Find companies:
Baker Hughes Incorporated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
522 reviews

Baker Hughes Incorporated Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have no other choice
Field Engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 23, 2014
Pros: field pay was comparable but lower than comparable companies
Cons: no employee appreciation. they look to enslave their employees
Not your first choice of place to work for. The managers are bullies are they operate with lies and threats which i am sure is illegal. They do not care about your personal development or career advancement. The company lacks culture or a backbone. Managers running wild and HR department that is usually controlled or influenced by this same usually – more... unqualified management team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for advancement. Good people to work with and for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Mineral Wells, TXJune 23, 2014
Baker Hughes is like a big family and they are good to their employees. It is an interesting place to work with plenty of opportunity for advancement. Their benefits are good, the pay is good. Good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mixed feeling, good job, bad management
Machinist/lead man (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKJune 23, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: bad shop management, unproffessional and uneducated, favoritism, watched many very good worker/employees let go for petty reasons
in broken arrow, ok. few reviews were listed. overall, the work environment was good, pay very good, pressure high but tolerable. Low-end management was unprofessional and uneducated, seem to have a good ole boy policy for advancement. I was a lead person 8 of my 10 years with baker. I watched too many good employees let go including myself for no other – more... reason than the shop supervisors did not like you or you made them look bad to their superiors. this company seems to be rewarding to mostly office workers and not so much plant workers. Sadly, it could be very rewarding for everyone, but isn't. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Large Company
Learning Content Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 22, 2014
Solid large company with a lot of internal processes and procedures. Continues to establish a solid working programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Training coordinator (Current Employee), Dubai, DUJune 22, 2014
Pros: free food, excellent working environment
Cons: difficult to grow in the department you love to work
Usually a day starts with the breakfast, the co-workers are very good, a little politics here and there but when it comes to work every body give his/her 100%.
Behavior and cooperation shows diversity.
Different team building events.
Administration department is great, but the sad part is you cannot grow by staying in the same department for that you – more... need to move
Management is good, understands your needs and advises for your betterment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No typical day just random call to be sent wherever they need you.
Senior Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Alice, TXJune 18, 2014
Pros: the amount of hours you can work, examples work your days off.
Cons: certain benefits where changed as hired
Typical day at work called in to either drive a truck to location or whatever they needed. Learned to drive long distances on the road to different places out of Texas. Management well, very undecided on the decision making. Co workers very easy to get along with and very helpful on training different pieces of equipment. The hardest part of my job – more... is not knowing what they had planned for you to do or where they would send you. And trying to adjust to unplanned decisions and changes on the go without warning. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my fellow co workers learning the ropes thru them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Field Service Engineer III (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 17, 2014
Pros: good pay. great benefits, great people to work with, and being responsible for multi-million dollar projects.
Cons: being away from home over 350 days per year.
Great job, but our management was a shamble no accountability and no coordination among field managers. I always had a great team that I managed on my drilling site. The hardest part of the job was working 350 plus days a year. Having a successful project and seeing different parts of the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
AMO Supervisor (Current Employee), Bossier City, LAJune 14, 2014
Very Productive work environment and a very stable company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to refine skills on heavy equipment
Field Operator (Former Employee), Dickinson, NDJune 11, 2014
Pros: good meals at man camp
Cons: little to no care for personnel actually performing the job
treated as a number to fill a crew
management not really concerned with advancement of personnel, but only on the money made
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunities and experiences
MWD Field Engineer II (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, PAJune 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, experience, challenge, constantly learning and growing
Cons: can't make plans, long hours for unpredicatble amount of time, little time off
A typical day at work includes working 12 hours while decoding information that is to be presented to clients at the end of the well. This realtime information is also used to accurately drill the well in order to optimize reservoir performance. Physical demands are minimal. I have learned how to program tools, troubleshoot software and surface gear, – more... and how to decode data and present it in various forms. Management has some issues with communication between those in the field and the office. The hardest part of the job is the workload and job/life balance. Since a rotation has not yet been set in place, you are expected to be on call 24/7, work long hours for an undetermined amount of days and may not get many days off in between each well. An effort to fix this is being made at the moment. The most enjoyable part of the job is the comradery and family atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
AMO Motor Technician (Former Employee), Midland, TXJune 11, 2014
very repetative, not a lot of good communication skills for the motor shop division
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Executive and Administrative support (Current Employee), dubaiJune 10, 2014
Learned how to manage hectical office administration works
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but limited
Senior Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 9, 2014
Pros: freedom to make decisions
Cons: not respected for information passed onto managment
I learned a lot at Baker Hughes but training and management were
lacking considering my position I enjoyed working for Baker Hughes
but it seemed as if that because I knew about the industry that I was
more of an outsider than if I knew nothing about this industry
the hardest part was trying to figure out exactly what I needed
to learn without any direction – more... from management.
The hardest part of my job was that no one would answer the simplest of questions what do I need to learn and where can I get this information – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If offered a rehire I would demand a contract.
Lead Field Operator (Former Employee), Canton, OHJune 9, 2014
Pros: made a great living
Cons: no lunches or breaks, time off interupted.
In Ohio it was a disaster! We were expected to keep the process running even with and through breakdowns. It really took a catastrophic breakdown to shut us down. I learned that the further away from Houston Tx you get, the further the decline in the chain of command. again in Ohio management was not noticed however in Oklahoma they were great. I had – more... the greatest co-workers ever. Keeping the system from breaking down. keeping the system from breaking down knowing I have done everything possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Informatica Developer (Current Employee), Pune, MHJune 7, 2014
It is a very good company to work with with very ice colleagues and a friendly environment to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Machinist (Current Employee), Broken Arrow, OKJune 6, 2014
Pros: paid lunches and great coworkers
Cons: short breaks and temps inside the shop
The shop is climate controlled but the temps inside the shop reach 80+ degrees. Some of the lower management are lacking in skills to say the least!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hrs, hard work and great OT
Equipment opperator (Former Employee), Brighton CoJune 5, 2014
Pros: good place to get into the oilfield.
Cons: not home enough.
Very physical job with lots of overtime. May not be a good gob for anybody who likes their wife and kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door philosophy
HRBP demoted to generalist (Former Employee), Rankin RdJune 4, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: unprofessional leadership, and inconsistencies with business goals
One thing you can know for sure is that you will see people come and go. Despite having quality employees HR leadership will change roles like they change their underwear. The core values are a joke. The only people that thrive at BHI are the ones who kiss up to the incompetent leadership, and spend their time drinking and socializing. Rather than support – more... the people who actually do the work, they are alienated and isolated from opportunities to advance. So, they RIF the workers and keep the whiners. They let people go with no card or concern for their livelihood. The company will always be "Baker" who, and be last in the game because they do not exhibit any integrity, leadership, performance, teamwork or courage when doing the right thing. So, much for their employees being their greatest assests. The one thing you know for sure is that it's not what you know, but who you know that will keep you employed at BHI. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to have a career
Field Engineer (Former Employee), Tyler texasJune 4, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: work life balance its the oilfield
Baker has great training good managers and is a good place to have a career don't expect to get ahead overnight but if you stay in for the long haul its a dang good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, but not much else
Engineer (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 1, 2014
the benefits and pay are good, but career advancement is based on who you know, not skills.

About Baker Hughes Incorporated

A top-tier oilfield service company with a century-long track record, Baker Hughes delivers solutions that help oil and gas operators – Read more

Baker Hughes Incorporated Photos