Find companies:
Baker Hughes Incorporated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
526 reviews

Baker Hughes Incorporated Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hrs, hard work and great OT
Equipment opperator (Former Employee), Brighton CoJune 5, 2014
Pros: good place to get into the oilfield.
Cons: not home enough.
Very physical job with lots of overtime. May not be a good gob for anybody who likes their wife and kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door philosophy
HRBP demoted to generalist (Former Employee), Rankin RdJune 4, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: unprofessional leadership, and inconsistencies with business goals
One thing you can know for sure is that you will see people come and go. Despite having quality employees HR leadership will change roles like they change their underwear. The core values are a joke. The only people that thrive at BHI are the ones who kiss up to the incompetent leadership, and spend their time drinking and socializing. Rather than support – more... the people who actually do the work, they are alienated and isolated from opportunities to advance. So, they RIF the workers and keep the whiners. They let people go with no card or concern for their livelihood. The company will always be "Baker" who, and be last in the game because they do not exhibit any integrity, leadership, performance, teamwork or courage when doing the right thing. So, much for their employees being their greatest assests. The one thing you know for sure is that it's not what you know, but who you know that will keep you employed at BHI. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to have a career
Field Engineer (Former Employee), Tyler texasJune 4, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: work life balance its the oilfield
Baker has great training good managers and is a good place to have a career don't expect to get ahead overnight but if you stay in for the long haul its a dang good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, but not much else
Engineer (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 1, 2014
the benefits and pay are good, but career advancement is based on who you know, not skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
AMO Lab Manager (Current Employee), Midland, TXMay 31, 2014
Baker Hughes is a huge international oilfield services company. they provide very good medical and financial benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
Pros: lunch and breaks are good to help us to get back to our energy
Cons: lunch is only half hour long, it is not enough time to go to restaurant, if you do not bring your own lunch from home
On my latest job as an electronics technician at Baker Hughes. I started with second shift for almost a year, before I move to first shift. Typical day at work when we first coming in the second shift. I discussed with coworkers on the previous shift about what they have been working on and do they have any problem during the assembly or testing. What – more... do they need me to finish testing the tool or work on the new tool. I also check with manager about what is a priority tool for that day and when is a deadline to ship to the warehouse. I will receive the job request from manager and start to assembly and test the tool or help my coworkers if they need to assist them to complete their task. The hardest part of the job is predicting when the product will be completed, before all the test is done. The most enjoy part is completed your task assignment before the time and have enough time to help out my coworkers to complete their task assignment at the end of the shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasons to stay alway
Driver 2 (Former Employee), Trinity, TXMay 22, 2014
Pros: job, benefits.
Cons: treated like a worthless person. if you like being treated like this be my guess.
I worked at the Trinity warehouse for fours years. I was a driver. This is not a driving job. 20% driving. 80% manual labor. One man show. Go to rigs, stack pallets and drums. Do rig moves. Do all the work while contract drivers sit and watch.Back bite coworkers. Management are buddies with office personal. Drivers are bottom end here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, State of the art technology
Account Manager, Pressure Pumping (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 22, 2014
Enjoyed working a Baker Hughes. Strong Company and technologically advanced. Management is good and advancement is very real. Baker believes in work life balance and has a strong focus on safety and continuous learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
HR Generalist (Former Employee), Dubai, DUMay 22, 2014
• Lead and have supervisory responsibility for the Hiring and Onboarding shared services team for Eastern Hemisphere
• Consultant to management in developing, implementing and coordinating policies and programs covering areas including recruiting, compensation and benefits, training, employee and labor relations, and personnel research
• Participate – more... in policy development
• Participate in cross-divisional HR teams
• Communicate HR related programs to managers and employees
• Provide training to the team and other HR Generalists
• Handle special projects
• Creating and designing processes for use throughout the Eastern hemisphere
• Develop Standard Operating Procedures
• Coordinate with Talent Acquisition and HR Management Systems Team to simplify the processes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Good
Electronics Technician-Manufacturing Department (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 21, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: when the price of crude goes south so does the company.
I enjoyed working for these people. There were some problems here and there but despite it all they were pretty good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 19, 2014
Good company to work for.
Company took good care of their employees.
Management style was good.
Great team to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Field Specialist IV (Former Employee), Odessa, TXMay 17, 2014
Pros: excellent company to work for
Cons: never know when the lay offs are coming
A day at work busy with pump downs or packers lots of driving time at times when needed to get a job done . learning new things everyday from the veterans of 35 yrs plus that's what I call an accomplishments well done , co workers were good people got along well with my co workers, hardest part of the job was when tools malfunctioned . most enjoyable – more... part of the job was meeting new people from different parts of the country . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented workplace , but have no chance of moving up
Maintenance Supervisor / Lead Mechanic (Current Employee), Broussard, LAMay 16, 2014
Is a great place to work , can work at own pace . But no advancement for me here , and I am not even 50 yet . Work is physical at some phases of the job , but nothing to complain about .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Baker Atlas (Former Employee), Mumbai - MaharashtraMay 14, 2014
Pros: healthy work environment.
Cons: nothing as such.
Maintained good relation with Vendor’s and Management.

