Find companies:
Bechtel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
363 reviews

Bechtel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well educated, Experienced Cost Engineer with Competence, Passion & Confidence
Estimator & Cost Engineer (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCAugust 1, 2014
Pros: activities, benifits
Cons: long hours
- Budget Change Management, Cost Control; Invoices Review and Approval; Cash Flow; Monthly EAC report for Mutiple Contracts.
- Multi tasks; Incorporate with Co-workers & Other Departments.
- Lessons learned from mistakes.
-Learn new skills, methods everyday.
-Plenty of trainings, courses and workshops.
-Advantages of accessing Job site, getting first – more... hand data from work front. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst HR staff I have ever had to deal with
Anonymous (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCJune 26, 2014
Pros: some good people within the company
Cons: liars and treat staff very poorly especially if you ever quit
Bechtel's HR staff are the worst HR staff I have ever dealt with. They lied to me about my salary. They told me I would get overtime and told me what amount I would make before I got to site. Then when I started working for them I found out they were just paying me straight time. They refused to do anything about it. They did that to a number of my – more... colleagues who were Canadian.

When I finally quit they made my life as hard as they could make it. When I did nothing wrong. I told them I would give them as much noticed as the wanted. They provided me with housing initially and literally gave me one day to get out of it the day I quit. Obviously thats illegal in BC. But they threatened me saying they would get their lawyers after me and that I had to leave now! I have also heard they will try to get money back for their fly in and fly out jobs.

They have you sign about 20 contracts before you start so that if you quit they can retrieve money from you.

The salary is above what you would make in town typically about 20% above. But way lower than good companies would pay you to work out of town.

My experience with this company was that it was poorly run. Some of the contractors told me it was the worst company they have ever had to deal with. This company will try to nickel and dime you every way possible. I gave it my all with this company and in the end they treated me like piece of garbage. Think twice before working or dealing with this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
SENIOR PIPING DESIGNER (Current Employee), Calgary-EdmontonApril 19, 2014
It was very Productive and managed place I have ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good standard and high expectation
Senior Civil Structural Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 27, 2013
Pros: good leadership and colleagues
Cons: contract job...
Learned a lot about heave uplift, set up a standard for the CSA team to have a unified design basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of hided opprtunities
Engineering Technologist (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: every second fiday is off
The arrangment of 96/7 is wonderful (every second Friday is off).
The officies are located in downtown, close to the public transportation.
Your co-workers are helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very proffesional Engineering Company
Business Intelligence Consultant (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: good growth opportunites
Cons: remote travelling required
Great learning experience and training.Freindly atmosphere and good opportunities for taking more responsibillity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel takes care of its employees
Field Project Controls Engineer (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXDecember 18, 2012
Pros: 9/80 schedule
Company with good training and development program. Good Opportunities for advancement and placement on other project for vast exposure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Quality Assurance Engineer (Current Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 9, 2012
Pros: lunch, flexable hours, respect
Cons: most jobs are project based
Bechtel is one of the best companies to work at. Work load sometimes can be really huge, but overall you are compromised for every effort you put
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Lead Civil Designer (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 29, 2012
i was expecting more from an organization that is as large as they are
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work
Engineering Group Supervisor (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 27, 2012
Cons: non-diversified pool of projects in some smaller offices of company.
This is a great company to work. The work environment is dynamic and chanllenging. Encourages and invests on professional development of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work as local
Senior Mathematics (Current Employee), GladstoneAugust 26, 2014
Building the lng tanks took the role of welding leading hand for both tanks learned a lot taught a lot, worked with a lot of great people, seeing productivity and the finished job,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work with experienced people
Millwright (Current Employee), Temple, TXAugust 21, 2014
i have a nice experience working .everyday is something new we learn and we grow in skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel Power
Control Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Frederick, MDAugust 18, 2014
Pros: job security, good benefits
Cons: uncertainty in project location, slow paced
Good solid company. If you are interested in engineering design working on large projects there is probably no better company. It was a little slow paced at times and dependent on winning contracts for additional projects in order to provide additional opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ill managed company
electrical field engineer (Former Employee), watts barAugust 15, 2014
this company want employee loyalty but does not give it. who you know gets you as far as those you know, what you know not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Contracts Manager I (Former Employee), Curtis Island, Gladstone, Australia QueenslandAugust 11, 2014
Pros: made you feel liked family
Cons: no new contracts
Would liked to continued my employment with Bechtel, however, Bechtel did not have any new contracts to re-assign me too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Startup Instrumentation and Controls Engineer interested in DCS/Controls Systems
Lead Startup Instrumentation and Controls Engineer (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLAugust 5, 2014
Lead  Startup  Instrumentation  and  Controls  Engineer  with  over  six  years  of  experience  in  initial 
operation,  commissioning,  and  performance  testing  of  power  plant  technologies  and  support  systems.  
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company to work for
Senior I&C Engineer -TVA Power Generation Group (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great retirement
Cons: contract work and being layed off
company had some great people working for them, but there were a lot of broken marriages due in part to travel and being away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place Overall.. I thoroughly enjoyed this job.
Site Acquisition Coordinator (Former Employee), Long Island and NYCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great pay. great people. enjoyed the position.
Cons: have to constantly move from job to job.
Bechtel is a great company to work for. Pay is great and managers were very impressive and good people. I would give this company an A overall. However, to stay with the company you have to be willing to constantly move. Every construction job has an ending. Since Bechtel is a large world wide organization - therefore you never know where they might – more... ask you to move next. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bechtel
Labourer (Current Employee), GladstoneAugust 2, 2014
Working for Bechtel there are many opportunities to learn new skills. I have tickets for bobcat, roller, front loader, Vac truck. I also have my blue and white card
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Nevada Senior Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Las Vegas NVAugust 1, 2014
Pros: challenging
Cons: overburdened by company directives
Worked 4/10 schedule

Learned to execute work a Nevada Test Site

Management was productive

Co-workers were cooperative

Long distance driving was the hardest part of the job

Best part of the day was meeting new customers

1 2 3 4 5

About Bechtel

Bechtel (BEK tl) is the world's No. 1 choice for engineering, construction, and project management. Their diverse portfolio – Read more