Find companies:
Bechtel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
376 reviews

Bechtel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well educated, Experienced Cost Engineer with Competence, Passion & Confidence
Estimator & Cost Engineer (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCAugust 1, 2014
Pros: activities, benifits
Cons: long hours
- Budget Change Management, Cost Control; Invoices Review and Approval; Cash Flow; Monthly EAC report for Mutiple Contracts.
- Multi tasks; Incorporate with Co-workers & Other Departments.
- Lessons learned from mistakes.
-Learn new skills, methods everyday.
-Plenty of trainings, courses and workshops.
-Advantages of accessing Job site, getting first – more... hand data from work front. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst HR staff I have ever had to deal with
Anonymous (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCJune 26, 2014
Pros: some good people within the company
Cons: liars and treat staff very poorly especially if you ever quit
Bechtel's HR staff are the worst HR staff I have ever dealt with. They lied to me about my salary. They told me I would get overtime and told me what amount I would make before I got to site. Then when I started working for them I found out they were just paying me straight time. They refused to do anything about it. They did that to a number of my – more... colleagues who were Canadian.

When I finally quit they made my life as hard as they could make it. When I did nothing wrong. I told them I would give them as much noticed as the wanted. They provided me with housing initially and literally gave me one day to get out of it the day I quit. Obviously thats illegal in BC. But they threatened me saying they would get their lawyers after me and that I had to leave now! I have also heard they will try to get money back for their fly in and fly out jobs.

They have you sign about 20 contracts before you start so that if you quit they can retrieve money from you.

The salary is above what you would make in town typically about 20% above. But way lower than good companies would pay you to work out of town.

My experience with this company was that it was poorly run. Some of the contractors told me it was the worst company they have ever had to deal with. This company will try to nickel and dime you every way possible. I gave it my all with this company and in the end they treated me like piece of garbage. Think twice before working or dealing with this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
SENIOR PIPING DESIGNER (Current Employee), Calgary-EdmontonApril 19, 2014
It was very Productive and managed place I have ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good standard and high expectation
Senior Civil Structural Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 27, 2013
Pros: good leadership and colleagues
Cons: contract job...
Learned a lot about heave uplift, set up a standard for the CSA team to have a unified design basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of hided opprtunities
Engineering Technologist (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: every second fiday is off
The arrangment of 96/7 is wonderful (every second Friday is off).
The officies are located in downtown, close to the public transportation.
Your co-workers are helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very proffesional Engineering Company
Business Intelligence Consultant (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: good growth opportunites
Cons: remote travelling required
Great learning experience and training.Freindly atmosphere and good opportunities for taking more responsibillity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel takes care of its employees
Field Project Controls Engineer (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXDecember 18, 2012
Pros: 9/80 schedule
Company with good training and development program. Good Opportunities for advancement and placement on other project for vast exposure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Quality Assurance Engineer (Current Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 9, 2012
Pros: lunch, flexable hours, respect
Cons: most jobs are project based
Bechtel is one of the best companies to work at. Work load sometimes can be really huge, but overall you are compromised for every effort you put
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Lead Civil Designer (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 29, 2012
i was expecting more from an organization that is as large as they are
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work
Engineering Group Supervisor (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 27, 2012
Cons: non-diversified pool of projects in some smaller offices of company.
This is a great company to work. The work environment is dynamic and chanllenging. Encourages and invests on professional development of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee), TaipeiSeptember 15, 2014
Great working environment with kind colleagues. Challenging work but efficiency way to establish working skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but Rewarding
Manager (Current Employee), AustraliaSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: see the world, world class projects, good pay
Cons: long hours, away from home, networking got you farther than working
Spent usually between 8-14 hours a day at my desk handling emails, calls, reports, and field needs. The projects were great to be a part of and very rewarding to be part of the team but there were alot of weak links which made the job much harder than it needed to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for apprenticeship
Electrical Lead (Current Employee), Benicia, CASeptember 7, 2014
I came into this company as an electrical apprentice and was helped tremendously by the owner and coworkers .Everybody assisted in teaching me electrical theorys and work technics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Fun group of employees.
Admin (Current Employee), Benicia, CASeptember 5, 2014
the most enjoyable part of my job was being the support system for the Management team and the Craft. They always let me know how I was appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Contractor with Bechtel, no benifits. I was treated with respect, and I enjoyed working with many cultures and talented individuals.
Project NACE Level 3 QC Inspector (Former Employee), El Dorado Ar and Cushing Ok.September 4, 2014
Pros: all good
I worked with several dedicated Managers and fellow Inspectors.
Safety, Quality and Client's perspective taught me on a broader horizon.
I have not seen these attributes since I left Cushing, Ok.
I was challenged and I accepted every bit of it.
I felt I had my finger on the pulse and I looked forward to completing my tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel
IS&T Project Support (Procurement Function) (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2014
IS&T Project Support (Procurement Function)

• Support BSQE Employees and equipment-
laptops, phones, cameras and printers.
• Update BSQE Windows images based on corporate base releases.
• Provide Remote support to Area Expediters
and Supplier Quality Reps.
• Implement Bit Locker on all machines.
• Asset Management- Equipment Inventory
• Update and – more... maintain the BSQE SharePoint Site.
• Resolve IPhone/IPAD/Cisco IP problems.
• Coordinate MS Lync Meetings.
• Resolve Remote issues via Remote Lync Session. MS SharePoint Management.
• Manage user accounts in Active Directory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work with experienced people
Event Technical Staff (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 4, 2014
Event Technical Staff, Bechtel Corporation-AASMiRT 06/01/13 – 08/25/13
American Association for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology Conference, San Francisco, CA
Focus of study during conference: To learn related aspects of civil, structural, geotechnical and mechanical design and operation of nuclear power plants for peaceful generation and – more... use of nuclear energy.
• Provided conference support including technical sessions, registration of attendees, preparation of conference materials, exhibition area, operation of computers and projectors, social events, and technical tours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company to be proud to work for
User Services Help Desk (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: great company to work for
Cons: centralized the accounting functions to phoenix, az
Bechtel, is one of the worlds largest construction management companies in the world.
One of my favorite positions was working for Bechtel National which is the government entity as accounts receivable senior accountant. I was responsible for balancing receivables on numerous government projects throughout the world. This position was not only challenging – more... but full of opportunities to use my work process improvement skills. It was enjoyable to work with project managers world wide. There were many different responsibilities to this position that were not only challenging but enjoyable as well. I really enjoy accounting work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is more dedicate here
Equipment maintenance superientendent (Current Employee), Batam, KRAugust 30, 2014
super job here overaul fine and nice place.good company and good overaul facilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work as local
Senior Mathematics (Current Employee), GladstoneAugust 26, 2014
Building the lng tanks took the role of welding leading hand for both tanks learned a lot taught a lot, worked with a lot of great people, seeing productivity and the finished job,

1 2 3 4 5

About Bechtel

Bechtel (BEK tl) is the world's No. 1 choice for engineering, construction, and project management. Their diverse portfolio – Read more