Best Buy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and opportunity for learning
Computer Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2017
Allows you to develop one on one sales skills as well as technical knowledge relating to many household electronic products. Very fun and not too intense with flat pay structure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 October 2017
Give ONLY a 30 min break whether you work 6 hours or 10. Poor Management. Poor training. You learn a lot about technology though. Very unorganized and treat their employees terribly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical dramatic retail work environment with no accountability
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 October 2017
Nobody is reprimanded for lates, calling in sick routinely or excessively, avoiding work responsibilities, no-shows to shifts, and leaving work early.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grande Compagnie
CIA Senior Geek Squad (Former Employee) –  Rosemère, QC17 October 2017
Grande Compagnie mais malheureusement les employés sont très mal payés...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best buy review
Senior Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
Fun place to work in, people are awesome, and the discounts are fantastic. Learned a lot about electronics, especially those that are popular. Learned a lot about games and digital stuff here. No room for promotion, takes a very long time to get to senior.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
salary not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace
Home Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB16 October 2017
absolutely loved working at best buy in lloydminster very loving and caring staff and managers they all love to help anyone who walks in they always make the morning and evening staff meetings superbly fun and interesting
Pros
excellent hub with fun loving staff
Cons
because of the store hours i couldn't work as many hours as i wanted, other than that cannot think of anything for a con
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a student Best Buy is better than most
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 October 2017
Best buy offers benefits even to part time employees that many companies do not. I have found it to be a fairly positive environment during my time working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing environment with a really cool tech
Multi-Channel Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC12 October 2017
Bestbuy is a great place to be, the culture is one of the best ive ever seen. I have had the privilege of creating new and amazing friendship while working at bestbuy. Everyday is always new and exciting, I Get To meet new people who come in the store who either know everything about technology or nothing at all. Its always fun talking about the new tech that comes out.
Pros
seeing the new tech before it comes out
Cons
Pay and few managers care more about number then anything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lieu de travail
Vendeuse (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC11 October 2017
Ambiance chaleureuse, travail d'équipe, formation adéquate!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soyez disponibles.
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC9 October 2017
Travailler chez Best Buy peut être exigeant. Pour ma part, j'ai été engagée à temps partiel à cet endroit et j'avais un horaire de temps plein.
Je suis aux études présentement et mon horaire est du lundi au vendredi, de 8h le matin à 4h en après-midi et ils ont mit fin à mon emploi à cet endroit parce que, selon eux, je n'étais pas assez disponible dû à l'école.
J'avais un horaire de 25-30 heures semaine, il est normal que je voulais faire baisser mes heures pour pouvoir aussi me concentrer sur mes études. Aucunement compréhensifs avec les horaires des étudiants, du moins, ce l'était pour ma part.
Aucun respect envers la loi 6-9-15 établie pour les étudiants, la loi étant pas plus de 6 heures par jour, pas plus tard que 9 heures le soir et pas plus de 15 heures par semaine.
Si vous souhaitez travailler au Best Buy, allez-y, mais ne vous attendez pas à ce que votre horaire de disponibilité et vos heures demandées par semaine soient respectées.
Pros
Avantages sociaux.
Cons
Tout le reste.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice entry level place to work
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 October 2017
Best Buy is a nice place to work for your first time, especially if you have experience with technology. However, in my experience, you're not really going to get anywhere working there. Not a lot of people get promoted, and often, it was the people least deserving of a promotion, though that may just have been poor management.
Pros
Usually great people and job culture
Cons
Not much in terms of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive work environment
Mobile Specialist (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 October 2017
VERY POSITIVE WORK ENVIRONMENT-
Day passes by very quickly when its busy
Love the non commission, no pressure sales structure
Management focuses more on team bonding rather than sales
Learned leadership qualities and exceptional customer service experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly team atmosphere
PRODUCT PROCESS SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 October 2017
Working here was alright, not the best place to be employed in my opinion. The staff are all very kind and friendly but some of them really lack the ability to teach. Overall I did not feel valued or needed at the time I worked at Best Buy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like Best Buy
Walkie Operator (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 October 2017
A typical day there isn't as hard or bad. They give a lot of raymond machine opportunities no matter who it is. Staff is pretty cool too. I was in Recieving, that section is better than Shipping in my opinion.
Pros
Staff, hours and pay
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
s'amuser tout en étant les meilleurs
Spécialiste des ventes (Current Employee) –  Granby, QC4 October 2017
une Valeur chez cette entreprise. Ceux-ci applique bien ce principe.

l'atmosphère est agréable, les employés sont souriants et c'est plaisant d'aller travailler. Une excellente entreprise comme introduction dans le domaine de la vente. C'est un bel accompagnement aux notions théoriques du Cégep. Le salaire est le facteur auquel je me recherche un emploi. Le salaire est de base et les augmentations de sont pas représentatives du travail donné en retour, Une méthode d'évaluation qui devrait être à réviser.
Pros
formation, atmosphère
Cons
salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and stressful
Multi-Channel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2017
I learned more about the world and about humans as a whole at this job than I ever would have wanted to. I gained invaluable time-management skills, stress management coping mechanisms, and became intimately familiar with client services.
Pros
Educational
Cons
Extremely stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work with and friendly environment. Always helping customer no matter the issue.
Warehouse Worker / sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB3 October 2017
Hardest part of this job was the busy Christmas season. Trucks every 2 days. I learned a lot of social skills when it comes to talking with people i don't know and to help customers with a larger issue then others.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Christmas holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Operations associate (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC1 October 2017
Best buy was a fun place to work only because you stay fairly busy and the management is good. they are fun and like their employees and treat them well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Full-time General warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON1 October 2017
fun friendly environment, occasional free lunches, Swiss chalet, pop eyes and potlucks. good overtime hours. good place to work and video games in the lunch room.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and good people to work with
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 October 2017
the most enjoyable part of this job is the people i had worked with
organized the merchandise
great environment
management was great,flexible
hardest part of the job was dealing with stolen merchandise
Pros
company partys
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 14,949 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8