Find companies:
Bayshore Home Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
72 reviews

Bayshore Home Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bayshore feels like home
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONJanuary 22, 2014
The staff and office environment is amazing. You feel like you are home when you walk through the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away from it do yourself a favor
psw (Former Employee), HamiltonDecember 4, 2013
Cons: everything
– April 1, 2013 Worst employer ever. Lots of after hour work you are not compensated for, pay for your own cell phone and calls,no pension plan, no education fund,poor mileage (told to make up the difference on your taxes), poor pay overall, including call time. They like to say they are all about the clients, but they are not.Toxic work environment. – more... Find another employer....a lot of years I won't get back and not even a thank you when I left. Sad.

KTSD – June 27, 2013 I don't think the owner really knows what is going on at this branch. The nepotism and favouritism is unreal. I think the nsc HR needs to take a close look at why there is so much turnover/firings. Blatant harassment that is not discussed, a blind eye is turned. There is silent bullying (dirty looks, restriction, seclusion) Toxic environment. Low morale. Felt physically and emotionally sick the entire time I worked there.

AN I second all these comments. I will add that there is lack of management and as soon as they are involved the nepotism and retaliation kicks in. Its awful. It is against the law to threaten intimidate, and retaliate against a casual worker. but they do it and get away with it. They even make up situations so they don't have to visit a difficult client, ie cover their own butts.. It used to be good but they care more about the CCAC contract then their clients needs or their psws. I watched it evolve into a bs situation to work for. When the CCAC contract was awarded I thought to myself oh here it comes wait for it. It used to be a great place to work for, sad.
Morale with the front line workers used to be great, its awful now, stay far away from this company for psw work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COMPANY GOOD TO WORK FOR
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), lONDON ONTARIONovember 30, 2013
I WOULD LIKE TO FINE A COMPANY THAT OFFERS MORE
STABILITY I RETURNED TO THIS JOB UNTIL I FOUND WORK
IN THE FIELD I FEEL MORE COMFORTABLE IN THATS IS
INDUSTRIAL WORK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy challenge and diversity
Client Services Manager (Current Employee), Various Branches, last few months in AlbertaNovember 19, 2013
Pros: meeting the client's needs and making a difference in their lives
Cons: the job never stops, it's not 9-17.
Starting the day with the phones ringing, staff unable to make their shifts and replacement staff needs to be scheduled. New client calls for service and assessment. Staff calls with an injury that needs to be reported to WorkSafe BC. I have learned to prioritize and keep a level head and staying calm and positive. I don't believe in spending negative – more... energy on things I cannot change, but concentrate on changing the things I can. Juggling and managing internal and external customers and keeping everyone happy. I have great relationships with co-workers, have never had problems getting along with people at every level. The hardest part of the job would be not satisfying everyone's needs. The most enjoyable part is the end of the day when everything is completed as best as can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More productive and knowledgable
RPN (Current Employee), Kitchener ONNovember 7, 2013
I started my nursing currier at bayshore home health as a Registered Practical Nurse where i learned so many things. firstly, time management and organisational skills, leadership skills etc. all the management staff and co-workers are so polite and very helpful.Since the work environment is great it is very easy to tackle difficult situations at the – more... work. the most enjoyable part of the job is you get see see all veriety of clients in the community and lots of opportunities to learn new things and to gain more knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme amount of raport built with patients.
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Halifax, NSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: short staffed
12 hour shifts ( am & pm ) on Neurology Unit.
Assist with daily needs - feeding, taking for walks, assisting to the washroom.
I learned that working with patients who are mentally unstable is very rewarding and something I want to continue with my career.
I loved everything about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity to help the community
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Alliston, ONOctober 9, 2013
Pros: my clients
Cons: no time for my own family
Overall my experience working as a personal support worker with Bayshore has been great. I have met great people and had a chance to feel like I truly made a difference in someone's life that needed my help and support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be able to make your own schedule, but hours not always guaranteed
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Sudbury, ONOctober 8, 2013
Pros: make your own schedule
Cons: hours not always guaranteed, dealing with ccac to increase or add nursing visits
