Find companies:
Barrick Gold Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

Barrick Gold Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, Great benefits, very professional environment
IT Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary, travelling, work with people from other cultures, management is very engaged and open, safety culture.
Is a really good place to work., highly professional, fast pace and a lot of stress (on a good way).
Place to show all your talent and to improve every day.
Very professional environment and also good culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is good to work for as I can work with anyone.
Shaftman/Hoist operator (Former Employee), Marathon, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great overtime, vacations time off, and benifits
Cons: management.
Doing all safety checks on all equipment that we use.Contact supervisor if any problems noticed and solve those problems before operating hoist.I loved to work with all those around me.The hardest part of my job was to train people that didn't have the will to be trained.If I thought they were untrainable then I would deem them as such.I loved the responsibility – more... that came with the job in all areas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Administrative Assistant to Senior Vice President (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lunch and learn, all about the company in all parts of the world, gym membership
Over my long tenure here I have enjoyed but most importantly learned so much from fabulous bosses and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am an experienced law enforcement and corporate security manager, instructor and investigator.
Senior Investigator/Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 6, 2014
I have been in law enforcement and related fields my entire career. I find the work challenging and rewarding. Being bi-lingual, I have traveled extensively throughout Mexico, Central and South America. I have managed and supervised law enforcement and corporate security personnel throughout the US and Latin America.

I am an experienced law enforcement – more... and corporate security manager, investigator, and instructor. I am meticulous in my work ethic and responsible in time management. I have extensive training in law enforcement and a graduate of the Drug Enforcement Administration Basic Agent and Supervisor Academies. I am a graduate of the United States Army Military Police Polygraph School and the Reid School for Interview and Interrogation Techniques and the FBI Advanced Polygraph Studies at the University of Virginia.

I am a team player and as a manager take my responsibilities seriously. I am success driven in accomplishing my duties and inspire personnel under my command to always improve their duties and responsibilities and achieve success in their careers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Facilities Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: bad people management
Barrick Gold is a good employer but they lack many of the standard processes that larger businesses have. They are still very much a the company that Peter Munk founded 27 yrs ago and still function as a small start up in many respects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
Financial Analyst, Strategic Planning (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 31, 2012
Great people to work with, great events. Co-workers and management really took the time to explained everything I need to know to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class company
Senior Geologist (Former Employee), Elko, NVNovember 20, 2014
Needs to train managers. Employees span all age groups. Diversity is welcome and encouraged. Safety culture is good. Courageous leadership is encouraged. A good mix of contractors and staff on projects. Reasonable and safe working environment. Healthy engagement with community. Supportive of initiatives in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big corporation with no main leadership in HR
Administrative Assistant/Advertising Consultant (Former Employee), Elko, NVNovember 11, 2014
Pros: possibilities
Cons: no direction
I was hired as a temp. Never had a real clear description of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great people
Safety & Health Trainer (Former Employee), Elko, NVNovember 2, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: bus ride
Enjoyed my time at Barrick. Great management that provides opportunities to grow within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Mobile Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), NevadaOctober 7, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: job site 2 hours from home.
I learned a lot about the process of gold mining and the details it takes to keep everything running 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company [Barrick] was good to work for I will work for them again
Process Technician (Former Employee), lawler west australiaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: food was good
Cons: long hours but enjoyable
It was a very good company to work for. my co-workers all work hard to keep this site enjoyable I work at a mine site that barrack own and sold it to other company and ever body on site lost there jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avearage, productive and educative
Mining Engineer (Current Employee), SolweziSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch, supper
Cons: health care, breaks provided
a day starts at 06 am til 5pm with an hour break for lunch, normally busy and full of activity. ihave learned planning and scheduling under short term also vulcan software. managemant ha been changing and has never been stable from the time i got here but i enjoyb work culture with everyone i work with.working long hour when making the weekly plan and – more... monthly plans has been the hardest part of the job, but generally the job has been enjoyable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Consultant
Administrative Consultant (Former Employee), Bucharest, Romania - UK OfficeAugust 31, 2014
Pros: very relaxed environment
Cons: relocated to usa
great place to work. amazing company/team. travelling. paid training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They talk about safety and people, but bottom line is about production.
Project Manager/Earthworks Area Manager (Former Employee), Cortez Gold MinesAugust 22, 2014
Pros: high grade deposits.
Cons: do not care about the people.
I worked at the same mine for 29 years and when Barrick purchased Placerdome the politics began, There was managers outside of their expertise and comfort zone that creates a poor culture. Too much politics,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Grad. Core Reliability Engineer (Former Employee), Pogera, Enga ProvinceAugust 6, 2014
Pros: great food and loved the job
Cons: medical insurance, 3 wks on site and 2 weeks break, free meals
Great company to work in and alot of training given to staff. Challenging place and environment but it was sure worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barrick is a great company
Industrial Hygiene Intern (Former Employee), nevadaAugust 3, 2014
Pros: 4 tens
Cons: not a lot of room for advancement
Barrick is a great company to work for, but would be a difficult company to spend your whole career at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, fun co-workers, active job
Wellness Coach Intern (Current Employee), Elko, NVJuly 9, 2014
I thoroughly enjoy working as a wellness coach intern. I have a great supervisor that I have learned a lot from. My co-workers are very polite and positive, each and every day. There is never really a dull moment for me when I'm at work. My days seem to fly by!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The details of Barrick Gold Inc
Open Pit Maintenance (Former Employee), Carlin, NVJuly 4, 2014
Pros: good health benefits and 401k benefits
Cons: difficult to gain a technician level upgrade. multiple "hoops" to jump through to get an upgrade
While at Barrick there was ample opportunity to learn various heavy equipment details. Management could be more involved in the culture of safety that they advertise. While at Barrick Goldstrike, I learned the details of many heavy equipment manufacturers including but not limited to Caterpillar, Komatsu, Taylor, Gehl, Bobcat, etc. The rotating shifts – more... were a little difficult at first to get used to but after a while it came as second nature like breathing or walking. The medical benefits and 401k benefits were the best that I have ever seen. Yearly raises regardless of technician level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mobile Maintenance Planner (Current Employee), Golconda, NVJune 19, 2014
Very good company to work for, great benefits and pay. Work environment is great, company puts safety first over any job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technical Adviser (Current Employee), ZambiaMay 23, 2014
Pros: accommodation, flights, food
Cons: long hours, contract not renewed or transferred after being loyal and hardworking dissapointed
Great Company, good benefits.
Hardest part is that contract expired and was not relocated or offered a new contract.

1 2 3 4 5

About Barrick Gold Corporation

In the world of mining, Barrick's name is golden. The company became the world's #1 gold producer (ahead of Newmont Mining and – Read more

Barrick Gold Corporation Photos