Find companies:
Bank of New York Mellon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
750 reviews

Bank of New York Mellon Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there was a lot of fun times, like new york city trips, christmas parties
Sr. Securities Servicing Processor (Former Employee), east syracuse nyMay 20, 2014
Pros: we did a lot of team bluilding
Cons: not enough time in a day sometimes to get everything done
morning were filled with research work. I feel I learn a lot of stuff about the wires department and had I had the chance I could go anywhere in the bank because I knew how to navigate around the computer. bosses were ok . most would try to help you if they could. my co-workers for the most part were great to work with. I will miss them. the hardest – more... part was the pressure they put on us because they are down sizing. the most enjoyable part was the people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place, Good People
Client Service Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 20, 2014
Many people have been here for years, with great years of experience. There is difficultly of advancement considering the low turnover on managers. The Work/Life Balance is pretty good considering many managers/execs have families themselves and understanding the importance of such. I always did feel that great (young) talent was hard to retain due – more... to salary/career advancement issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management haven
ETF Supervisior (Current Employee), Lake Mary, FLMay 19, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits
Cons: draining, not fulfilling
The work is the same for the most part day in and day out, and can become very monotonous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is Different
Managing Director, FP&A- Global Markets CFO (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 19, 2014
Pros: great culture, excellent people, sound business strategy
Great place to work, BNYM values diversity, I believe they have a sound business strategy and we are all working to add value to the bottom line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive First Bank job
Teller (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 18, 2014
Pros: the location of the bank; met alot of celebrities
Servicing customer and their financial needs.
Providing wonderful customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Software Programmer (Former Employee), Pune,IndiaMay 17, 2014
A very fine place to work and learn.
Need to integrate more optimization tools customized for specific teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management and Benefits
Shareholder Services Specialist IV (Former Employee), Westborough, MAMay 16, 2014
Pros: benefits offered.
Cons: commute
A typical day at work consisted of quality control of financial transactions.

I learned much more about retirement products than I had previously.

My Manager was great. Not a micro manager but always available.

My co-workers were great and there was great teamwork

The hardest part of my job was having to give errors for mistakes

The best part of – more... my job were my co-workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work here, great ppl
Architect (Former Employee), New YorkMay 15, 2014
Great team and fun place, Nice culture. Great Management. Meetings run smooth, Great Off shore team and Lots of learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environmetn and Conducive For Growth
Corporate Actions Data Specialist (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 15, 2014
A typical day includes lots of research

I've learned a lot about Corporate Actions

Management Structure was disoriented

Co-Workers have always been fun and team players

There were no extraordinary hard parts just your usual daily work struggles

The most enjoyable part was knowing I was contributing to the overall good of the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Industry
Senior Sales Administrative Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 14, 2014
Enjoyed working with the Special Industries Group. Pleasant environment, working with a great group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start for those graduating
Manager (Current Employee), King of Prussia, PAMay 12, 2014
Pros: salary and the people
Cons: more training
Good place to learn about finance and also operations management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Client Support Adminstrator / MI Reporting Analyst (Current Employee), Edinburgh, SCTMay 11, 2014
Good place to work with excellent job culture and opportunities to work within different areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Vice President/Control Group Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 10, 2014
It is a good company to work for in banking industry, with great history as the oldest bank in the country.

No job security, always changing
Management changes ideas often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank of New York is the closest thing to a government job
Tax Accountant / Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 9, 2014
Pros: i cannot think of any
Cons: nobody took ownership
A negative review. Most of the employees did the bare minimum and the consultants were quitting every day because the job market was strong and people were constantly coming and goin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained a lot of experience and skills, including client service and management
Section Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 8, 2014
A typical day required managing a group of client-facing employees that processed retirement plan distributions; it was fast-paced with multiple daily deadlines.
I learned a great deal in 401K and Pension trust disbursements, including 1099 and W2 reporting, as well as operational processes and procedures, including implemenation of an electronic workflow – more... application. Additionally, I learned extensively about management, including employee training/coaching, development, and evaluating employee performance. I learned how to manage client service and new client conversions, as well as creating processes that mitigated risk of operational errors.
My co-workers and I had long tenures in the department and we had close connections
The hardest part of the job was balancing varied responsibilities that come with management in a client-facing operations department.
The most enjoyable part of the job was coaching and servicing co-workers and clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Senior Mutual Fund Accountant (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 7, 2014
The mutual fund dept. I am in has very good work/life balance.
Management and also my co-workers are all about team work. No one here micro manages. We all know what our responsibilities are and work hard to ensure everything is completed on a accurate and timely basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good experience
Research Associate (Current Employee), Westborough, MAMay 7, 2014
It was an interesting place to work. Unfortunately the temp position I had ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Operations Executive (Current Employee), Pune, MaharashtraMay 6, 2014
Pros: food coupon, travel facility
Busy as soon as I get to work.
As it was my first job learnt to be professional in what I do.
Management was always helpful in solving my problems and always offered support.
Learnt key skills from my co-workers who make the workplace a happy place to work.
Fridays were the most enjoyable days at work as we used to have fum games and other fun activities – more... to help build our team bonding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management and environment
Reconciliation Administrator Treasury Department (Current Employee), Brentwood, ENGMay 6, 2014
Pros: friendly team members
Cons: too much time spent travelling
Travelling came be a bit tiresome, my job is in a great supportive team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place lacked any sort of unity amongst the employees
Derivatives Operations Specialist (Current Employee), 500 Grant Street Pittsburgh PAMay 5, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: pay
BNY Mellon was lacking a good management team. Many of the employees were very careless about the quality of work they put forth. The pay was at a minimum for this field of work and we lacked any chance of bonus or raises in this certain position. Overall i was very displeased with the employment here.

About Bank of New York Mellon

Big Apple, meet Iron City. The Bank of New York Mellon (BNY Mellon) is the result of the 2007 marriage of Bank of New York and Mellon – Read more

Bank of New York Mellon Photos