Baton Rouge Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An always welcoming group of coworkers that care and respect you!
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 February 2018
Working at Baton Rouge was a great experience. The staff in Halifax is always friendly and shows their appreciation for everything you do. The management makes sure everything runs as smoothly as can be, and keeps everyone involved and updated on anything happening around the store. The best part of working for them was the amazing social atmosphere and connection, between the customers and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall it is a nice place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 December 2017
every job has their ups and downs, I found the job was a great place to work overall, I just found the ownership was a little on the difficult side to work with.
Pros
hours and pay
Cons
ownership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easygoing staff
Kitchen Helper (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 October 2017
Fast paced restaurant.
Learned kitchen practices
Great staff
Great location
Fairly decent hours
teamwork
easy going, fun atmosphere
typical day included..prepping, cleaning, dishes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC14 October 2017
Baton Rouge under Group DResto its not a good company to work for promisses and not respecting it I work till I couldnt anymore the VP Yve is a person noone wants to work for him
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne structure
GÉRANTE (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC13 September 2017
possibilité avancement
bonne gestion
bonne structure
bonne formation
Pros
structuré et bien formé
Cons
stress de la restauration, heures nombreuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better your skills in hospitality
HOSTESS/SERVICE BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON25 August 2017
Baton Rouge is a very fast paced job that has great opportunity to better your skills whether it be serving, hosting, bartending, cooking, management, etc. This fast paced atmosphere is what really whips you into shape, and helps you to learn to provide great customer service under any pressure/circumstances.
Pros
Free soup
Cons
Don't always finish shift on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family oriented work environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC26 July 2017
Everyone helps each other and this makes for a successful work environment. Management allowed for a balanced fun and serious atmosphere for front of house staff to work in.
Cons
no benefits were offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was short lived
Line Cook / Grill Man (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON15 July 2017
wasn't to happy with the work environment. managers where very pushy and under valued back of the house staff. very slow moving other then friday and saturday rush.

i enjoyed working the grill there.
Pros
good ribs, great wood burning grill to work on
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for experience
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 June 2017
It is a great place to gain experience in the world of restaurants. But don't expect to "graduate" from busboy to waiter easily. They have a great team of managers and employees.
Pros
a lot of experience
Cons
Not a good pay check
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classy Place
Service Bartender & Host (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON28 June 2017
Baton rouge is a great, quiet, and family friendly place. The food is great and it is a perfect date spot. Classy steakhouse is always nice to have around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Les employeurs manque de respect aux employés
Hôtesse (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC18 June 2017
Les employés ne sont que des numéros. Le manager manque de respect envers les employés.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ordinaire manque de discipline
Serveuse (Former Employee) –  place ste foy15 June 2017
manque de gestion , pas equitable pour les employee
Pros
salaire
Cons
gestion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with, generally good tip money, hours often fluctuate
Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2017
A typical day at work includes side duties such as stocking condiments, cleaning cutlery, serving tables, running food, and making drinks and desserts.

I learned how to multi-task and prioritize competing demands. Although, I ultimately learned how to properly interact with people and handle complaints.

Management changes frequently, but always treats staff with respect and have generally been understanding of its staff's wants and needs.

Workplace culture tends to be reflective of management. It is positive when management is positive, which is most of the time.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with people who can't be pleased no matter how hard you try. However, the customer base here is, for the most part, kind and understanding.

The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work alongside your friends and making money while getting to know guests!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Serveuse aux tables (Current Employee) –  Candiac, QC16 April 2017
Les soirées se déroule bien, manque d'assiduité des employés, patrons agréables, le plus agréable étant pour moi le contact client
Pros
Payant, patrons agréables
Cons
Aucun avantage sociaux, aucune possibilité d'avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere and a good opportunity to broaden your skills
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON11 April 2017
A great, friendly management team and is a fun place to work. Provides a good opportunity to learn new skills and to work as part of a team. A very enjoyable atmosphere
Pros
Free dinners
Cons
Limited hours available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent emploi étudiant
Aide-serveur/Hôtesse (Former Employee) –  Terrebonne, QC6 April 2017
Au Bâton Rouge, j'ai appris à travailler sous pression, à établir un bon lien avec la clientèle et à être efficace. Mon travail consistait à répondre aux appels pour des réservations ou des plats à emporter. Je devais répondre aux clients, leur assigner une table et ensuite la débarrasser et la laver. Je m'occupais de la propreté des lieux, de la logistique de l'occupation du restaurant et d'une liste d'attente au besoin. J'ai adoré l'ambiance, bel esprit d'équipe et horaires flexibles pour un étudiant. J'ai aimé la proximité avec le service à la clientèle, la pression et la rapidité d'exécution. Ce que j'ai trouvé plus difficile, ce sont les horaires tardives le soir puisque je travaillais aussi de semaine tout en allant à l'école.
Pros
50% de rabais sur la nourriture !
Cons
Pas de pauses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of fun with all of my friends. never forget.
grill cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2017
I'm heard working and never absence in my work pleace without any big reasons. also I obey everyone and always try to learn from everyone. love to work with fun.
Pros
no pork. eating Halal
Cons
long houre
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 March 2017
-managers a little intimidating
-good people, co-workers are helpful
-uniform is a black dress with black shoes
-hardest part was cleaning and preparing big parties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy restaurant
Lead Hostess and Server (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON14 March 2017
Very busy on weekends but the staff is awesome. Everyone is dedicated to providing excellent guest experience and everyone is eager to learn. management can use some help but thats ok. it works
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun workplace
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 March 2017
The work nights at Baton rouge usually run quite smoothly. The hostesses all chose a position for the night including, podium: where we chose where to seat our guests within rotation; QuaterBack: this hostess helps out the podium with bringing guests to the assigned table; floor: Hostess will set up any larger reservations, help with roll ups, bring menus from the back, reset and clear tables, and let the QB know what tables are opening up or are opened. Being there for 6 months I have been able to learn all the positions.
Pros
Team environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Baton Rouge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 88 reviews
526
433
319
23
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture