Find companies:
BANANA REPUBLIC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
510 reviews

BANANA REPUBLIC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interactive place to work and conenct with new people and employees everyday.
Sales Support (Current Employee), Market Mall Calgary,AlbertaJuly 23, 2014
Banana Republic is a great place to work and has great benefits in all aspects. Typical day at work will always be making the customer number one and helping them with anything they need, whether it would be helping locate an item to honest opinions in the fitting room. I learn something new everyday at work, how to deal with different cutomers, and – more... solving problems that arise in the workplace. Most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work with other employees that have a passion as I do for customer service and everyone making it a great environment to be in. This job is all about teamwork and strong communication and it does push us all everyday to do the best we can do for the guests and eachother. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hard Hours
Sales Support (Former Employee), MississaugaMay 20, 2014
- lots of standing
- slow store
- gained customer service skills
- gained retail experience
- on the job training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Retail
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 5, 2014
Pros: customer connections, ability to develop within the company
Cons: high stress, sometimes problematic customers
Over the past five years, Banana Republic at Yorkdale has provided me with the skills and training to conquer the customer service industry. I have acquired a strong foundation in: multitasking in very high paced environments, patience and problem solving skills, a fun and outgoing personality to connect with customers, learning to flex between various – more... work centers, a sense of leadership and the skills needed to manage a large team. Management works together to inspire hard work in their employees. My coworkers are great in supporting and inspiring each other to do our best as individuals with team oriented goals. The hardest part of the job is working in a high paced environment that is very busy and sees a variety of customers daily. The most enjoyable part of the job is the connection you can build with your customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashionable, fun and friendly!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 6, 2014
I think my favorite part about the atmosphere at Banana Republic was the professionalism. A typical day at work would include me working with customers and meeting their needs. Then, during breaks, I would often read up on product knowledge materials. Management was fair, they always gave me tasks they saw I was ready to handle. And my co-workers were – more... a blast to work with! I met some hilarious and equally well-dressed persons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Customer Service
Visual Designer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: excellent customer service
Cons: shorts hours
Banana Republic is very Customer Service driven retail store, so far its one of the best customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and energetic people.
customer srvice (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 21, 2014
-A day at work is using the cash register, constant customer service, re-stocking.
-How to interact with customers.
- I managed the hard situations and customers.
-Energectic people and lovely team to work with.
-Is to stand all day long.
-When you put a smile on customers face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, ecouraging, and great company to work for.
Customer Experience Lead (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJanuary 13, 2014
Great place to work, with amazing people. They train to help push the boundaries and come up with new ways and ideas for doing things. They encourage growth and opinions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace environment
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: great canteen area
Cons: early starts due to visuals having to be done before the store opens
*Developed clothing strategies in store, created and designed shop floor displays
*Dressed mannequins, formed window displays and created feature walls
*Strategically placed POS to maximise sales
*Responsible for floor presentation and all visuals in store including directional lighting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pros and cons
MPL / Stock Supervisor (Current Employee), TorontoJanuary 11, 2014
Its a fast paced environment. Business of its nature is reactionary but it keeps you sharp. Very little work life balance but nice atmosphere to work in if you like fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Support (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2013
Have been working for the company for many years, and believe it is an excellent company to work for. There are a lot of growth opportunities, and everyone is supportive. Have had the pleasure of working in two stores, where both teams are fun, engaging, and welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was overall an okay place to work, but was far away
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 13, 2013
a typical day would be customer service, i was really involved with customers. Overall the managers were not bad, most enjoyable was helping the costumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retail environment with effective and supportive team management. Good benefits and had lots of fun learning about the retail fashion industry.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Eaton CentreMay 28, 2013
Pros: great salary benefits and supportive team management
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work would be maintaining an awareness of all promotions and advertisements and informing customers about these special discounts. Assist in floor moves, merchandising, display maintenance, and housekeeping as well as help in processing and replenishing merchandise and monitoring floor stock.