I love that you get to choose your schedule. I currently work full-time hours from Monday-Friday, although they do like you to work every second weekend if able. Great for family life because you can be finished before you need to pick kids up from daycare/by the time they get home from school. If you have an appointment during the day, you can just – more... schedule your nursing visits around your appointment as you basically make your own schedule and call clients to arrange a convenient time for their visit. Downside is that you can be really busy one week (13+ clients in a day) and then if you have a lot of discharges the next, you could be left with about 3-4 clients a day. And sometimes they're just isn't any clients to pick-up, so that's the biggest downside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and flexible. No guaranteed hours.
shift nurse (Current Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 10, 2013
This company offers a variety of opportunities from in home palliative care, to work in long term care facilities. Schedules are extremely flexible. If you need guaranteed hours it may not be the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Bayshore
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: not enough hours
Very flexible schedule, however not enough hours. I enjoyed getting to know the clients that I did and working with them. I was able to communicate or discuss any concerns with my supervisors and team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible place to work
Heath Care Attendant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 29, 2013
Pros: flexible, good pay
Cons: not knowing what i am walking into, no regular hours, night shifts
A typical night at work would be to just make sure the client is safe, help with transfers and toileting. The enjoyable part of this job is that I get to help people in need. I have learnt a new respect for the elderly doing this job.
Although I do enjoy my job and the pay, I would really like a change in life and would like to learn and do something – more... new.
I do not enjoy working nights anymore and would love to work full time days doing something more physical, new and different.
I also do not like the fact of not knowing where I am going every time I get a new client and don't always have regular hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly recommend you steer clear of this company
Patient Attendant (Current Employee), Halifax, NSAugust 20, 2013
Pros: the clients/patients
Cons: lack of communication & respect on the part of those working in the office/booking staff/management, no hours, blatant favouritism, treated like you're a number, not a person, toxic environment
I worked at the Halifax, NS location for five years as a patient attendant. What began as an opportunity for me to gain experience in the health care industry, as I was currently a psychology student (at the time I was pursuing a B.A. in Psyhcology), and an individual with a Professional Counselling degree and a degree in Youth and Family Support Work, – more... and wanted hands on experience working with individuals requiring one-on-one care, turned into a nightmare. Normally, I would not consider giving a bad review unless it was absolutely warranted, because I understand the value of a good word-of-mouth review, and the repercussions of a bad word-of-mouth review, but I felt it necessary to do so in this case. There is absolutely no communication between field staff and those working in the office; respect is non existent. For those field staff who go above and beyond the scope of their job, truly enjoy and love what they do, and try to make a difference in the lives of the clients they work with every day, there is absolutely no recognition. Shifts are constantly cancelled at the last minute without any warning, and the four hours that they're supposed to compensate you with for the loss of a twelve-hour shift is often not payed out. Complaints from the field staff concerning poor working conditions in some instances are ignored; experienced staff are often left on the sidelines begging for shifts while new hires are offered full hours. I would expect that a company rated as one of the best 50 companies to work for would go the distance in creating a more positive work environment, maintaining open communication, and ensuring transparency when it cmes to shift allocation. Unfortunately, Bayshore does not see fit to do any such thing. I have since left to pursue a private counselling practice; I truly miss the work I did as a patient attendant in the hospitals, as well as the patients I worked with. However, I wasn't willing to 'adapt' to the toxic environment Bayshore allowed to continue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy what i do every day,i go to clients homes and help them in their comfort of their houses.
CCA (Current Employee), Halifax, NSAugust 20, 2013
helping the client to feel as comfortable as possible while I'm in their homes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, wonderful people
myNurse Coordinator (Former Employee), mississaugaAugust 15, 2013
Pros: great social events, career advancemnets
I loved working for Bayshore. They are a wonderful company, often promoting from within. They are growing fast, and have really great people working for them. I am sad that I only had a temp contract with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Positive values and competitive pay
Nurse (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 27, 2013
Pros: time flexibility, competitive pay for home care, not trapped in a hospital for 12 hours!
Cons: irregular hours, unpredictable days
I began working for Bayshore while I was in school studying nursing and was offered a position as a personal support worker. They maintained their commitment to promote career growth as promised on their website because when I graduated I was quickly given an orientation to work as a nurse with the company. I had applied to over 70 nursing positions – more... after graduating with no luck due to the extreme competition with other graduates and internal applicants with the places I applied, so I am very thankful to be given that opportunity.

