimbury, ON26 April 2017
Working at BestBuy was a great experience from the people I worked with to the workload. Very positive environment where everyone was willing to help, the training was beneficial and the website was packed full of products and easy to set up an order for customers.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Customers often upset at low in store stock of wanted items
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and satisfaction in work place everyday
Customer Service & Camera sales (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 April 2017
Wonderful management and staff. Training process was information packed and fast. New opportunities were given to staff often, new or old. Very enjoyable experience, surrounded by smiles everyday.
Pros
Free lunches, Kind staff, lively workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love their core values! Especially "Have fun while being the best!"
LEAD MOBILE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON22 April 2017
Honestly, working at Best Buy was a blast! I had fun while working! I gained a lot of customer service experience as I grew in this company. Aside from the work we do, we set aside hours for our team to get together and do activities. We raise money for some campaigns. Best Buy always worked as a team. Loved to see new faces and talk to people every day!
Pros
Treated the employees like family. Was amazing! Loved working in that environment.
Cons
Sometimes long hours with less employees were a disaster, No breaks that depended on the amount of sick calls we get each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst experience
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 April 2017
everyone in management is before their promotions, they do not care about the employees of their company, they give tons of hassle to employees without any reason every day, this is just for a south common store, Edmonton. the management is worst and I do not know what word I can use beyond worst.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive and busy work environment
Customer service specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 April 2017
a typical day at work consisted of helping customers make a transaction and sometimes even helping them make right decisions when purchasing products. this taught me a great deal about customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee discounts applied to all products
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2017
it's a fast-paced industry when the sales forces are being asked to satisfy all the customer needs. I learned how to do tasks as quick as possible with a high rate of accuracy. customer's satisfaction is the primary goal as well as upselling products. The hardest part of the job is to handle more than three customers at the same time when there is only one worker on the floor and there are more than seven customers are in need of help. The most enjoyable part was talking to customers who share the same passion as you do.
Pros
flexible time
Cons
need more people during peak hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, fun and always learning!
Mobile Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON17 April 2017
Love working for Best Buy, it is fun and there is always something new to learn. My position is in mobile and I am so lucky to be in a department that is always changing and there is something new coming out. My team is amazing and very supportive of one another.
Pros
Team outtings and compensation (i.e. WorkPerks and staff dicsount)
Cons
Not enough hours sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Geek squad agent and technical support specialist (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON17 April 2017
i loved working here byt got laid off due to budgjet changes other wise the staff and management where friendly and fun to be with and the work atmosphere was fast paced but non stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with nice crew and great break room
Front End Rep (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2017
Simple work day with varied tasks and plenty of customers to keep you on you're feet day by day and great staff to be able to communicate with, with the added exception of the break room having a home console for workers to let lose and lay back during breaks
Pros
Great team staff
Cons
Not enough management feedback
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 April 2017
• Sold products, services and solutions to customers and helped solve their unique needs
• Offered relevant services and accessories so customer can make informed purchase decisions
• Conducted many successful sales totaling over 40,000 dollars in revenue.
Pros
good staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier / Customer Service REP
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  yonge and dundas13 April 2017
Very friendly and welcoming work environment, managers are very open. I love working at customer service and cashier but more importantly love making amazing happen!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment de travail libre de decision
Technicien Informatique (Former Employee) –  St.-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC12 April 2017
Le département geeksquad etait très bien. On s'occupait de nos clients, résoudre les problèmes informatiques.
J'ai eu beaucoup de formation sur comment analiser les problème informatique.
L'aspect difficile de ce travail est la demande de rendement. Il demande beaucoup de solicitation envers les clients.
Et finallement ce qui est l'aspect le plus agréable est la liberté de comment trouvé les problèmes et des résoudres.
Pros
rabais sur l'électronique, liberté de décision, formation
Cons
salaire, pression de ventes, injustice des employés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foot in the door for marketing skills, social strength development
Customer Service and Stock (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON11 April 2017
I felt truly privileged in having the opportunity to work for a company that`s widely known for it`s reputation in terms of customer service and a wide array of desired electronic gadgets. Employees are always prepared to answer any question with professional advice, recommendations and suggestions with professional knowledge of products in every department.
Pros
Relationship building
Cons
Would of liked to work longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 13,670 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8