Batesville Casket Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 74 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They could care less
Driver, CSR (Former Employee) –  Kutztown, PASeptember 16, 2015
I started to work for them and got 2 nights training with 2 excellent men. The next day they made me go out by myself, 3 stops. Thankfully I have a GPS. The truck was horrible. It had broke down the day before. They screwed me big time. All I got told was they were putting out fires and no training was given. I quit because they don't adhere to DOT HOS rules. You have to wait til 6 p.m. to find out where you are going that night. No kind of job at least in Kutztown PA area.
Pros
Money is good
Cons
They don't train and no DOT awareness.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Manchester,tnApril 11, 2015
Im not one who like to bash a place to work. But Batesville doesn't care nothing about the people they employ. They hire temps on the false promise to be hired on full time then get fired before their probation is up. The plant is falling apart and so is the machines. They only care about how they can save money and pocket it for their bonuses. You only learn how to skate off and not to do your job. That is a place I wouldn't advise anybody to work. Its a true union plant where if your not in the union you will be out of a job. They wont even buy parts to fix a machine that's vital for operation.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a paycheck
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Batesville, Ms.July 21, 2015
I did not mind the hard work,but the management could have been a little more concerned about their employees. The hardest part of the job was being around people that care more about the product than the people. The most enjoyable part was working hard and knowing that I can do the job and the paycheck.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain Experience
CSR (Current Employee) –  Batesville, INJanuary 17, 2013
Great company for benefits, people you meet, and job security. Working there over the years you develop great relationships with a close knit group for each department. Sometimes the long hours can eat into family time. All in all, one can gain a great deal of experience in the field they come to work there for.
Pros
benefits, job security, great people to work with
Cons
longer hours, rarely advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your fellow coworkers make the job fun!
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Campbellsville, KYFebruary 19, 2015
Working in manufacturing is a learning experience. Keeping a production line running smoothly takes a team effort. Producing a quality product was my first and foremost goal and I achieved this goal daily (for 11 years)! My safety record was exemplary as was my attendance. I learned that people of very diverse backgrounds can work together to accomplish a task efficiently. Working with the Kaizan teams was very enlightening and served to increase my knowledge of line production quality by utilizing minimum effort, producing a product with high quality, with no wasted time/movement in the production process. Sometimes the job seemed robotic, but having great people working around you helped to make the time pass more enjoyably.
Pros
great pay, great benefits.
Cons
closed the production plant in campbellsville, ky in 1999.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Always looking for better ways to be more productive through lean manufacturing. Very creative place to work with good people.
Safety and Environmental Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSJuly 6, 2013
50 hour work week with excellent co-workers. Management expectation very results oriented and the the most difficult portion of my job was to produce year over year improvements with statistics well below the national average for the industry. I really enjoyed the training and getting to work with the folks to create a safety culture that produced good results.
Pros
very quality oriented
Cons
lean manufacturing lead to reduced overhead
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed like a great opportunity but Batesville Human Resources takes too long and does not keep you informed, very unorganized.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte,NCMarch 13, 2015
Interview process was wonderful, written offer for employment was made and all seemed t be progressing well, slowly but well. Physical and drug test taken and worked out a notice with old employer only to have Batesville drag their feet over some minor health issue. I basically quit a job with benefits and wasted my time with no contact from them. Sixteen weeks over all and still waiting, Totally not professional...............
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
building caskets
building caskets (Former Employee) –  batesville msOctober 23, 2015
i enjoyed the 13 years i spent at casket. i met alot of friendly people that i got alone with very well i miss and enjoyed my job.
Pros
some times i didnt take a lunch
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Batesville, INJuly 10, 2015
No issues when family needs came up, decent pay, advancement is VERY difficult and its all in who you know. Not rewarded for extra projects unless you know someone higher up.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 29, 2015
The company is not afraid to allow an individual to learn as much as possible and take on new challenges. Management listens to their employees and cares what they have to say.
Pros
Management Listens
Cons
Could have to work on the holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying place
Logistics (Former Employee) –  Batesville, INMarch 24, 2015
Pays well, that is the biggest positive to this position. Management has a "like the job" or get out frame of mind.