Also: they pay a lot more than other home care agencies, both in PSW and in nursing (in my city). I have had some mix-ups when I worked as a PSW but nothing that wasn't sorted out, and it's expected in any home care agency because of the nature of how it all works. I think I have been treated fairly, and I wasn't handed a full time position on a silver platter but it's something you earn and work your way up to, and if you feel you're getting nowhere you can apply for other jobs that are at the hospital etc.

I am also grateful to be employed with Bayshore because the experience you will get will benefit you so much. You will see all sorts of clients, different things every day which will broaden your scope of experience, rather than doing the same type of things daily if you worked in a specialty hospital unit. You work independently but you are also part of a team and the Blackberry system makes it easy to communicate with your team members when a manager isn't available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous productive job
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Kitchener OntarioJuly 8, 2013
In this kind of job you must have a long patience, compassion, ethics, creative, time management,caring and work as a team to co-workers. I learn how to deal with different people with health related problem of the client, encouragement and motivation. Manage your time with the allotted time in providing care & follow the care plan. Its hard if there's – more... a new related health concern or accident happens to a client. I'm happy if my client is getting better or there's improvement & if they are happy and give a compliment to us providing their care. The travel allowance is not enough it should be computed based on the mileage. – less

July 10, 2013

Yes anyone who has worked as a community care aide knows it is an interesting and challenging career. You will soon find it is the company Bayshore home health itself that is the problem here.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual Nursing
Caregiver (RPN) (Current Employee), Kitchener, OntarioJune 23, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: irregular hours
On-call community nursing.

Easy low-stress work, however, it is difficult to live on because the hours are irregular.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered Practical Nurse - Management is unfair, only cares about their own money, nurses are disrespected, poor work conditions, etc.
Registered practical nurse (Current Employee), MississaugaJune 11, 2013
Pros: staff are friendly and helpful
Cons: managers are monsters
Managers have their friendly nurses who they give personal benefits for. Even if a nurse works for 10 years in the community, they do not increase the transportation allowance to cover for the high gas prices and other costs. There is no pension plan. If a nurse is working in a clinic, they don't pay over time hours. If a nurse is working in community, – more... they give 4 hours of work, spread throughout the day so that your time is wasted. Very poor management. Coordinators do not know how to do their jobs. – less

