Find companies:
Barnes Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Barnes Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Travel and Learning
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: advancement
Constantly coming out with new products to show to clients and allowing the CSR's to order demos to introduce the product was such an adavantage. Made selling the products much easier. Management could use some more tweaking, especially in the personal relationships are. The best part was travelling all over for training and events. The work' life balance – more... was second to none. They did not expect anyone to be working until all hours of the night unless you needed to because a client asked you to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
industrial supplier
Sales Representative / Account Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 17, 2012
Pros: flexible time, variety of customers
Cons: lack of commeraderie
decent company to work for, but team dynamic broke down with poor management in Alberta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On your own no support
Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver Island, B.C.May 3, 2012
Pros: pay salary regularly, work from home office, benefits
Cons: commission's are extremely low, pay back expenses are extremely slow, your concerns do not matter, your improvement ideas do not matter, no support
Travelling from B2B servicing the customer for required products. Have learned a more in-depth product knowledge, time management. No support from co-workers (managers) when needed. Toughest thing is to get a straight forward answer from your uppers to relay to your customer. Most enjoyable part was having your customers happy to see you come in the – more... door to there establishment. Management are concerned only in sales not what the customer really needs or require. Management are not concerned with your well being or your concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a family atmosphere
Senior Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 2, 2014
Barnes Distribution was a company with a family atmosphere. It had it's up and downs like all companies but it did it's best to take care of it's employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company shut down warehouse in atlanta
Team Lead - Second Shift (Former Employee), Fairburn, GAJune 20, 2014
Pros: best management
Cons: this company shut down warehouse in atlanta
Best management ive worked for but this company shut down warehouse in atlanta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and good enviroment with having lunch together provided from company
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Edison, NJJune 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch (good), giving the opportunities to get better knowledge for the works
Cons: benefit either vacation, healhtcare or pension fund
safety work is the priority and the accuracy delivery to customer.
we learnt a lot how to handle the issues in shipping and also the products,
the management is good, they are organized to handle every issued happened every day.
we work as team that cooperated together, communicate between departments involved.
the hardest part of the job if there is – more... no communication and work individually not as a team.
we are happy if every tasks that we do are going well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with ECommerce
E commerce Support Team/Customer Service (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 12, 2014
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: the company was sold.
I enjoyed working with this company. I learned how to assist customers who completed online shopping. So, I would create usernames and passwords and often times had to reset the information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good learning experience
Operations and Quality Specialist (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYJune 10, 2014
Everyday was a different adventure. I started out filing in the break room and ended up being in charge on days when the manager was not there. While there we had three different systems that I learned and taught to my fellow associates. Over all it was a very good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Customer Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 3, 2014
This was a good company to work for. Training was very well planned and all the tools were given to you to start your job out in the field. Only down fall is you needed to provide your own home computer and down load thier programs on your computer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BARNES DISTRIBUTION
CUSTOMER SALES SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHMay 22, 2014
They have currently been purchased by MSC and there is currently alot of uncertainity as to the direction that the company will be taken.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Job you have to sell to make additional income.
Customer Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 15, 2014
Has some physical labor. Manage yourself and time. Designated territory. Always opportunity to open new business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but being bought out
Payroll Supervisor/Accounting Analyst (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great management team
Cons: a little antiquated accounting system.
Company has been bought out and will move headquarters to Charlotte in April 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working with the sales force
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 18, 2014
Great company to work for.The management was knowledgeable and helpful with any problems that would arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Northern NevadaFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: awesome benefits
Cons: use of personal vehicle
Abundant resources for gaining product, technical, and industry knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Sales) (Former Employee), Stockton to MercedJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: the training that i received was good and through and very useful
Cons: territories were spread out to far.
Maintain and increase sales in all of my accouunts. I learned about the different strengths of steel that bolts are made of. Management was good. co-workers were always willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mining is the primary industry in NV. I took the job with Barnes Distribution after marrage relocating to Battle Mountain NV.
Area Sales Representative (Former Employee), Battle Mountain, NVJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: i set my agenda and incorperated my strengths to succeed.
Cons: healthcare, communications with management inhibiting my productivity
Since moving to Battle Mountain NV. there were no opportunities to teach in such a RURAL location. Mining is the most prevalent industry, so I became involved and enjoyed my work
I would arrive at the mine and pick up my order placed the previous visit. I would go to the various shops, both underground and surface to put away the order and reorder for – more... the next visit. Visiting with the shop foremen or manager was an enjoyable component. I know little of mining or the needs to run mining operations, but becoming knowledgeable and able to answer questions of those working there was a pleasure.
I was given near autonomy of my area as it was the farthest from headquarters. It was an opportunity to grow and learn. I became the problem solver for my area. Since I was on my own, contact with co-workers was limited, but always enjoyable.
The hardest part of my job was learning which parts were required for what job. The most enjoyable, being comrades and friends with those whom I worked – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o k
Customer Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: o k
Cons: o k
it was o k no complaints good benefits great manager good pay,car allowance phone allowance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Forklift Driver/Material Handler (Former Employee), Reno, NVJanuary 17, 2014
The business was bought out by a larger firm and moved to another city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opening position, with limited growth in a timely fashion
Territory Account Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: work from home make your own sched.
Cons: no gas card required to use personal vehicle and maintain wear and tear with minimal compensation.
Wonderful company, but with the current merger with MSC everyone is left on outside wondering what is going on. The pay is SO SO but great for someone who does not need to make more that 50K a year. They do not pay for gas and require you to drive all over your territory M-F taking care of active accounts, and opening new ones. They try and supplement – more... your millage with a small car allowance. This would be a great company to work for if they would get there pay inline with other territory account manager positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 30, 2013
Pros: the company showed there appreciation for their employee's
Cons: very high call volume
At Barnes Distribution a typical day at work would consist of me answering the phone, faxes and e-mails for customers, sales representatives, sales managers and venders. Placing orders, clarifying information, researching items for special orders, provide correct information. Resolve problems by clarifying issues: offer alternative solutions; finding – more... alternative solutions apply the solutions; escalating unresolved problems.
Update call center database by entering information: resolving problems, resulting in high levels of satisfaction, referral and retention, exploring opportunities to add value to the job accomplishments. – less

Barnes Group Photos