Find companies:
Bechtel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
398 reviews

Bechtel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with; Great Company to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: flex time
Cons: long hours
Never a dull moment. Fast-paced, varied and rewarding work. Interaction with colleagues worldwide. Learned about the mining and construction industry from a contract and procurement positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well educated, Experienced Cost Engineer with Competence, Passion & Confidence
Estimator & Cost Engineer (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCAugust 1, 2014
Pros: activities, benifits
Cons: long hours
- Budget Change Management, Cost Control; Invoices Review and Approval; Cash Flow; Monthly EAC report for Mutiple Contracts.
- Multi tasks; Incorporate with Co-workers & Other Departments.
- Lessons learned from mistakes.
-Learn new skills, methods everyday.
-Plenty of trainings, courses and workshops.
-Advantages of accessing Job site, getting first – more... hand data from work front. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst HR staff I have ever had to deal with
Anonymous (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCJune 26, 2014
Pros: some good people within the company
Cons: liars and treat staff very poorly especially if you ever quit
Bechtel's HR staff are the worst HR staff I have ever dealt with. They lied to me about my salary. They told me I would get overtime and told me what amount I would make before I got to site. Then when I started working for them I found out they were just paying me straight time. They refused to do anything about it. They did that to a number of my – more... colleagues who were Canadian.

When I finally quit they made my life as hard as they could make it. When I did nothing wrong. I told them I would give them as much noticed as the wanted. They provided me with housing initially and literally gave me one day to get out of it the day I quit. Obviously thats illegal in BC. But they threatened me saying they would get their lawyers after me and that I had to leave now! I have also heard they will try to get money back for their fly in and fly out jobs.

They have you sign about 20 contracts before you start so that if you quit they can retrieve money from you.

The salary is above what you would make in town typically about 20% above. But way lower than good companies would pay you to work out of town.

My experience with this company was that it was poorly run. Some of the contractors told me it was the worst company they have ever had to deal with. This company will try to nickel and dime you every way possible. I gave it my all with this company and in the end they treated me like piece of garbage. Think twice before working or dealing with this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
SENIOR PIPING DESIGNER (Current Employee), Calgary-EdmontonApril 19, 2014
It was very Productive and managed place I have ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good standard and high expectation
Senior Civil Structural Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 27, 2013
Pros: good leadership and colleagues
Cons: contract job...
Learned a lot about heave uplift, set up a standard for the CSA team to have a unified design basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of hided opprtunities
Engineering Technologist (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: every second fiday is off
The arrangment of 96/7 is wonderful (every second Friday is off).
The officies are located in downtown, close to the public transportation.
Your co-workers are helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very proffesional Engineering Company
Business Intelligence Consultant (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: good growth opportunites
Cons: remote travelling required
Great learning experience and training.Freindly atmosphere and good opportunities for taking more responsibillity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel takes care of its employees
Field Project Controls Engineer (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXDecember 18, 2012
Pros: 9/80 schedule
Company with good training and development program. Good Opportunities for advancement and placement on other project for vast exposure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Quality Assurance Engineer (Current Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 9, 2012
Pros: lunch, flexable hours, respect
Cons: most jobs are project based
Bechtel is one of the best companies to work at. Work load sometimes can be really huge, but overall you are compromised for every effort you put
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Lead Civil Designer (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 29, 2012
i was expecting more from an organization that is as large as they are
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work
Engineering Group Supervisor (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 27, 2012
Cons: non-diversified pool of projects in some smaller offices of company.
This is a great company to work. The work environment is dynamic and chanllenging. Encourages and invests on professional development of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work
Lead Superentendent (Former Employee), 23 different statesOctober 20, 2014
Pros: ability to make and implment decisions without prior approval in most cases.
Cons: many moves around the country to the next project.
A typical day starts with a brief safety meeting with entire crew, then issue work assignments for the day. During the day job progress inspections, scheduling and cost meetings, assure safety requirements were being utilized, reveiw job progress with clients, coordinate subcontractors.
I found there was something new to be learned everyday.
Management – more... was always supportative and competent.
My co-workeres and I worked very well as a team.
The hardest part of the job was discipline issues with my crews.
The most enjoyable part was finishing a build in a high quality manner and seeing the project go into operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with longevity
International Payroll Processor (Current Employee), Glendale, AZOctober 17, 2014
Very fast-paced position working within the Expatriate Payroll Dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Laborer Foreman (Former Employee), New Strawn, KSOctober 12, 2014
Pros: ability to move up
Cons: long hours
a standard construction job learned new ways to preform tasks had no problems with management they were very helpful co-workers were very knowledgeable hardest past of the job was 72+ hours a week best part was completing the project it gave a rewarding feeling of accomplishment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job and management culture
Project Engineer, Principal Engr (Former Employee), Doha, DAWOctober 10, 2014
Great company to work with. Lots of meetings to attend, plenty of travel and challenging assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Mail Courier (Current Employee), Richmond, KYOctober 8, 2014
Great Place to Work. Good people. All is good at this business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to be at safety members and foreman take good care of you
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee), sabine pass lousianaOctober 7, 2014
Pros: company will give us bonus checks n free lunch
Cons: no cons
everyone getting along with each other and working as a team to get the job done before the due date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Great Experience
Instrument and Controls Design Engineer (Current Employee), Spring City, TNOctober 7, 2014
Largest Engineering and Construction company in the world. Ability to obtain great amount of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Pipefitter & Ironworker Helper (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXOctober 2, 2014
Pros: free bus rides
My day was the same but had different tasks. I learned a lot from assembling and installing pipe systems and pipe support, to ensuring the ground is prepped and trenches dug out for the pipes. I aligned pipes and seals joints together with cement or glue. Management was stick making sure everything had to perfect. The work environment between co-workers – more... was constant communication all day. Being alert and persisting all day was the hardest part on extremely hot days. The learning that took place while was my most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
steel fixer (Former Employee), Curtis Island, QLDOctober 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: away from family for too long
tying in walls and buttresses
learned a system of landing pre-fab walls for LNG tank
management never helped us on site
I learned a lot of from my co-workers
waiting for steel to arrive
watching the roof of the LNG tank rise.

1 2 3 4 5

About Bechtel

Bechtel (BEK tl) is the world's No. 1 choice for engineering, construction, and project management. Their diverse portfolio – Read more