BELL MEDIA Employee Reviews

Found 52 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Promotion Street Team Member (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 June 2017
The staff is wonderful. Always willing to help when you need it and thanks to Bell Media I have learned a lot in the few months I have been working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you have ambition, go elsewhere
Designer/Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 June 2017
If you're looking to punch a clock, disengage from your work, and count the days until you're packaged out from a large institution, this is where you'll want to go.

No growth potential, poor management, and detrimental work practises.

If you're under the age of 30 - stay at max a year, then leave. You will never be promoted or grow within the company.
Pros
Most positions can be done by shutting off your brain entirely
Cons
Its a boys club. If you're a female, chances are you'll be used in a coordinators role, because only men are allowed to have ideas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold and Corporate Environment.
Morning Show Co-Host-CHOM FM (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 May 2017
I was laid off from a successful Morning Show due to budget cuts. We went 2 years without a PD or a leader of any kind. We were not given the tools to succeed but our team found a way despite that. My Morning Show Team were like family and I was grateful to be part of it.
Pros
The CHOM staff
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a productive and a fun place to work.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 February 2017
I had a great time working with Bell Media. Everybody was so nice, my team was awesome. Working for Bell Media taught me so much that I use in my everyday life.
Pros
Cheaper Phone Bills
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and fast-paced
CJAD INTERN (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2017
This internship provided me with a lot of opportunity to learn and grow in the world of radio. I met and worked with incredible people and the internship provided me with the full experience of radio.
Pros
Great experience and networking opportunities
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with unpaid overtime
CTV National News Staff (Current Employee) –  Agincourt, ON22 January 2017
CTV doesn't pay their national news reporters or producers overtime. They instituted a "Double Day" or "Sixteen Hour Rule" that requires us to work 16 hours in one day (yes you read that right, in one day!) before receiving ANY OT. Management don't seem to think they are doing something illegal by violating the Canada Labour Code.

The company doesn't care about work-life balance. Expects staff to work long hours without pay and be on call 24 hours a day.
Pros
Rewarding Journalism, Good audience reach, Flexible vacation days, Bell savings plan
Cons
Long unpaid hours, No overtime, Poor management, Managers scream and yell
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand Ambassador
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 January 2017
Grabbing necessary equipment to load into brand vehicle. Setting up at the event and promoting contests and engaging with people once you are set up. Towards the end of the shift you create a social media album on Facebook and pack up equipment, head back to the office and write an evaluation about the shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on a micro level it is great but on a giant corporate level Bell Media is cold and heartless
Videographer/editor/ENG technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 December 2016
I worked for them for a few years. I moved cities for a better position and was let go in layoffs 4 months later. They did not inform me layoffs would happen prior to my move. heartless
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic, Understaffed, Lack of Vision
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2016
-Coworkers are great
-Great location downtown Toronto

-Lack of leadership
-Yearly layoffs
-Lack of recognition
-Little mobility
-Competitive
-Yearly reorganizations
-Unrealistic deadlines in understaffed departments
-Digital department struggling to be recognized in TV company
Pros
Coworkers, Employee Savings program, Bell Stock Purchasing Program
Cons
Lack of leadership, Constant Reorganization, Overworked employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful coworkers... zero job security
Worker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 October 2016
-No job security
-Management has gone from great, to good, to mediocre.
-Dying market
-Communication between management and staff on the decline
-Co-workers are wonderful
-Learn a lot from the people you work with
-Very accommodating hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable but low paying.
Creative Writer (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 October 2016
Bell Media is a stable, corporate workplace. Great team atmosphere, great co-workers and a fun environment. That said, Bell Media is very reluctant to offer raises. And yearly raises are minimal.
Pros
Fun/dynamic work environment.
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co-workers
Content and Rights Management Operator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 October 2016
While working at Bell Media the people that I worked with were very nice and open to teaching me different aspects of the job. They were willing to give me training in a wide variety of department.
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mal gérée
Coordonnateur aux ventes web (Former Employee) –  montreal21 September 2016
C'est des petites groupe et si tu ne rentre pas dans leur moule tu n’évolueras jamais
Pros
rien
Cons
toute
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth, Fun, Opportunities
NATIONAL SALES COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2016
Great company to work for, lots of opportunities for growth, great people to learn from - lots of fun as well. Great mix of work/life balance and great vacation time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 August 2016
It's fun place to volunteer. You get experience behind the scenes on set. It's easy to get along with the crew members (directors, etc...) The hours may be long but you get rewarded in experience. I wish there were more workshops to learn pre-production and production process.
Pros
Experience in behind the scenes, learn new things
Cons
Long hours, not enough workshops
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and decent teams
Technical QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2016
- Good management
- Decent team dynamic
- Promotes ownership and individuality, as much as team work
- There is still room for growth and areas of improvement to be utilized overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good creative team
Designer/Illustrator (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 July 2016
Design work for CTV News is good on many levels, it allows for creativity, and pushes limits, and a very informative crew, and being informed about the various happenings all over the world from a journalistic point of view make it really interesting.
Pros
Good creative team
Cons
Lcation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressfull environment.
Technical Director in Television (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2016
- Barely any time to get ready to get on the air
- To many hours live on the air with no breaks
- Management not very well trained
- Good and very helpful co-workers
Pros
Good salary and benifits.
Cons
Long hours and barely any breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement Agréable
Producteur audio (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC28 June 2016
Équipe de travail dynamique et joyeuse
Les taches et les responsabilités sont claires
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employees
VTR Operator (Current Employee) –  toronto21 May 2016
hard working, competent workers. not a lot of room for advancement. Too many cut backs within the company leaves job security a worry for most
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BELL MEDIA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2