Best Buy Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 383 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok most of the time
Lachenaie Technicien (Current Employee) –  Lachenaie, QCJune 18, 2016
Most of the time , the work is fun and the people you work with are nice but the management team can't do most of their job properly and there's place to injustice
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Enviorment
Connected Solution Specialist (Co-op) (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABApril 21, 2016
co-workers are so friendly and helpful . love to work in such kind of enviorment. Pay rate is not upto mark. i have learned a lot about existing and new electronics technologies coming out in market.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent workplace with low job security
Supervisor at Best buy Canada (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 14, 2015
It is a good company, especially if you are in school and are looking for a part time job. the management is decent and it is easy to move up in the company because they are always looking for people
Pros
easy promotion
Cons
bad job security
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Spécialiste du service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QCMarch 28, 2016
My work experience in Canada has been rewarding because I learned different techniques servcio customers has helped me improve my service every day

It is a good company to work.
Pros
nana
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONMay 27, 2016
loved working there and coworkers always stood up for you when customers got to much out of hand. always had fun on the job and team meetings were always things i looked forward too
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Product Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 16, 2016
I feel as if I learned a lot working at Best Buy. In the beginning the mangers make sure that you have sufficient training in order to do your job efficiently. When you assigned a task its usually after a senior associate has made sure you know exactly what your doing. Overall it was a great place to work with a good atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Sales Experience
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONDecember 3, 2015
The job was fun for employees. But you could also see the structural problems of management and the way the company operated from the ground floor employee level. From the sales floor, you could see redundancies and customer behaviour that made you question how the company was making money sometimes. And this eventually led to the falling of Future Shop (similar model).
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 24, 2016
I enjoy working for best buy the environment and management is good. Its a positive environment we have while being the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers make work fun, management does not.
Product Process Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 7, 2016
Typical day at work is arrive; receive shipments, send out product with Canada Post, and do LP (stands for loss prevention but that title is basically greeter bc we're not allowed to look at the camera's anymore, which doesn't actually stop most of us from looking) for anywhere between 45mins-5hours (of grueling back pain if you have no one to switch off with regularly). Also responsible to either open or close the store. Part Timers are not guaranteed hours especially if you are not a manager or supervisors favourite. Co-workers are usually quite knowledgeable in their area after a few months of working and you can rely on them to help you unless is busy like christmas time.

Christmas time is a good time to gain hours with night shifts and early morning shifts (5 am for the month of december) and boxing day if you work in PPS can start at 12am, 2am and 4am for morning shifts which can put a damper on your festivities if you celebrate christmas.

Says they're not on commission but we are pushed to sell services and this is tracked daily company wide. Not much training is provided for product knowledge other than what you do in your free time and the lackluster e-learnings they make you do. Much easier to learn by asking for help from your co-workers.

However Part-timers are offered health/dental and life insurance as well as a pension plan.
Pros
Most Co-workers are more than competent at their jobs
Cons
Management has a problem with favouritism, even if you don't see it right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
part-time cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 16, 2016
it has not been long since I started working here, but I have been liking it so far. Co-workers have been nice and store management has been helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
q
Store Floor/Gaming (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJune 9, 2016
the cat jumped over the building and turned into a kite, it was cool to watch it all happen, then I got me some ice cream for my cat, which is also my cat
Pros
a
Cons
a
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCJune 23, 2016
Job - I like

I learned lot of technical and management skill

My co- workers are really helping

No Hard part, looking for new challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJune 27, 2016
It was a great experience and opportunity to work at Best Buy. The staff was great, I would definitely work there again if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a great place to work with such a fun environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJuly 15, 2014
Best Buy is a great place to work. A typical day for me would be to help as many customers as can and ensure that they leave with a good experience. I joke around with both the customers as well as the staff which make it any shift go by very quickly. The management is very good and is away willing to give you any help you may need and are very flexible when it comes to any sickness or injury. I have learned so much working there, not only about the products I sold but I learned better ways to interact with the customers and mae sure I was recommending the right products. There are so many benefits and discounts that make this place one of my favourites to work at but it sometimes can be very difficult helping customers understand why a certain service could really benefit them.
Pros
50% off my phone bill
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weekly lunch, weekly games
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Scott Road,BCMay 7, 2016
i like working in the friendly environment company like best buy. My seniors care about me and help me in building up my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
TIBCO Developer (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCJanuary 12, 2015
Great benefits, hands on training, very competitive pay rates and the people are just great! The corporate culture is relaxed while there is a major feeling of being a part of a team. The company mission statement is clear and it seems that all employees really are there to help people find jobs in their own way. Expectations and goals are high but the support is present to help all employees achieve set goals. Management wants to help their teams succeed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONMay 12, 2016
Aot to do in a shift cool technology Great staff and a great company! Sad to have only been contracted Seasonal and hope to work with them again!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best Hub ever
Mobile Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ONJanuary 29, 2016
Great place to work overall, people are amazing, everyone will speak up if there is any issues.
Looked forward to going to work everyday.
Pros
HUB, people, management
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Connection Solution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSJanuary 27, 2016
Fun place to work great people , staff, management, Just wish is wasn't seasonal and paid better. Great experience though
Pros
No
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBApril 26, 2016
very helping co workers.
good management
good training for new comers
exceptional customer service
good communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 10,396 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8