Bakers Delight Employee Reviews

Showing all 161 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Team Member
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Neutral Bay NSW6 November 2016
I worked as a part time at bakers delight and find out:
General concept of making dough and bread.
is always fun to work in food industries with small management
got very friendly work mate
hard to work close to oven because the area of shop was very small and baker and we have to share area.
easy to slice and pack the bread...
Pros
Free Bread
Cons
take a lot of time to throw left over bread
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy jobs Free breads
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Maroubra NSW11 December 2016
Working at BD was fun enough.
I could learn how many different breads are existing.
Was able to meet many types of people.
My co-workers are mostly young students.
The hardest part of the job was to start the morning shift at 6:30am.
I could get some free breads so could save some money for foods.
Pros
Free breads
Cons
Early start, short shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was interesting, interacting with customers boost up my confidence
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Bonnyrigg NSW29 November 2016
Bakers Delight seems like a good place to at for experience, it's all about having a good memeory, working fast, understanding how they do things. It's great when it comes to communication.
Pros
No breaks at all
Cons
Too much pressure and constantly always having to do something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary, fun work space
FOH, Icing, cleaner (Current Employee) –  Taupo, Waikato15 December 2016
Bakers Delight is a fun working environment where you can learn new skills, meet new people and gain new skills. The pay is good and the work isn't too had, the team is nice and fun to work with.
Definitely recommend if its available.
Pros
Good Pay, Fun and Helpful team workers, Fairly changeable times
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Apprentice Baker (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC12 January 2017
Good learning experience, couldnt have learned as much as I did without working at Bakers Delight. I liked being pushed to work hard at my job, it made me realise how to work more efficiently in a team. Most enjoyable part of the job was challenging myself through the experience.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Casual/ Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brunswick12 February 2017
Team members were all nice.
Working there was enjoyable, there were frequent customers so mostly busy.
Employer was a known person to the family and therefore it felt a bit unequal in terms of learning new things e.g. end of day til counting
Pros
Free end of day food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great chance to make new friends.
APPRENTICE BAKER (Former Employee) –  Lake Macquarie NSW31 August 2016
Hard place to work.
Poor management and leadership skills.
no job security, can be made redundent with simple signature.
great chance to make friends.
if you hate the social life this is a great job for you.
physcially demanding.

be prepared to deal with someone yelling at you all the time.
Pros
free food fresh from the ovens. life skills. trade.
Cons
long hours. prepare to work more than 6 days straight.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed and motivated business
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wyoming NSW21 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoy working here as we focus on delightful customer service and ensuring high quality, consistent products. Bakers Delight has been a basis for me to advance my sales skills and confidence in service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment
Part-time Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kenmore QLD 406919 September 2016
In my position at bakers delight i have learnt to deal with customers, be polite in difficult situations, handle money, clean and be presentable. I serve customers with a happy face and i am always there to help with their needs. I enjoy the work environment as i have grown to like it over the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free bread and great people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 August 2016
I worked with some great people during my time at Baker's. At the bakery I was at, they allowed us to take as much home of whatever was left at the end of the day as we wanted which was awesome (didn't buy a single loaf of bread for two years straight!). However, my boss was underpaying me and the uniforms were absolutely horrendous. In terms of flexibility, the organization was quite good. They understood busy schedules and worked to accommodate me in that area. It was a great first job for me that I gained a lot of experience from and a tip for those about to work there: make sure you get paid fairly, don't get gipped!
Pros
Free food at end of shifts, flexible shift hours, great people
Cons
Low pay, terrible uniforms
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managament
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lavington NSW7 December 2016
Excluding, negative managament. Was never appreciative towards staff and had a negative attitude to her own work doings.
Messy environment and did not follow work place regulations.
Pros
Fun promotions
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Baker (Former Employee) –  Mount Hutton NSW14 January 2017
Horrible place to work. Ridiculous hours, poor management and outdated broken machinery. A lot of bickering between baking staff and front of house.
Cleanliness no good
Pros
free loaf of bread
Cons
working for bakers delight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace environment, nice people, serving food
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA17 February 2017
Had to serve customers. Baked fresh everyday, answer calls, clean the break racks and the food shelves, do dishes, close store, was a good place with nice trusting people. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward rewarding work.
Baker (Current Employee) –  Cheltenham VIC2 February 2017
Start as a apprentice and work your way up the chain.
Not the most challenging job as long as you have common sense.
A great community and good people are what you'll find at bakers delight.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, pleasant staff and good management
Customer Service & Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eastgardens NSW5 January 2017
I've learnt so much and am grateful for having the opportunity to work for such a great company/franchise. Management is extremely helpful and supportive and genuinely care about their staff.

The customers are interesting, the store has regular shoppers and it's in a good location.

The co-workers are good to work with as we work well together as a team.

Hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers or those that are indecisive, but I've learnt to work with them and assist these customers with a smile on my face and without losing my patience.

The most enjoyable part is the holiday periods, it brings people closer together like at Easter and Christmas. It gets extremely busy, but we all have the same goal, to make our customers happy with our products and service.
Pros
Opportunity to pick free food to take home after closing, depending on the Store Manager, of course
Cons
Standing on your feet for long periods, missing breaks because it's busy or short-staffed. Invest in comfortable sneakers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work, friendly atmosphere
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Williamstown VIC8 December 2016
Sales, Cash Handling, Cleaning, Merchandising, Till operation
- Friendly Staff
- Simple work
- Customer Focused role
- Consistent with pay& shifts
- Does become tedious
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, very social with customers
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Perth WA21 January 2017
I enjoyed my time working at Bakers Delight, a typical day at work involved restocking of shelves, cleaning and cashier work.
Pros
Free Bread
Cons
Lots of cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long-Term Position
Apprentice Baker (Former Employee) –  Temple2 January 2017
I have been at Bakers Delight for nearly two and a half years and I have enjoyed my time there. I would recommend this job, but not too highly.
Pros
Lunch Allowance
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and respected workplace
Senior staff member (Former Employee) –  Melbourne19 August 2016
Bakers Delight is a well known company that focuses on providing fresh baked goods daily and excellent customer service. I loved the atmosphere here and was promoted to a senior position that entitled me to be in charge of the store when working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Shop Front Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glebe NSW5 July 2016
very busy place, always learning something new and meeting different people each day.
Can be very busy but makes the day go nice and fast. Very organised and have a good routine, so when you start your shift each day you know what is going on which makes the day better for yourself and people you work with.
Pros
See New Products in advance
Cons
Trying new products
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 161 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6