Batesville Casket Company

Batesville Casket Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!!!
Associate (Former Employee) –  Batesville INMay 11, 2015
This company is the best I've worked for. You will work a lot of overtime, but the pay and benefits make it worth it. The staff and management work well together. And if you earn it and want you can advance.
Pros
Benefits and Pay
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working there
ASSEMBLER (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHApril 30, 2015
There was never a hard part of the job ,there was so interesting ,and how every works for the casket placed ,to be bad it moved
Pros
Nice cafe
Cons
Very good health care
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY!
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXApril 17, 2015
I worked at Batesville for almost 4 years. I really enjoyed every minute of my time there. A typical day would be answering phones, doing data entry, expediting caskets if needed. We went through quite a bit of Management during my time there, but I really enjoyed the people I worked with. The hardest part of the position was when a customer forgot to order a casket and they were waiting for our truck to deliver, we would have to expedite the casket very quickly to ensure it would be ready for the viewing or funeral. The pay and benefits were REALLY great! I would recommend this company to anyone!!
Pros
GREAT BENEFITS
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Manchester,tnApril 11, 2015
Im not one who like to bash a place to work. But Batesville doesn't care nothing about the people they employ. They hire temps on the false promise to be hired on full time then get fired before their probation is up. The plant is falling apart and so is the machines. They only care about how they can save money and pocket it for their bonuses. You only learn how to skate off and not to do your job. That is a place I wouldn't advise anybody to work. Its a true union plant where if your not in the union you will be out of a job. They wont even buy parts to fix a machine that's vital for operation.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying place
Logistics (Former Employee) –  Batesville, INMarch 24, 2015
Pays well, that is the biggest positive to this position. Management has a "like the job" or get out frame of mind.

Fast paced, keeps the day changing everyday. Have to be very flexible in this position and able to make decisions without knowing for sure they are the correct ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed like a great opportunity but Batesville Human Resources takes too long and does not keep you informed, very unorganized.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte,NCMarch 13, 2015
Interview process was wonderful, written offer for employment was made and all seemed t be progressing well, slowly but well. Physical and drug test taken and worked out a notice with old employer only to have Batesville drag their feet over some minor health issue. I basically quit a job with benefits and wasted my time with no contact from them. Sixteen weeks over all and still waiting, Totally not professional...............
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Maintenance Mechanic/Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHMarch 3, 2015
This was my absolute dream job and enjoyed going to work everyday. Troubleshooting and repairing all sorts of various equipment was very satisfying.
Pros
great company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your fellow coworkers make the job fun!
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Campbellsville, KYFebruary 19, 2015
Working in manufacturing is a learning experience. Keeping a production line running smoothly takes a team effort. Producing a quality product was my first and foremost goal and I achieved this goal daily (for 11 years)! My safety record was exemplary as was my attendance. I learned that people of very diverse backgrounds can work together to accomplish a task efficiently. Working with the Kaizan teams was very enlightening and served to increase my knowledge of line production quality by utilizing minimum effort, producing a product with high quality, with no wasted time/movement in the production process. Sometimes the job seemed robotic, but having great people working around you helped to make the time pass more enjoyably.
Pros
great pay, great benefits.
Cons
closed the production plant in campbellsville, ky in 1999.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good people
Lead Man/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Berlin, WIJanuary 6, 2015
Good place to work, good pay and benefits. I enjoyed my time there. The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the customers, I made a lot of friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Place Too Work
CSR (Former Employee) –  LaMirada CaliforniaNovember 23, 2014
The so called manager have people to lie for her to keep her job lied on me a number of times just doesn't care about people sad place to work
Cons
the part time people gets no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes25No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and pay
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio , TXOctober 28, 2014
Management is all over the place.
Great benefits.
Good Pay..
Loved the work and my customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They always want more and faster
Fabrication Associate (Current Employee) –  Batesville, inOctober 14, 2014
They always want more and faster. Lots of good people, management is not the best. physical job.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Batesville
Dallas Regional Distribution Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXOctober 1, 2014
I manage 19 employees. We make deliver product to local customers as well as stock up other sites in the southern region. Batesville has taught me Lean Business practices and helped me implement them in my operation. I have a great boss. I work well with the sales force in the area. Hardest part of the job is dealing with customer's with extreme delivery expectations. Most enjoyable part of my job is working everyday with my team.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
operator (Former Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSSeptember 20, 2014
its a nice clean place to work at.nice supervisor not tht strick do ur job an thts all he ask.
Pros
long breaks and no fast pace.
Cons
healthcare, and the full package.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
middle management
production supervisor (Former Employee) –  manchester, tnSeptember 9, 2014
as with everywhere, xxx rolls down hill, was supervisor there for 8 years after 8 years in production. If they decide to get rid of you, they will, no matter what the reason, got "highly commendable" one year and the next was let go.

there were old time employees there, that had close relations with upper management and got away with everything. just the same as everywhere else.

middle management cannot treat employees with respect, upper management wants you to swing a whip. so, if the employees like you, you are in trouble.
Pros
good pay
Cons
always changing, not for the better
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ,but not very friendly, lot of backstabbing .
Master Craftsman (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSAugust 27, 2014
As for haveing a job ,i wish i had stayed. But with all the stress from management from supervisors and up very bad . you get thrown around in the place like a ragdoll . No matter how long you've been there . It seems to me the longer i was there the less they cared for you being there ,they showed me they did not care for experience and only wanted employees through temp services . Cheaper labour.
Almighty dollar ,bottom line .
Pros
you get to build the greatest casket in the world.
Cons
no one gives a snap how well you do your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashcow for Hillenbrand
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Vicksburg, MsJuly 22, 2014
No chain of command, other than that typical manufacturing environment.........Wood as a raw material varies. Lots of money to be made. Hourly employees don't get a lick of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits, very physically challenging
Hardware Technician (Former Employee) –  Manchester, TNJune 25, 2014
This was an excellent place to work in terms of pay and benefits. However it was very difficult to balance family and life with this job.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
physically difficult and no family life
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job which provided me valuable experience.
Moulder Operator (Current Employee) –  Batesville, MSMay 27, 2014
I change cutter heads periodically for different profiles. I am skilled in setting machine to make precise measurements. I make hourly quality checks with caliper. I check cutter heads on an optical comparator for a precise angle. I am responsible for attending morning team meetingsto discuss and troubleshoot technical or material problems. I maintain parts for a production life for the entire shift. I maintain a clean and safe work area throught the 8 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly of Caskets
Production Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Batesville, INApril 8, 2014
Assisted in the assembly of burial caskets. Used a variety of hand tools to assure quality products.
Pros
stable company
Cons
hot factory work
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture