Find companies:
Baker Hughes Incorporated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
633 reviews

Baker Hughes Incorporated Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Level 2 Electromechanical Technician (Former Employee), Nisku AB.September 30, 2013
Cons: layoffs
Excellent core values, good people, good wages and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work and god people to work with.
MECHANICAL DESIGNER/PROGRAM MANAGER (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 4, 2013
There is no typical work day at Baker Hughes. It is fast paced and ever changing.
Management is fairly relaxed and very hands on, because they have a vested interest.
Co-workers are very knowledgable and interesting people. You can always count on them to help find a solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A poor choice of work; your milage may vary.
office worker (Former Employee), calgaryJune 5, 2013
Pros: [see review.]
Cons: [see review.]
I left the company for several reasons:
- Lack of autonomy; no room for individual initiative.
- Excessively stressful and hostile working environment (partly because of my supervisor and partly due to company culture)
- Not getting along with my supervisor (at this company people are not promoted based on their ability to work well with others)
- Below-Market – more... Remuneration (my pay was roughly 20% below market; others left the facility for the same reason--there was 25% turnover in roughly a one year period)
- Minimal training (I had done no training for 8-12 months, though not from lack of interest)
- Lack of job variety (an issue specific to my position, your milage may vary)
- The conservative, top-down, hierarchical, and dictatorial nature of the organization (This should be patently obvious to anyone currently working for the company. For instance, there are 200 presidents and vice presidents)
- My job duties did not match the job posting (12 items were listed, I only did 3 with any frequency. 90% of my time was spent doing something that wasn't listed) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
M/LWD Field Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 25, 2013
Pros: culture, excellent people to work with
Cons: no work schedule
Great job, great income. Unstable schudule makes for a difficult work-life balance while working in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment and good managment
Drill Bit Salesman (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 24, 2013
Pros: great job security and an excellent environment
Cons: poorly compensated and bad balance with work and life.
i was a drill bit sales man. i managed my accounts as efficiently as possible to ensure the lowest possible prices for my clientel. this job required severe organizational and preparation skills. i analyzed bit records to ensure the proper application for my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great advancement options
Technical Sales Rep (Current Employee), Peace RiverApril 14, 2013
Good management and co workers, lots of driving and meeting people, very little training,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable Work Experience and Independently Managed
Account Manager (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 9, 2013
Pros: high salary, good benefits, global company, initially steep learning curve
Cons: long hours, rotational travel, remote setting, unrelenting customer demands, stressful, ~1 year plateau to significant learning
As a process field specialist and account manager a typical work days require a large predisposition toward on-site client management, constant "after-sales" support, and process troubleshooting. This takes place at site-specific facilities in a common effort to produce adequate sales-grade oil in the most cost-effective and efficient manner.

Learning – more... curve has been significant, largely due to the intimate nature of living and working at your customer's facility (Cenovus predominantly in my own case, with similar exposure elsewhere). Managing expectations, logistics of chemical supply, project-focus demands, process upsets, chemical field trials all form part of the learning curve.

Management has been a little trickier in my case largely due to an extensive 'on-site absenteeism'. Makes it difficult to progress within the company as, being a large organization, inherently relies on a bureaucratic hierarchy; sticking points can occur with ineffiective middle management. This has prove difficult to surpass internally.

Co-workers are great for the most part, generally an inherited commonality of purpose, however often working remotely can prove lonely, and co-workers are often also your client. Many wonderful friendships can develop in this scenario, which add to account stability.

Hardest part of the job is the amount of travel and remote setting. Makes developing personal routine and structure almost impossible. Long shifts whilst at work can be stressful and draining.

Most enjoyable part of the job is growing with your client; sharing in week-to-week process triumphs, building friendships, and working together toward generating satisfying results to day-to-day problems which come hand-in-hand with oil and water separation and subsequent purification. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very difficult place to get to know people, the hiring process is also very long and tedious
Sr. Dept. Administrator, Commercial Support Group (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: flexible about lunch times, if you don't take lunch you can leave early, able to participate in most corporate events
Cons: work duplication, right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. communication and boundary problems.
Greet coworkers. Check emails. Arrange the work load schedule for the day and start taking care of business. Most co-workers are very pleasant and helpful. Most people are very new to the company. It is difficult to find the right person to answer questions when you need help.

It was nice to have the freedom to do the job without being micro managed. – more... But each department is different. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profile
Field Engineer (Former Employee), Canada, VenezuelaFebruary 20, 2013
More than 5 years of experience in the Oil & Gas Industry, accomplishing field operations and working as Logging Engineer for one of the biggest service Oil & Gas Companies. Perform diverse services in the wireline industry (Open hole and Cased Hole), leadership, extensive business service experience, work under pressure and in hostile environments, – more... priority setting and decision-making, together with excellent communication skills to liaise with clients, are some of the skills that I have developed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with great co workers
Equipment Operator (Cement) (Current Employee), Brighton, COJanuary 21, 2013
On a typical day being on cement you will receive an hour yard call after your 10 hr reset. you have an hour to get to work on time. After clocking in, you do whatever is need to get to location on time. Pre trip trucks and make sure equipment is job ready. Next have a safety meeting than convoy trucks to location. After getting to location. Rig up, – more... Pump job, Rig down, convoy home to yard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was a good experince
Field operator (Former Employee), Fort St John, BCDecember 12, 2012
the work,was very intersting. coworkers were very helpful and taught me alot. but i found out the work was for me. its not what i really want to do in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Large Company!
Employee (Current Employee), Nisku, ABDecember 10, 2012
They like to make you think you need them. Management is poor, and they lack organization in a big way!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work,
Bulk Plant Operator (Former Employee), clairmontDecember 7, 2012
Pros: free lunches from third party companies, 6 days off
Cons: only getting noticed when you mess up, and not when you do a stand up job.
Baker Hughes was a good place to work, however management and supervisors only came around if you screwed something up. Little to no direction/orders given by supervisor(s).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for
A/P Expense Report Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary AlbertaNovember 29, 2012
Pros: always had different events for staff to take part in
Cons: job came to an end
always lots to do for work
management was excellent
enjoyed working for a hugh company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, relaxed place to work
Jr operator (Former Employee), Bonnyville, ABAugust 13, 2012
Pros: 6 days off every 15 working days
Cons: long hours and very last minute
Loved working there and would go back in a heart beat, Wake up early and get to learn something new everyday. Maybe it was trouble shooting the tools and why they were not working or driving a new road or learning to back up trailers. Everyday was so diffrent but similar it was never boring and its one job I can say I loved to do and would always be – more... willing to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned lots in the chemical end of oil and gas
Class 1 driver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 23, 2012
12 to 14 hours a day. learned a lot of what probloms there is in oil and gas production.

co-workers where great to work with. Management said what they had to say to get the job done.

For me the best part of my job was meeting lots of people through out Alberta that worked for baker in all corners ot the province
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Creativity and Professional work.
General Field Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 25, 2012
Productive job and enables creativity in a professional manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a women don't work there
Account Manager (Former Employee), Bonnyville, ABJune 6, 2012
They are sexist and if you don't play hockey you aren't worth anything to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company
ILI Tool Coordinator/Supervisor (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABApril 30, 2012
A company with high standards of confidentiality & I will keep it that way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
warehouse operator (Former Employee), mississauga ontMarch 20, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: too big
the company is saftey first and a lot of opertunity to grow . I really enjoyed working the company i have no problems recomding this company for employment

About Baker Hughes Incorporated

Baker Hughes cooks up a baker's dozen of products and services for the global petroleum market. Through its Drilling and Evaluation – Read more

Baker Hughes Incorporated Photos