Find companies:
Bed Bath and Beyond
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
758 reviews

Bed Bath and Beyond Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it
Cashier/Sales and Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: rude management
Most days were usually the same. Customers were always pleasant. Management was hardly ever seen. The hardest part of the job was trying to communicate with management, the most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help customers make decisions. I learned a lot about interior decorating and cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales associate (Current Employee), new york, nyFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: office parties
Cons: short lunch breaks
Bed bath and Beyond is a simple job to have. It doesn't require much thought process and you learn about everyday household items. Management is usually easy to understand and easy to get along with. You will definitely meet some interesting people. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers. the most enjoyable part of the job is – more... feeling a sense of pride when accomplishing a task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
responsibility over operation and performance of one, multi-million dollar store location. The Store Manager is a leader who exercises judgment and us
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Olympia, WAFebruary 4, 2014
•Positively communicate and demonstrate the company’s Core Values by developing trust and respect among staff, building strong teams and partnerships through collaborative work ethics, and driving business results by taking ownership and pride in the company and getting things done.
•Ensure team is deliver excellent customer service while demonstrating – more... a high degree of professionalism
Responsibilities:

•Manage the performance of Assistant Store Managers and Associates using established Company policies and standards including but not limited to those outlined in the company’s Core Values, the Associate Handbook as well as merchandising and operational SOP’s
•Recruit and hire the most qualified applicants to meet the store's needs.
•Ensure that the management team is providing all associates with proper orientation, training and coaching to maximize the associate and customer experience and drive sales
•Provide leadership and guidance to the management team in solving problems that affect the store's service, efficiency, and productivity
•Coordinate merchandise placement, sales promotion activities and pricing of merchandise through communication and coaching of the Merchandise Managers and Merchandising Team
•Review and audit operational processes, reports and records to ensure adherence to Company policies and procedures, monitor store profitability, and manage payroll budgets
•Ensure the CSLM and receiving team are reviewing paperwork pertaining to receiving, transfers, debits/damages, returns-to-vendor (RTV's), and charge-backs to headquarters in order to ensure accuracy of inventory
•Work closely with team of Assistant Store Managers to ensure proper scheduling guidelines and best practices are being following in order to maximize the available workforce
•Actively address any associate relations issues and ensure all Human Resources and employment policies are being followed within the store
•Proactively communicate with the Regional Support team and Store Assistant Managers to build partnerships that help achieve greater results
•Ensure that adequate security exists and that physical facilities comply with safety codes and ordinances
•Safeguard company assets by properly securing the facility and all areas containing sensitive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's no room for moving up.
Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: they work around your schedule
Cons: there never seems to be room to move up
My typical day starts off by printing off my reports and pulling the morning replenishment. I'm constantly climbing ladders and lifting light to heavy objects. There is a lot of physical activity but that is why I enjoy it so much. I have strive to learn as much as I can and I know almost every department and will be training to do RTV's soon. As knowledgeable – more... as I am though it is still very hard to move up in the company. When a position opens up in the store they fill it with someone else from another store instead of promoting a associates. The managers are very understanding when it comes to scheduling and availability. They will work around your second job or schooling and try to keep hours constant. There are plenty of pros and cons at any job but overall it is a decent work experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My View
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Elk Grove, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: managers, co workers, and my position.
Cons: no room for advancement, and often not safe environment
I absolutely loved working for Bed Bath & Beyond, loved the managers, co workers, and my job. I worked as a RTV & Receiving Clerk. My job was a fast pace job and I learned to work in such a fast pace. I loved what I did. The only thing I didn't care for was the job security/advancement. I wanted a more challenging job and a job where I could grow and – more... here wasn't the place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what can you expect from retail
Sales and Stock Associate (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: meeting different people
Cons: it's retail
Go in and immediately start handling the stores merchandise. Great customer service skills, that was one of the ways we handled store theft. No comment on management. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job was getting a schedule that was a balance between work and home life. The best part of the job was interacting with the different – more... store patrons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping customers
Cashier (Former Employee), Newport News, VAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: discounts on merchandise & helping customers.
Cons: short or maybe no breaks & no medical benefits
I enjoyed helping customers. They always came first. Some days around holidays were extremely busy & long but it was well worth it. Other days were just too slow & we wouldn't have hardly any customers. I'd find myself rearranging the shelves & dusting. Anything to stay busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked in different areas of the store
Store Associate (Former Employee), Bluffton, SCFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: flexable hours, interacting with customers
Cons: really didnt have any cons
I worked as a cashier and sales associate. Made sure the inventory was stocked at all times. I moved to the shipping and receiving and my responsibility was to return the damaged products back to the companies. I also helped received the trucks when they came in with merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motivational enviroment
Sales Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: interacting with customer, you'll always meet someone new
Cons: there were no cons for me i really enjoyed working at this job
i was able to learn alot of customer service skills, learned about different products,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Cashier/ Sales (Current Employee), East Hanover, NJFebruary 1, 2014
my job is very busy,
theres a lot of customers.
great employees
the hardest part of the job is maintaining patients with very rude and non understanding customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very large store
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Union, NJJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: store closed at 9 and we left at 11 so clean up was way better with no customers around
Cons: the work scheduling was all over the place
my job task was to maintain store overall appearance, go up and ring the registers when told to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: benefits for full time employees
Cons: high maintenance customers
Interesting place to work... melting pot of personalities, it's a retail environment so that should sum it up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 27, 2014
NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA This was the worst place to work and I will never return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding job physically
Service Desk associate (Former Employee), Warwick, RIJanuary 27, 2014
Cons: no benefits at all
The company itself is a great place to shop, with many great products. The company expects the employees to do the restocking early morning. I did notice that, even though there were men available, women were expected to do some very heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, AZJanuary 26, 2014
Busy.
Physically Demanding.
Long Hours.
Majority of time in customer interactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BBB
CUSTOMER SERVICE LEAD (Former Employee), Overland park KSJanuary 26, 2014
its a good job for when you are in school, they are very flexiable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work, but very low room for promotion.
Solicit sales (Former Employee), Spanish Fort, ALJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: great employee discount, close-knit family atmosphere, great pay.
Cons: some managers micromanaged instead of helped
Over all, BB&B was a good place to work. A typical day at work was coming in and discussing the general plan for the day, such as sale signs and what needed to be dropped from top stock.

