Find companies:
Bechtel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
424 reviews

Bechtel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life balance
Database Administrator (Former Employee), Richland, WANovember 20, 2014
Work Life balance was great and the people were fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Team Leadership/ Environment
Project ES&H Training Lead (Former Employee), PeruNovember 19, 2014
Bechtel’s award winning global vision, core values, sustainability, communications, including project site and corporate management fostered great overall team spirit and benchmark success
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work as long as the jobs are being awarded
Document Control Tech (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 19, 2014
Pros: good compensation for some
Cons: lack of advancement unless you are related to a higher-up
- Flex hours
- 9/80 (every other Friday off)
- Retirement contributions
- Values/Covenants

Only way to move up in Bechtel is working projects which means moving approximately every 2 to 3 years. Dealing with office politics at times can be overwhelming. At times significant mandatory overtime to get the job done. Not a good work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
project manager
Consultant Senior Project Manager International (Former Employee), United USNovember 17, 2014
I have over 25 years of experience as a Senior Project Manager, Project Manager, and Project Controls Manager and expert advisor/witness and risk manager. I work for the Stake Holders best interests. My geographic diversities include North America, Caribbean, Central Asia, and Eastern Europe and South America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best place to work.
Team Lead (Current Employee), Gurgaon.November 15, 2014
It is a very good office with pin drop silence. No disturbance. Do your work and leave office at right time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Contract Formation Specialist (Current Employee), London, ENGNovember 13, 2014
An extremely hard working organisation and it is a pleasure to be a part of some of the multibillion pound projects. Great organisation to build skills whilst working on mega projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for a company Bechtel I gained some new skills, such as work on building the support columns for the bridge was completely different experienc
Carpenter (Former Employee), CroatiaNovember 12, 2014
In company Bechtel I worked on the construction of a highway Zagreb - Split in Croatia. It was a new and very challenging for me, often working under difficult weather conditions, even in the snow because we had to respect the final deadlines. I got a lot of knowledge in the design and preparation of structures for bridges and many skills in working – more... with different machines. The hardest part was when we used to do up to 15 hours due to the nature of our work and the greatest pleasure when I with the help of my co-workers became increasingly better and more professional in my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for if your willing to travel
Electrical Field Engineer (Current Employee), Spring City, TNNovember 10, 2014
Pros: great compensation/benefits, hands-on work
Cons: being away from family
- Great co-workers and atmoshpere
- Enjoy being able to be hands-on with my work
- Not to much micro-managing
- Hardest part of the job is working to nuclear standards and being away from my family
- Great compensation/benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High levels of Professionalism and Integrity
Senior Nuclear Licensing Specialist (Former Employee), Frederick, MDNovember 5, 2014
During my 14 years of assignments with Bechtel Group, the organization, including Bechtel Power Corporation comprehensively demonstrated high levels of professionalism and integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project in Colorado was fun place to work
Warehouse Manager / Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), Pueblo, COOctober 31, 2014
I was in Colorado over 2 years with Bechtel, and the project was fun to work at. Worked 10 hour days, 4 day per week, learned a lot regarding government projects within the construction industry. t Managementnwas easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Company
Lead Field Coordinator (Former Employee), New JerseyOctober 30, 2014
Excellant Company one of the best to work for. they give you everything you need to do your job, if you need just ask.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Duties- bob cat, road roller, peggy and cleaning (Current Employee), gladstone qldOctober 29, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: stuck on island
cleaning, operating of machines, trying to sleep during day after working night shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Laborer (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 28, 2014
We put out water, filled gas cans, picked up trash, pumped water and whatever was needed we did it. I enjoyed the people I worked with, met new friends. I had a great supervisor, I just wished I could have worked longer. The hardest part of the job was, I didn't have none because I don't mine working. I will do the best that I can do to get the job – more... done. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I and the labor crew I worked with was recognized for the best work station and toolboxes. I was given a gift card and I was only there for three days. You give me a job to do and I will do it to the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More positive than negative
Global Director of Human Resources (Current Employee), MarylandOctober 24, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, 9/80, retirement
Cons: health benefits, old boys network, lack of advancement if not mobile
Opportunities for advancement for women and employees of color is very limited, particularly if you are a single parent. The culture does not seem to recognize the leadership potential in cultural or gender differences.

The team environment is well developed, but being recognized and valued for skills is tough unless you are tapped early as a high – more... potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Survey Section Head Viaducts (Current Employee), Riyadh, S01October 24, 2014
Very professional atmosphere, but most everyone is friendly and fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work
Lead Superentendent (Former Employee), 23 different statesOctober 20, 2014
Pros: ability to make and implment decisions without prior approval in most cases.
Cons: many moves around the country to the next project.
A typical day starts with a brief safety meeting with entire crew, then issue work assignments for the day. During the day job progress inspections, scheduling and cost meetings, assure safety requirements were being utilized, reveiw job progress with clients, coordinate subcontractors.
I found there was something new to be learned everyday.
Management – more... was always supportative and competent.
My co-workeres and I worked very well as a team.
The hardest part of the job was discipline issues with my crews.
The most enjoyable part was finishing a build in a high quality manner and seeing the project go into operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with longevity
International Payroll Processor (Current Employee), Glendale, AZOctober 17, 2014
Very fast-paced position working within the Expatriate Payroll Dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Laborer Foreman (Former Employee), New Strawn, KSOctober 12, 2014
Pros: ability to move up
Cons: long hours
a standard construction job learned new ways to preform tasks had no problems with management they were very helpful co-workers were very knowledgeable hardest past of the job was 72+ hours a week best part was completing the project it gave a rewarding feeling of accomplishment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job and management culture
Project Engineer, Principal Engr (Former Employee), Doha, DAWOctober 10, 2014
Great company to work with. Lots of meetings to attend, plenty of travel and challenging assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Mail Courier (Current Employee), Richmond, KYOctober 8, 2014
Great Place to Work. Good people. All is good at this business.

About Bechtel

Bechtel (BEK tl) is the world's No. 1 choice for engineering, construction, and project management. Their diverse portfolio – Read more