BDO Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Quality CPA CA Training Company
CA, CPA, Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON5 June 2014
CPA CA

Exceptional Training and Development
Quality Clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased opinions of management and unfair treatment of staff
Office Services (Former Employee) –  Markham29 May 2014
Pay for positions are low. Expectations of additional hours, time and personal time are great.
Management was poor at interoffice problem solving.
Unfair treatment of individuals not noted as favorites or staff having been in the office longer.

Hours worked are long and compensation is low.

Overall management is poor.

Not a pleasant environment to work in.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours, poor management, disrespect in the workplace, unlawful dismissals
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work compared to other public accounting firms.
SENIOR STAFF ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee) –  Vancouver6 May 2014
Relatively good work-life balance, however, very little job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Junior Administrator-Accounting Technician (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS12 March 2014
I gained some great experience during my summer employment with BDO. I had administrative duties, as well as working on accounts as an accounting technician. My work week was from 8:30-5, Tuesday to Thursday, as I worked at my other job on alternating days. The management and staff there were all excellent; very friendly and helpful if I had any questions. The hardest part of the job was leaving. I would have loved to start a career with their company and hope to find an employer with a similar atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC3 February 2014
As with most Public Practice, long hours, but a great learning opportunity. Great company to work for with good benefits. Pay is not great to start but increases dramatically with responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repectful , fun and friendly place
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 January 2014
A very friendly and fun environments. Managements were professional and respectful in dealing with their subordinates. The company has reasonable expectations from their employees. The employees were given rewards for their hard works and innovations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC9 January 2014
This was a great environment to work in.
The pay sucks.
Busy season hours are high and you still get in trouble for not working enough even if you work 50+ hours a week.
Based on perfection so don't screw up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with my co-workers
SENIOR ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  Windsor, Ontario Canada17 December 2013
I enjoyed working with my fellow co-workers. Management was very knowledgeable and willing to help. I learned to acknowledge my strengths and weaknesses. The hardest part of the job was to make sure all the work I have done is done properly.
Pros
Seminars then lunch
Cons
Seminars can become longer then expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good community
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound9 December 2013
There is great learning culture - everyone tries to help each other to excel. No competition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Accounting Technician (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC6 December 2013
Great place to learn to work hard and work as a team.
good place to learn many aspects of many different types of business related situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 38Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job provided me with more advanced experience.
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2013
The office was located too far from my residence, the working conditions were excellent with up to date equipment which were maintained. I did not find all the employees open and friendly which did not effect my productivity in the firm. My workload was high each day which is the way I like to work. I was working a lot with our clients to ensure their satisfaction, managed appointments for partners and managers and was relief receptionist
Pros
Lots of interesting work, got to know some very nice clients and help them with their tax packages.
Cons
Employees not friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Estate Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Ontario17 July 2013
• At the front line for debtors & creditors by phone & in person (debtors only), as it relates to bankruptcies & proposals.

• Complete specific tasks as required - with limited supervision – I.E. Assets follow up, ppsa seach, previous bankruptcy search, black book values, assist in filing of in-bankruptcy, prior, pre & post income tax returns.

• Miscellaneous data entry – I.E. Proof of claims, tax assessments, debtors payments, receipts of various assets etc.

• Monitor proposal approval - including full performance, deemed annulments or proposal revival.

• Prepare files for input into assend.

• Schedule appointments to include initial consultation, first & second counselling sessions.

• Assit when needed in any other aspect of completion of a file – I.E. Canada revenue agency follow up, asset follow up, e-filing of deemed taxation or statements of receipts & disbursments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 July 2013
Finished BDO’s tax training week
Prepared T1 (personal) and T3 (trust) returns for clients
Responded to external parties via company email or in person pertaining to their issues
Managed and stored clients slips and receipts as required
Completed other tasks as required by the manager
Pros
Prepared T1 and T3's
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Learnings, Room for Growth
Intermediate Tax Accountant (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON15 July 2013
BDO is an employer who expects hard work but rewards with recognition and room for growth. A typical day involves following up on outstanding items, picking up newly signed in work, and discussing projects with management. The hardest part is learning the tax technical knowledge in a short time frame. The coworkers are like minded individuals and are easy to interact with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good reputation externally
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario1 May 2013
Offers a market competitive compensation and benefits plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Manager Financial Advisroy (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 February 2013
Working here was truly enjoyable for an accounting/consulting firm. There was work life balance and a feeling of team and belonging.

The downturn hit hard and positions were eliminated.
Pros
culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ambiance with lots of work to do.
Filing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QC11 January 2013
A typical day would be to set up the catering for meetings throughout the day. Then, I would have to go replace the secretary during her break and lunch. If there was no catering to do during the day, I would organize the filing cabinet.
I learned to be ultra organized and how to create a cocktail event within budget..
Management was very helpful and always there when I needed help.
My co-workers were great. Always there to assist me. They were all hilarious.
Hardest part of the job was waking up at 4am in the morning.
Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing my co-workers and seeing how I was assisting them.
Pros
free pizza once a month and multiple breaks.
Cons
waking up early.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 30Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and dynamic environment
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2013
Tax season is no fun at any place, but it was interesting to work with different types of returns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work but the experience is worth it
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 December 2012
Long days, lots of overtime, but overall you can learn a lot which will help you in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with pleasure
Occupation or position held Project Manager (Former Employee) –  13 November 2012
water and wastewate works with big pipes(PVC ,PHDE,PAFSIN) untill 1600mm diameter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BDO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 718 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

85%
247 ratings
Add your rating