Baker Hughes Incorporated

Baker Hughes Incorporated Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 105 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has grown to be a big company personality
Field Specialist Tools I (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, ABMarch 31, 2014
Was a great place to work for several years until the purchase of BJ Services. Started to be cut back in overtime and less bonus payouts. Cut out break up and Christmas Parties.
Pros
1 free lunch monthly.
Cons
each employee is just a number
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to Door selling their products, Cold Calls... terrible position
Water Treatment Technical Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONNovember 29, 2013
Water Treatment Technical Sales Specialist - Sarnia, ON - terrible, made up position - tread carefully with these guys, unprofessional.
Pros
not sure
Cons
unprofessional, cold calls, door to door sales...
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people t workfor
FIELD SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Estevan, SKNovember 14, 2014
long hours but management cared about u lots of room for advancement the more u put into your job the farther ahead u got
Pros
guarentee salary good management
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employment
Dispatch/Chemical operator (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABMay 12, 2014
While the time I spent there it was a great place to work. Management was very easy to approach to talk to, but they let alot of guys down when they just shut the doors on them and put them out of a job
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baker Hughes
Wireline Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Leduc, ABNovember 8, 2014
15 days on 6 days off. Steady work, great people and great benefits.
Pros
international training
Cons
15 days on call
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
warehouse operator (Former Employee) –  mississauga ontMarch 20, 2012
the company is saftey first and a lot of opertunity to grow . I really enjoyed working the company i have no problems recomding this company for employment
Pros
great pay
Cons
too big
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for
A/P Expense Report Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary AlbertaNovember 29, 2012
always lots to do for work
management was excellent
enjoyed working for a hugh company
Pros
always had different events for staff to take part in
Cons
job came to an end
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
M/LWD Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 25, 2013
Great job, great income. Unstable schudule makes for a difficult work-life balance while working in the field.
Pros
culture, excellent people to work with
Cons
no work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A poor choice of work; your milage may vary.
office worker (Former Employee) –  calgaryJune 5, 2013
I left the company for several reasons:
- Lack of autonomy; no room for individual initiative.
- Excessively stressful and hostile working environment (partly because of my supervisor and partly due to company culture)
- Not getting along with my supervisor (at this company people are not promoted based on their ability to work well with others)
- Below-Market Remuneration (my pay was roughly 20% below market; others left the facility for the same reason--there was 25% turnover in roughly a one year period)
- Minimal training (I had done no training for 8-12 months, though not from lack of interest)
- Lack of job variety (an issue specific to my position, your milage may vary)
- The conservative, top-down, hierarchical, and dictatorial nature of the organization (This should be patently obvious to anyone currently working for the company. For instance, there are 200 presidents and vice presidents)
- My job duties did not match the job posting (12 items were listed, I only did 3 with any frequency. 90% of my time was spent doing something that wasn't listed)
Pros
[see review.]
Cons
[see review.]
Was this review helpful?Yes26No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was a good experince
Field operator (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BCDecember 12, 2012
the work,was very intersting. coworkers were very helpful and taught me alot. but i found out the work was for me. its not what i really want to do in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place
Pump Operator/ Driver (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, ABSeptember 10, 2014
Baker Hughes was a great place to work. The people are interesting and Baker Hughes looks after them
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun place to work
Imaging Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 19, 2013
- I personally like the work environment, good and kind people.
- Down fall would be the fact that the job positions are contracts.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great advancement options
Technical Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  Peace RiverApril 14, 2013
Good management and co workers, lots of driving and meeting people, very little training,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Creativity and Professional work.
General Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 25, 2012
Productive job and enables creativity in a professional manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mechanical Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 19, 2014
I like this job alot, I would like to find a Job this is similer to Baker
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Level 2 Electromechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Nisku AB.September 30, 2013
Excellent core values, good people, good wages and benefits
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Large Company!
Employee (Current Employee) –  Nisku, ABDecember 10, 2012
They like to make you think you need them. Management is poor, and they lack organization in a big way!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a women don't work there
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, ABJune 6, 2012
They are sexist and if you don't play hockey you aren't worth anything to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company
ILI Tool Coordinator/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABApril 30, 2012
A company with high standards of confidentiality & I will keep it that way.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety orientated company
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Leduc AlbertaAugust 28, 2014
Everyday was a learning experience for me at Baker Hughes. Managing a team of 7 throughout Alberta and Ontario had it's challenges. The logistics did not allow me to have a hands on experience with each of them. I built the team up so they became self sufficient yet knew I was only an email or phone call away to address any problems, concerns and provide training and assistance when needed. I held a weekly conference call with all of them to just "talk". I felt this was a good way for us to learn together and offer suggestions and support, not just by me, but by all of us. Having the administrative team report to me allowed us to unify the way we preformed the daily duties requested of administrators. Any one of us were able to cover sick days and vacation time at the other bases without any disruption to the business. My co-managers coached me on becoming a strong team leader. I had a lot of respect for them. I was able to take what they taught me and apply it to my team gaining the respect and support from them just as I had for the management that taught me. My experience at Baker Hughes was invaluable and grew me in to a confident team leader and player.
Pros
safety culture promoted and enforced in the company
Cons
lack of communication from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,606 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture