Best Buy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 November 2017
Employees at Markville best buy are the best they are very fun and outgoing, but the management there sucks. The general manager is a self centred, biased,racist individual. Who is one of the fakest people you will ever meet. Thank god i don't work there anymore, the past months have been the best relief ever. I felt so trapped at that best buy, it was unbelievable. Felt a whole lot of stress off my shoulder after i left.
Cons
They make you over work yourself, and do things you aren't suppose to. They treat you like your worth nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starter job
Mobile Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 November 2017
This was a very fast paced, sales environment with heavy emphasis on customer service. It was the first job I had after having my daughter and it got me back to where I needed to be after being off for a couple years. The management was fair along with workplace culture. The hardest part of the job was the pressure of having to meet sales targets while giving the impression that you are not working under commission to the customer. The most enjoyable part of the job were some of the perks you could take advantage of with discounted cell service etc.
Pros
Discounted services and products
Cons
Sales structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Teamwork oriented job
PIck Order (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 November 2017
Meetings happen everyday with the whole crew to discuses what needs to be improved, positive actions that happen in the work place and negative things that needs to be disguised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bestbuy review
Connected Solution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON4 November 2017
pretty nice place to work at, trying to drive as many sales as possible,even without commission employees are put under pressure to sell a lot of store services. Beside that its a friendly environment with good benefits and great employee discounts.
Pros
discount, benefits, friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time there
Customer Service and Sales (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 November 2017
It was a good overall experiences, the company itself is amazing. There are many opportunities to advance oneself professionally. At the store I worked at there was a close knit relationship within the team which was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
In-Store Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON2 November 2017
I worked as tech support . basically all my job was helping customer with some technical issue.it was always busy and I had to deal with some happy and sometime unhappy customers.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
no job scurity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with great team!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON2 November 2017
Great job to advance your career. Learn various customer service skills needed to bring to any career. Benefits are great and management makes the environment fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 November 2017
it was good at the start but once you're exposed to the drama and politics of it all its so pretentious. like, you're selling tvs, chill. if you're scheduled until 9 you'll most likely be done by 930. the people the work there are great. i made lots of really good friends there. but some of the managers made work unbearable. there were poor decisions made when giving promotions and that cause the work experience to go down drastically.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Install Service Technician & Product Expert (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON28 October 2017
Great people to work with, management needs more training though. I worked for this company for decade and they didn't promote me into positions because of race. Sad that this is happening in a country like Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy student job
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 October 2017
customer interaction
new products
admin knowledge
shift work
fun environment
up-selling techniques
good discounts
adjustable schedule
friendly co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Very Fun
Product Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC25 October 2017
starts as a positive environment but slowly you will turn to dislike the company.

most of the time managers complain if you're caught talking to another associate even if the store is empty.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Aggressive, Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intermediate job
Customer Sales Associate, Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 October 2017
This is a good intermediate job to have before finding a professional career... or a great job to have while or before you have earned a college diploma or university degree... If you have graduated from a polytechnic college or university, I would advise that you only have a job like this until you find your real career... Management is often hypocritical and doesn't follow the rules that they set. Majority of staff only has high school diplomas. If you don't want to move past mediocrity, stay here... Otherwise, this is a good survival job at best. Much better than retail or a restaurant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Geek Squad Installer (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON23 October 2017
Always had a good experience with this company. No complaints on working with the people I have worked with, or the knowledge I have been able to gain over the last 5+ years.
Pros
Environment
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stable job
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 October 2017
Friendly staff, on the job training, great benefits for full time employees, decent pay for entry level position, organized system in place for schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and opportunity for learning
Computer Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2017
Allows you to develop one on one sales skills as well as technical knowledge relating to many household electronic products. Very fun and not too intense with flat pay structure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 October 2017
Give ONLY a 30 min break whether you work 6 hours or 10. Poor Management. Poor training. You learn a lot about technology though. Very unorganized and treat their employees terribly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical dramatic retail work environment with no accountability
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 October 2017
Nobody is reprimanded for lates, calling in sick routinely or excessively, avoiding work responsibilities, no-shows to shifts, and leaving work early.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best buy review
Senior Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
Fun place to work in, people are awesome, and the discounts are fantastic. Learned a lot about electronics, especially those that are popular. Learned a lot about games and digital stuff here. No room for promotion, takes a very long time to get to senior.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
salary not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace
Home Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB16 October 2017
absolutely loved working at best buy in lloydminster very loving and caring staff and managers they all love to help anyone who walks in they always make the morning and evening staff meetings superbly fun and interesting
Pros
excellent hub with fun loving staff
Cons
because of the store hours i couldn't work as many hours as i wanted, other than that cannot think of anything for a con
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a student Best Buy is better than most
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 October 2017
Best buy offers benefits even to part time employees that many companies do not. I have found it to be a fairly positive environment during my time working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15,384 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8