At the same time handled Recruitment process for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't appreciate employee's effort
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 12, 2014
frequent changes in management affects the company. Great opportunities only if you know people in upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
G/L Accounting Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 12, 2014
Great company to work for.
Company took good care of their employees.
Management style was good.
Great team to work with.
Company allowed my to bring inovative ideas to the table.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently I fee like I am or
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee), Houston TXMay 7, 2014
Pros: boss's work with you and allow you to work from .
Cons: to much for one person to handle ime to do
OT is required most days
Typical day starts at 7 am then through it i
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with open communication.
Daily customer and sales interface (Former Employee), Huntington Beach, CAMay 7, 2014
Review daily assembly schedule and assign work tasks to appropriate assembly staff. Schedule deliveries of finished units. Insure proper inventory levels for assembly requirements. Interface with upper management on any problems that may occur and suggest solutions. The hardest part was the short notice usually given on orders. The best part of the – more... job was that it was never boring and very fast paced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive employees with counterproductive management
EO3 (Current Employee), Dickinson, NDMay 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay
Cons: they will make, then break, shortly after, any deal they make with you.
Baker hires very good people and has decent equipment at their disposal. They pay a very fair and decent wage to their employees as well as having a very nice benefit package.
However upper management has recently (in the last 6 months)managed to nearly eradicate their chances of being competitive in this industry. As evidence to the point, They have – more... closed down nearly every office they have in the Rocky mountain region, the busiest and most lucrative region in the Unites States. Those that remain open have lost most of their contracts due to the political games being played by upper management. This has reached the point where even loyal employees (such as myself) have been, quite literally, forced into quitting and searching for employment elsewhere. They have been attempting to retain employees with fantastic bonus packages, and other "shiny" things. But they can no longer be trusted to keep their end of the bargain, and the grass looks better elsewhere, to most of their employees, at least in the ND "Bakken" region.
If this company ever starts using logic and common sense again, within the upper management, I would HIGHLY recommend working for them. But until this happens, avoid working for them, Or even providing work for the company, as they are so severely understaffed at this point that they cannot possibly meet necessary deadlines, quotas, or any standard need of the industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, but...
Data Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TexasMay 2, 2014
Pros: coffee, breakfast at safety meetings
Cons: poor communication between managers and minions
The work was challenging and engaging. I heighten my organizational skills and learned to keep proof of conversations. The co-workers/working environment was welcoming.

The management was severely lacking in communications skills leading to many conflicts.

However, the company on a whole was well run and organized.

About Baker Hughes Incorporated

A top-tier oilfield service company with a century-long track record, Baker Hughes delivers solutions that help oil and gas operators – Read more

Baker Hughes Incorporated Photos