Find companies:
Best Buy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,947 reviews

Best Buy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
A+ technician (Former Employee), HamiltonMarch 18, 2013
Pros: some experience gained.
Cons: fake and phoney culture.
Bad leadersip,low salary,poor values,bad management,bad work,life balance.too much paperwork for simple tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace,
Cashier/ Sales (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: poor scheduling
I would do cashier things such as transactions. use the punch clock. I learned about all the different technologies in the world these days. I didn't have a really hard time at work it was all fun and the work was nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Buy is a great place to work. Its fun, entertaining and most of all flexible to all types of employees.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Queensborough, New Westminster, BC, CanadaFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: play volleyball in the mornings, making friends with co-workers and even customers.
Cons: sometimes you meet grumpy customers, but this something that happens in every retail environment.
A shift at Best Buy as a customer service associate is quite entertaining. Mostly i would stand behind the counter and customers would approach me for making returns or just general inquiries about products. The sales staff at Best Buy did an excellent job in assisting customer usually before they would even get to me. This would free me up to do more – more... admin tasks such as filing paperwork processing bank deposits and making sure the counters looked clean, organized and presentable. Management did a great job at making sure we had the supplies and tools we needed to perform our tasks. They usually were able to fill up orders immediately for supplies the store needed. Management also did a fantastic job at keeping all the employees up to date on any events or situations that would arise. The hardest part about working at Best Buy was getting to work from my house. Honestly there is hard about working at Best Buy because there was nothing they did everything to make working there easy on top of being very flexible with there hours and accommodating full-time students. This coupled with the most enjoying part of my job which was talking to customers and solving there problems, filling there needs was one of the most satisfying things about working at Best Buy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviroment
Senior Operations Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New Westminster, BCFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: growing in the company, taking on new tasks and challenging yourself, meeting new people, being a true mentor to staff
Cons: short breaks, shortage of staff, favourtism
My day at work would be routine based i would be making the schedule inputting time cards and leading the whole store. I was the Operations Senior, I also had the reponsibility of manager on duty and also had my own department to run as well. the enviroment of working at bestbuy was great i got to work with different people and learn new things as well. – more... The hardest part of the job was when we dont have alot of tools to do our jobs. the most enjoyable would be we treated one another as family helped one another. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance, employees live in fear of getting let go.
Grunt (Former Employee), HalifaxFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: discount and some of the other staff, that's it.
Cons: many.
-Part-time hours are never the same, and the amount of hours change weekly (hope you live at home).
-You pay is never the same and hardly ever correct.
-Your position is always up-for-grabs as their postings never come down.
-Conceited Supervisors (Superiors).
-Best Buy does not give references.
-Do as I say, don't do as I do mentality.
-Managements – more... doors are always open, but it does not mean we want to talk with you.
-Taking your legal breaks are frowned upon.
-Lack of escalation processes.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is the discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loss Prevention
Product Process (Loss Prevention and Warehouse) (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 13, 2013
Once at work I'm monitoring the cameras and keeping an eye out for unnecessary activity. It keeps me alerts and involves a lot of self patience due to long hours and standing at all times. The company at work keeps me going, social activity is an important factor that will make any occupation less stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great opportunity
Mobile Specialist (Former Employee), calgaryFebruary 6, 2013
It was really great. Helping people out on daily basis.
organized
punctual
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great atmosphere
Product Process specialist (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: benefit's, staff purchases
Cons: not enough full time positions
Best Buy has never been a dull moment for me, the staff brought me in and treated me as one of there own. Felt like ive always been a part of the team. A day of work was never something I would regret waking up to. Good laugh's great customer service. Co-workers I still talk to and see outside the work field which is great. The hardest part of the job – more... would have to be when there is little to no work I like to keep moving and doing things, no challenge would stop me. Most enjoyable part is being able to work so well with others, it was just a great place to be the people around made it that much more worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Buy
Digital Imaging Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: great customer interactions, amazing staff discount.
Cons: low pay, bad management, annoying leaders, long hours, mandatory weekends, over-enthusiastic co-workers
Started off with a very positive energy when hired for the Best buy camera position. Later, I find that many people who were hired about 7-8 months later were being paid much higher. There is no set starting wage, im sure the GM just grabs numbers from a hat. There is also a major flaw with the management. Supervisors of each department would slack – more... and go on frequent breaks, leaving the selling up to regular part-timers. Even after multiple complaints, nothing is done to fix the situation. Working at best buy, you get to see their true motives, we are not on commission, but are still hounded from supervisors to sell the service plans with sense of urgency. After being bossed around constantly all day, and being scolded for not having better "numbers", then having to smile through it all, was definitely the hardest part of working at a Best Buy. I've transferred to 3 places now, and the story is all so similar from one Best Buy to the other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at, terrible management
Parts Harvesting (Former Employee), BramptonJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: 3 breaks in 8 hr shifts
Cons: poor management
Applied as Electronic Product tester, ended up working in the wrong department, Parts Harvesting. Took me few weeks to understand a whole completely different procedure, Staff was very irresponsible not setting up my Kronos hours, which led to mild frustration on them, did not walkthrough with the training, did not provide any standard operating procedure – more... for IMPORTANT duties, did not provide any feedback on progress. Most of all, did not set up the workstation with server name, login and periphals. I had to take the trouble setting it up for myself.. All of a sudden closed the contract and asked me to leave. I was very dissapointed and will not recommend anybody to work in the Brampton Distribution centre. None of these people take responsibility for their actions. But other than that, food in the cafeteria was awesome, it felt like a good place to be.. I hope you donot join this location because you can be asked to leave any moment and suffer in this stubborn job economy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Inventory (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 10, 2013
Lots of good people there, and good pay with reasonable hours that work with your schedule. Good place!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Friendly respectful of diverse cultures
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 25, 2012
Pros: friendly, helpful co-workers and mangement
Cons: not enough hours, sent home after four hours of work
I really enjoyed working for this company. worked hard learned a lot and used various equipment to get the job done. The co-workers were great once they realized that they were not losing their job to the new employees . Before that they were not so nice. Management was very helpful in making sure that we understood the job and do it to the best of – more... our ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work when proper management is in place..
Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary AlbertaDecember 22, 2012
Pros: other part- timers and full timers are really friendly
Cons: favoritism
I learned how to do a proper cash out at the beginning of shift and ending of shift, requiring me to learn how to balance out tills and count the deposit at the end of shift. I learnt a lot of the different techniques people use when they are within management. Hardest part of the job was the favoritism that went on a daily occurrence with management – more... and under studies (part timers/ full timers). Most enjoyable part of the job would be meeting people and having the chance to engage in such a big of our daily lives (technology and advancement). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable co-workers and good atmosphere
Product Specialist (Current Employee), Lethbridge, ABDecember 12, 2012
Typical day at work is dealing with customers and putting merchandise on the floor. That or working security all day. Management is lacking a backbone to follow rules but all are very friendly and kind. The hardest part of this job is waking up and lifting a few heavy objects. the most enjoyable part of work is the so-workers and getting to see the – more... end results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny challenging environment.
Product Process Associate/Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABNovember 30, 2012
Shift work, highly adaptive, and a will to please and excell are some skills you must have to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 28, 2012
Pay was below average, no commission means no incentive to sell, but was still pushed hard to make a sale.
Worked with a lot of teens.
Store managers were not very visible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive workplace with high expectations from managers.
Product specialist/sales associate (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCNovember 27, 2012
-you have to sell mainly warranties to show that your good
cause thats all the managers seem to care about
-no comission but still pressure to sell
-competitve work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work, although hard to make it into permanent full time staff
Sales Representative (Former Employee), London, ONNovember 16, 2012
Pros: staff discounts, competitive pay
Cons: some of the customers, long hours on feet
If you're into tech, it's a great place to work, the staff discount is pretty decent on certain items. (Cost +5%)
It's also nice there isn't a ton of pressure to sell since it isn't commission based, although they do stress you to sell service plans as much as possible. (which is probably the hardest part of the job, depending on the area you work in, – more... a lot of people don't want extra warranty or service plans, no matter how well you try and sell them on it)
Also carrying around that clip board, you're suppose to write everything on it when talking to a customer, yeah that just gets in the way, but you get hassled if you don't use it.

