Find companies:
Benjamin Moore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Benjamin Moore Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place to work!
Sales / Office Associate (Current Employee), Saint John, NBJune 4, 2014
Everything about this job is incredible from the staff to the hours! To the environment your surrounded by ! Its a work place that actually cares about its customers and staff!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inviting and friendly environment
Interior Decorator & Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 9, 2014
Pros: benefits for full-time employees, schedule flexibility, nice people to work with
Cons: working weekends and nights, dealing with difficult customers, cannot advance in the company
A typical day consists of reviewing daily cash reports, emails and phone calls,placing inventory orders, answering customer inquiries and offering decorating advice. My co-workers and the contractors that come in are all very friendly and make the work environment enjoyable. The hardest part of my job is dealing the public. Most people are friendly – more... but there are times where an impatient customer can make your day more difficult. But for the most part I end the day feeling good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative
Sales Associate (Former Employee), ScarboroughApril 30, 2014
Pros: flexible environment
Cons: long hours
- Taking orders over the phone
- Making sure the paint are properly mixed.
- In charge of monthly statements.
- Tracking transfer items.
- Placing paint and accessory orders for the store.
- Other managerial roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work invironment,fun people.a place where you feel you belong
Paint Recovery Specialist (Former Employee), burlington on.February 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches awesome christmass party with lots of prizes to give away
Cons: cleaning paint spills
i cure and hand fill the paint to spec.then sort all old paint to be refurbished.I learned how to mix and mill paint.My co-workers were all very close like a big familly .The hardest part of the job would be cleaning spilled paint.The most enjoyable part of my job is talking with my co-workers we always had interesting stories
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive family owned business, consistently growing.
Key Holder & Paint Associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 1, 2014
I have thoroughly enjoyed working for Benjamin Moore in the past three years.

A typical day at work for me includes opening the store, preparing the tint machine and computers, and helping customers and contractors. My main duties are to ensure the store is tidy and presentable, stock product and assist customers with color, products, paint, stain – more... and any general inquires they may have.

Management at Benjamin Moore is excellent. I've always received appropriate feedback based on my performance, and always feel appreciated as an employee. They also listen to my concerns and continue to encourage me to further my education.

The hardest part of the job is moving all the paint product around when we decide to remodel the store.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with customers on their big and small projects. I love giving people advice and assurance that they will be happy with the final product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 28, 2013
retail store
busy environment
lots of time spent with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very inviting worklace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mount Albert, ONMarch 7, 2013
Management was great
Co-workers were great
I learned a lot about paint
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and yet professional environment to work. A company with great culture and values that promotes a work/life balance.
Financial Analyst and Co-ownership Accountant (Current Employee), Vaughan, OntarioFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: subsidized lunches, flexible hours with the possibility to work from home if needed
Cons: the potential to learn new stuff has lately been reduced.
It is a friendly and yet professional environment to work in.Throughout the years of experience at Benjamin Moore, I have learned a lot and developed skills through hands on experience in different finance and accounting areas. I worked with very kind and helpful staff who wouldn't miss a chance to share their knowledge and expertise. During business – more... trips away from home, we developed strong friendship and partnerships. The management was offering direction and help while leaving room for each one's individual and personal input. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCAugust 9, 2012
Pros: flexible vacation time
Cons: negative atmosphere
First thing in the a.m. pallets of paint may arrive,if it is not busy with customers we start to verify,unload and put away the product. The phone is usually ringing and someone will rush to answer it. The call is either for the Decorator , a phone order or a problem. The call is either transferred, resolved or the order prepared. If it's an order, – more... the paint is pulled from the shelf, tinted, shaken and boxed ready for pick up. The door alarm will ding signifying a customer entering the store. Since we are a high end store we require a great deal of knowledge re products and application. A typical customer wants help choosing colours, picking the best product for the job and a lower price than we offer!The best part of the job is picking colours that make the client's home a showplace or a zen place, whichever look they are after. The hardest part is continual heavy lifting and standing on cement floors all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to be the smartest person in the room
Marketing (Former Employee), Montvale, NJJune 16, 2014
Pros: decent hours
Cons: lower pay than other companies, nutty corporate politics at all levels, leadership changes direction every few months. layoffs every few weeks.
This company is successful despite itself. The products are great, but the people working at the company seem to be trying to ruin it. Direction changes every few months. Everyone is embroiled in power struggles to save themselves from being in the next round of layoffs. People talk about the great hours and free lunch... That's nice, but is that a – more... reason to work somewhere?? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the type of customers you get but most days are good
Sales/Customer service (Former Employee), i don't want to say, sorryMay 9, 2014
Pros: cheap paint products
Cons: long hours, pay could be better
I have really nothing bad to say about the company as they're all individually owned. My boss is great and flexible it's the customers sometimes that are very rude and overly picky about their colours. You can't make everyone happy but you can try, just don't drive yourself insane.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be employed
Filling Line Operator (Former Employee), Johnstown, NYMarch 13, 2014
Pros: flexible vacation time. bonuses.
I loved working a Benjamin Moore. They have many amazing benefits and room to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was really slow at first because brand new store open
Manger (Former Employee), CypressFebruary 24, 2014
I loved it very quiet and chill work
The hardest part of the job is learning everything about the company. The most enjoyable would be working with customers with painting issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a company to plan your future around
Territory Manager (Current Employee), MidwestJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no direction or long term plans
This was once a family owned company known for its culture and brand. Now it is a corporate entity whose only function is to generate profits for the owner. Current top management has no regard for the human side of business. Lower management has to follow those principals or move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goog work place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Carol Stream, ILDecember 28, 2013
Pros: everything
Good work place friendly people i loved working there hope to go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Carol Stream, ILDecember 21, 2013
Pros: work culture felt like a family
Cons: no security
I really enjoyed working for this company. I had the opportunity to move around in many different positions which I felt help me acquire with many skills that I would not have if I stayed in one area.
I loved the people I worked with, I found I acquired a lot of friends in my 16 yrs. of service there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Development Chemist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 9, 2013
Too much upper management. Poor communication to employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Technical Technical Lead (Current Employee), Montvale, NJNovember 12, 2013
Pros: good work culture, free lunch
Cons: change in management, outsourcing of it
I had great experience working for Benjamin Moore & Co. Company has good work culture and have technical challenging projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great compnay, too many changes going on all at once. They have lost focus on what is important " the customer."
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Richmond VANovember 11, 2013
Pros: salaries, and benefits are great. the associates and customers are great.
Cons: the leadership hasn't changed, only the people in the field.
With all the changes, the customers have lost confindence in Benjamin Moore. The leadership has made choices, that effect the customers and the people in the field. But the leadership continues to keep their job, and everyone else suffers. 3 CEO's in 2 years. They keep doing the same thing expecting the end result to change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Antiquated Systems, Does Not Progress
Former Employee (Former Employee), Montvale, NJOctober 20, 2013
Pros: free lunch, good discount on paint, most people are very pleasant.
Cons: turnover, antiquated systems, awful cubicles
I worked at Benjamin Moore over ten years ago. Like many, I was let go. In my department many got let go at their 6 month anniversary after leaving excellent positions to join BM. HR would say "we know there is a problem with that department" yet fail to make any changes in the management where the true problem lies. I see the position I held appearing – more... over and over again with virtually no changes to the job description. When I worked there BM was still using large scale green bar paper! – less

About Benjamin Moore

Not only can you paint the town red with Benjamin Moore paints, you can stain and finish it as well. In addition to ready-mixed – Read more

Benjamin Moore Photos