Fast paced, keeps the day changing everyday. Have to be very flexible in this position and able to make decisions without knowing for sure they are the correct ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment; good people
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Batesville, INAugust 22, 2012
Rarely was there a "long" day at Batesville Casket! There was always plenty to keep me busy. Our IT department (internally known as BIS) juggled many projects to meet the strategic initiatives of the company and to provide excellent production support for our software. I was truly blessed to have worked with so many remarkable people. All displayed a terrific work ethic and true caring for one another. The hardest part of working there was the changing priorities (unavoidable in today's business environment). The most enjoyable part was the opportunity to work on challenging projects. I have learned so much by being open to projects outside my comfort zone. I believe that the critical role of good requirements is the most important thing I have learned.
Pros
excellent health care benefits, book club, quarterly (about) social gatherings
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and pay
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio , TXOctober 28, 2014
Management is all over the place.
Great benefits.
Good Pay..
Loved the work and my customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A paced environment with a lot of moving objects.
Finish Assembler (Former Employee) –  Batesville, INJune 26, 2012
Process caskets by taking a raw unfinshed casket from another part of factory via transport line . Prepare casket for further finishing by priming, brushingand scuffing down casket in an assembly line atmosphere. Proceed to paint casket predetermined color, shade, and topcoat. Inspect, fix, repair, and send finished product to next deptartment. Usually just do one or multple of these things through out shift. Co-workers try to get along so it can be a better productive atmoshpere. Communication seem better between employees than management and employees.
Pros
safe environment mind set to work in.
Cons
communication between higher level management and factory employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
middle management
production supervisor (Former Employee) –  manchester, tnSeptember 9, 2014
as with everywhere, xxx rolls down hill, was supervisor there for 8 years after 8 years in production. If they decide to get rid of you, they will, no matter what the reason, got "highly commendable" one year and the next was let go.

there were old time employees there, that had close relations with upper management and got away with everything. just the same as everywhere else.

middle management cannot treat employees with respect, upper management wants you to swing a whip. so, if the employees like you, you are in trouble.
Pros
good pay
Cons
always changing, not for the better
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ,but not very friendly, lot of backstabbing .
Master Craftsman (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSAugust 27, 2014
As for haveing a job ,i wish i had stayed. But with all the stress from management from supervisors and up very bad . you get thrown around in the place like a ragdoll . No matter how long you've been there . It seems to me the longer i was there the less they cared for you being there ,they showed me they did not care for experience and only wanted employees through temp services . Cheaper labour.
Almighty dollar ,bottom line .
Pros
you get to build the greatest casket in the world.
Cons
no one gives a snap how well you do your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work was hard, the pay was good
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSNovember 30, 2012
The day starts group meeting after that it all rush, rush until end of shift.I learned that sacrefices have to be made in order to have a job.Management easy to talk with not willing to comprise.Co-workers can make the job hard for you or easier for you, depending on how they do their jobs.The hardest part of the job is the speed in which you have to work all day, every day.The most enjoyable part was the friends I made and the paychecks I recieved.If it were up to me I would still be there until retirement.
Pros
bonuses, picnics, parties
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong workforce with fair wages
Team Leader / Paint Technician (Current Employee) –  Batesville IndianaJanuary 25, 2012
Batesville Casket has been good to me, Fair wages and good benefits, Only reason im looking for new employment is cause of plant reductions.
Pros
good bonus
Cons
management is not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production/Engineering Manager,
PRODUCTION/ENGINEERING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Manchester, TNJuly 18, 2013
I gave direction to the superintendants and Engineers in the facility. I handled a budget in excess of a million dollars a year.
Pros
job security
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I absolutely loved my job. Had planned on retiring from Batesville. But...
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSMarch 6, 2012
Batesville was a great place to work. Decent benefits, decent wages. Never judge a book by it's cover.
Pros
benefits
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 74 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4