standing on your feet even for 4 hours in dress shoes is horrible, so invest in a nice comfy pair. (rockport) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace environment
Senior Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Belleville, OnNovember 14, 2012
On a regular day at work I am supervising the cashiers at the front end of the store approving price overrides, assisting with returns, sending them on breaks, preforming safe counts, preparing the nightly deposit, and completing the stores nightly paperwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly enviroment with extremely nice and cooperative co-workers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 12, 2012
Work mainly involves solving customer issues at the Customer Service Desk. Managing their returns, exchanges and refunds while keeping both the parties happy. Listening to their complains and trying to understand their issues and help solve their problems.

Working at Best Buy I have learned that in order to be successful at any job, everyone needs – more... to work together as a team and every single person matters regardless of their position in the company.

Observing my managers and supervisors over a year and a half, I have realized that these individuals have great power and positions in the company, nonetheless, the never act as if they are above you or anyone else.

The hardest and also enjoyable part of the job is handling customer complains and trying to remember that they are not per say directly angry and or upset with you, they are not pleased with their experience at the store. It is hard to not take it personally but also enjoyable because once you learn not to do that you are able to resolve issues much more efficiently. – less

About Best Buy

Best Buy Co., Inc. (NYSE: BBY) is a specialty retailer of consumer electronics in the United States, accounting for 19% of the – Read more