Aid customers in locating merchandise and – more... communicating customer requests to management. Assist in completing price changes within the department. The normal sales associate duties are dealt with but since I had such friendly co-workers and management, it would be a pleasure performing all these duties and it wouldn't seem like it was a strain. The hardest part of the job would be the physical aspect when we had to carry the delivery merchandise inside the store or when we had to carry boxes back and forth from the back room to the store front. However, there is an upside to that since it was delivery day, we had the opportunity to be the first ones to see the new clothing items and it was always such a treat. The most enjoyable part of this job is definitely the interaction between myself and the customers. It makes me extremely content when a customer asks me if I can help them pick out an outfit or accessories for an important day. The fact that I can contribute my expertise on fashion advice is really crucial and if I could leave the customer with an amazing impression on the store, that's a true bonus for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visual related part-time work while completing university.
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 22, 2013
I was hired to work and fully open the first retail location of Banana Republic in Winnipeg. Working with the fun and fulfilling tasks to visually prepare the store, and reach the companies high standard for the grand opening. Because of the strong team I continued my work part- time at the retail store throughout my last year of university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly good job, constantly working
Sales Associate, General (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMay 16, 2013
Pros: 50 % discount at banana republic, and the gap.
Cons: standing for long hours at a time
Overall not too taxing, consistently working. Learned how to deal with customers of all attitudes, learned about up to date fashion, working efficiently. Management was average, not too friendly and not too strict. Co-workers were extremely easy going, great to work with. Hardest part of the job was during really busy times dealing with customers on – more... the floor and in the fitting rooms at the same time, trying to keep everyone happy. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with good co workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & fun place to work in..because of management team.
Associate, Part Time. Met (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 23, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: not enough hours
This is my kind of store. Love the clothes! My co-workers were very nice to work with. Hours were decent. No benefits except discount so not bad at the end of the day. Wouldn't mind working there again if I had extra time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 8, 2013
Cons: not enough part time hours to give
helping customers find what they are looking for in terms of work clothes.
how to be a multi-tasker and what comes first (customers)
co-workers are fun and easy going.
management is always there to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely beneficial & exciting workplace
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee), London, ONMarch 22, 2013
A typical day at work for myself as a sales associate consists of consulting with customers in fitting rooms and helping them pick out appropriate garments that flatter their figure and are suitable for their daily life. I also fold and stack merchandise to make sure all visual merchandising standards are maintained, and assist customers with any questions – more... or concerns. Through working at Banana Republic I have learned excellent customer service skills, an in-depth knowledge of the company background, extensive knowledge on products and fit, and how to manage inventory. The management team I work with is exceptionally easy to get along with, helpful and encouraging, and always cheerful and excited about their job. I have a close relationship with everyone on the management team and feel blessed to gave such wonderful employers. My co-workers are also all very cheery and enthusiastic, and we always work together and help each other whenever possible. I truly love my job at Banana Republic and hope to eventually obtain career advancement for myself within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Banana Republic
Customer service (Former Employee), Vaughn, OnMarch 12, 2013
Pros: happy customers
Working at Banana Republic, I would be helping costumers,selling clothing, stocking shelves, helping them out in the change rooms,and clean the store.
The most enjoyable part of my job is to give service to customers at my best being the friendly, fast and courteous service I can give.
Their was not a hard part of the job. Also, working with many different – more... people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banana Republic (Bay/ Bloor)
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 1, 2013
Pros: 50% discount on clothes
Overall it was good work experience. Co-workers were friendly and if you enjoy working with customers it was very positive. Very high paced. At least five hours straight of being on your feet and moving. It was nice learning what it takes to run a retail store efficiently. Great job for students.

Negatives (my experience of course)
Some managers seemed – more... inexperienced. For instance, when I asked questions as a new employee, sometimes they were not sure and unorganized. Pay was minimum wage unless you were in upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, Limited opportunity to advance
Sales Support (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 3, 2013
Pros : Great culture, good managers, great discounts
Cons : Limited opportunity to advance

1 2 3 4 5

About BANANA REPUBLIC

Banana Republic has grown from a two-store wannabe safari outfitter to an retail empire in its own right, though no pith hats – Read more