Batesville Casket Company

Batesville Casket Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 77 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a paycheck
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Batesville, Ms.July 21, 2015
I did not mind the hard work,but the management could have been a little more concerned about their employees. The hardest part of the job was being around people that care more about the product than the people. The most enjoyable part was working hard and knowing that I can do the job and the paycheck.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Batesville, INJuly 10, 2015
No issues when family needs came up, decent pay, advancement is VERY difficult and its all in who you know. Not rewarded for extra projects unless you know someone higher up.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will work you beyond your legal time limits.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 16, 2015
They do not care about the employees only getting the job done. Delivered caskets , Drove between 200-500 miles a day. Management did not stand behind their employees, quick to judge. Putting up with the inconsistent schedule. Meeting the Funeral Directors.
Pros
Healthcare, Dental, Vision, 401k, Vacation
Cons
No breaks at all. Rushed constantly, Micro-managed
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was hard work but really good
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Manchester, TNJune 8, 2015
I leaned how to weld a lot better and how to weld on thin stuff everyone was a lot of help and really teach me a lot wish could worked more
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 29, 2015
The company is not afraid to allow an individual to learn as much as possible and take on new challenges. Management listens to their employees and cares what they have to say.
Pros
Management Listens
Cons
Could have to work on the holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!!!
Associate (Former Employee) –  Batesville INMay 11, 2015
This company is the best I've worked for. You will work a lot of overtime, but the pay and benefits make it worth it. The staff and management work well together. And if you earn it and want you can advance.
Pros
Benefits and Pay
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working there
ASSEMBLER (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHApril 30, 2015
There was never a hard part of the job ,there was so interesting ,and how every works for the casket placed ,to be bad it moved
Pros
Nice cafe
Cons
Very good health care
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY!
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXApril 17, 2015
I worked at Batesville for almost 4 years. I really enjoyed every minute of my time there. A typical day would be answering phones, doing data entry, expediting caskets if needed. We went through quite a bit of Management during my time there, but I really enjoyed the people I worked with. The hardest part of the position was when a customer forgot to order a casket and they were waiting for our truck to deliver, we would have to expedite the casket very quickly to ensure it would be ready for the viewing or funeral. The pay and benefits were REALLY great! I would recommend this company to anyone!!
Pros
GREAT BENEFITS
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Manchester,tnApril 11, 2015
Im not one who like to bash a place to work. But Batesville doesn't care nothing about the people they employ. They hire temps on the false promise to be hired on full time then get fired before their probation is up. The plant is falling apart and so is the machines. They only care about how they can save money and pocket it for their bonuses. You only learn how to skate off and not to do your job. That is a place I wouldn't advise anybody to work. Its a true union plant where if your not in the union you will be out of a job. They wont even buy parts to fix a machine that's vital for operation.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying place
Logistics (Former Employee) –  Batesville, INMarch 24, 2015
Pays well, that is the biggest positive to this position. Management has a "like the job" or get out frame of mind.

Fast paced, keeps the day changing everyday. Have to be very flexible in this position and able to make decisions without knowing for sure they are the correct ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed like a great opportunity but Batesville Human Resources takes too long and does not keep you informed, very unorganized.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte,NCMarch 13, 2015
Interview process was wonderful, written offer for employment was made and all seemed t be progressing well, slowly but well. Physical and drug test taken and worked out a notice with old employer only to have Batesville drag their feet over some minor health issue. I basically quit a job with benefits and wasted my time with no contact from them. Sixteen weeks over all and still waiting, Totally not professional...............
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Maintenance Mechanic/Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHMarch 3, 2015
This was my absolute dream job and enjoyed going to work everyday. Troubleshooting and repairing all sorts of various equipment was very satisfying.
Pros
great company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your fellow coworkers make the job fun!
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Campbellsville, KYFebruary 19, 2015
Working in manufacturing is a learning experience. Keeping a production line running smoothly takes a team effort. Producing a quality product was my first and foremost goal and I achieved this goal daily (for 11 years)! My safety record was exemplary as was my attendance. I learned that people of very diverse backgrounds can work together to accomplish a task efficiently. Working with the Kaizan teams was very enlightening and served to increase my knowledge of line production quality by utilizing minimum effort, producing a product with high quality, with no wasted time/movement in the production process. Sometimes the job seemed robotic, but having great people working around you helped to make the time pass more enjoyably.
Pros
great pay, great benefits.
Cons
closed the production plant in campbellsville, ky in 1999.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good people
Lead Man/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Berlin, WIJanuary 6, 2015
Good place to work, good pay and benefits. I enjoyed my time there. The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the customers, I made a lot of friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Place Too Work
CSR (Former Employee) –  LaMirada CaliforniaNovember 23, 2014
The so called manager have people to lie for her to keep her job lied on me a number of times just doesn't care about people sad place to work
Cons
the part time people gets no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and pay
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio , TXOctober 28, 2014
Management is all over the place.
Great benefits.
Good Pay..
Loved the work and my customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They always want more and faster
Fabrication Associate (Current Employee) –  Batesville, inOctober 14, 2014
They always want more and faster. Lots of good people, management is not the best. physical job.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Batesville
Dallas Regional Distribution Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXOctober 1, 2014
I manage 19 employees. We make deliver product to local customers as well as stock up other sites in the southern region. Batesville has taught me Lean Business practices and helped me implement them in my operation. I have a great boss. I work well with the sales force in the area. Hardest part of the job is dealing with customer's with extreme delivery expectations. Most enjoyable part of my job is working everyday with my team.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
operator (Former Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSSeptember 20, 2014
its a nice clean place to work at.nice supervisor not tht strick do ur job an thts all he ask.
Pros
long breaks and no fast pace.
Cons
healthcare, and the full package.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
middle management
production supervisor (Former Employee) –  manchester, tnSeptember 9, 2014
as with everywhere, xxx rolls down hill, was supervisor there for 8 years after 8 years in production. If they decide to get rid of you, they will, no matter what the reason, got "highly commendable" one year and the next was let go.

there were old time employees there, that had close relations with upper management and got away with everything. just the same as everywhere else.

middle management cannot treat employees with respect, upper management wants you to swing a whip. so, if the employees like you, you are in trouble.
Pros
good pay
Cons
always changing, not for the better
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 77 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4