Find companies:
Barnes Distribution
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Barnes Distribution Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Travel and Learning
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: advancement
Constantly coming out with new products to show to clients and allowing the CSR's to order demos to introduce the product was such an adavantage. Made selling the products much easier. Management could use some more tweaking, especially in the personal relationships are. The best part was travelling all over for training and events. The work' life balance – more... was second to none. They did not expect anyone to be working until all hours of the night unless you needed to because a client asked you to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
industrial supplier
Sales Representative / Account Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 17, 2012
Pros: flexible time, variety of customers
Cons: lack of commeraderie
decent company to work for, but team dynamic broke down with poor management in Alberta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On your own no support
Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver Island, B.C.May 3, 2012
Pros: pay salary regularly, work from home office, benefits
Cons: commission's are extremely low, pay back expenses are extremely slow, your concerns do not matter, your improvement ideas do not matter, no support
Travelling from B2B servicing the customer for required products. Have learned a more in-depth product knowledge, time management. No support from co-workers (managers) when needed. Toughest thing is to get a straight forward answer from your uppers to relay to your customer. Most enjoyable part was having your customers happy to see you come in the – more... door to there establishment. Management are concerned only in sales not what the customer really needs or require. Management are not concerned with your well being or your concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but being bought out
Payroll Supervisor/Accounting Analyst (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great management team
Cons: a little antiquated accounting system.
Company has been bought out and will move headquarters to Charlotte in April 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working with the sales force
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 18, 2014
Great company to work for.The management was knowledgeable and helpful with any problems that would arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Northern NevadaFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: awesome benefits
Cons: use of personal vehicle
Abundant resources for gaining product, technical, and industry knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Sales) (Former Employee), Stockton to MercedJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: the training that i received was good and through and very useful
Cons: territories were spread out to far.
Maintain and increase sales in all of my accouunts. I learned about the different strengths of steel that bolts are made of. Management was good. co-workers were always willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mining is the primary industry in NV. I took the job with Barnes Distribution after marrage relocating to Battle Mountain NV.
Area Sales Representative (Former Employee), Battle Mountain, NVJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: i set my agenda and incorperated my strengths to succeed.
Cons: healthcare, communications with management inhibiting my productivity
Since moving to Battle Mountain NV. there were no opportunities to teach in such a RURAL location. Mining is the most prevalent industry, so I became involved and enjoyed my work
I would arrive at the mine and pick up my order placed the previous visit. I would go to the various shops, both underground and surface to put away the order and reorder for – more... the next visit. Visiting with the shop foremen or manager was an enjoyable component. I know little of mining or the needs to run mining operations, but becoming knowledgeable and able to answer questions of those working there was a pleasure.
I was given near autonomy of my area as it was the farthest from headquarters. It was an opportunity to grow and learn. I became the problem solver for my area. Since I was on my own, contact with co-workers was limited, but always enjoyable.
The hardest part of my job was learning which parts were required for what job. The most enjoyable, being comrades and friends with those whom I worked – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o k
Customer Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: o k
Cons: o k
it was o k no complaints good benefits great manager good pay,car allowance phone allowance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Forklift Driver/Material Handler (Former Employee), Reno, NVJanuary 17, 2014
The business was bought out by a larger firm and moved to another city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opening position, with limited growth in a timely fashion
Territory Account Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: work from home make your own sched.
Cons: no gas card required to use personal vehicle and maintain wear and tear with minimal compensation.
Wonderful company, but with the current merger with MSC everyone is left on outside wondering what is going on. The pay is SO SO but great for someone who does not need to make more that 50K a year. They do not pay for gas and require you to drive all over your territory M-F taking care of active accounts, and opening new ones. They try and supplement – more... your millage with a small car allowance. This would be a great company to work for if they would get there pay inline with other territory account manager positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 30, 2013
Pros: the company showed there appreciation for their employee's
Cons: very high call volume
At Barnes Distribution a typical day at work would consist of me answering the phone, faxes and e-mails for customers, sales representatives, sales managers and venders. Placing orders, clarifying information, researching items for special orders, provide correct information. Resolve problems by clarifying issues: offer alternative solutions; finding – more... alternative solutions apply the solutions; escalating unresolved problems.
Update call center database by entering information: resolving problems, resulting in high levels of satisfaction, referral and retention, exploring opportunities to add value to the job accomplishments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the company
Government sales (Former Employee), Cleveland OhSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: worked on my own schedule
I learned to do out side sales. i learned to the Governement. I learned how to deal with large companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management to work for and excellent products to sell.
New Business Development Specialist (Former Employee), Rockford, MISeptember 4, 2013
Pros: working from a home office, calling on customers and using my bachelors degree and my like of meeting new people every day.
Cons: trying to sell a product that was way mroe expensive than the competitors.
I very much liked working for Barnes Distribution. I had great management to work for and they provided a good work / life balance. They also provided good compensation and benefits program. A typical day at work was cold calling, setting up sales appointments, holding sales meetings, and closing new business. The hardest part of the job was selling – more... a product three or four times more than the other competing products. I enjoyed the people I called on and the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all BD has been a good company to work for.
Human Resources (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 23, 2013
They promote from within and provide good benefits. Work-life balance is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
SSC Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHMarch 29, 2013
The organization was recently sold. That is the honestly the only reason I'm looking for a new employer. I can honestly say this is an organization that I would have retired with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
HR (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 22, 2013
This company is ok if you're looking for a place to sit while you find something better. Low employee value.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OUTSIDE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Enterprise, AlFebruary 8, 2013
Loved the job, the management was not quite honnest with me when i hired on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home office 24 hour position
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 3, 2013
In this role, I had the primary responsibility for growing sales through selling products and inventory management system to new customers and expanding business in already established accounts. In addition to sales responsibilities, I provide on-site service and support to customers. Develop strategic sales growth plans for new business development – more... opportunities in the Vendor Managed Inventory model in conjunction with Regional Vice President (RVP) and Marketing to improve market share and develop new customers. Direct and control the activities of the hunter sales representatives within the region. Responsible for developing, leading and maintaining an effective new account development team for successful Barnes System business. Ensure the effective use of all sales accountability programs used throughout the company. Accountability will be driven through robust sales funnel management. Preparation and submittal of bids, quotes and contracts ensuring profitable pricing levels. Responsible for conducting presentations and selling to large opportunities. Coordinates the transition of new customers to the appropriate district manager to ensure effective execution of the “Barnes System” while meeting required service goals of the customer. Responsible for personal training through the internet system training. Communicates plans, goals and objectives effectively to subordinates to ensure effective execution. Evaluates subordinate development growth and provides effective performance monitoring and correction plans in conjunction with human resources. Provides appropriate weekly/monthly internal reporting to management as required. Ensure all regional activities are conducted in compliance with the company’s ethical & legal guidelines as stated in the corporate compliance manual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company. Good client Relationships.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), San Luis Obispo, CADecember 28, 2012
Challenges were welcomed selling opportunities. Enjoyed being able to assist my clients in making their job better.

About Barnes Distribution

For over 75 years, Barnes Distribution has been a leader in MROP service and supplies for industrial maintenance, the automotive – Read more

Barnes Distribution Photos