Find companies:
Bechtel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
414 reviews

Bechtel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High levels of Professionalism and Integrity
Senior Nuclear Licensing Specialist (Former Employee), Frederick, MDNovember 5, 2014
During my 14 years of assignments with Bechtel Group, the organization, including Bechtel Power Corporation comprehensively demonstrated high levels of professionalism and integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project in Colorado was fun place to work
Warehouse Manager / Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), Pueblo, COOctober 31, 2014
I was in Colorado over 2 years with Bechtel, and the project was fun to work at. Worked 10 hour days, 4 day per week, learned a lot regarding government projects within the construction industry. t Managementnwas easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Company
Lead Field Coordinator (Former Employee), New JerseyOctober 30, 2014
Excellant Company one of the best to work for. they give you everything you need to do your job, if you need just ask.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Duties- bob cat, road roller, peggy and cleaning (Current Employee), gladstone qldOctober 29, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: stuck on island
cleaning, operating of machines, trying to sleep during day after working night shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Laborer (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 28, 2014
We put out water, filled gas cans, picked up trash, pumped water and whatever was needed we did it. I enjoyed the people I worked with, met new friends. I had a great supervisor, I just wished I could have worked longer. The hardest part of the job was, I didn't have none because I don't mine working. I will do the best that I can do to get the job – more... done. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I and the labor crew I worked with was recognized for the best work station and toolboxes. I was given a gift card and I was only there for three days. You give me a job to do and I will do it to the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More positive than negative
Global Director of Human Resources (Current Employee), MarylandOctober 24, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, 9/80, retirement
Cons: health benefits, old boys network, lack of advancement if not mobile
Opportunities for advancement for women and employees of color is very limited, particularly if you are a single parent. The culture does not seem to recognize the leadership potential in cultural or gender differences.

The team environment is well developed, but being recognized and valued for skills is tough unless you are tapped early as a high – more... potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Survey Section Head Viaducts (Current Employee), Riyadh, S01October 24, 2014
Very professional atmosphere, but most everyone is friendly and fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work
Lead Superentendent (Former Employee), 23 different statesOctober 20, 2014
Pros: ability to make and implment decisions without prior approval in most cases.
Cons: many moves around the country to the next project.
A typical day starts with a brief safety meeting with entire crew, then issue work assignments for the day. During the day job progress inspections, scheduling and cost meetings, assure safety requirements were being utilized, reveiw job progress with clients, coordinate subcontractors.
I found there was something new to be learned everyday.
Management – more... was always supportative and competent.
My co-workeres and I worked very well as a team.
The hardest part of the job was discipline issues with my crews.
The most enjoyable part was finishing a build in a high quality manner and seeing the project go into operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with longevity
International Payroll Processor (Current Employee), Glendale, AZOctober 17, 2014
Very fast-paced position working within the Expatriate Payroll Dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Laborer Foreman (Former Employee), New Strawn, KSOctober 12, 2014
Pros: ability to move up
Cons: long hours
a standard construction job learned new ways to preform tasks had no problems with management they were very helpful co-workers were very knowledgeable hardest past of the job was 72+ hours a week best part was completing the project it gave a rewarding feeling of accomplishment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job and management culture
Project Engineer, Principal Engr (Former Employee), Doha, DAWOctober 10, 2014
Great company to work with. Lots of meetings to attend, plenty of travel and challenging assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Mail Courier (Current Employee), Richmond, KYOctober 8, 2014
Great Place to Work. Good people. All is good at this business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to be at safety members and foreman take good care of you
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee), sabine pass lousianaOctober 7, 2014
Pros: company will give us bonus checks n free lunch
Cons: no cons
everyone getting along with each other and working as a team to get the job done before the due date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Great Experience
Instrument and Controls Design Engineer (Current Employee), Spring City, TNOctober 7, 2014
Largest Engineering and Construction company in the world. Ability to obtain great amount of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Pipefitter & Ironworker Helper (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXOctober 2, 2014
Pros: free bus rides
My day was the same but had different tasks. I learned a lot from assembling and installing pipe systems and pipe support, to ensuring the ground is prepped and trenches dug out for the pipes. I aligned pipes and seals joints together with cement or glue. Management was stick making sure everything had to perfect. The work environment between co-workers – more... was constant communication all day. Being alert and persisting all day was the hardest part on extremely hot days. The learning that took place while was my most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
steel fixer (Former Employee), Curtis Island, QLDOctober 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: away from family for too long
tying in walls and buttresses
learned a system of landing pre-fab walls for LNG tank
management never helped us on site
I learned a lot of from my co-workers
waiting for steel to arrive
watching the roof of the LNG tank rise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel is a great place to work. Supervision was great.
Checker of Isometrics (Former Employee), Houston, TexasSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: we were able to do our job with great supervision.
Cons: there are no cons.
Bechtel is a good place to work. This was my first time there. It seemed to be well organized for the task at hand. I like Bechtel and would go back there if given a chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good place to work. Project life is tough.
Declined to answer (Former Employee), USASeptember 29, 2014
There's no doubt that Bechtel is top in it's industry. Unless you work in the small, corporate part of the business, your job assignment revolves around a project. The office jobs can be pretty comfortable and the company supports a great work-life balance. However, the format of the company will likely require frequent moves or long-term assignments – more... overseas which can be a strain on health and family situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative
Millwright Helper (Former Employee), Temple, TXSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: nice co workers
Cons: a few
The company is fine.
HR person was rude and un helpful.
No,
I do not want to review these companies. It is rarely the Company that bothers me. It is the management on site that has smooth talked their way into a position or has gotten the job because who they know rather than what they know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at mine site, very demanding 12 hour days
Lead Civil/Structural Superintendent (Current Employee), Escondida, ChileSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: great place to save money, due to camp job
Cons: away from family
Very rewarding and highly demanding project with Bechtel.
We successfully installed over 15,000 metric tons of structural steel to date and had no accidents.

About Bechtel

Bechtel (BEK tl) is the world's No. 1 choice for engineering, construction, and project management. Their diverse portfolio – Read more