Find companies:
BANK OF CANADA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

BANK OF CANADA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very conservative workplace. Federal Government
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 8, 2014
Very much a niche entity, is a great fit for the very conservative type of person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Bilingual Customer Solutions Representative (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 27, 2014
Answer calls from clients enquiring about their Canada Savings Bonds

Co-workers are friendly

Hardest Part of the job is explaining to clients about security protocols when they do no provide the necessary information needed to access their accounts

Most enjoyable part of the job is being able to talk to your co-workers, getting to know them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service Skills
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Winnipeg.MBJanuary 18, 2014
A typical day at work was answering phones and answering customer inquiries and speaking to customers in a professional manner. Management was very helpful and was happy to help with any questions we may have had. I feel I made strong friendships and bonds with my co workers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers but with the – more... excellent training they provided to us I was able to handle it professionally. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you helped a customer and they were very happy and thankful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed going to work each day, it was like family.
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga OntarioNovember 26, 2013
Pros: the free lunch every year to say thank you to us for a job will done
Cons: we would have to stay until we were balance, even if it was late into the evening
A day would start off with a hello from everyone you meet. It was very friendly. I would start off by making sure we balanced the night before and then fax the balance to Head Office.

I learned so much about the balancing side of the Bank of Canada. How to be a good listener and how to make each employer feel they would confide in me. I would have – more... to answer the phone and direct the client to the proper section. I learned how to train and be trained
within the bank.

The management and co-workers worked well together to get the job done in a timely manner. The management was easy to talk to and very helpful.

The hardest part of the job was not always having the answers a person would like to know. As I was helping out in the HR section people would come to me for answers, and it would take me a few hours to find it for them.

Was the end of each day when I knew we had balanced and each person would go home. In my job the Bank would have to balance its cash flow so everyone would be able to leave for the day. Plus also enjoyed the interactions with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice employer to work for it
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ontNovember 10, 2013
Great location and commendable to everybody whom like to work for an high paste demanding environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College student (field placement)
Student Intern (Former Employee), ottawa, onSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great learning experience
This position was a field placement when I was a student at Algonquin College.
The manager and staff were very accommodating while I was there learning. They were very knowledgeable with what they did within their positions and were able to help pass on good information and advice to help further my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will recommend this place because I worked for 25 years .
Specialized Support Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: always respect the lunch time.
Cons: i was always before my time shcadule.
Every days was dealing with client ,in writing and calls.
I was working with Canada Savings Bond all my live.
All my friend some are still their.I did
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Specialized Support Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioAugust 16, 2012
Pros: free lunches, gym in the building, activities, permanent job, worked overtime for time off, flex hours
Cons: we got outsourced in 2001 to another company, then i got my package in july 2008
I would get there in the morning and plan out the work I had to do as I knew all the steps to take. Sign in the system, order the reports, open the mail, sort out the work, prep the work, scan the work on the Optical Reader Machine, then do the data entry, balance, create cases for caseworkers, scan, index, photocopy legals, do change of addresses, – more... do redemptions for clients who had payroll bonds, I called clients if they were missing certain information on their faxes like signatures, plan numbers etc.
Very friendly place to work. When the work in our area was slow, we had the opportunity to work in other departments which gave us more experience to learn other things. We had our own cubicle along with our own computer and phone. Our team leads were very nice. The most enjoyable part of working there was being able to go to the gym in the same building and not worry how long my class was as if I took extra time for lunch, I would just make it up in the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting project
System Administrator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 8, 2012
The bank began operations on March 11, 1935, after the passage of the Bank of Canada Act. Initially the bank was founded as a privately owned corporation in order to ensure it was free from political influence
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flexible work environment
Technical Writer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 19, 2012
Pros: friendly work environment
The systems I worked with mostly during my internship were Microsoft Excel, Outlook, Visio, IBM Rational Jazz and a document management system called P8. Over the course of my internship, I effectively used these applications to collect and design the required material for documenting our department’s processes and procedures. I also worked with Application – more... Portfolio Management and this involved the responsibility of updating the status of applications in all departments of the Bank of Canada. I ensured my work was consistent with ITIL best practices and had the opportunity to present my work to the senior management team. I enjoyed collaborating with co-workers because everyone was pleasant and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small office
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: working downtown
only 4 people in office.
good location for me
co-workers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank of Canada is an excellent place to work
Senior Analyst and Writer (speechwriting) (Current Employee), Ottawa, OntarioFebruary 13, 2013
I feel like I have made a contribution to the level of writing in this organization and look forward to other challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BANK OF MONTREAL
SECRETARIA DA VICE CONSUL DO CANADA (Former Employee), Centro, RJJuly 20, 2014
Pros: bom ambiente de trabalho
Cons: extresse da vice consul
APRENDI AS TECNICAS DE NEGOCIAÇÃO COM BANCOS. A GERENCIA COMO TODA AREA FINANCEIRA UM POUCO NERVOSA, bONS COLEGAS DE TRABALHO. pARTE MAIS DIFICIL DO TRABALHO ERA CONCILIAR OS HORARIOS BANCARIOS.
A PARTE MAIS AGRADAVEL ADQUIRIR CONHECIMENTOS FINANCEIROS E TROCA DE CULTURA,