Management was overall good, save for a manager or two that wanted to "micromanage"; instead of helping the other employees, they would stand in front of or behind – more... customer service and tell everyone else what to do and how to do it. This is very frustrating, especially during holiday season when there are already long lines of customers waiting, and said manager is just standing there with their arms crossed or hands in their pockets telling everyone else what to do or where to go.

The co-workers were like a family. Very close-knit. Most have worked at my store for years, so everyone knew everyone else. New employees were treated well, and included in the "family" once everyone knew who they were.

The hardest part of the job was the sporadic scheduling and lack of dependability of some other employees.

Most enjoyable part was working with the employees that were like family to myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Training At It's Finest!
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJanuary 22, 2014
Although the business practices and expectations of BBB do not coincide with mine, the customer service training in this job are outstanding! Any associate there receives optimal customer service training with this company. Great start to a career!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter Job
Administrative Aide/Shipping Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Fast paced retail environment. Must be able to multi-task and provide excellent customer care at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun coworkers and opportunities to learn different areas of store operations
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: merchandising displays / setting aisles, fun coworkers, customer interaction
Cons: part time, no benefits, no set hours per week
I work part-time, typically around 25 hours per week. The hours vary per week. I have different tasks depending on what shift I work. In the mornings we focus on special projects such as merchandising aisles, rooms, and displays. At night we focus on zoning (straightening and cleaning up the store) and freight put-away. Customer service is always our – more... top priority during store business hours. The management is great when it comes to training, providing additional training if needed or requested, and communicating what is expected on both a daily and weekly basis. I'm happy to call many of my co-workers my friends, which is one great aspect of this job. I enjoy being able to work with fun people who are dependable and helpful. Another aspect of this job I enjoy is interacting with customers and the ability to provide product knowledge received during continuous training and refreshers. The hardest part of this job is freight put-away, specifically heavy and bulky items. We top-stock excess boxed items such as cookware sets and vacuums and as a small female, carrying and lifting such items up 12 foot ladders is more difficult than it is for others. – less

About Bed Bath and Beyond

Bed Bath & Beyond (BBB) has everything you need to play "house" for real. It's the nation's #1 superstore domestics retailer with about – Read more

Bed Bath and Beyond Photos