June 15, 2013

They are equally disrespectful to all the field staff! They try to rule you by intimidating you! You are in trouble for even asking a question if it means work for them! They are real bullies! You can not get straight answers out of the office staff because they know you will quit instantly if you hear how few hours you will likely be getting as a new hire, - spread out over the new 8 hour window that they have kindly narrowed it down to. The new hiring ads aren't identifying who they are any more because they know that Burnaby Bayshore is terrible to the staff and people who work there are talking! Yes! They will tell you to not talk about your hours to other care aides! They will Tell you you must do this and you must do that! No you don't! The stress you will experience under this employer will eat you alive! If you have a brain in your head go to places where they treat you with respect! Go any where but the Burnaby Bayshore offices for a job, because if you go to Burnaby Bayshore you will be treated as if they own you! They treat you as if you owe them and you won't be paid fairly by any stretch of Canadian aspects. Who else demands the employee that you must give their employer 8 hours of their day and then not told how many hours they can expect regularly or consistently , and if you dare to question or ask as to why you will be punished, try it and you will see...you will be lucky if you get half of your time paid for!( that's if they like you) Rate you employer, go to that site and read what many who have gone before you have experienced first hand! Burnaby Bayshore is being run by a bunch of bullies. Work there and expect to see it for yourself! If you don't stand up to it expect it to continue!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care more about their contract with CCAC then their nurses!
RPN (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJune 9, 2013
Pros: working independently and the clients
Cons: working many hrs. on own time, constant changes
Great place to work if you like working lots of extra hrs. on your own time. Even when you have a day off you are spending your own time calling clients for the next day so you never really feel like you have a day off. Management worries more about their contract with ccac then they do about their nurses. My branch was the pilot project for electronic – more... documentation and it was hell for the last 2 years with all the constant changes and expectations. Tablets never worked properly from the beginning and still donot so nurses end up spending more of their own time calling IT for help or trying to download their clients for the next day. Constant shift in management/staff and staff very stressed and unhappy but company in denial of real situation. I loved being a visiting nurse and miss it tremendously but donot miss Bayshore and how it affected me both physically and mentally and I cannot get back all the hrs. I have given to them and was never compensated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you dont need to make money. Or if you have nothing better to do with your day.
Honest hard working care aides/ nurses. (Current Employee), burnaby bayshore.June 3, 2013
Pros: you work largely on your own, the clients are greatful and happy to see you, you feel as if you have helped and made a differnce.
You will never know from day to day what your schedule will entail. You must give them the hours that they want, you cannot put perimeters around your schedule. if you Want the weekend off...forget it...
They will require ten hours from you and give you maybe if you are lucky a 4 hour work day....spread out over the ten hour window. They are more focused – more... and motivated to hire new care aides and supply them with hours than to respect and supply decent hours to care aides who have been with them for years
Theymust feel if we don't complain about lack of hours or the spread in the hours we must be happy with them when the reality is that staff morale is low.
It the worst place I have ever worked at. I am sick and tired of being treated like my time is not important.
My co workers health is being bull dozed by the bullying tactics from the schedulers and office staff alike.If you don't like something and dare to bring it up to the office, veiled threats are given of loosing hours or of being fired. According to the office ....we all do it and we all like how we are being treated.
It is beyond the offices abilities to figure out how to make a decent schedule for care aide or client alike.$ years of requests falling on deaf ears...what else can you call it.?
If you need a sick day off, be prepared to provide not just one sick note but two, one to take the day off of work, and another to say you are fit and able to come back to work. Why? because they know it costs you money and effort to get these notes
Its a common request they make even for one day of requested sick time off so that you think twice about asking for another. Its hard to face your sick and frail clients day after day when you know that you are going to be shorted on your contract hours again and you don't know if you can pay your bills.
You cant pick up a second job because the new offered positions are 5 hours in the morning and 5 hours in the evening...so you are bound to them and cannot accept hours from other places. You cannot pick your own availability.
If you don't believe me ask any one in the Burnaby bayshore home health ....how is your job...do you like the working conditions.....
just see how many ads they are constantly putting up...it because once you see what they expect from you on a daily basis, you will realize they are sucking the life out of you....its not a career when you have a coveted top of the line 35 hour a week position and you are only a few thousand dollars above the poverty income.
If you don't believe me,
just try it for a couple months and you will see for yours self.
it is NOT a good or rewarding job despite how they advertise themselves. It is the worst place I have ever worked, I went to college to become the best care giver I could be, and because I expected my employer to give me decent and respectful conditions and was pro active in trying to attain them....they have retaliated with numerous half hour visits spread out over my ten hour window, too far distances to make it on time over and over it happens. If you need the EMERGENCY after hours nurse....well good luck with that one.....they are so short staffed it is offensive.
Burnaby Bayshore Home Health is a sick sick place
they may be part of the largest home health provider in Canada, and a top run company....but run as it is now, it will NEVER be a top employer.
If you really love helping people then help yourself and do not work for Burnaby Bayshore.
The great people who work for Bayshore are not being respected.
Keep your hollow awards and movie tickets, just give us an 8 hour day of work in a 9 hour window. And keep your word that you will provide it on a consistent basis.
THAT IS A TOP RUN COMPANY! – less

About Bayshore Home Health

Bayshore Home Health has been enhancing the quality of life, well-being, dignity and independence of Canadians since 1966. Canadian – Read more

Bayshore Home Health Photos