Bakers Delight Employee Reviews

Showing all 157 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great chance to make new friends.
APPRENTICE BAKER (Former Employee) –  Lake Macquarie NSW31 August 2016
Hard place to work.
Poor management and leadership skills.
no job security, can be made redundent with simple signature.
great chance to make friends.
if you hate the social life this is a great job for you.
physcially demanding.

be prepared to deal with someone yelling at you all the time.
Pros
free food fresh from the ovens. life skills. trade.
Cons
long hours. prepare to work more than 6 days straight.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managament
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lavington NSW7 December 2016
Excluding, negative managament. Was never appreciative towards staff and had a negative attitude to her own work doings.
Messy environment and did not follow work place regulations.
Pros
Fun promotions
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, pleasant staff and good management
Customer Service & Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eastgardens NSW5 January 2017
I've learnt so much and am grateful for having the opportunity to work for such a great company/franchise. Management is extremely helpful and supportive and genuinely care about their staff.

The customers are interesting, the store has regular shoppers and it's in a good location.

The co-workers are good to work with as we work well together as a team.

Hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers or those that are indecisive, but I've learnt to work with them and assist these customers with a smile on my face and without losing my patience.

The most enjoyable part is the holiday periods, it brings people closer together like at Easter and Christmas. It gets extremely busy, but we all have the same goal, to make our customers happy with our products and service.
Pros
Opportunity to pick free food to take home after closing, depending on the Store Manager, of course
Cons
Standing on your feet for long periods, missing breaks because it's busy or short-staffed. Invest in comfortable sneakers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Senior Sales Staff and Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lane Cove NSW26 February 2016
Bakers Delight is a fantastic brand that is very dominant across Australia. They are heavily involved in supporting local events and always run an annual fundraiser for the Breast Cancer Network.

I started off as a junior sales staff member however after 2 years of experience and dedication to the business and job it was easy to be promoted into a more senior role.

Being promoted to a supervisor was a good experience however the pay was not that much better considering all the new roles and responsibilities that were taken on.

Overall the general corporate culture is fantastic and the customers are generally friendly and great to chat to so is perfect as a first job.
Pros
ongoing training for new promotions
Cons
early morning starts
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Bentleigh VIC31 August 2016
Fun, Friendly Work Environment,Management and Co-Workers.
Hardest Part Store gets Quite cold in the Winter
Don't get Weekend rates
Pros
friends, taking home bread for family
Cons
Cold in the Winter, Salary Isn't the best as i don't get Weekend Rates
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent student job but a couple of negatives
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD2 January 2017
Personally I had a mixed experience with Baker's Delight.

The positives:
-Could take home food if you worked the closing shift.
-Decent pay for a junior.
-Usually good amount of hours for a student who wanted a little money for themselves but are also busy with study.

The negatives:
-Bad management. The rosters were often late. Boss always very condescending and had clear favourites among the employees.
-Patchy training. Received training from a variety of employees with different opinions on how to do things, therefore was often told I was doing things the wrong way when I was doing as taught by a different senior. Training also did not cover neither the small details nor most important aspects of the job - had to kind of pick them up myself.
-A LOT of cleaning. Not necessarily a bad thing but after a time working there I developed back and knee pain due to the extensive cleaning that is 3/4 of the job.
-Perhaps not the fault of the business, but had to work with many toxic workmates (e.g. rude, did little work/did not complete jobs properly, stressful to work with/under) who were not reprimanded for the actions.
Pros
Free food, decent first job for pay and hours
Cons
Bad management, patchy training, extensive cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Team Member
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Neutral Bay NSW6 November 2016
I worked as a part time at bakers delight and find out:
General concept of making dough and bread.
is always fun to work in food industries with small management
got very friendly work mate
hard to work close to oven because the area of shop was very small and baker and we have to share area.
easy to slice and pack the bread...
Pros
Free Bread
Cons
take a lot of time to throw left over bread
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary, fun work space
FOH, Icing, cleaner (Current Employee) –  Taupo, Waikato15 December 2016
Bakers Delight is a fun working environment where you can learn new skills, meet new people and gain new skills. The pay is good and the work isn't too had, the team is nice and fun to work with.
Definitely recommend if its available.
Pros
Good Pay, Fun and Helpful team workers, Fairly changeable times
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Baker (Former Employee) –  Mount Hutton NSW14 January 2017
Horrible place to work. Ridiculous hours, poor management and outdated broken machinery. A lot of bickering between baking staff and front of house.
Cleanliness no good
Pros
free loaf of bread
Cons
working for bakers delight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay rates, understaffed, poor training.
Bakers Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Perth WA8 September 2016
The staff members were poorly trained, pay rates were ridiculously under rated for the amount of hours worked. Poor training and no advancements in my apprenticeship were pursued.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maagement very poor and under paid.
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Nowra NSW29 August 2016
. in the end I hated my job. some staff were very bias making me in a very sad state everyday at work. they make you work when you are sick and do ridiculous hours that's why im glad I got fired for nothing I did.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free bread and great people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 August 2016
I worked with some great people during my time at Baker's. At the bakery I was at, they allowed us to take as much home of whatever was left at the end of the day as we wanted which was awesome (didn't buy a single loaf of bread for two years straight!). However, my boss was underpaying me and the uniforms were absolutely horrendous. In terms of flexibility, the organization was quite good. They understood busy schedules and worked to accommodate me in that area. It was a great first job for me that I gained a lot of experience from and a tip for those about to work there: make sure you get paid fairly, don't get gipped!
Pros
Free food at end of shifts, flexible shift hours, great people
Cons
Low pay, terrible uniforms
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy jobs Free breads
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Maroubra NSW11 December 2016
Working at BD was fun enough.
I could learn how many different breads are existing.
Was able to meet many types of people.
My co-workers are mostly young students.
The hardest part of the job was to start the morning shift at 6:30am.
I could get some free breads so could save some money for foods.
Pros
Free breads
Cons
Early start, short shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was interesting, interacting with customers boost up my confidence
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Bonnyrigg NSW29 November 2016
Bakers Delight seems like a good place to at for experience, it's all about having a good memeory, working fast, understanding how they do things. It's great when it comes to communication.
Pros
No breaks at all
Cons
Too much pressure and constantly always having to do something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working there
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 July 2016
very workable environment
nice pay
friendly co workers
enjoy baking and dealing with the customers
fun working over there
best management at all
Pros
friendly working place
Cons
no specific
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed and motivated business
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wyoming NSW21 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoy working here as we focus on delightful customer service and ensuring high quality, consistent products. Bakers Delight has been a basis for me to advance my sales skills and confidence in service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment
Part-time Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kenmore QLD 406919 September 2016
In my position at bakers delight i have learnt to deal with customers, be polite in difficult situations, handle money, clean and be presentable. I serve customers with a happy face and i am always there to help with their needs. I enjoy the work environment as i have grown to like it over the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,caring,productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northcote VIC6 November 2016
Bakers Delight is a fantastic place to work. All employees are treated fairly, you are surrounded by lovely, fun people and get excellent training before you start.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work, friendly atmosphere
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Williamstown VIC8 December 2016
Sales, Cash Handling, Cleaning, Merchandising, Till operation
- Friendly Staff
- Simple work
- Customer Focused role
- Consistent with pay& shifts
- Does become tedious
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long-Term Position
Apprentice Baker (Former Employee) –  Temple2 January 2017
I have been at Bakers Delight for nearly two and a half years and I have enjoyed my time there. I would recommend this job, but not too highly.
Pros
Lunch Allowance
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 157 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6